DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Drawing objection made in non-final filed 07/14/2025 is withdrawn.
Claims objections made in non-final filed 07/14/2025 are withdrawn. See updated claim objection(s) in action below based on claim amendment(s).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 for 103 rejection in non-final filed 07/14/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See new prior art rejections below based on the claims as amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 appears cancelled as claim number is lined-through. Appropriate correction is required. For purpose of examination, it is assume that claim 12 is still pending.
Claims 15 is also objected to because it depends on claim 16 which is after claim 15 and, thus, creates an ambiguous scope, as the claim should refer back to a preceding claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 1, 11, and 19, the following limitation- concept is not supported in applicant’s original specification:
"a radio resource control (RRC) message including a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, the PUCCH configuration including a parameter to configure a multi-panel simultaneous transmission single frequency network scheme (multipanelSFN-Scheme) for PUCCH resources"
Issue #1
Applicant’s specification discloses a “indicator” or “tag” but not a claimed “parameter” in the context above. An indicator is not equivalent to a parameter. By way of example, see e.g., applicant’s paragraphs [0052-0055] and paragraph [0052] in particular. Applicant’s specification does mention RRC parameters (see e.g., [0057], [0064]), but this does not appear to be in the same context as what is claimed. The examiner further points out that the specification makes a clear distinction between “parameter” and an “indicator” (emphasis added).
Issue #2
There is also no further clear express support in applicant’s specification for a “parameter” specifically configuring a multipanelSFN-scheme as further claimed.
The dependent claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected as they do not cure the above cited deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-14 and 19-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20250227694 A1 to HAN et al. “HAN” (as supported in provisional 63/390,526).
Figure 1 of the instant application
Fig. 3 of HAN (Fig. 1 of provisional)
Independent claims:
As to claim 1, HAN teaches an apparatus (Fig. 3: UE – supported in provisional as Fig. 1 – see table above), comprising:
processing circuitry ( see process circuity 202 [0068] - see p. 38 of provisional) to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) message (see e.g., [0079] with respect to single DCI or sDCI – supported on p. 3 of provisional) including a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, the PUCCH configuration including parameter to configure a multi-panel simultaneous transmission single frequency network scheme (multipanelSFN-Scheme) for PUCCH resources, the multipanelSFN-Scheme to include simultaneous PUCCH transmissions (see e.g., [0080-81] with respect to multi-panel (STxMP) for PUCCH on two separate panels where STxMP scheme can use single frequency network SFN. The claimed “parameter” is broadly construed as the scheduling information on the DCI – supported on p. 3 of provisional);
output, for transmission, a first PUCCH transmission through the first antenna panel according to the multipanelSFN-Scheme (see e.g., Fig. 3: panel 1 for UE); and
output, for transmission, multipanelSFN-Schem and interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry to enable communication (see e.g., Fig. 3: panel 2 for UE. See [0080] with respect to simultaneous transmission).
As to claim 11, HAN teaches a method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, the PUCCH configuration including a parameter to configure a multi-panel simultaneous transmission single frequency network scheme (multipanelSFN-Scheme) for PUCCH resources, the PUCCH resources, the multipanelSFN- Scheme to include simultaneous PUCCH transmissions using a first antenna panel a second antenna panel outputting, for transmission first PUCCH transmission through the first antenna panelmultipanelSFN-Scheme; and outputting, for transmissionmultipanelSFN-Scheme, the second PUCCH transmission being transmitted simultaneously with the first PUCCH transmission. See similar rejection of claim 1, where the processing circuity steps teaches the method.
As to claim 19, HAN teaches a method generating a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration to include a parameter to enable a multiple antenna panel simultaneous uplink transmission single frequency network scheme (multipanelSFN-Scheme) for PUCCH resources; outputting, for transmission,the PUCCH configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. See similar rejection of claim 1, where the sDCI is sent from the claimed network.
Dependent claims:
As to claim 2, HAN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first PUCCH transmission is transmitted via a first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH transmission is transmitted via a second PUCCH resource (see e.g., [0080-81] with respect to two PUCCH occasions).
As to claim 3, HAN teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the indicated multipanelSFN-Scheme in response to receiving the RRC message (see e.g., [0079] where scheduled via DCI which is “in response to”).
As to claim 4, HAN teaches the apparatus claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further to : receive downlink control information (DCI)[[,]] including a confirmation of the multipanelSFN- Scheme; and perform the indicated multipanelSFN-Scheme in response to receiving the confirmation (see e.g., [0079] where scheduled via DCI).
As to claim 5, HAN teaches the he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates PUCCH resources to be used for the multipanelSFN-Scheme (see e.g., [0080-81] with respect to two PUCCH occasions).
As to claim 12, HAN teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first PUCCH transmission is transmitted via a first PUCCH resource and the second PUCCH transmission is transmitted via a second PUCCH resource. See similar rejection for claim 2.
As to claim 13, HAN teaches the method further comprising: performing the indicated multipanelSFN- Scheme in response to receiving the RRC transmission. See similar rejection for claim 3.
As to claim 14, HAN teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates PUCCH resources to be used for the multipanelSFN-Scheme. See similar rejection for claim 5.
As to claim 20, HAN teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: receiving, at a first transmit and receive point (TRP), a first PUCCH transmission from the UE over a first PUCCH resource based on the multipanelSFN-Scheme; and receiving, at a second TRP, a second PUCCH transmission from the UE over a second PUCCH resource based on the multipanelSFN-Scheme (see e.g., [0080-81] with respect to two PUCCH occasions and two different TRPs simultaneously).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250227694 A1 to HAN et al. “HAN” (as supported in provisional 63/390,526) in view of 3GPP TS 38.213 §9.2.1 Pg.104-105 V17.2.0 (2022-06) Release 17 “3GPP 38.213” (previously cited on PTO-892 7/14/2025).
As to claim 6, HAN in view of 3GPP 38.213 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further: receive an indication including an identification of a PUCCH resource set to be used to transmit the PUCCH transmission, the indication further including a PUCCH format (3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 108 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action), a first starting physical resource block (PRB) of the first PUCCH transmission(3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 104 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action), a second starting PRB of the second PUCCH transmission(3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 105 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action), a first number of PRBs of a first frequency domain (FD) part, and a second number of PRBs of a second FD part (3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 107 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action), and wherein the indication is a DCI or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
HAN teaches PRBs in FDM STxMP transmission Fig. 14 [0131-137]. See also Fig. 22 and Fig. 23.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of HAN, a UE configuration to perform simultaneous PUCCH transmissions over FDM parts with RRC signaling (DCI), and apply it to teaching of PUCCH resource configuration which includes format type, starting PRB and number of PRBs with separate PRB configuration which includes format type, starting PRB and number of PRBs with separate PRB configuration for frequency domain parts as taught by 3GPP 38.213. Doing so allows for facilitating transmission where RRC signaling defines and prepares transmission capabilities and DCI provides real-time scheduling and operational confirmation and interworking with a well-known industry standard, 3GPP.
As to claim 7, HAN in view of 3GPP 38.213 teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further: divide a PUCCH resource into a first set of resource blocks associated with the first PUCCH transmission and a second set of resource blocks associated with the second PUCCH transmission(3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 104 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action), where a total number of resource blocks is based on a PUCCH format of the PUCCH transmission (3GPP 38.213 at §9.2.1 at p. 104 - see detailed claim mapping in previous action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of HAN, which teaches initial RR-based configuration for multi-panel simultaneous transmission, and apply it to teaching of of UE being able to divide PUCCH resource sets for simultaneous transmissions as taught by 3GPP 38.213. Doing so allows for facilitating transmission where RRC signaling defines and prepares transmission capabilities and DCI provides real-time scheduling and operational confirmation and interworking with a well-known industry standard, 3GPP.
As to claim 15, HAN teaches the method claim 16,wherein the downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (see e.g., [0079] where scheduled via DCI).
As to claim 16, HAN in view of 3GPP 38.213 teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising: receiving an indication including an identification of a PUCCH resource set to be used to transmit the PUCCH transmission, the second indication further including a PUCCH format, a first starting physical resource block (PRB) of the first PUCCH transmission, a second starting PRB of the second PUCCH transmission, a first number of PRBs of a first frequency domain (FD) part, and a second number of PRBs of the second FD part. See similar rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 17, HAN in view of 3GPP 38.213 teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: dividing a PUCCH resource into a first set of resource blocks associated with the first PUCCH transmission and a second set of resource blocks associated with the second PUCCH transmission, where a total number of resource blocks is based on a PUCCH format of the PUCCH transmission. See similar rejection for claim 7.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250227694 A1 to HAN et al. “HAN” (as supported in provisional 63/390,526) in view of in view of US 20180310257 A1 to Papasakellariou.
As to claim 8, HAN in view of Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further:
divide a sequence of uplink control information (UCI) bits into a first set of UCI bits associated with the first PUCCH transmission and a second set of UCI bits associated with the second PUCCH transmission;
encode the first set of UCI bits to generate a first set of encoded symbols; encod
output, for transmission, the first set of encoded symbols in the first PUCCH transmission; and
output, for transmission, the second set of encoded symbols in the second PUCCH transmission.
HAN broadly covers using UCI for PUCCH resource configuration for STxMP operation [0125-127].
Papasakellariou teaches dividing sequence of uplink control information (UCI) bits [0366] and encoding a first and second set of UCI bits, and further outputting for transmission [0186] (see detailed claim mapping in previous action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of HAN, which teaches UCI bits, and apply it to teaching of splitting UCI bits into appropriate sets, encoding them independently and transmitting them for the first and second UL transmissions as taught by Papasakellariou. Doing so allows for efficient adaptation of PUCCH structures to different UCI payload sizes, improving uplink control information transmission reliability and flexibility (Papasakellariou, [0102]).
As to claim 9, HAN in view of Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further:
encod(Papasakellariou, [0190] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action);
divide the set of encoded symbols into a first set of encoded symbols associated with the first PUCCH transmission and a second set of encoded symbols associated with the second PUCCH transmission (Papasakellariou, [0186] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action);
output, for transmission, the first set of encoded symbols in the first PUCCH transmission [0186] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action; and
output, for transmission, the second set of encoded symbols in the second PUCCH transmission ([0186] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of HAN, which teaches multiple antenna panels to perform simultaneous transmission, and apply it to teaching of splitting UCI bits into appropriate sets, encoding them independently and transmitting them for the first and second UL transmissions as taught by Papasakellariou. Doing so allows for efficient adaptation of PUCCH structures to different UCI payload sizes, improving uplink control information transmission reliability and flexibility (Papasakellariou, [0102]).
As to claim 10, HAN in view of Papasakellariou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further:
receive a parameter associated with the first PUCCH transmission (Papasakellariou, [0363] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action), wherein the parameter is independent of the second PUCCH transmission (Papasakellariou, [0190] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action); and where in the parameter includes one of: an initial cyclic shift parameter (Papasakellariou, [0252] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action), wherein the initial cyclic shift parameter is based on a PUCCH format (Papasakellariou, [0371] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action); an orthogonal cover code (OCC) parameter; the OCC parameter being based on a PUCCH format(Papasakellariou, [0371] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action); a number of symbols parameter(Papasakellariou, [0363] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action); or a starting symbol index parameter(Papasakellariou, [0363] – see detailed claim mapping in previous action).
HAN broadly covers using OCC for PUCCH resource configuration for STxMP operation [0166-167].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of HAN, which teaches multiple antenna panels to perform simultaneous transmission, and apply it to teachings to further specifying that UE receives a specific parmater than configures or customizes how the first and second PUCCH is transmitted, which is independent of second PUCCH transmission as taught by Papasakellariou. Doing so allows for efficient adaptation of PUCCH structures to different UCI payload sizes, improving uplink control information transmission reliability and flexibility (Papasakellariou, [0102]).
As to claim 18, HAN in view of Papasakellariou teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: dividing a sequence of uplink control information (UCI) bits into a first set of UCI bits associated with the first PUCCH transmission and a second set of UCI bits associated with the second PUCCH transmission; encoding the first set of UCI bits to generate a first set of encoded symbols; encoding the second set of UCI bits to generate a second set of encoded symbols; outputting, for transmission,
and outputting, for transmission, the second set of encoded symbols in the second PUCCH transmission. See similar rejection to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250055639 A1 to GUO – see paragraphs [0040] (PUCCH); Fig. 6 [0052-53] (SFN); [0064] (parameter).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411