DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 2 and 10 are cancelled.
Claims 1,4,5,8, 12, 13 and 16 are amended.
No new claim is added.
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-16 are pending.
Response to argument
Applicant’s amendments are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments and remarks. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of new rejection of the
claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6, 8, 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over JP2020065333A to Watabe (herein after “Watabe”) in view of JP 2020162030 A to Harada et al. (herein after “Harada”).
Regarding claim 1, Watabe discloses a gateway security circuit applied to a vehicle (see Watabe semiconductor integrated circuit), the vehicle comprising an in- vehicle communication system (see Watabe in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 )and an out-of-vehicle communication system ( see Watabe out-of-vehicle communication system CPU 11), the gateway security circuit comprising: a first communication interface configured to electrically connect with the in-vehicle communication system (see Watabe at least para[0018] (4) The in-vehicle communication module has a communication interface according to a CAN); a second communication interface configured to electrically connect with the out-of-vehicle communication system( see Watabe para [0027] The wireless communication module 12 is a module that performs wireless communication according to, for example, a wireless LAN communication standard. In the present embodiment, the wireless communication module 12 has a communication interface of SDIO (Secure Digital Input / Output) and performs communication with the CPU 11) ; and a communication module, wherein the communication module comprises an intranet domain controller electrically connected with the first communication interface (see Watabe para[0018] communication module) and an external domain controller electrically connected with the second communication interface (see Watabe the wireless communication module 12 has a communication interface of SDIO (Secure Digital Input / Output) and performs communication with the CPU 11 ) , the intranet domain controller is configured to communicate with the in-vehicle communication system (see Watabe [0018] (4) The in-vehicle communication module has a communication interface according to a CAN (Controller Area Network) ), and the external domain controller is configured to communicate with the out-of-vehicle communication system (see Watabe at least para[0007] An external communication module that performs wireless communication with the power supply station, and an external communication system processing unit that is communicably connected to the external communication module and that processes communication by the external communication module, and the charging control unit).
However, Watabe does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system comprises an on-board diagnostic system and a vehicle networking system, the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system.. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Harada teaches wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system (see Harada an out-of-vehicle communication system for vehicles ) comprises an on-board diagnostic system (see Harada para [0024] The network 35 may also include a computer network based on the IEEE 802.3 standard, for example. The central gateway 21 manages communications on the network 35 . The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2 ) and a vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] FIG. 1 shows a plurality of automobiles 1 traveling on a two-way road, an information and control server device 2 that sends and receives communication data to and from the automobiles 1, a first cellular communication network system 3, a second cellular communication network system 6, an ADAS (Advanced Driver Assistance System) communication system 9, and the Internet 12.), the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system system (see Harada para[0024] The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2, a security function, and the like. ) and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0021] The first communication network control device 5 is connected to a plurality of first cellular base stations 4),, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] the multiple automobiles 1 have multiple communication devices, such as a cellular communication device 33 that can communicate with the first cellular communication network system 3 or the second cellular communication network system 6, and an ADAS communication device 34 that communicates with the ADAS communication system 9; Harada does not explicitly mentioned first and second sub-domain but mentioned central gateway 21 manages the communication of the network 35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Watabe’s on-vehicle communication deice with Harada’s out-of-vehicle communication system in order to allow to be able to send and receive communication data due to interruption or omission of communication data during movement (see Harada para[0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 1. Watabe discloses the gateway security circuit ( see para[0015] a hardware security module) of claim 1, wherein the communication module further comprises a safety module electrically connected with the intranet domain controller (see Watabe [0018] (4) The in-vehicle communication module has a communication interface according to a CAN (Controller Area Network) ), and the external domain controller(see Watabe at least para[0007] An external communication module that performs wireless communication with the power supply station, and an external communication system processing unit that is communicably connected to the external communication module and that processes communication by the external communication module, and the charging control unit), the safety module is configured to encrypt first communication data outputted by the intranet domain controller and the external domain controller (see Watabe para[0015] The hardware security module is hardware with high tamper resistance, and stores, for example, key information used for encryption in communication), and decipher second communication data received by the intranet domain controller and the external domain controller (see Watabe para[0035] The HSM 25 has, for example, a storage area for storing key information, and performs processing such as encryption, decryption).
Regarding claim 4, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 1. Watabe discloses the gateway security circuit of claim 2, further comprising a first transceiver (see para[0036] CAN transceiver )electrically connected with the first subdomain controller system (see Watabe charging control ECU 3), and the on-board diagnostic system(see Watabe a communication interface conforming to the Ethernet (registered trademark), wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit third communication data outputted by the first subdomain controller to the on-board diagnostic system, and transmit fourth communication data outputted by the on- board diagnostic to the first subdomain controller (see Watabe at least para[0032] In the present embodiment, the data received by the wireless communication module 12 from the power feeding station 8 to the charging control ECU 3 is converted from the SDIO communication standard to the MII communication standard by the protocol conversion processing unit 15 of the external communication system CPU 11. ).
Regarding claim 5, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 1. Watabe discloses the gateway security circuit of claim 2, further comprising a second transceiver electrically connected with the second subdomain controller and the vehicle networking system, wherein the second transceiver is configured to transmit fifth communication data outputted by the second subdomain controller to the vehicle networking system, and transmit sixth communication data outputted by the vehicle networking system to the second subdomain controller (see Watabe at least para[0034] [0034] In the present embodiment, the storage capacity of the RAM 14 used by the vehicle exterior communication system CPU 11 is larger than the storage capacity of the RAM 24 of the vehicle interior communication system CPU 21. Therefore, the in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 temporarily stores the data received by the wireless communication module 12 from the power feeding station 8 in the RAM 14).
Regarding claim 6, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 1. Watabe discloses the gateway security circuit of claim 1, wherein the communication module further comprises a switch electrically connected with the first communication interface and the intranet domain controller, and the switch is configured to exchange seventh communication data between the in-vehicle communication system and the intranet domain controller (see Watabe at least para [0039] For example, CAN communication in the vehicle 1 is desired to start communication as soon as possible after the ignition switch of the vehicle 1 is turned on. On the other hand, in order to use the wireless communication module 12 that performs wireless communication by the wireless LAN, the CPU may need to execute the driver program on the OS. Since it takes a certain amount of time to start the OS, it is difficult to satisfy the time required from the ON switching of the ignition switch to the start of CAN communication).
Regarding claim 8, Watabe discloses a gateway security device applied to a vehicle, comprising a circuit board (see Watabe para[0025] the circuit board ), a shell, and a gateway security circuit (see Watabe para[0025] ICs (Integrated Circuits)), the shell and the circuit board are enclosed to form a cavity, and the gateway security circuit is arranged on the circuit board (see Watabe para[0027]) and further located in the cavity (see para[0025] are mounted on the circuit board), the vehicle comprising an in-vehicle communication system (see para[0025] in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 ) and an out-of-vehicle communication system (see para[0026] exterior communication system CPU 11), and the gateway security circuit comprising: a first communication interface (CAN) configured to electrically connect with the in-vehicle communication system; a second communication interface configured to electrically connect with the out-of-vehicle communication system (see Module 12 SDIO); and a communication module, wherein the communication module comprises an intranet domain controller electrically connected with the first communication interface (see para[0025] communication module CPU 21) and an external domain controller electrically connected with the second communication interface (see para[0026] communication system CPU 11) , the intranet domain controller is configured to communicate with the in-vehicle communication system(see Watabe para[0018] communication module) , and the external domain controller is configured to communicate with the out-of-vehicle communication system(see Watabe the wireless communication module 12 has a communication interface of SDIO (Secure Digital Input / Output) and performs communication with the CPU 11 ).
However, Watabe does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system comprises an on-board diagnostic system and a vehicle networking system, the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system.. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Harada teaches wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system (see Harada an out-of-vehicle communication system for vehicles ) comprises an on-board diagnostic system (see Harada para [0024] The network 35 may also include a computer network based on the IEEE 802.3 standard, for example. The central gateway 21 manages communications on the network 35 . The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2 ) and a vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] FIG. 1 shows a plurality of automobiles 1 traveling on a two-way road, an information and control server device 2 that sends and receives communication data to and from the automobiles 1, a first cellular communication network system 3, a second cellular communication network system 6, an ADAS (Advanced Driver Assistance System) communication system 9, and the Internet 12.), the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system (see Harada para[0024] The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2, a security function, and the like. ) and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0021] The first communication network control device 5 is connected to a plurality of first cellular base stations 4),, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] the multiple automobiles 1 have multiple communication devices, such as a cellular communication device 33 that can communicate with the first cellular communication network system 3 or the second cellular communication network system 6, and an ADAS communication device 34 that communicates with the ADAS communication system 9; Harada does not explicitly mentioned first and second sub-domain but mentioned central gateway 21 manages the communication of the network 35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Watabe’s on-vehicle communication deice with Harada’s out-of-vehicle communication system in order to allow to be able to send and receive communication data due to interruption or omission of communication data during movement (see Harada para[0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe discloses the gateway security device of claim 8, wherein the communication module further comprises a safety module electrically connected with the intranet domain controller see Watabe [0018] (4) The in-vehicle communication module has a communication interface according to a CAN (Controller Area Network) ), and the external domain controller see Watabe at least para[0007] An external communication module that performs wireless communication with the power supply station, and an external communication system processing unit that is communicably connected to the external communication module and that processes communication by the external communication module, and the charging control unit), wherein the safety module is configured to encrypt first communication data outputted by the intranet domain controller and the external domain controller(see Watabe para[0015] The hardware security module is hardware with high tamper resistance, and stores, for example, key information used for encryption in communication),, and decipher second communication data received by the intranet domain controller and the external domain controller(see Watabe para[0035] The HSM 25 has, for example, a storage area for storing key information, and performs processing such as encryption, decryption).
Regarding claim 12, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe discloses the gateway security device of claim 10, further comprising a first transceiver see para[0036] CAN transceiver ) electrically connected with the first subdomain controller (see Watabe charging control ECU 3), and the on-board diagnostic system(see Watabe a communication interface conforming to the Ethernet (registered trademark), wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit third communication data outputted by the first subdomain controller to the on-board diagnostic system, and transmit fourth communication data outputted by the on- board diagnostic to the first subdomain controller(see Watabe at least para[0032] In the present embodiment, the data received by the wireless communication module 12 from the power feeding station 8 to the charging control ECU 3 is converted from the SDIO communication standard to the MII communication standard by the protocol conversion processing unit 15 of the external communication system CPU 11. ).
Regarding claim 13, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe discloses the gateway security device of claim 10, further comprising a second transceiver electrically connected with the second subdomain controller and the vehicle networking system, wherein the second transceiver is configured to transmit fifth communication data outputted by the second subdomain controller to the vehicle networking system, and transmit sixth communication data outputted by the vehicle networking system to the second subdomain controller(see Watabe at least para[0034] [0034] In the present embodiment, the storage capacity of the RAM 14 used by the vehicle exterior communication system CPU 11 is larger than the storage capacity of the RAM 24 of the vehicle interior communication system CPU 21. Therefore, the in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 temporarily stores the data received by the wireless communication module 12 from the power feeding station 8 in the RAM 14).
Regarding claim 14, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe discloses the gateway security device of claim 8, wherein the communication module further comprises a switch electrically connected with the first communication interface and the intranet domain controller, and the switch is configured to exchange seventh communication data between the in-vehicle communication system and the intranet domain controller(see Watabe at least para [0039] For example, CAN communication in the vehicle 1 is desired to start communication as soon as possible after the ignition switch of the vehicle 1 is turned on. On the other hand, in order to use the wireless communication module 12 that performs wireless communication by the wireless LAN, the CPU may need to execute the driver program on the OS. Since it takes a certain amount of time to start the OS, it is difficult to satisfy the time required from the ON switching of the ignition switch to the start of CAN communication).
Regarding claim 16, Watabe discloses a vehicle (see Watabe para[0005] a vehicle), comprising an in-vehicle communication system see Watabe in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 ), an out-of-vehicle communication system( see Watabe out-of-vehicle communication system CPU 11), and a gateway security device (see para[0015] hardware security module), the gateway security device comprising a circuit board(see Watabe para[0025] the circuit board ), a shell, and a gateway security circuit, the shell, and the circuit board are enclosed to form a cavity(see para[0025] are mounted on the circuit board),, and the gateway security circuit is arranged on the circuit board and further located in the cavity, the gateway security circuit comprising: a first communication interface configured to electrically connect with the in-vehicle communication system(see para[0025] in-vehicle communication system CPU 21 ); a second communication interface configured to electrically connect with the out-of-vehicle communication system(see Module 12 SDIO); and a communication module, wherein the communication module comprises an intranet domain controller electrically connected with the first communication interface(see para[0025] communication module CPU 21) and an external domain controller electrically connected with the second communication interface(see para[0026] communication system CPU 11), the intranet domain controller is configured to communicate with the in-vehicle communication system(see Watabe para[0018] communication module), and the external domain controller is configured to communicate with the out-of-vehicle communication system(see Watabe the wireless communication module 12 has a communication interface of SDIO (Secure Digital Input / Output) and performs communication with the CPU 11 ).
However, Watabe does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system comprises an on-board diagnostic system and a vehicle networking system, the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system.. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Harada teaches wherein the out-of-vehicle communication system (see Harada an out-of-vehicle communication system for vehicles ) comprises an on-board diagnostic system (see Harada para [0024] The network 35 may also include a computer network based on the IEEE 802.3 standard, for example. The central gateway 21 manages communications on the network 35 . The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2 ) and a vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] FIG. 1 shows a plurality of automobiles 1 traveling on a two-way road, an information and control server device 2 that sends and receives communication data to and from the automobiles 1, a first cellular communication network system 3, a second cellular communication network system 6, an ADAS (Advanced Driver Assistance System) communication system 9, and the Internet 12.), the gateway security circuit further comprises a first subdomain controller electrically connected with the on-board diagnostic system system (see Harada para[0024] The central gateway 21 has a traffic control function for CAN packets and DIAG packets in OBD (On-Board Diagnostics) 2, a security function, and the like. ) and a second subdomain controller electrically connected with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0021] The first communication network control device 5 is connected to a plurality of first cellular base stations 4),, the first subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the on-board diagnostic system, and the second subdomain controller is configured to communicate with the vehicle networking system (see Harada para[0020] the multiple automobiles 1 have multiple communication devices, such as a cellular communication device 33 that can communicate with the first cellular communication network system 3 or the second cellular communication network system 6, and an ADAS communication device 34 that communicates with the ADAS communication system 9; Harada does not explicitly mentioned first and second sub-domain but mentioned central gateway 21 manages the communication of the network 35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Watabe’s on-vehicle communication deice with Harada’s out-of-vehicle communication system in order to allow to be able to send and receive communication data due to interruption or omission of communication data during movement (see Harada para[0005]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Watabe in view of JP 2020162030 A to Harada et al. (herein after “Harada”) and CN217655452U to Zhao (herein after “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 7, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 1. Watabe remains applied as claim 1. Watabe teaches an on-vehicle communication device for performing a wireless communication with a power supply station. However, Watabe does not teach the communication module comprises a NXPS32G2 chip. Nevertheless, Zhao same field of endeavor teaches the gateway security circuit of claim I, wherein the communication module comprises a NXPS32G2 chip (see Zhao at least para[0031] Assuming that NXP's S32G2 is used as the SoC, the computing power will increase by 14.5kDMIPS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Watabe’s on-vehicle communication device with Zhao’s NXPS32G2 chip as a communication module to increase computing power (see Zhao para[0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe remains applied as claim 8. Watabe teaches an on-vehicle communication device for performing a wireless communication with a power supply station. However, Watabe does not teach the communication module comprises a NXPS32G2 chip. Nevertheless, Zhao same field of endeavor teaches the gateway security circuit of claim 8, wherein the communication module comprises a NXPS32G2 chip (see Zhao at least para[0031] Assuming that NXP's S32G2 is used as the SoC, the computing power will increase by 14.5kDMIPS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Watabe’s on-vehicle communication device with Zhao’s NXPS32G2 chip as a communication module to increase computing power (see Zhao para[0031]).
Claim 9 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Watabe in view of JP 2020162030 A to Harada et al. (herein after “Harada”) and CN 215932783 U to Xie (herein after “Xie”).
Regarding claim 9, Watabe and Harada remain applied as claim 8. Watabe remains applied as claim 8. Watabe teaches an on-vehicle communication device for performing a wireless communication with a power supply station. However, Watabe does not teach a heat dissipation module, wherein the heat dissipation module is arranged on the shell corresponding to a place of the gateway safety circuit, and the heat dissipation module is configured to dissipate heat of the gateway security circuit. Nevertheless, Xie same field of endeavor teaches The gateway security device of claim 8, further comprising a heat dissipation module, wherein the heat dissipation module is arranged on the shell corresponding to a place of the gateway safety circuit, and the heat dissipation module is configured to dissipate heat of the gateway security circuit (see Abstract, see Xie para[0009] The above technical solution prevents dust from entering the interior of the housing during heat dissipation, making cleaning inconvenient.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Watabe’s on-vehicle communication device with Xie’s heat dissipation module to increase air circulation and accelerating the heat dissipation effect (see Xie para[0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666