DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the RCE filed 22 June 2026.
Claims 21-41 are currently pending and considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25, 34-35 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2007/0024579) in view of Parker et al. (US 2018/0059781) and Kamide et al. (US 2015/0135145).
Claim 21:
Rosenberg discloses a method of processing user input to a computing system having an audio input and a visual input (Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, at the computing system, an audio input signal from said audio input; processing the audio input signal to identify an action executable by the computing system in relation to one or more items in an environment of a user of the computing system (“an aural recognition unit coupled to the controller unit functional to receive the aural signals from at least one functionally coupled aural sensor indicative of verbal commands appropriate for controlling one of a plurality of electronic devices”, [0018], see also “Generally, aural recognition units 50 employs circuitry that transforms input signals representing aural utterances, as captured by one or more aural sensors 55, into discrete digital representations that are compared to stored digital representations in a library of digital words used as commands to control the various electronic devices”, [0073]);
determining whether the user has demonstrated a reliable intent to interact with an item of the one or more items in the environment of the user to cause the action to be executed in relation to the item (“a user issues a command to select a desired electronic device by looking in the direction of the desired one of the plurality of electronic devices while issuing a verbally uttered command”, [0009], see also “determine if the gaze was intentional rather than spurious and/or to determine if the gaze met any specified timing requirements with respect to an uttered verbal command. In this way, the various embodiments may be configured to determine if user 190 is gazing upon electronic device 175, if that gaze was intentional, and if that gaze was contemporaneous with an uttered verbal command from user 190”, [0067]), wherein determining whether the user has demonstrated the reliable intent comprises:
performing gaze direction detection on an image received from the visual input to determine a direction of gaze of the user; and determining whether an item in a field of view of the user is consistent with the determined direction of gaze (“the user aims his or her visual gaze substantially in the direction of the one of the separately located electronic devices or a portion thereof. The appropriately directed gaze is referred to herein as a device-targeting gaze and generally must fall within certain close physical proximity of one of the separately located electronic devices, or a portion thereof, for more than a certain threshold amount of time”, [0038], see also “configuration of the image processing routines is performed upon the image data collected by the CCD image sensor to determine if a user is gazing substantially in the direction of the sensor/light source pair”, [0068]); and
responsive to determining that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the item in the environment of the user, triggering an event to execute the action in relation to the item in the field of view of the user (“determine if the gaze was intentional rather than spurious and/or to determine if the gaze met any specified timing requirements with respect to an uttered verbal command. In this way, the various embodiments may be configured to determine if user 190 is gazing upon electronic device 175, if that gaze was intentional, and if that gaze was contemporaneous with an uttered verbal command from user 190”, [0067], see also “determine a gaze selected target in dependence on the optical signals received from the gaze detection unit 201. The processor is further programmed to determine an appropriate control action in dependence on the aural signals received from the aural recognition unit 203. If the optical and aural control signals are sufficiently contemporaneous 205, an appropriate command is sent to the interface unit associated with the device to be controlled 209”, [0089]).
Rosenberg does not explicitly disclose that the visual input comprises a camera.
In an analogous system similarly detecting a user’s gaze direction using a visual input, Parker discloses wherein the visual input comprises a camera (“Gaze detection may be accomplished, for example, by processing visual, infrared, or sonar images of the user. The images may be captured using, for example, depth cameras, digital or analog video cameras, infrared sensors, and/or ultrasound sensors”, [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Rosenberg’s visual input with Parker’s to yield the predictable result of detecting a user’s gaze using image captured by a camera because cameras are standard image capturing devices (see Parker, [0033]).
Rosenberg in view of Parker does not explicitly disclose wherein determining user intention to interact comprises verifying that the image received from the visual input is captured from a position at or below a level of one or more specified facial features of the user.
In an analogous system similarly determining user intention to interact with a device, Kamide discloses wherein the determining comprises verifying that the image received from the visual input is captured from a position at or below a level of one or more specified facial features of the user (“the control unit 20 performs image-capturing with the use of the front surface image-capturing unit 11. Next, in step S34, the control unit 20 judges whether the user has the portable device 10 in front of the face, based on an image-capturing result. In this case, the control unit 20 judges whether the user has the portable device 10 in front of the face or below the face, based on a position of the face, positions of eyes, the form of a nose and so on in a captured image”, [0041], see also “When the judgment in step S34 is positive, i.e., the user holds the portable device 10 as illustrated in FIG. 5B, the control unit 20 advances to step S36, and displays an icon of the application of the camera on the display 13. The reason why the control unit 20 does not display the icon of the application of the game in step S36 is that there is a low possibility that the user will perform the game in an attitude as illustrated in FIG. 5B. After step S36, the control unit 20 advances to step S16 of FIG. 3. On the other hand, when the judgment of step S34 is negative, i.e., the user holds the portable device 10 as illustrated in FIG. 5C, the control unit 20 displays the icons of the applications of the game and the camera on the display 13. In this case, since the user holds the portable device 10 in one hand, it is considered that a possibility of trying to use the application of the camera (i.e., the user is going to photograph a lower part with the camera) is higher than a possibility of trying to use the application of the game. Therefore, the control unit 20 may make the priority of the icon of the application of the camera higher than the priority of the icon of the application of the game, and display the icons. In this case, the control unit 20 may display the icon of the application of the camera so as to become larger than the icon of the application of the game, for example, or may display the icon of the application of the camera above the icon of the application of the game”, [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result of determining Rosenberg’s user intention to interact by verifying that the image received from the visual input is captured from a position at or below a level of one or more specified facial features of the user because users tend to hold devices at or below their faces when they intend to interact with them (see Kamide, [0042], see also Figs. 5B and 5C).
Claim 22:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21.
Parker discloses wherein the one or more items in the environment of the user represent a plurality of items displayed on a screen of a computing system and available for interaction by the user (“a user 200 who is looking at display 201 on system 202 which is presenting several options including media 203, phone 204, and navigation 205. These options may be presented as button, tiles, or simply words on display 201. Gaze detector 206 monitors user 200 and identifies the user's point of focus. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, the user's gaze 207 is focused on media option 203. Accordingly, system 202 knows that the user is currently interested in the media subsystem and not the phone or navigation subsystems. System 202 selects a media interaction set, which may be a grammar for use with speech recognition system 208 that includes media control terms, such as the words “start,” “stop,” “rewind,” “fast forward,” and lists of artist and song names and terms. When user 200 says “Chicago,” the media system lists songs from the musical Chicago”, [0052], see also [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result in which Rosenberg’s one or more items represent a plurality of items displayed on a screen of a computing system and available for interaction by the user in order to interact, using the user’s gaze and speech, with a particular displayed item from amongst many (see Parker, [0052]-[0053]).
Claim 23:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the one or more items in the environment of the user represent a plurality of devices available for interaction by the user, the plurality of devices comprise one or more of home devices, smart devices, smart toys or robots (Rosenberg, [0039], see also [0073]).
Claim 25:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising performing one or more additional verification operations, wherein confirming that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user is dependent on the outcome of the one or more further verification operations in addition to confirming that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user (Rosenberg, [0050]-[0051] and [0074], see also [0076]).
Claim 34:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, wherein triggering the event to execute the action in relation to the item in the field of view of the user further comprises: recording the audio input signal; and performing a speech processing function on the recorded audio input signal (Rosenberg, [0089], note that the audio signal must be stored, at least temporarily, in order to be processed).
Claim 35:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, wherein triggering the event to execute the action in relation to the item in the field of view of the user further comprises: recording the audio input signal; and sending the recorded audio input signal to a remote computing device for speech processing (Rosenberg, [0077], note that the audio signal must be stored, at least temporarily, in order to be processed).
Claims 38-39:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses a computing system for processing user input having an audio input and a visual input, the system comprising: a memory; and a processor, coupled to the memory (Rosenberg, [0041]-[0042]), to perform operations comprising performing the steps of process claims 21 and 25 as shown above.
Claim 40:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor (Rosenberg, [0041]-[0042], see also [0030]), cause the processor to perform the steps of process claim 21 as shown above.
Claim 41:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the one or more specified facial features comprise eyes or nose of the user (Kamide, [0041]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2007/0024579) in view of Parker et al. (US 2018/0059781), Kamide et al. (US 2015/0135145) and Hernandez-Abrego et al. (US 2012/0295708).
Claim 24:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more items in the environment of the user represent a plurality of items in at least one of a virtual reality, mixed reality or augmented reality overlay seen by the user and available for interaction by the user.
In an analogous system similarly interacting with one or more items in an environment of a user, Hernandez-Abrego discloses wherein the one or more items in the environment of the user represent a plurality of items in at least one of a virtual reality, mixed reality or augmented reality overlay seen by the user and available for interaction by the user (“User 406 plays a game that includes virtual reality 402, and avatars 408 and 410. Avatar 410 is being controlled by user 406. When user 406 directs his gaze towards avatar 408, the game moves avatar 410 near avatar 408. Once avatar 410 is situated near avatar 408, user 406 speaks 404 (e.g., "good morning"), and user's 406 speech is reproduced 412 by avatar 410”, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result in which Rosenberg’s one or more items represent a plurality of items in at least one of a virtual reality, mixed reality or augmented reality overlay seen by the user and available for interaction by the user in order to interact, using the user’s gaze and speech, with a particular virtual reality, mixed reality or augmented reality item from amongst many (see Hernandez-Abrego, [0056]).
Claim 26, 27 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2007/0024579) in view of Parker et al. (US 2018/0059781), Kamide et al. (US 2015/0135145) and Basu et al. (US 2003/0018475).
Claim 26:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 25 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more additional verification operations comprise a mouth movement detection operation to verify that the user's mouth is moving.
In a system with similar verification operations to record audio input ([0009]), Basu discloses wherein the verification operations comprise a mouth movement detection operation to verify that the user's mouth is moving (“a microphone associated with the speech recognition system is turned on such that an audio signal from the microphone may be initially buffered if at least one mouth opening is detected from the video signal. Then, the buffered audio signal is decoded in accordance with the speech recognition system if mouth opening pattern recognition indicates that subsequent portions of the video signal are representative of speech”, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result of Salvador’s verification operations comprising a mouth movement detection operation to verify that the user's mouth is moving in order to use not only audio information but also visual information related to mouth movement in determining whether received audio is speech (see Basu, [0012]).
Claim 27:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Basu discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the mouth movement detection operation further verifies that the mouth movement of the user corresponds to a movement pattern indicative of speech (Basu, “the buffered audio signal is decoded in accordance with the speech recognition system if mouth opening pattern recognition indicates that subsequent portions of the video signal are representative of speech”, [0012]).
Claim 32:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Basu discloses the method of claim 26, wherein at least two of the additional verification operations are performed (Rosenberg, [0050]-[0051]).
Claim 33:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Basu discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the determination of whether the item in the field of view of the user is consistent with the determined direction of gaze and/or the additional verification operations is a weighted determination, and wherein a positive determination is made when the weighted determination is above a threshold (Rosenberg, [0050]-[0051]).
Claims 28-29, 31 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2007/0024579) in view of Parker et al. (US 2018/0059781), Kamide et al. (US 2015/0135145) and Salvador et al. (US 2015/0066494).
Claims 28:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 25, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more additional verification operations comprise an audio detection operation to verify that the audio input is receiving sound from the environment of the user.
In an analogous art similarly performing one or more additional verification operations to confirm user intent to interact with an item, Salvador discloses wherein the one or more additional verification operations comprise an audio detection operation to verify that the audio input is receiving sound from the environment of the user (“monitors activity 320 for indicia that a user command to record or process audio maybe forthcoming”, [0040], see also “The detection of ambient sound (495) may be used as indicia itself, in combination with other indicia, and/or may activate other audio analysis processes that consume greater power, such as processing the audio to detect speech”, [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result of including an audio detection operation to verify that the audio input is receiving sound from the environment of the user as part of Rosenberg’s one or more additional verification operations in order to save energy by activating audio processes that consume considerable power only when sound is detected (see Salvador, [0046]).
Claim 29:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Salvador discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the audio detection operation further verifies that the characteristics of detected sound are consistent with speech (Salvador, [0047]).
Claim 31:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Salvador discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the audio detection operation further verifies that the characteristics of detected sound are consistent with a speech profile stored for a given user (Salvador, [0048], see also Rosenberg, [0074]).
Claim 36:
Rosenberg in view of Parker and Kamide discloses the method of claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose wherein triggering the event to execute the action in relation to the item in the field of view of the user further comprises: storing the audio input signal in a buffer; and performing one of: responsive to confirming that the user has not demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, overwriting or discarding the audio input signal stored in the buffer; or responsive to determining that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, retrieving the audio input signal from the buffer.
In an analogous art similarly triggering an event to execute an action in relation to an item in a field of view of a user, Salvador discloses wherein triggering the event to execute the action in relation to the item in the field of view of the user further comprises: storing the audio input signal in a buffer; and performing one of: responsive to confirming that the user has not demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, overwriting or discarding the audio input signal stored in the buffer; or responsive to determining that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, retrieving the audio input signal from the buffer (“At least a portion of the buffered audio is then retrieved from the buffer (350) and prepended (360) onto audio received after the user command. The combined audio stream is then recorded and/or processed (370), such as processing the speech into text”, [0053], see [0020] for overwriting).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result of performing one of: responsive to confirming that the user has not demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, overwriting or discarding the audio input signal stored in the buffer; or responsive to determining that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user, retrieving the audio input signal from the buffer in order to control a device using a buffered user command only after the user’s intention to control the device has been confirmed (see Rosenberg, [0067] and Salvador, [0053]).
Claim 37:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Salvador discloses the method of claim 36, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the buffer is of sufficient capacity to store an audio signal of a duration at least as long as the time required to confirm that the user has demonstrated the reliable intent to interact with the identified item in the environment of the user and optionally the additional verification operations.
However, Salvador does disclose that the buffer may be of any size (“The buffer may be of any size, such as for example two or three seconds”, [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the buffer may be of sufficient capacity to store an audio input signal of a duration at least as long as the time required to determine the face detection and optionally the additional verification operations because face detection is be performed swiftly (for example less than three seconds) in the types of device disclosed in Salvador (see [0065]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenberg (US 2007/0024579) in view of Parker et al. (US 2018/0059781), Kamide et al. (US 2015/0135145), Salvador et al. (US 2015/0066494) and Dey et al. (US 2014/0010418).
Claim 30:
Rosenberg in view of Parker, Kamide and Salvador discloses the method of claim 28, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the audio detection operation further verifies that the direction from which sound is detected is consistent with the direction of gaze of the user.
In a system with a similar face detection operation, Dey discloses verifying that the direction from which sound is detected is consistent with the direction of a detected face (“Detection of lip activity of a user along with audio activity from the same direction can be used to infer a "genuine" speech command”, [0010], see also [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references to yield the predictable result of verifying that the direction from which sound is detected is consistent with the direction of Salvador’s detected face in order to ascertain that speech came from the user whose face was detected and not from other users in the same environment (see Dey, [0010]).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL G NEWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657