Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on page 6 lines 5-13 of arguments, filed 2/4/2026, with respect to claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 11, and 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 6 line 14 to page 10 line 5 of arguments, filed 2/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al.
Referring to claim 1, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a portable communication apparatus (computing device 110/510/710 can be portable devices such as tablet computers, smartphones, mobile telephones, and portable computers; Sections 0012, 0040, 0051, and 0053), comprising:
A satellite communication unit (multi-mode location device 920) in communication with one or more satellites (satellite system 404). Sections 0014, 0016, 0018, 0020, 0023, 0032, 0057-0061, 0066, 0071, 0077, and 0085: computing device 110/510/710 communicates with satellite system 404. Section 0057: “One or more GLI transmitters 910 can communicate global location signal(s) 914, which can be received, at least in part, by a multi-mode location device 920. As described herein, such a device can be embodied in or can constitute a computing device that can acquire (e.g., receive, decode, receive and decode, or the like) signals from a GLI transmitter (e.g., a GPS satellite, a macro-cellular station, or the like).”. So: the multi-mode location device 920 reads on the claimed “satellite communication unit” since it is embodied in computing device 110/510/710 and communicates with the GPS satellite.
A power storage device (power supply, not shown) to supply power to the satellite communication unit. Section 0050: The computing device 710 and/or one of the computing device(s) 770 can include a power supply (not shown), which can power up components or functional elements within such devices. The power supply can be a rechargeable power supply, e.g., a rechargeable battery, and it can include one or more transformers to achieve a power level suitable for operation of the computing device 710 and/or one of the computing device(s) 770, and components, functional elements, and related circuitry therein.”. So, computing device 110/510/710 includes a power supply to supply power to all component of computing device 110/510/710, including supplying power to the multi-mode location device 920 (claimed “satellite communication unit”).
A main unit (radio unit 514/712) in operable communication with the satellite communication unit (multi-mode location device 920)… Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, and 0087: radio unit 514/712 includes antennas 516 to process wireless signals from the air, including the satellite signals. So, radio unit 514/712 processes the satellite signals from multi-mode location device 920.
At least one power input interface (power supply in connection with conventional power grid via I/O 716) configured for electrical coupling … Section 0050: “In one aspect, the power supply can include an I/O interface (e.g., one of the network adapter(s) 718) to connect operationally to the conventional power grid.”. A conventional power grid is a power source in communication with an I/O device 716.
Refer to Sections 0010-0097.
…
Zukerman et al do not disclose … a main unit in operable communication with the satellite communication unit, the main unit including a PCB …
Takeguchi et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0023-0037 wherein a portable computer comprises a radio unit 27, wherein the radio unit 27 includes a PCB 17 for performing wireless communications with an external electronic device. Refer to Sections 0020-0050. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a main unit in operable communication with the satellite communication unit, the main unit including a PCB … One would have been motivated to do so since a radio unit includes a PCB with circuitry for performing wireless communication with other network devices.
Zakerman et al and Takeguchi et al do not disclose … at least one power input interface configured for electrical coupling to an external vehicle power system …
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 is a power input interface that provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … at least one power input interface configured for electrical coupling to an external vehicle power system … One would have been motivated to do so so that the device can be powered by an external power source via an interface.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, and Rudser et al do not disclose … a power conversion circuit configured to receive vehicle-supplied voltage in a range of about 11 volts to about 72 volts and to condition the received voltage for operation of the satellite communication unit.
Hsu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0016, 0017, and 0020 wherein in a wireless transmitter, a power converting unit converts a first DC source outputted from a power supply into a second DC source required by satellite. For example: an output voltage of a vehicle battery as a power supply is 12V (claimed “receive vehicle-supplied voltage in a range of about 11 volts to about 72 volts”) and a voltage required by the satellite is 5V. So, the power converting unit converts a vehicle battery of 12V into 5V for operation of the satellite (claimed “condition the received voltage for operation of the satellite communication unit”). Refer to Sections 0004-0007 and 0015-0024. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a power conversion circuit configured to receive vehicle-supplied voltage in a range of about 11 volts to about 72 volts and to condition the received voltage for operation of the satellite communication unit. One would have been motivated to do so so that a device can be powered by a vehicle battery, wherein the vehicle battery voltage is used for operation of the satellite, thereby facilitating satellite communication.
Referring to claim 5, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein at least one adapter (network adapters 718 and peripheral adapters 722) permits electrical communication … Sections 0042, 0046, and 0050: Network adapters 718 and peripheral adapters 722 provide electrical communication (Section 0092) between computing device 110/510/710 and external devices. Refer to Sections 0010-0097.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the at least one adapter permits electrical communication with an external power source.
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one adapter permits electrical communication with an external power source. One would have been motivated to do so so that the device can be powered by an external power source via an adapter.
Referring to claim 6, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery.
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. One would have been motivated to do so since a vehicle battery is an external power source for powering up devices.
Referring to claim 9, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the main unit is further comprised of a modem/router (modem 616) to provide communication means to the satellite. Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, and 0087: radio unit 514/712 includes antennas 516 to process wireless signals from the air, including the satellite signals. So, radio unit 514/712 processes the satellite signals from satellite system 404. Radio unit 514/712 includes modem 616 can permit or facilitate processing of signals received by computing device 110/510/710 and transmitted by computing device 110/510/710, which can include satellite signals from satellite system 404.
Claims 2-4, 10-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20130220847 to Fisher et al.
Referring to claim 2, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup (claimed “mounting component”) to allow mounting of the portable device to
“a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to any object, including a vehicle.
Referring to claim 3, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the at least one mounting component allows for mounting to an object.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup to allow mounting of the portable device to “a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Any of the windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. reads on the claimed “mounting to an object” Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to any object, including a windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. to allow for flexibility.
Referring to claim 4, Zukerman et al, Oga et al, and Takeguchi et al do not disclose wherein the at least one mounting component allows for mounting to a structure.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup to allow mounting of the portable device to “a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Any of the windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. reads on the claimed “mounting to a structure” Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to any structure, including a windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. to allow for flexibility.
Referring to claim 10, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the main unit is housed within a portable protective case.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. By applying Zukerman et al do Fisher et al: since the radio unit (claimed “main unit”) is in portable computing device 110/510/710 of Zukerman et al, and portable computing device 110/510/710 is in a portable protective case of Fisher et al, the radio unit is also in the portable protective case (claimed “main unit is housed within a portable protective case”). Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to use a portable protective case for the computing device and its components, thereby protecting the computing device and its components.
Referring to claim 11, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a portable communication apparatus (computing device 110/510/710 can be portable devices such as tablet computers, smartphones, mobile telephones, and portable computers; Sections 0012, 0040, 0051, and 0053), comprising:
… a satellite communication unit (multi-mode location device 920) in communication with one or more satellites (satellite system 404) and a power storage device (power supply, not shown) to supply power to the satellite communication unit. Sections 0014, 0016, 0018, 0020, 0023, 0032, 0057-0061, 0066, 0071, 0077, and 0085: computing device 110/510/710 communicates with satellite system 404. Section 0057: “One or more GLI transmitters 910 can communicate global location signal(s) 914, which can be received, at least in part, by a multi-mode location device 920. As described herein, such a device can be embodied in or can constitute a computing device that can acquire (e.g., receive, decode, receive and decode, or the like) signals from a GLI transmitter (e.g., a GPS satellite, a macro-cellular station, or the like).”. So: the multi-mode location device 920 reads on the claimed “satellite communication unit” since it is embodied in computing device 110/510/710 and communicates with the GPS satellite. Section 0050: The computing device 710 and/or one of the computing device(s) 770 can include a power supply (not shown), which can power up components or functional elements within such devices. The power supply can be a rechargeable power supply, e.g., a rechargeable battery, and it can include one or more transformers to achieve a power level suitable for operation of the computing device 710 and/or one of the computing device(s) 770, and components, functional elements, and related circuitry therein.”. So, computing device 110/510/710 includes a power supply to supply power to all component of computing device 110/510/710, including supplying power to the multi-mode location device 920 (claimed “satellite communication unit”).
A main unit (radio unit 514/712) in operable communication with the satellite communication unit (multi-mode location device 920)… Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, and 0087: radio unit 514/712 includes antennas 516 to process wireless signals from the air, including the satellite signals. So, radio unit 514/712 processes the satellite signals from multi-mode location device 920.
At least one vehicle power adapter (network adapters 718 and peripheral adaptors 722) configured for electrical communication … Figure 3 and Sections 0041-0043, 0046, and 0050: network adapters 718 and peripheral adaptors 722 are in communication with I/O device 716 to communicate with radio unit 712, as shown by the bidirectional arrows between I/O device 716 and radio unit 712, wherein the I/O device 716 comprises network adapters 718 and peripheral adaptors 722. Refer to Sections 0010-0097.
…
…
Wherein the satellite communication unit (multi-mode location device 920), the main unit (radio unit 514/712), the power storage device (power supply, not shown), and the vehicle power adapter (network adapters 718 and peripheral adaptors 722) are integrated as a unitary, transportable satellite communication system configured for rapid deployment (computing device 110/510/710 can be portable devices such as tablet computers, smartphones, mobile telephones, and portable computers; Sections 0012, 0040, 0051, and 0053; a portable device can be configured for the “rapid deployment” since it is portable).
Wherein the portable communication apparatus enables satellite-based connectivity … Computing device 110/510/710 can be portable devices such as tablet computers, smartphones, mobile telephones, and portable computers; Sections 0012, 0040, 0051, and 0053. Computing device 110/510/710 is in communication with satellite system 404 for the claimed “satellite-based connectivity”. Refer to Sections 0010-0097.
Zukerman et al do not disclose … a main unit in operable communication with the satellite communication unit, the main unit including a PCB …
Takeguchi et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0023-0037 wherein a portable computer comprises a radio unit 27, wherein the radio unit 27 includes a PCB 17 for performing wireless communications with an external electronic device. Refer to Sections 0020-0050. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a main unit in operable communication with the satellite communication unit, the main unit including a PCB … One would have been motivated to do so since a radio unit includes a PCB with circuitry for performing wireless communication with other network devices.
Zukerman et al and Takeguchi et al do not disclose … at least one vehicle power adapter configured for electrical communication with external vehicle electrical system; … ; … ; … ; wherein the portable communication apparatus enables satellite-based connectivity from a powered vehicle environment, including fleet, commercial, or military vehicles.
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 is a power input interface that provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery (claimed “external vehicle electrical system” and claimed “powered vehicle environment”). Rudser et al do not specifically disclosed the claimed “fleet, commercial, or military vehicles”. However, Rudser et al disclose in Sections 0005-0007, 0010, 0013, 0018, 0037-0040, 0042, 0046, and 0048 the use of a vehicle battery in satellite communication, which can include any type of vehicles including the claimed fleet, commercial, or military vehicles. Zukerman et al also disclose in Sections 0021 and 0025 the use of satellites in commercial systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … at least one vehicle power adapter configured for electrical communication with external vehicle electrical system … One would have been motivated to do so so that the device can be powered by a vehicle battery.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, and Rudser et al do not disclose … a voltage conversion circuit configured to accept vehicle voltage between about 11 volts and about 72 volts and to supply regulated power to the satellite communication unit and main unit …
Hsu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0016, 0017, and 0020 wherein in a wireless transmitter, a power converting unit converts a first DC source outputted from a power supply into a second DC source required by satellite. For example: an output voltage of a vehicle battery as a power supply is 12V (claimed “accept vehicle voltage between about 11 volts and about 72 volts”) and a voltage required by the satellite is 5V. So, the power converting unit converts a vehicle battery of 12V into 5V for operation of the satellite (claimed “supply regulated power to the satellite communication unit and main unit”). Refer to Sections 0004-0007 and 0015-0024. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a voltage conversion circuit configured to accept vehicle voltage between about 11 volts and about 72 volts and to supply regulated power to the satellite communication unit and main unit … One would have been motivated to do so so that a device can be powered by a vehicle battery, wherein the vehicle battery voltage is used for operation of the satellite, thereby facilitating satellite communication.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose … a housing configured to support transport and deployment of satellite communication unit in communication with one or more satellites and a power storage device to supply power to the satellite communication unit; … ; … ; … ; and at least one mounting component to permit selective mounting of relative to a vehicle ; … ; …
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. By applying Zukerman et al to Fisher et al: the multi-mode location device (claimed “satellite communication unit”) and power supply (claimed “power storage device”) are in portable computing device 110/510/710 of Zukerman et al, and portable computing device 110/510/710 can be in a portable protective case of Fisher et al (claimed “a housing configured to support transport and deployment of satellite communication unit in communication with one or more satellites and a power storage device to supply power to the satellite communication unit”). Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup (claimed “at least one mounting component to permit selective mounting of relative to a vehicle”) to allow mounting of the portable device to “a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a housing configured to support transport and deployment of satellite communication unit in communication with one or more satellites and a power storage device to supply power to the satellite communication unit; … ; … ; … ; and at least one mounting component to permit selective mounting of relative to a vehicle ; … ; … One would have been motivated to do so to use a portable protective case for the computing device and its components, thereby protecting the computing device and its components, and to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to a vehicle.
Referring to claim 12, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the at least one mounting component allows for mounting to an object.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup to allow mounting of the portable device to “a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Any of the windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. reads on the claimed “mounting to an object” Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to any object, including a windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. to allow for flexibility.
Referring to claim 13, Zukerman et al, Oga et al, and Takeguchi et al do not disclose wherein the at least one mounting component allows for mounting to a structure.
Fisher et al disclose in Figures 1-52 wherein a portable device, such as a cellular phone, includes a portable protective case. Sections 0077, 0079, 0083, and 0119-0121: the portable protective case includes a suction cup to allow mounting of the portable device to “a windshield or window of a car, or other suitable panel or glass which may be vehicular or non-vehicular (e.g., in a train, ship, boat, airplane, bus, home, office, or the like)” (Section 0119). Any of the windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. reads on the claimed “mounting to a structure” Refer to Sections 0069-0140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a portable protective case includes at least one mounting component to permit the selective mounting to a vehicle. One would have been motivated to do so so to allow mounting of the portable device in a portable protective case to any structure, including a windshield of a car, window of a car, panel, glass, train, etc. to allow for flexibility.
Referring to claim 14, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the at least one adapter (network adapters 718 and peripheral adapters 722) permits electrical communication … Sections 0042, 0046, and 0050: Network adapters 718 and peripheral adapters 722 provide electrical communication (Section 0092) between computing device 110/510/710 and external devices. Refer to Sections 0010-0097.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Hsu et al, and Fisher et al do not disclose wherein the at least one adapter permits electrical communication with an external power source.
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one adapter permits electrical communication with an external power source. One would have been motivated to do so so that the device can be powered by an external power source via an adapter.
Referring to claim 15, Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Hsu et al, and Fisher et al do not disclose wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery.
Rudser et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0010, 0037, and 0048 wherein an adapter 220 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the external power source is a vehicle battery. One would have been motivated to do so since a vehicle battery is an external power source for powering up devices.
Referring to claim 18, Zukerman et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the main unit is further comprised of a modem/router (modem 616) to provide communication means to a satellite. Sections 0027, 0029, 0032, and 0087: radio unit 514/712 includes antennas 516 to process wireless signals from the air, including the satellite signals. So, radio unit 514/712 processes the satellite signals from satellite system 404. Radio unit 514/712 includes modem 616 can permit or facilitate processing of signals received by computing device 110/510/710 and transmitted by computing device 110/510/710, which can include satellite signals from satellite system 404.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20130344818 to McGuire et al.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose wherein the external power source is a solar cell. Zukerman et al only disclose in Section 0050 the use of a solar panel as a power supply.
McGuire et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0022 and 0051 wherein an adapter 52 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a solar cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the external power source is a solar cell. One would have been motivated to do so since a solar cell is an external power source for powering up devices.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 8359984 to Wolf II et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 4083765 to Lawson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20130148280 to Takeno et al.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, and Hsu et al do not disclose further comprising an 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor. Zuckerman et al only disclose in Sections 0050 and 0093 the use of a rechargeable battery to power the computing device 110/510/710.
Wolf II et al disclose in Column 87 lines 40-57 wherein a battery can be 9 volt transistor batteries, but other batteries can be used; so the claimed “11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor” can be used. Also, Lawson et al disclose in Column 5 lines 3-44 wherein a battery can be a 11 volt battery and Takeno et al disclose in Section 0040 wherein a battery can be a 72 volt battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising a 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor. One would have been motivated to do so to power the device using a battery transistor, which can be any voltage including a 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20130220847 to Fisher et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20130344818 to McGuire et al.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, Hsu et al, and Fisher et al do not disclose wherein the external power source is a solar cell. Zukerman et al only disclose in Section 0050 the use of a solar panel as a power supply.
McGuire et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0022 and 0051 wherein an adapter 52 provides electrical communication with an external power source, wherein the external power source is a solar cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the external power source is a solar cell. One would have been motivated to do so since a solar cell is an external power source for powering up devices.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20150185015 to Zukerman et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20080129609 to Takeguchi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170246366 to Rudser et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110026634 to Hsu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20130220847 to Fisher et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 8359984 to Wolf II et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 4083765 to Lawson et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20130148280 to Takeno et al.
Zukerman et al, Takeguchi et al, Rudser et al, Hsu et al, and Fisher et al do not disclose further comprising an 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor. Zuckerman et al only disclose in Sections 0050 and 0093 the use of a rechargeable battery to power the computing device 110/510/710.
Wolf II et al disclose in Column 87 lines 40-57 wherein a battery can be 9 volt transistor batteries, but other batteries can be used; so the claimed “11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor” can be used. Also, Lawson et al disclose in Column 5 lines 3-44 wherein a battery can be a 11 volt battery and Takeno et al disclose in Section 0040 wherein a battery can be a 72 volt battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising a 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor. One would have been motivated to do so to power the device using a battery transistor, which can be any voltage including a 11 volt to 72-volt battery transistor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230050964 to Sherman et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0015, 0026, 0040, and 0049 wherein a device includes I/O, adapters, and a power supply that can communicate with satellite networks. Refer to Sections 0014-0079.
U.S. Publication No. 20200011289 to Steenstrup et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0129 and 0131 wherein a device includes a satellite communication unit, power supply, and I/O. Refer to Sections 0099-0158.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
February 23, 2026