DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed on May 7, 2026, the applicants have elected group I and furthermore, elected species I within group I without traverse for further prosecution.
Claims 1-24 are pending in the application. Claims 23 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
In the IDS filed on Sep. 22, 2023, one reference was lined through since the date of publication was missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no written description for treating autonomic dysfunction by administration of every known partial opiate agonist in the art. The only written description is for treating autonomic dysfunction by administration of buprenorphine only as mentioned on Page 12 (see line 12) of specification. There is no teaching in the specification for using any other partial opiate agonist besides buprenorphine.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 11-14 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 4-7 of instant application. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reece (Cardiovascular Toxicol., cited on applicant’s form 1449) in view of Kienbaum (Anesthesiology, cited on applicant’s form 1449) and further in view of Donaldson (Circulatory Shock, cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Reece discloses elevation of central arterial stiffness and vascular aging in opiate withdrawal and treating it with buprenorphine (see tables 4 and 5 on pages 63-64). Reece meets all the limitations of instant claims except that Reece does not teach treating autonomic dysfunction (reduction of norepinephrine and epinephrine). However, Reece teaches that elevation of vascular stiffness is related to heightened sympathoadrenal outflow, consistent with the heightened adrenergic autonomic effects on vascular smooth muscle which occurs during opiate withdrawal (see page 65, 2nd paragraph). On the other hand, Keinbaum teaches profound increases in epinephrine concentration in plasma and cardiovascular stimulation after mu-opioid receptor blockade in opioid addicted patients while Donaldson teaches decrease in catecholamine (epinephrine and norepinephrine) levels following Buprenorphine treatment (see table II on page 173) in Porcine Escherichiacoli septicaemia model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat heightened autonomic effects (such as increased levels of norepinephrine and epinephrine) of opiate withdrawal with buprenorphine with reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
14. Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,417. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat autonomic dysfunction with buprenorphine with reasonable expectation of success.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621