Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/06/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9,14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apparatus and Methods for Real Time Stress Control in Additive Manufacturing (hereinafter “NPL”).
In Reference to Claim 1:
NPL discloses a directed energy deposition (DED) additive manufacturing system (Figure 1) for manufacturing a component from a feedstock material (106), comprising: a rotary build table (112 rotatable via a base 110 actuator that moves the build plate relative to the deposition head in the Z direction depicted in Figure 1) that is rotatable about a vertical axis of the rotary build table at a rotation speed, the rotary build table defining a horizontal build surface on which the component is supportable (See, Figure 1) ; a deposition assembly having a deposition head (102) through which melted feedstock material (106) may be deposited at a deposition rate, wherein, upon rotation of the rotary build table, continuous deposition of melted feedstock material builds layers of feedstock material; a compression rig comprising a compression head (113 or 118) that is positionable proximate to the deposition head, the compression head having at least one roller (117) operable to apply a compressive load to a previously deposited layer of feedstock material during deposition of the melted feedstock material; and a controller (124) communicably coupled to the deposition assembly and the compression rig, wherein the controller controls application of the compressive load as the deposition head deposits melted feedstock material.
In Reference to Claim 2:
NPL further discloses wherein the controller (124) controls a location at which the compressive load is applied relative to the deposition head. See, Page 8 bottom paragraph which discloses “the controller 124 is configured to control the compression load device based on measurements of the temperature sensor 120” similarly the controller controls the compressive load based off residual stress adjusting the force magnitude, peening frequency, rolling period, and location (discussed on Page 9).
In Reference to Claim 3:
NPL further discloses wherein the controller (124) controls a magnitude of the compressive load. See, Page 9 which discloses “Adjusting the force magnitude”,
In Reference to Claim 4:
NPL further discloses wherein the controller controls the deposition rate during application of the compressive load. See, Page 7 top paragraph which discloses adjusting the load source. See, Page 9 which discloses adjusting the parameters of the deposition head in response to residual stress, such as energy beam power, movement speed or material feed rate.
In Reference to Claim 6:
NPL further discloses wherein the deposition assembly includes a robotic arm comprising a plurality of links that articulate relative to each other so as to adjust a position of the deposition head supported on a distal most link of the plurality of links. See, Figure 1.
In Reference to Claim 7:
NPL further discloses herein the robotic arm moves the deposition head nearer to or further from the compression rig. See, Figure 1. Examiner notes that the arm pivots as material is added and as a result is moved further to the compression portion as it raises to deposit more material before the compression occurs.
In Reference to Claim 8:
NPL further discloses wherein the deposition head is movable relative to the compression rig during deposition and compression. See, Figure 1.
In Reference to Claim 9:
NPL further discloses wherein the compression rig includes a first actuator (117) that moves the at least one roller parallel to the vertical axis to thereby apply the compressive load to a top side of the layer of feedstock material when the at least one roller is moved toward the rotary build table. See, Figure 1 which shows the roller parallel to the vertical axis.
In Reference to Claim 14:
NPL discloses wherein the deposition head includes a plasma transferred arc heat source. See, Page 5 which disclose the energy beam source may take various form depending on the implementation, such as plasma source, electric arc, or electron beam).
In Reference to Claim 19:
NPL discloses a method of manufacturing a component (See, Figure 1 what appears to be a bowl) with forging-like properties, the method comprising: rotating a build table (112- rotated by base 110 actuator) at a rotation speed, the build table defining a horizontal build surface; depositing a stream of feedstock material (106) via a deposition head (102) at a deposition rate, wherein continuous deposition of feedstock material during rotation of the build table forms layers of feedstock material; applying a compressive load(113) to formed layers of feedstock material while the deposition head deposits the stream of feedstock material; and continuing, for a time period, rotation of the build table and application of the compressive load after stopping deposition of the stream of feedstock material. See, Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apparatus and Methods for Real Time Stress Control in Additive Manufacturing (hereinafter “NPL”) in view of Farreny, WIPO Publication WO2021/125259 (hereinafter “Farreny”).
In Reference to Claim 5 and 20:
NPL discloses all the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and 19, respectively, and further discloses controlling application of the compressive load while depositing the stream of feedstock material; controlling deposition of the stream of feedstock material while applying the compressive load to the formed layers of feedstock material (See, NPL Page 6-8) but fails to explicitly (hinted to as being taught by claiming that the platform is rotatable) disclose the controller is also communicably coupled to the rotary build table and controls the rotation speed of the rotary build table during application of the compressive load.
However, in the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing, Farreny discloses wherein a controller is responsible for controlling the rotational speed of the rotary build table.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify NPL such that the controller can control the rotary tables rotation speed during periods of compressive load because such ability is necessary to ensure that the compressive load is not applying to much residual stress or inappropriate stress while the deposited material is still within the plastic deformation phase.
Claim(s) 10-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apparatus and Methods for Real Time Stress Control in Additive Manufacturing (hereinafter “NPL”) in view of Fischer et al., European Patent Publication EP3266543 (hereinafter “Fischer”).
In Reference to Claim 10-13:
NPL discloses all the limitations set forth in Claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one roller includes at least one inside roller positioned to roll an interior side of the layer of feedstock material, at least one outside roller positioned to roll an outer side of the layer, and at least one top roller positioned to roll a top side of the layer and wherein there is an actuator to position each respective roller, only disclosing a single roller with an actuator to adjust its position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fischer discloses a deposition device featuring an inner and outer position roller (2) and a roller(2) on top (as shown in Figure 2 and 3 respectively) for the purpose of reduced distortion of the deposition material and residual stresses (thereby making a stronger product).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify NPL to include the teachings of Fischer, specifically to modify the single roller actuator to contain a plurality of roller actuators, one for the inside outside of the deposited material (as shown in Figure 3 of Fischer) and a third actuated roller (as shown in Figure 2 of Fischer) for the top surface because as discussed in Fischer such a modification would provide for a superior manufactured product/component by reducing distortion (maintaining support for the deposited material in all possible direction) and also reduces the residual stress in the material.
In Reference to Claim 15:
NPL discloses A DED additive manufacturing system (Figure 1) for manufacturing a component from a feedstock material (106), comprising: a rotary build table (112) that is rotatable about a vertical axis (via base 110 containing an actuator) of the rotary build table at a rotation speed, the rotary build table defining a horizontal build surface on which the component is supportable (See, Figure 1); a deposition assembly having a deposition head (102) through which melted feedstock material may be deposited at a deposition rate, wherein, upon rotation of the rotary build table (See Figure 1), continuous deposition of melted feedstock material may build layers of feedstock material; a compression rig (113) positioned proximate the deposition assembly and having a compression head operable to continuously apply a compressive load to deposited melted feedstock material during deposition of the melted feedstock material, ; and a controller (124) communicably coupled to the deposition assembly and the compression rig, wherein the controller controls application of the compressive load as the deposition head deposits melted feedstock material
NPL fails to disclose the compression head having a plurality of rollers which apply the compressive load to a previously deposited layer of feedstock material, the compression rig having a first actuator that moves the plurality of rollers parallel to the vertical axis to thereby apply the compressive load to a top side of the previously deposited layer of feedstock material when moved toward the rotary build table, and the compression rig having at least one second actuator that moves the plurality of rollers horizontally and parallel to the horizontal build surface to thereby apply the compressive load to an interior side and/or an outer side of the previously deposited layer of feedstock material; and a controller communicably coupled to the deposition assembly and the compression rig, wherein the controller controls application of the compressive load as the deposition head deposits melted feedstock material.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fischer discloses a deposition device featuring an inner and outer position roller (2) and a roller(2) on top (as shown in Figure 2 and 3 respectively) for the purpose of reduced distortion of the deposition material and residual stresses (thereby making a stronger product).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify NPL to include the teachings of Fischer, specifically to modify the single roller actuator to contain a plurality of roller actuators, one for the inside outside of the deposited material (as shown in Figure 3 of Fischer) and a third actuated roller (as shown in Figure 2 of Fischer) for the top surface because as discussed in Fischer such a modification would provide for a superior manufactured product/component by reducing distortion (maintaining support for the deposited material in all possible direction) and also reduces the residual stress in the material.
In Reference to Claim 16 and 17:
NPL as modified further discloses wherein the deposition assembly comprises a robotic arm (shown in Figure 1) having a plurality of links that may articulate relative to each other so as to adjust position of the deposition head (102) which is supported on a distal most link of the plurality of links, wherein the robotic arm moves the deposition head relative to the compression head during deposition and compression, and the controller (124) controls position of the deposition head relative to the compression head. See, Figure 1 and Page 6-9 which discloses the controller controlling both the deposition head and the compression head depending on the temperature and residual stress.
In Reference to Claim 18:
NPL as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of rollers includes at least one inside roller positioned to roll the interior side of the previously deposited layer of feedstock material, at least one outside roller positioned to roll the outer side of the previously deposited layer, and at least one top roller positioned to roll the top side of the previously deposited layer, and wherein the at least one second actuator moves the at least one outside roller and the at least one inside roller towards each other or apart from each other. See, Figure 2 and 3 of Fischer which illustrates the rollers located on all three sides of the deposited material to support and compress. NPL already discloses the use of an actuator with a roller and controlling the actuator to adjust the force. Examiner notes it would have been obvious to similarly control the additional rollers as taught by Fischer in such fashion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 1138343 discloses an additive manufacturing process featuring a deposition procedure in which the platform is capable of rotary motion.
/DANIEL S COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745