DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Withdrawn
1. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-10 anticipated by Smith has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 6/17/26.
2. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 11-19 anticipated by Nakano et al. been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 6/17/26.
3. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claim 20 unpatentable over Nakano et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 6/17/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-3,5,7-13,15-19,21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Roemer et al. (US20170133656).
As to claim 1, Roemer et al. discloses a traction battery pack (figure 21), comprising: an enclosure assembly (109) establishing an interior area; a battery array (113d) housed within the interior area; and a resealable guide tube formed of a flexible non conductive material, the resealable guide tube (figure 3 number 145) including a first portion extending inside the enclosure assembly (109) to a location of the interior area near the battery array (113d) and a second portion extending outside of the enclosure assembly (paragraph 0196).
As to claim 2, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the resealable guide tube extends through a wall of the enclosure assembly (figure 3 number 145).
As to claim 3, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the wall is part of an enclosure cover or an enclosure tray of the enclosure assembly (figure 3 number 145).
As to claim 5, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein the non-conductive material includes a polymeric material (paragraph 0059).
As to claim 7, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein an end portion of the first portion is positioned immediately adjacent to a high voltage measuring point of the battery array (figure 3 number 145,144).
As to claim 8, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein the high voltage measuring point is a high voltage terminal of the battery array (figure 3 number 145,156).
As to claim 9, Roemer et al. discloses wherein a tubular body of the resealable guide tube includes at least one bend (figure 3 number 145).
As to claim 10, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the resealable guide tube includes a lumen that is sized and shaped to receive a measurement probe (paragraph 0196).
As to claim 11, Roemer et al. discloses a traction battery pack (figure 21), comprising: an enclosure assembly (109); a battery system (113d) housed inside the enclosure assembly and including a high voltage measuring point; and a resealable guide tube configured to guide a measurement probe (figure 3 number 146) to the high voltage measuring point.
As to claim 12, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the resealable guide tube includes a first portion extending inside the enclosure assembly and a second portion extending outside of the enclosure assembly (figure 3 number 146).
As to claim 13, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the first portion includes an end portion positioned in contact with the high voltage measuring point (figure 3 number 146).
As to claim 15, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein the second portion includes a resealable end portion (figure 3 number 146).
As to claim 16, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein the high voltage measuring point is a high voltage terminal of a battery array of the battery system (figure 3 number 156).
As to claim 17, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the resealable guide tube includes a lumen that is sized and shaped to receive the measurement probe (paragraph 0196).
As to claim 18, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the measurement probe is operably connected to a testing device (figure 3 number 144).
As to claim 19, Roemer et al. discloses, wherein a tubular body of the resealable guide tube is comprised of a non-conductive material (paragraph 0059).
As to claim 21, Roemer et al. discloses wherein the resealable guide tube includes a resealable end portion configured to be opened to receive the measurement probe and resealed after removal of the measurement probe (figure 3 number 144).
As to claim 22, Roemer et al. discloses traction battery pack (figure 21), comprising: an enclosure assembly (109); a battery system (113d) housed inside the enclosure assembly and including a high voltage measuring point (figure 3 number 146); and a resealable guide tube comprised of a non-conductive material and including a lumen that is sized and shaped to receive and guide a measurement probe to the high voltage measuring point, the resealable guide tube including a first portion extending inside the enclosure assembly and a second portion extending outside of the enclosure assembly (paragraph 0196).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roemer et al.
Roemer et al. discloses the traction battery pack described above. Roemer et al. fail to disclose wherein the non-conductive material includes polytetrafluoroe) thylene (PTFE). Roemer et al. teaches an insulating material such as plastics therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide wherein the non-conductive material includes polytetrafluoroe)thylene (PTFE) for the purpose of providing optimal materials in absence of unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-13,15-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724