DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 1, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-6, 16 and 21 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-16 and 20-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant arrived at the conclusion that “the UEs 104 each establish bidirectional communication with corresponding BSs 102. For example, UE 104A establishes bidirectional communication with 102A and 102B and UE 104B establishes bidirectional communication with 102B” (Response filed December 1, 2025, Page 16), based on “BS 102 repeatedly broadcasts system information associated with the BS 102 to one or more user equipment devices (UEs) 104 to allow the UEs 104 the UEs 104 access to the network within the cell” (Huang, [Para. 0036]) and FIG 1A. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
The citation describes only the behavior of the base station. It gives no indication of the behavior of a UE. A UE may receive the broadcast of system information from a base station with no attempt to establish a connection with the bae station nor even transmit a single signal to the base station, which is the case of Huang. Throughout the specification of Huang, there is no indication of a UE transmitting a single signal to a base station.
More importantly, Huang discloses the embodiments that teach UEs establish synchronized sidelink communications based only on the synchronization signals received from the base stations without transmitting a single signal to the base stations.
Huang teaches, for example, that “operation 402 also comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A and the UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B” (Huang [Para. 0052]. The UEs determine the synchronization references by detecting synchronization signals from the base stations, indicating the UEs are connected with the base stations. Following the determination of the synchronization references, “the second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A and similarly, the third synchronization reference received by the UE 104B can be used as a second synchronization reference for transmitting a second SL communication signal by the UE 104B” (Huang [Para. 0052]). Based on Huang, only the synchronization references from the received synchronization signals from the base stations are needed and used for sidelink communications over the synchronized sidelink channel, and the UEs do not transmit any signal to the base stations. There is no teaching in Huang that involves bidirectional communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang).
For claim 1, Wei discloses a system for synchronizing communication between devices, the communication system (Abstract, a method of transmitting a multicast signal and a unicast signal simultaneously for a network of a wireless communication system), comprising: a first cellular network tower configured to broadcast first outbound signals received by at least one first active network device and to receive first communication signals from the at least one first active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one first active network device ([Para. 0033] and [FIG. 6], the transmission point TPb1 controls antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m. The transmission point TPb1 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc via the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m. [Para. 0046], the multicast signal mentioned is a broadcast signal [Examiner’s Note: The first outbound signals SIG_mc are the signals from the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m]. The network includes a transmission point TPa1 and a transmission point TPa2 communicating with communication devices CD_1-CD_n [Examiner’s Note: Communication devices CD_1-CD_n indicate that TPb1 can transmit a multicast signal SIG_mc to multiple devices]. The transmission point TPb1 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc to the communication devices CD_1 via the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m), a second cellular network tower in communication with the first cellular network antenna tower via a cellular network and configured to broadcast second outbound signals received by at least one second active network device and to receive second communication signals from the at least one second active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one second active network device ([Para. 0033] and [FIG. 6], the transmission point TPb2 controls (e.g., equips with) antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m. The transmission point TPb2 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc via the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m. [Para. 0046], the multicast signal mentioned is a broadcast signal [Examiner’s Note: The second outbound signals SIG_mc are the signals form the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m]. The network includes a transmission point TPa1 and a transmission point TPa2 communicating with communication devices CD_1-CD_n [Examiner’s Note: Communication devices CD_1-CD_n indicate that TPb1 can transmit a multicast signal SIG_mc to multiple devices]. The transmission point TPb2 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc to the communication devices CD_n via the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m).
Although teach two sets of antennas broadcast outbound signals to devices, Wei does not explicitly disclose a first cellular network tower configured to broadcast first outbound signals received by at least one first active network device and to receive first communication signals from the at least one first active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one first active network device; a second cellular network tower in communication with the first cellular network tower via a cellular network and configured to broadcast second outbound signals received by at least one second active network device and to receive second communication signals from the at least one second active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one second active network device.
Panzner is directed to providing sidelink synchronization in telecommunication systems. More specifically, Panzner teaches a first cellular network tower configured to broadcast first outbound signals received by at least one first active network device and to receive first communication signals from the at least one first active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one first active network device ([Para. 0061] and [FIG. 2], UE-A 110 is connected to operator A 230 via the Uu interface and the corresponding link 111 and the RAN node 170. Both UEs are in RRC connected mode and in-coverage of their corresponding RANs 170. Both UEs may be connected to different PLMNs, hence both UEs may also be synchronized to different clock references, i.e., UE-A uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-A 170 [Examiner’s Note: UE-A receives SSB broadcast from its corresponding eNB/gNB. UE-A is in RRC connected mode indicating that UE-A has performed random access procedure by transmitting messages to the eNB/gNB in bidirectional communication. UE-A is the first active network device]); a second cellular network tower in communication with the first cellular network tower via a cellular network and configured to broadcast second outbound signals received by at least one second active network device and to receive second communication signals from the at least one second active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one second active network device (UE-B 110-1 is connected to operator B 230-1 via the Uu interface and the corresponding link 111-1 and the RAN node 170-1. Both UEs are in RRC connected mode and in-coverage of their corresponding RANs 170. Both UEs may be connected to different PLMNs, hence both UEs may also be synchronized to different clock references, i.e., UE-A uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-A 170 while UE-B uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-B 170-1 [Examiner’s Note: UE-B receives SSB broadcast from its corresponding eNB/gNB. UE-B is in RRC connected mode indicating that UE-B has performed random access procedure by transmitting messages to the eNB/gNB in bidirectional communication. UE-B is the second active network device]. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 1], two RAN nodes 170, 170-1 shown. One or both UEs 110, 110-1 may communicate with the other RAN node 170 or 170-1 [Examiners’ Note: UE 110 may communicate with RAN node 170 while UE 110-1 with node 170-1 as shown in FIG. 1]. [Para. 0051], Two or more RAN nodes 170 and/or 170-1 communicate using, e.g., link 176. The link 176 may be wireless).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, so that two UEs receive SSB broadcast from, perform RACH procedure with their base stations to establish RRC connections, as taught by Panzner. The implementation would have allowed the system to achieve two communication devices in the coverages of two cellular network antennas to communicate with less lag (Panzner [Para. 0004]).
Although teaching two UEs communicate with their respective antennas in uplink and downlink directions, Wei and Panzner do not explicitly disclose a first communication device, not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device, configured to passively listen to and receive the first outbound signals broadcast by the first cellular network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers; and a second communication device, not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device, configured to passively listen to and receive the second outbound signals broadcast by the second cellular network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers, the first communication device and the second communication device configured to synchronize communication between one another via a synchronized communication channel by (i) the first communication device determining a first internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network, and (ii) the second communication device determining a second internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network, wherein the first communication device is configured to communicate with the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the first internal synchronization parameter and the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the second internal synchronization parameter.
Huang is directed to providing method and apparatus for synchronization in sidelink communications. More specifically, Huang teaches a first communication device, not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A [Examiner’s Note: UE 104A is the first communication device. Wei indicates that multiple UEs receive broadcast signal from one base station. UE 104A only receives RRC/synchronization signal but does not transmit to BS 102A. UE 104A is different from the UE-A in Panzner that is in RRC connection mode with the base station]), configured to passively listen to and receive the first outbound signals broadcast by the first cellular network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], UE 104A obtains carrier information from the BS 102A. The carrier information can be transmitted through RRC signaling. Operation 402 comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102 [Examiner’s Note: Determining synchronization references from synchronization signals indicate that the UE are not connected with the base stations].. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A [Examiner’s Note: UE 104A receives RRC signaling and synchronization signal from base station 102A without transmitting signal to the base station]), and a second communication device, not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device ([Para. 0050], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B [Examiner’s Note: UE 104B is the second communication device. Wei indicates that multiple UEs receive broadcast signal from one base station. UE 104B only receives synchronization signal but does not transmit to BS 102B. UE 104B is different from the UE-B in Panzner that is in RRC connection mode with the base station]), configured to passively listen to and receive the second outbound signals broadcast by the second cellular network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers ([Para. 0050], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B); the first communication device and the second communication device configured to synchronize communication between one another via a synchronized communication channel by (i) the first communication device determining a first internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], operation 402 also comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A [Examiner’s Note: The first frequency reference used for SL communication by UE 104A is the internal synchronization parameter. The synchronization frequency that UE 104A obtains from the synchronization signal from BS 102A is the communication parameter of the first outbound signals (synchronization signal from BS 104A). The SL communications from UE 104A is the over the synchronized communication channel based the communication parameter. UE 104A transmits no signal to BS 102A]. [Para. 0052], the UE 104A determines at least one synchronization reference for the SL communications with the UE 104B. when the at least one carrier indicated by the BS 102A does not comprise a carrier on which the SL communications are performed, the UE 104A may select one of the at least one first synchronization reference of the at least one corresponding carrier from the BS 102B as the synchronization reference for SL communications); and (ii) the second communication device determining a second internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network ([Para. 0050], the UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B. The third synchronization reference received by the UE 104B can be used as a second synchronization reference for transmitting a second SL communication signal by the UE 104B [Examiner’s Note: The third synchronization reference used for SL communication by UE 104B is the internal synchronization parameter. The synchronization frequency that UE 104B obtains from the synchronization signal from BS 102B is the communication parameter of the second outbound signals (synchronization signal from BS 104B). The SL communications from UE 104B is the over the synchronized communication channel based the communication parameter. UE 104B transmits no signal to BS 102B]); wherein the first communication device is configured to communicate with the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the first internal synchronization parameter and the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the second internal synchronization parameter ([Para. 0050], operation 402 comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. The UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A and the UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A and similarly, the third synchronization reference received by the UE 104B can be used as a second synchronization reference for transmitting a second SL communication signal by the UE 104B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei and Panzner, so that UEs receiving different synchronization signals from different base stations and perform sidelink communications over synchronized channels based on the synchronization references determined from the received synchronization signals without transmitting any signal to the base stations, as taught by Huang. The implementation would have allowed synchronization in sidelink communications where two UEs receive from different synchronization sources (Huang [Para. 0005]).
For claim 8, Wei, Panzner and Huang teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first internal synchronization parameter is a communication frequency parameter for communication with the second communication device (Huang [Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], operation 402 also comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A. Huang [Para. 0061], the UE 104A can obtain a first synchronization reference determined from the BS 102A and a second synchronization reference determined from the BS 102B. When a first frequency range for a first sidelink communication and a second frequency range for a second sidelink communication, the first synchronization reference is used as the synchronization reference for the first sidelink communication and the second synchronization reference is used as the synchronization reference for the second sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei and Panzner, so that the synchronization reference for sidelink communication includes frequency, as taught by Huang. The implementation would have allowed synchronization in sidelink communications where two UEs receive from different synchronization sources (Huang [Para. 0005]).
For claim 9, Wei, Panzner and Huang teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first internal synchronization parameter is a communication time parameter for communication with the second communication device (Huang [0056], the first message can be an RRC broadcast signaling in which an indication ... when indication parameter for SLSS/PSBCH transmission is OFF, the first message can be a configuration signaling, in which the BS 102A configures at least one time offset value. [Para. 0112], the at least one time offset value in the configuration signaling can be used by the UE 104A to determine at least one corresponding synchronization reference for sidelink communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei and Panzner, so that the time offset value determines synchronization reference for sidelink communications, as taught by Huang. The implementation would have allowed synchronization in sidelink communications where two UEs receive from different synchronization sources (Huang, [Para. 0005]).
For claim 16, Wei discloses a method for synchronizing communication between devices, the method (Abstract, a method of transmitting a multicast signal and a unicast signal simultaneously for a network of a wireless communication system), comprising: broadcasting outbound signals with a first network tower ([Para. 0033] and [FIG. 6], the transmission point TPb1 controls antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m. The transmission point TPb1 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc via the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m. [Para. 0046], the multicast signal mentioned is a broadcast signal [Examiner’s Note: The first outbound signals SIG_mc are the signals form the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m]); the first outbound signals being received by at least one first active network device (The network includes a transmission point TPa1 and a transmission point TPa2 communicating with communication devices CD_1-CD_n [Examiner’s Note: Communication devices CD_1-CD_n indicate that TPb1 can transmit a multicast signal SIG_mc to multiple devices]. The transmission point TPb1 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc to the communication devices CD_1 via the antennas ANTb_11-ANTb_1m); broadcasting second outbound signals with a second network tower in communication with the first network antenna tower via a cellular network ([Para. 0033] and [FIG. 6], the transmission point TPb2 controls (e.g., equips with) antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m. The transmission point TPb2 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc via the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m. [Para. 0046], the multicast signal mentioned is a broadcast signal [Examiner’s Note: The second outbound signals SIG_mc are the signals form the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m]); the second outbound signals being received by at least one second active network device (The network includes a transmission point TPa1 and a transmission point TPa2 communicating with communication devices CD_1-CD_n [Examiner’s Note: Communication devices CD_1-CD_n indicate that TPb1 can transmit a multicast signal SIG_mc to multiple devices]. The transmission point TPb2 transmits a multicast signal SIG_mc to the communication devices CD_n via the antennas ANTb_21-ANTb_2m);
Although teach two sets of antennas broadcast outbound signals to devices, Wei does not explicitly disclose receiving, with the first network tower, first communication signals from the at least one first active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one first active network device; broadcasting second outbound signals with a second network tower in communication with the first network antenna tower via a cellular network; the second outbound signals being received by at least one second active network device.
Panzner is directed to providing sidelink synchronization in telecommunication systems. More specifically, Panzner teachers receiving, with the first network tower, first communication signals from the at least one first active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one first active network device ([Para. 0061] and [FIG. 2] , UE-A 110 is connected to operator A 230 via the Uu interface and the corresponding link 111 and the RAN node 170. Both UEs are in RRC connected mode and in-coverage of their corresponding RANs 170. Both UEs may be connected to different PLMNs, hence both UEs may also be synchronized to different clock references, i.e., UE-A uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-A 170 [Examiner’s Note: UE-A receives SSB broadcast from its corresponding eNB/gNB. UE-A is in RRC connected mode indicating that UE-A has performed random access procedure by transmitting messages to the eNB/gNB in bidirectional communication. UE-A is the first active network device]); broadcasting second outbound signals with a second network tower in communication with the first network antenna tower via a cellular network (UE-B 110-1 is connected to operator B 230-1 via the Uu interface and the corresponding link 111-1 and the RAN node 170-1. Both UEs are in RRC connected mode and in-coverage of their corresponding RANs 170. Both UEs may be connected to different PLMNs, hence both UEs may also be synchronized to different clock references, i.e., UE-A uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-A 170 while UE-B uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-B 170-1. [Examiner’s Note: UE-B receives SSB broadcast from its corresponding eNB/gNB. UE-B is the second active network device]. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 1], two RAN nodes 170, 170-1 shown. One or both UEs 110, 110-1 may communicate with the other RAN node 170 or 170-1 [Examiners’ Note: UE 110 may communicate with RAN node 170 while UE 110-1 with node 170-1 as shown in FIG. 1]. [Para. 0051], Two or more RAN nodes 170 and/or 170-1 communicate using, e.g., link 176. The link 176 may be wireless); second communication signals from the at least one second active network device during bidirectional communication with the at least one second active network device (Both UEs are in RRC connected mode and in-coverage of their corresponding RANs 170. Both UEs may be connected to different PLMNs, hence both UEs may also be synchronized to different clock references, i.e., UE-A uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-A 170 while UE-B uses the synchronization (e.g., SSB) from eNB/gNB-B 170-1 [Examiner’s Note: UE-B is in RRC connected mode indicating that UE-B has performed random access procedure by transmitting messages to the eNB/gNB in bidirectional communication]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Wei, so that two UEs receive SSB broadcast from, perform RACH procedure with their base stations to establish RRC connections, as taught by Panzner. The implementation would have allowed the system to achieve two communication devices in the coverages of two cellular network antennas to communicate with less lag (Panzner [Para. 0004]).
Although teaching two UEs communicate with their respective antennas in uplink and downlink directions, Wei and Panzner do not explicitly disclose passively listening to and receiving, with first communication device not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device, the first outbound signals broadcast by the first network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers; passively listening to and receiving, with a second communication device not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device, the second outbound signals broadcast by the second network tower without establishing bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers; and synchronizing communication between the first communication device and the second communication device via a synchronized communication channel by (i) the first communication device determining a first internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network, and (ii) the second communication device determining a second internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network; wherein the first communication device is configured to communicate with the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the first internal synchronization parameter and the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the second internal synchronization parameter.
Huang is directed to providing method and apparatus for synchronization in sidelink communications. More specifically, Huang teaches passively listening to and receiving, with first communication device not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A [Examiner’s Note: UE 104A is the first communication device. Wei indicates that multiple UEs receive broadcast signal from one base station. UE 104A only receives RRC/synchronization signal but does not transmit to BS 102A. UE 104A is different from the UE-A in Panzner that is in RRC connection mode with the base station]), the first outbound signals broadcast by the first network tower without establishing active bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], UE 104A obtains carrier information from the BS 102A. The carrier information can be transmitted through RRC signaling. Operation 402 comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102 [Examiner’s Note: Determining synchronization references from synchronization signals indicate that the UE are not connected with the base stations].. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A [Examiner’s Note: UE 104A receives RRC signaling and synchronization signal from base station 102A without transmitting signal to the base station]), passively listening to and receiving, with a second communication device not included in the at least one first active network device or the at least one second active network device ([Para. 0050], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B [Examiner’s Note: UE 104B is the second communication device. Wei indicates that multiple UEs receive broadcast signal from one base station. UE 104B only receives synchronization signal but does not transmit to BS 102B. UE 104B is different from the UE-B in Panzner that is in RRC connection mode with the base station]), the second outbound signals broadcast by the second network tower without establishing bidirectional communication with the first or second cellular network towers ([Para. 0050], The communication system comprises 2 BSs 102 and 2 UEs 104. The UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B); and synchronizing communication between the first communication device and the second communication device via a synchronized communication channel by (i) the first communication device determining a first internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network ([Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], operation 402 also comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A [Examiner’s Note: The first frequency reference used for SL communication by UE 104A is the internal synchronization parameter. The synchronization frequency that UE 104A obtains from the synchronization signal from BS 102A is the communication parameter of the first outbound signals (synchronization signal from BS 104A). The SL communications from UE 104A is the over the synchronized communication channel based the communication parameter. UE 104A transmits no signal to BS 102A]. [Para. 0052], the UE 104A determines at least one synchronization reference for the SL communications with the UE 104B. when the at least one carrier indicated by the BS 102A does not comprise a carrier on which the SL communications are performed, the UE 104A may select one of the at least one first synchronization reference of the at least one corresponding carrier from the BS 102B as the synchronization reference for SL communications); and (ii) the second communication device determining a second internal synchronization parameter for communication via the synchronized communication channel based on at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals without transmitting any signals to the first or second cellular network towers and without joining or communicating via the cellular network ([Para. 0050], the UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B. The third synchronization reference received by the UE 104B can be used as a second synchronization reference for transmitting a second SL communication signal by the UE 104B [Examiner’s Note: The third synchronization reference used for SL communication by UE 104B is the internal synchronization parameter. The synchronization frequency that UE 104B obtains from the synchronization signal from BS 102B is the communication parameter of the second outbound signals (synchronization signal from BS 104B). The SL communications from UE 104B is the over the synchronized communication channel based the communication parameter. UE 104B transmits no signal to BS 102B]); wherein the first communication device is configured to communicate with the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the first internal synchronization parameter and the second communication device is configured to communicate with the first communication device via the synchronized communication channel using the second internal synchronization parameter ([Para. 0050], operation 402 comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. The UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A and the UE 104B can determine a third synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102B. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A and similarly, the third synchronization reference received by the UE 104B can be used as a second synchronization reference for transmitting a second SL communication signal by the UE 104B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Wei and Panzner, so that UEs receiving different synchronization signals from different base stations and perform sidelink communications over synchronized channels based on the synchronization references determined from the received synchronization signals without transmitting any signal to the base stations, as taught by Huang. The implementation would have allowed synchronization in sidelink communications where two UEs receive from different synchronization sources (Huang [Para. 0005]).
For claim 20, Wei, Panzner and Huang teach the method of claim 16. The references further teach wherein the first internal synchronization parameter of the first communication device is one of a communication frequency parameter or a communication time parameter for communication with the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel (Huang [Para. 0050] and [FIG. 4], operation 402 also comprises determining at least one synchronization reference by detecting at least one synchronization signal received by the UEs 104 from the corresponding BSs 102. Specifically, the UE 104A can determine a second synchronization reference by detecting a corresponding synchronization signal received from the BS 102A. The second synchronization reference determined by the UE 104A can be used as a first synchronization reference for transmitting a first SL communication signal by the UE 104A. Huang [Para. 0061], the UE 104A can obtain a first synchronization reference determined from the BS 102A and a second synchronization reference determined from the BS 102B. When a first frequency range for a first sidelink communication and a second frequency range for a second sidelink communication, the first synchronization reference is used as the synchronization reference for the first sidelink communication and the second synchronization reference is used as the synchronization reference for the second sidelink communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Wei and Panzner, so that the synchronization reference for sidelink communication includes frequency, as taught by Huang. The implementation would have allowed synchronization in sidelink communications where two UEs receive from different synchronization sources (Huang [Para. 0005]).
For claim 21, Wei, Panzner and Huang teach the method of claim 16. The references further teach wherein: the first cellular network tower is a 5G cellular network tower (Panzner [Fig. 1] and [Para. 0048], In 5G, the RAN node 170 may be a NG-RAN node. Reference 198 also illustrates a link between remote elements of the RAN node 170 and centralized elements of the RAN node 170. Panzner [Para. 0049], The RAN node 170 includes one or more transceivers 160 interconnected through one or more buses 157. Each of the one or more transceivers 160 includes a receiver, Rx, 162 and a transmitter, Tx, 163. The one or more transceivers 160 are connected to one or more antennas 158); the second cellular network tower is a 5G cellular network tower (Panzner [Para. 0047], The RAN node 170-1 is expected to be similar to the RAN node 170, and therefore only the circuitry of RAN node 170 is illustrated); and the cellular network is a 5G cellular network (Panzner [Fig. 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Wei and Huang, so that the cellular network antennas are 5G cellular network antennas and the network is a 5G cellular network, as taught by Panzner. The implementation allows the system to achieve two communication devices in the coverages of two cellular network antennas to communicate with less lag (Panzner [Para. 0004]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang), and further in view of Charvat et al (US20170181118A1, hereinafter Charvat).
For claim 2, Wei, Panzner and Huang disclose the system of claim 1. However, the references do not expressly disclose wherein the first cellular network tower and the second cellular network tower are not configured to receive signals from the first communication device or the second communication device.
Charvat is directed to providing Radio-frequency localization techniques and associated systems, devices, and methods. More specifically, Charvat teaches wherein the first cellular network tower and the second cellular network tower are not configured to receive signals from the first communication device or the second communication device ([Fig. 1B] and Abstract, a first antenna configured to transmit, to a target device, a first radio-frequency (RF) signal having a first center frequency; a second antenna configured to receive, from the target device, a second RF signal having a second center frequency [Examiner Note: because the first antenna only transmits, the first antenna is not configured to receive signals transmitted from the target]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that the antennas are configured to not receive the signals from the communication devices, as taught by Charvat. The implementation allows the system to achieve transmission with reduced interference between transmission and reception (Charvat [Para. 0079]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang), and further in view of Guillouard et al (US20100220671A1, hereinafter Guillouard).
For claim 4, Wei, Panzner and Huang disclose the system of claim 1. Although teaching transmission over sidelink channel, the references do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals broadcast by the first cellular network tower is in synchronization with the at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals broadcast by the second cellular network tower.
Guillouard is directed to providing method for transmission of data and method for corresponding reception. More specifically, Guillouard teaches wherein the at least one communication parameter of the first outbound signals broadcast by the first cellular network tower is in synchronization with the at least one communication parameter of the second outbound signals broadcast by the second cellular network tower ([Para. 0021], said network comprising a plurality of base stations and at least two mobile terminals, the plurality of base stations broadcasting data at a same frequency. [Fig. 1] and [Para. 0038], The base stations 101 to 107 transmit at a single frequency. The base stations 101, 102 and 107 are assigned to the mobile terminal 1001. The base stations 106, and 107 are assigned to the mobile terminal 1002. [Para. 0041] the base stations operate on a single frequency in a synchronous manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that the outbound signals broadcast by the communication devices are in synchronization in frequency. antennas are configured to not receive the signals from the devices, as taught by Guillouard. The implementation enables more than one mobile terminal to move in a wireless network without service interruption (Guillouard [Para. 0006]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang), and further in view of Chowdhury et al (US20220303929A1, hereinafter Chowdhury).
For claim 5, Wei, Panzner and Huang teach the system of claim 1. Although teaching transmission over sidelink, the references do not expressly disclose wherein: the first cellular network tower includes a self-synchronized transmitter; and the second cellular network tower includes a self-synchronized transmitter.
Chowdhury is directed to providing method and Apparatus for Software Defined Radio with Timing, Phase, and Frequency Synchronization. More specifically, Chowdhury teaches wherein: the first cellular network tower includes a self-synchronized transmitter ([Fig. 1] and para. [0062], system architecture and components for a self-synchronizing SDR system 100 can include a plurality of MIMO antennae 101 and synchronization antennae 103 for receiving and transmitting signals from the self-synchronizing SDR 100), and the second cellular network tower includes a self-synchronized transmitter ([Fig. 1] and para. [0062], system architecture and components for a self-synchronizing SDR system 100 can include a plurality of MIMO antennae 101 and synchronization antennae 103 for receiving and transmitting signals from the self-synchronizing SDR 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that each of the antennas include a self-synchronized transmitter, as taught by Chowdhury. The implementation allows the system to transform from centralized control towards a distributed paradigm where devices make local decisions towards a shared, global objective (Chowdhury [Para. 0004]).
For claim 6, Wei, Panzner, Huang and Chowdhury teach the system of claim 5. The references further teach wherein: the first cellular network tower is a 5G cellular network tower (Panzner [Fig. 1] and [Para. 0048], In 5G, the RAN node 170 may be a NG-RAN node. Reference 198 also illustrates a link between remote elements of the RAN node 170 and centralized elements of the RAN node 170. Panzner [Para. 0049], The RAN node 170 includes one or more transceivers 160 interconnected through one or more buses 157. Each of the one or more transceivers 160 includes a receiver, Rx, 162 and a transmitter, Tx, 163. The one or more transceivers 160 are connected to one or more antennas 158); the second cellular network tower is a 5G cellular network tower (Panzner [Para. 0047], The RAN node 170-1 is expected to be similar to the RAN node 170, and therefore only the circuitry of RAN node 170 is illustrated); and the cellular network is a 5G cellular network (Panzner [Fig. 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Huang and Chowdhury, so that the cellular network antennas are 5G cellular network antennas and the network is a 5G cellular network, as taught by Panzner. The implementation allows the system to achieve two communication devices in the coverages of two cellular network antennas to communicate with less lag (Panzner [Para. 0004]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang), and further in view of Xiao et al (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao).
For claim 10, Wei, Panzner and Huang disclose the system of claim 1. Although teaching transmission over sidelink, the references do not expressly disclose wherein the first communication device is configured to survey a radio frequency (RF) environment of the first communication device to create an RF environment map of the first communication device.
Xiao is directed to providing message sending method and apparatus. More specifically, Xiao teaches wherein the first communication device is configured to survey a radio frequency (RF) environment of the first communication device to create an RF environment map of the first communication device ([Para. 0183], the radio environment measurement information that is of the communication path may be obtained through measurement. [Para. 0033], selecting, by the terminal device, the communication path from the at least two communication paths based on radio environment measurement information of the first communication path and/or radio environment measurement information of the second communication path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that the devices are configured to measure radio environment of the first communication device to create a radio environment map, as taught by Xiao. The implementation allows the system to achieve flexible selection of communication path between two communication devices (Xiao, [Abstract and Para. [0005]).
For claim 11, Wei, Panzner, Huang and Xiao disclose the system of claim 10. The references further teach the first communication device is configured to identify at least one channel of interest according to at least one of an existing signal type of each channel in the RF environment map or an emptiness of each channel in the RF environment map (Xiao [Para. 0033], selecting, by the terminal device, the communication path from the at least two communication paths based on radio environment measurement information of the first communication path and/or radio environment measurement information of the second communication path. Xiao [Para. 0164], the communication path determined by the terminal device for the V2X service is the communication path on which communication is performed by using the Uu interface. the terminal device establishes an end-to-end connection between the terminal device and a network device, configures a dedicated bearer, and transmits the processed data by using the dedicated bearer [Examiner Note: A channel to transmit with dedicated bearer is an empty channel]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that the first communication device is configured to identify at least one channel of interest according to an emptiness of each channel, as taught by Xiao. The implementation allows the system to achieve flexible selection of communication path between two communication devices (Xiao [Abstract and Para. 0005]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner), Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang) and Xiao et al (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao), and further in view of Baghel et al (US20210250869A1, hereinafter Baghel).
For claim 12, Wei, Panzner, Huang and Xiao disclose the system of claim 10. Although teaching measurement of radio environment and synchronizing communication (Huang, FIG. 8), the references do not expressly disclose wherein the first communication device is configured to transmit the RF environment map to the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel.
Baghel is directed to providing vehicle-to-everything (v2x) inter-user equipment (ue) coordination. More specifically, Baghel teaches the first communication device is configured to transmit the RF environment map to the second communication device via the synchronized communication channel ([Fig. 8] and [Para. 0096], the first UE measures first sensing information. [Para. 0097], the first UE receives second sensing information from a second UE [Examiner Note: sensing is periodically transmitting and receiving radio signals to sense the environment]. [Para. 0082], the transmitter UE 602 may receive sensing information from a first partner UE 604 via a sidelink transmission 610 {Examiner Note: In communication indicates that the communication channel is synchronized]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner, Huang and Xiao, so that the first communication device transmits sensing information to the second communication device, as taught by Baghel. The implementation allows the system to improve the sharing of wireless communication resources (Baghel [Para. 0006]).
For claim 13, Wei, Panzner, Huang, Xiao and Baghel disclose the system of claim 12. The references further teach the second communication device is configured to determine at least one optimal transmit channel or receive channel for communication between the first communication device and the second communication device based on the RF environment map (Xiao [Para. 0033], selecting, by the terminal device, the communication path from the at least two communication paths based on radio environment measurement information of the first communication path and/or radio environment measurement information of the second communication path. Xiao [Para. 0083], the first communication path is a communication path on which communication is performed by using a PC5 interface, and the second communication path is a communication path on which communication is performed by using a Uu interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner, Huang and Baghel, so that the device determines a channel to transmit or receive between two channels based on radio environment of the two channels, as taught by Xiao. The implementation allows the system to achieve flexible selection of communication path between two communication devices (Xiao, [Abstract and Para. 0005])
The references further teach the second communication device is configured to determine at least one optimal transmit channel or receive channel for communication between the first communication device and the second communication device based on the RF environment map (Baghel [Fig. 8] and [Para. 0098], the first UE combines the second sensing information with the first sensing information based on determining a combining condition is satisfied. Baghel [Para. 0099], the first UE identifies transmission resources from the combined sensing information. Baghel [Para. 0100], the first UE transmits data via a set of the identified transmission resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner, Huang and Xiao, so that the second communication device is configured to determine one optimal transmit channel, as taught by Baghel. The implementation allows the system to improve the sharing of wireless communication resources (Baghel [Para. 0006]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner) and Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang), and further in view of Kloos (US20060062319A1, hereinafter Kloos).
For claim 14, Wei, Panzner and Huang disclose the system of claim 1. Although teaching transmission over sidelink, the references do not expressly disclose wherein the first communication device is configured to perform at least one waveform encryption method for communicating with the second communication device.
Kloos is directed to providing method and apparatus for encryption of over-the-air communications in a wireless communication system. More specifically, Kloos teaches wherein the first communication device is configured to perform at least one waveform encryption method for communicating with the second communication device (Abstract, A communication device encrypts symbols at a physical layer in order to improve encryption of data transmitted over a wireless link) [Examiner Note: physical layer encryption is waveform encryption].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner and Huang, so that the first communication device is configured to perform waveform encryption, as taught by Kloos. The implementation allows the system to make an air interface more secure against decryption by an undesired interceptor of a communication in a wireless communication system (Kloos [Para. 0004]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US20140112234A1, hereinafter Wei) in view of Panzner et al. (US20230180159A1, hereinafter Panzner), Huang et al. (US20210185628A1, hereinafter Huang) and Kloos (US20060062319A1, hereinafter Kloos), and further in view of Sherman (US20040161111A1, hereinafter Sherman).
For claim 15, Wei, Panzner, Huang and Kloos disclose the system of claim 14. Although teaching performing waveform encryption, the references do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one waveform encryption method includes at least one of an out-of-band key exchange, a pre- shared key exchange, or in-band key rolling.
Sherman is directed to providing optical out-of-band key distribution. More specifically, Sherman teaches wherein at least one of an out-of-band key exchange, a pre- shared key exchange, or in-band key rolling (Abstract, the out-of-band communication system includes an optical out-of-band channel that is physically distinct from the encrypted data path. The optical out-of-band channel is configured to transmit key information from the optical transmitter to the optical receiver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Wei, Panzner, Huang and Kloos, so that the waveform encryption includes an out-of-band key exchange, as taught by Sherman. The implementation allows the system to satisfy the need for an encryption system or technique that makes transfer of key information less susceptible to intrusion by unintended third parties or hackers (Sherman [Para. 0007]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417