DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-12, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being disclosed by Abboud et al. (WO 2023/076398) "Abboud".
Regarding Claim 1, Abboud discloses a stemless implant assembly (Abstract) for a humeral implant assembly (Abstract, humeral component 122), comprising: a cup (stemless shell 314, par. [0126], FIG. 27);
a first fixation device (insert 320, par. [0126], FIG. 27) insertable through a first central bore (opening 318, par. [0126], FIG. 27) of the cup;
and a second fixation device (fastener 324, par. [0126], FIG. 27) insertable through a second central bore (aperture 344, par. [0126], FIG. 28) of the first fixation device (pars. [0126]- [0127]).
Regarding Claim 2, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the first fixation device is a major screw (par. [0127]), and the second fixation device is a minor screw (par. [0127], FIGS. 26-28).
Regarding Claim 3, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the first fixation device is an anti-rotation implant, and the second fixation device is a screw (par. [0127]).
Regarding Claim 5, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 4, wherein the second distal section includes a thread (thread 326, par. [0126], FIG. 26).
Regarding Claim 6, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the first central bore extends between a rim (ring structure 342, FIG. 27) and a rounded base (convex portion 316, FIG. 27) of the cup (pars. [0126]- [0127]).
Regarding Claim 9, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 8, wherein the second fixation device includes a thread (threads 326, par. [0126], FIG. 27).
Regarding Claim 10, Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the cup includes a cylindrical shaped body having a threaded inner diameter wall and a smooth outer diameter wall (par. [0127], FIG. 28).
Regarding Claim 11, Abboud discloses a humeral implant assembly (Abstract, humeral component 122) for an arthroplasty implant system (Abstract), comprising: an articular implant (ball 122, pars. [0106] and [0126]);
and a stemless implant assembly adapted to establish a convertible platform for receiving the articular implant (Abstract, pars. [0106] and [0126]);
wherein the stemless implant assembly includes a cup (stemless shell 314, par. [0126], FIGS. 26-28), a first fixation device (insert 320, par. [0126], FIGS. 26-28) insertable through the cup, and a second fixation device (fastener 324, par. [0126], FIGS. 26-28) insertable through the first fixation device.
Regarding Claim 12, Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the articular implant includes a concave articular surface (concave portion 334, par. [0126], FIGS. 26 and 28).
Regarding Claim 14, Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the cup includes a cylindrical shaped body having a threaded inner diameter wall and a smooth outer diameter wall (par. [0127], FIG. 28).
Regarding Claim 16, Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the first fixation device is an anti-rotation implant that includes a tapered body having at least two barbs (serrated fins 322, FIGS. 27 and 28), and further wherein each of the at least two barbs includes a ledge (serrated fins 322 outwardly deployed by action of thread 326, causing circumferential shape, par. [0126]) extending circumferentially around at least a portion of the tapered body (par. [0126], FIGS. 27 and 28).
Regarding Claim 17, Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the second fixation device is a screw that includes an outer diameter wall and a thread circumferentially disposed about at least a portion of the outer diameter wall (pars. [0126]- [0127], FIGS. 27 and 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 13, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abboud et al. (WO 2023/076398) "Abboud".
Regarding Claim 4, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a first and second
distal section with different distances from the cup. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein, in an assembled condition of the stemless implant assembly, a first distal section of the first fixation device is a first distance from the cup, and a second distal section of the second fixation device is a second distance from the cup, and further wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (par. [0128], FIGS. 29-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a first and second distal section with different distances from the cup in order to have a specified section for passing sutures and another section for securing the implant (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 7, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a rim including a flange. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 6, wherein the rim (ring structure 342, FIGS. 27 and 28) includes a flange (cavity 510 to accept insert 512, par. [0138], FIGS. 45 and 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a rim with a flange in order to have a port to accept and secure other biocompatible devices (par. [0138]).
Regarding Claim 8, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a first fixation device including a thread or barb. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the stemless implant assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the first fixation device includes a thread (proximally threaded portion 352, par. [0128], FIG. 30) or a barb. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a first fixation device with a thread or barb in order to promote bony ingrowth (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 13, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose an articular implant with a convex articular surface. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the articular implant includes a convex articular surface (hemispherical head 722 with surface 724, par. [0149], FIG. 63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include an articular implant with a convex articular surface in order to properly connect to the glenoid component that is adapted to attach to the scapula (par. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 15, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a first fixation device that is a screw with an outer diameter wall and a thread. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the first fixation device is a screw that includes an outer diameter wall and a thread circumferentially disposed about at least a portion of the outer diameter wall (proximally threaded portion 352, par. [0128], FIG. 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a first fixation device that is a screw with an outer diameter wall and a thread in order to promote bony ingrowth (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 18, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a first and second distal section with different distances from the cup. However, another embodiment of Abboud the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein, in an assembled condition of the stemless implant assembly, a first distal section of the first fixation device is a first distance from the cup, and a second distal section of the second fixation device is a second distance from the cup, and further wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance. (par. [0128], FIGS. 29-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a first and second distal section with different distances from the cup in order to have a specified section for passing sutures and another section for securing the implant (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 19, the main embodiment of Abboud does not disclose a cup, first fixation device, and second fixation device that are coaxially arranged along a central axis. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses the humeral implant assembly as recited in claim 11, wherein the cup, the first fixation device, and the second fixation device are coaxially arranged along a central longitudinal axis of the stemless implant assembly (pars. [0006] and [0123], FIGS. 23, 26-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include a cup, first fixation device, and second fixation device that are coaxially arranged along a central axis in order to reduce off-axis forces on the implant (par. [0006]).
Regarding Claim 20, the main embodiment of Abboud discloses a surgical method, comprising: preparing a humerus for receiving a cup of a stemless implant assembly (pars. [0004] and [0006], Abstract);
positioning the cup within the prepared humerus (pars. [0008] and [0006], Abstract);
inserting a first fixation device of the stemless implant assembly through the cup and into a cancellous bone of the humerus (pars. [0008] and [0126]);
but does not disclose inserting the second fixation device through the first fixation device wherein the second fixation device extends further. However, another embodiment of Abboud discloses inserting a second fixation device of the stemless implant assembly through the first fixation device and into the cancellous bone, wherein the second fixation device extends further into the cancellous bone than the first fixation device after the inserting (pars. [0126]- [0127], FIGS. 23 and 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure disclosed by the main embodiment of Abboud to include inserting the second fixation device through the first fixation device wherein the second fixation device extends further into the cancellous bone in order to help compress the stemless portion into the bone, which will help secure the device (par. [0191]).
Conclusion
/NATALIE N THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700