DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 11th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 2-3, and 19 have
been amended. Claims 21 and 22 are new. Claims 1-16, 18-22 are now pending in the application. The previous claim objection of claims 2 and 3 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the first cam structure" and "the second cam structure" in their first appearances. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. (See MPEP 2141.02(VI)) Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 15-16, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ailinger et al. (US 5329887 A, hereinafter Ailinger).
Regarding Claim 1, Ailinger discloses
An endoscope (conventional endoscope 10, FIG. 1) comprising:
a handle or interface (handle 12, FIG. 1),
the handle or interface having a housing (control assembly 20, FIG. 1);
an insertion cord (insertion tube 16, FIG. 1) extending from the housing and comprising an insertion tube (insertion tube 16, FIG. 1),
a bending section and a distal tip (Col. 2, Ln. 20-22 disclose controllable tip and bending section of endoscope);
a first steering wheel (control knob 40, FIG. 3) rotatably supported at or by the housing (depicted in FIG. 3);
a first supporting rod (control shaft 102, FIG. 3) having a longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 3); and
a first braking mechanism (braking assembly 101, FIG. 3) comprising:
a first brake actuator (brake actuating lever 38, FIG. 3),
the first brake actuator being configured to receive a braking input by a user and to rotate about the longitudinal axis responsive to the braking input (Col. 5, Ln. 10-15 discloses brake actuating lever rotates about the control shaft, i.e. longitudinal axis);
a first braking cone portion (internally threaded brake housing 118, FIG. 3) including a first truncated cone braking surface (truncated cone cut-out depicted in red in modified FIG. 3 below) non-rotatably connected to the housing (Col. 5, Ln. 5-40 discloses brake assembly components are affixed to housing),
a second braking cone portion (brake activating member 120, FIG. 3) including a second truncated cone braking surface (truncated cone cut-out depicted in blue in modified FIG. 3 below) non-rotatably connected to the first brake actuator (Col. 5, Ln. 5-12 discloses brake housing is secured to brake actuating lever via brake ring),
wherein the first truncated cone braking surface and/or the second truncated cone braking surface is/are axially translatable responsive to rotation of the first brake actuator to press the first truncated cone braking surface against the second truncated cone braking surface to brake the first steering wheel with respect to the housing (Col. 5, Ln. 10-36 discloses brake actuating lever causes rotation of the brake housing about the control shaft which causes the brake activating member to move, resulting in braking due to the friction between the brake activating member and the brake housing, as depicted in FIG. 3).
Modified FIG. 3 (US 5329887 A)
Regarding Claim 4, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the first brake actuator including a first cam structure (brake coupling member 114, FIG. 3) having a first cam surface (brake coupling member 114, FIG. 3),
the first braking cone portion including a second cam structure (flat structure of brake housing 118, circled in red in Modified FIG. 3-A below) having a second cam surface (surface of flat structure of brake housing 118, circled in red in Modified FIG. 3-A below),
the first cam surface contacting the second cam surface such that rotation of the first brake actuator axially translates the first braking cone portion (Col. 5, Ln. 5-10 discloses brake actuating lever causes rotation of brake housing via connection of brake coupling member).
Modified FIG. 3-A (US 5329887 A)
Regarding Claim 5, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 4, wherein the first braking mechanism further comprises a first biasing element (brake ring 116, FIG. 3) configured to bias the first cam structure toward the second cam structure (FIG. 3, Col. 5, Ln. 5-10 discloses brake ring joins brake coupling member and brake housing together).
Regarding Claim 6, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 5, wherein the first biasing element is arranged between the first brake actuator and the first braking cone portion or between the second braking cone portion and the first steering wheel (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 6, wherein the first biasing element is supported radially inside the first braking cone portion at a side opposite to the first truncated cone braking surface or radially inside the second braking cone element at a side opposite to the second truncated cone braking surface (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 4, wherein the first braking cone portion and/ or the second braking cone portion is elastically deformable at least in a radial direction (Col. 5, Ln. 5-15 disclose brake housing is rotatable and brake activating member is movable, i.e. in a radial direction).
Regarding Claim 15, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the second braking cone portion is formed integrally with the first steering wheel or is provided as a separate part arranged between the first steering wheel and the first braking cone portion (FIG. 3, Col. 5, Ln. 5-20 disclose entire brake assembly is removable and the brake activating member is a separate part arranged between the control knob and the brake housing).
Regarding Claim 16, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 1, wherein the first braking cone portion and/ or the second braking cone portion (120) includes a carrier element (brake plate 128, FIG. 3) and a friction cone (external threads of brake activating member 120, FIG. 3) stacked onto each other (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 22, Ailinger discloses
The endoscope of claim 1,
wherein the first truncated cone braking surface comprises a truncated cone shape (depicted in FIG. 3), and
wherein the second truncated cone braking surface comprises a truncated cone shape (depicted in FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ailinger et al. (US 5329887 A, hereinafter Ailinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomberg (US 20250000344 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ailinger discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, however, Ailinger does not disclose wherein an angle of the first truncated cone braking surface and/or the second truncated cone braking surface, with respect to the longitudinal axis, is between 8 and 30 degrees.
Tomberg teaches an analogous endoscope (flexible endoscope 10) having a handpiece (20, i.e. handle/ housing) with a braking mechanism, for a hand wheel (22/23, i.e. steering wheel) [0066, FIG. 3]. The braking mechanism having a first brake actuator (brake lever 42, FIG. 4a), a first braking cone portion (brake pad 104, FIG. 4a) including a first truncated cone braking surface (cone portion 104b + contact surface 104c, FIG. 4a) non-rotatably connected to the housing (par. 69 discloses brake pad is attached non-rotatably). The cone portion (104b, i.e. the first truncated cone braking surface) has an inclination, with respect to a radial direction, of 20 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the truncated cone braking surface of Ailinger with the inclination of Tomberg in order to provide an optimized braking surface which is adapted to the structural limitations of surrounding structures, allowing for smooth increases and decreases in braking torque [Tomberg - 0039].
Regarding Claim 3, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 9, and Tomberg further teaches wherein an angle of the first truncated cone braking surface and/or the second truncated cone braking surface, with respect to the longitudinal axis, is between 10 and 20 degrees (FIG. 4a, par. 81 disclose inclination of cone portion with respect to a radial direction is 20 degrees).
Regarding claim 9, Ailinger discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Ailinger further discloses wherein the first brake actuator comprises the second braking cone portion (depicted in FIG. 3).
However, Ailinger does not disclose wherein the first braking cone portion forms at least one circumferential slit and the first brake actuator forms at least one first hook extending through the at least one circumferential slit.
Tomberg teaches an analogous endoscope (flexible endoscope 10) having a handpiece (20, i.e. handle/ housing) with a braking mechanism, for a hand wheel (22/23, i.e. steering wheel) [0066, FIG. 3]. The braking mechanism having a first brake actuator (brake lever 42, FIG. 4a), a first braking cone portion (brake pad 104, FIG. 4a) including a first truncated cone braking surface (cone portion 104b + contact surface 104c, FIG. 4a) non-rotatably connected to the housing (par. 69 discloses brake pad is attached non-rotatably). The brake pad (104) is attached to a brake pad holder (103, FIG. 6a, 6b) which forms sloped notches (123, i.e. circumferential slits) which co-operate with respective cam elements (cam elements 122, i.e. first hooks) of a brake toggle plate (102, FIG. 6a, 6b) which is coupled to the brake lever [FIG. 6a, 6b; 0066-0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the brake mechanism of Ailinger with the slit and hook elements of Tomberg in order to improve braking capabilities by providing respective elements that connect the cone braking portion with the brake actuator and better limit axial movement [Tomberg - 0067], and in order to provide a modification to the brake ring portion (Ailinger - 116, FIG. 3) that more intuitively connects the brake actuator (38) to the cone braking portion (118) [Ailinger – Col. 5, Ln. 5-10].
Regarding Claim 10, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 9, and Tomberg further teaches
wherein the at least one first hook comprises a free end portion (depicted in modified FIG. 6b below, circled in red),
wherein the free end portion forms the first cam structure (FIG. 4b, 6b, par.
85 disclose brake toggle plate formed of cam elements), and
wherein a surface of the first braking cone portion opposite to the first brake actuator
forms the second cam structure (depicted in FIG. 6b).
Modified FIG. 6b (US 20250000344 A1)
Regarding Claim 11, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 9, and Tomberg further teaches wherein the first braking cone portion and/ or the second braking cone portion forms axially extending slits (FIG. 5a, 5b depict slits in brake pad, as depicted in Modified FIG. 5b below).
Modified FIG. 5b (US 20250000344 A1)
Regarding Claim 12, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 9, and Tomberg further teaches
wherein the first braking cone portion and/ or the second braking cone portion comprises a rim and slits (FIG. 5a, 5b disclose rim and slits in brake pad, as depicted in Modified FIG. 5b-A below),
the slits extending from the rim to provide elastic deformability to the first braking cone portion and/ or the second braking cone portion (par. 82-84 disclose inner section of cone portion is bent/ conical to allow for outward protrusion/ elasticity).
Modified FIG. 5b (US 20250000344 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Ailinger discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Ailinger further discloses wherein the first brake actuator comprises the second braking cone portion (depicted in FIG. 3).
However, Ailinger does not disclose wherein the first braking cone portion or the second braking cone portion comprises an amorphous plastic material, and wherein the other of the first braking cone portion or the second braking cone comprises a semi-crystalline plastic material.
Tomberg teaches an analogous endoscope (flexible endoscope 10) having a handpiece (20, i.e. handle/ housing) with a braking mechanism, for a hand wheel (22/23, i.e. steering wheel) [0066, FIG. 3]. The braking mechanism having a first brake actuator (brake lever 42, FIG. 4a), a first braking cone portion (brake pad 104, FIG. 4a) including a first truncated cone braking surface (cone portion 104b + contact surface 104c, FIG. 4a) non-rotatably connected to the housing (par. 69 discloses brake pad is attached non-rotatably). The brake pad (104) makes contact with a friction surface (105a, i.e. second truncated braking surface) of a hand wheel base plate (105, i.e. second braking portion) upon turning of the brake lever [FIG. 4b, 0074, 0082]. An elastically deformable lip of cone portion can be made of polyurethane, a typically amorphous plastic material and the material of the friction surface is chosen with the material of lip and controlling friction in consideration, i.e. semi-crystalline plastic material would remain consistent with lip and allow for good friction properties for contact with lip [0041-0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the endoscope of Ailinger with the materials of Tomberg in order to modify the components of the brake mechanism to be able to provide specific elastic and frictional properties as required for a specific application and to be resistant to the mechanical, chemical and thermal conditions of medical sterilization processes [Tomberg - 0041].
Regarding Claim 14, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 13, and Tomberg further teaches
wherein the first braking cone portion or the second braking cone portion consists essentially of the amorphous plastic material (par. 41 discloses elastically deformable lip of cone portion can be made of polyurethane, a typically amorphous plastic material), and
wherein the other of the first braking cone portion or the second braking cone consists essentially of the semi-crystalline plastic material (par. 42 discloses material of friction surface chosen with material of lip and controlling friction in consideration, i.e. semi-crystalline plastic material would remain consistent with lip and allow for good friction properties for contact with lip).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ailinger et al. (US 5329887 A, hereinafter Ailinger) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomberg (US 20250000344 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Ailinger discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, however, Ailinger does not disclose a monitor connectable to the endoscope.
Tomberg teaches an analogous endoscope (flexible endoscope 10) having a handpiece (20, i.e. handle/ housing) with a braking mechanism, for a hand wheel (22/23, i.e. steering wheel) [0066, FIG. 3]. The braking mechanism having a first brake actuator (brake lever 42, FIG. 4a), a first braking cone portion (brake pad 104, FIG. 4a) including a first truncated cone braking surface (cone portion 104b + contact surface 104c, FIG. 4a) non-rotatably connected to the housing (par. 69 discloses brake pad is attached non-rotatably). The handpiece may be connectable to an external video unit or a video monitor, via a connector (26) [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the endoscope of Ailinger with the connector of Tomberg in order to display video of the endoscope within the body [Tomberg - 0057] which will assist the user in their operation and overall provide a more intuitive system.
Additionally, the endoscope of Ailinger has unnamed cables depicted in FIG. 1 which extend from the handle of the endoscope, substantially the same as the connector cable does in the Tomberg endoscope, therefore, this modification would be obvious.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ailinger et al. (US 5329887 A, hereinafter Ailinger) in view of Tomberg (US 20250000344 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Ailinger discloses
An endoscope (conventional endoscope 10, FIG. 1) comprising:
a handle or interface (handle 12, FIG. 1),
the handle or interface having a housing (control assembly 20, FIG. 1);
an insertion cord (insertion tube 16, FIG. 1) extending from the housing and comprising an insertion tube (insertion tube 16, FIG. 1),
a bending section and a distal tip (Col. 2, Ln. 20-22 disclose controllable tip and bending section of endoscope);
a first steering wheel (control knob 40, FIG. 3) rotatably supported at or by the housing (depicted in FIG. 3);
a first supporting rod (control shaft 102, FIG. 3) having a longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 3); and
a first braking mechanism (braking assembly 101, FIG. 3) comprising:
a first brake actuator (brake actuating lever 38, FIG. 3),
the first brake actuator including a second braking cone portion (brake activating member 120, FIG. 3) including a second truncated cone braking surface (truncated cone cut-out depicted in blue in modified FIG. 3 below) non-rotatably connected to the first brake actuator (Col. 5, Ln. 5-12 discloses brake housing is secured to brake actuating lever via brake ring),
a first cam structure (brake coupling member 114, FIG. 3) having a first cam surface (brake coupling member 114, FIG. 3),
the first brake actuator being configured to receive a braking input by a user and to rotate about the longitudinal axis responsive to the braking input (Col. 5, Ln. 10-15 discloses brake actuating lever rotates about the control shaft, i.e. longitudinal axis);
a first braking cone portion (internally threaded brake housing 118, FIG. 3) including a first truncated cone braking surface (truncated cone cut-out depicted in red in modified FIG. 3 below) non-rotatably connected to the housing (Col. 5, Ln. 5-40 discloses brake assembly components are affixed to housing),
the first braking cone portion including a second cam structure (flat structure of brake housing 118, circled in red in Modified FIG. 3-A below) having a second cam surface (surface of flat structure of brake housing 118, circled in red in Modified FIG. 3-A below),
wherein the first truncated cone braking surface and/or the second truncated cone braking surface is/are axially translatable responsive to rotation of the first brake actuator to press the first truncated cone braking surface against the second truncated cone braking surface to brake the first steering wheel with respect to the housing (Col. 5, Ln. 10-36 discloses brake actuating lever causes rotation of the brake housing about the control shaft which causes the brake activating member to move, resulting in braking due to the friction between the brake activating member and the brake housing, as depicted in FIG. 3),
wherein rotation of the first brake actuator causes the first cam surface to contact the second cam surface to axially translate the first braking cone portion (Col. 5, Ln. 5-10 discloses brake actuating lever causes rotation of brake housing via connection of brake coupling member).
Modified FIG. 3 (US 5329887 A) Modified FIG. 3-A (US 5329887 A)
However, Ailinger does not disclose wherein an angle of the second truncated cone braking surface, with respect to the longitudinal axis, is between 8 and 30 degrees.
Tomberg teaches an analogous endoscope (flexible endoscope 10) having a handpiece (20, i.e. handle/ housing) with a braking mechanism, for a hand wheel (22/23, i.e. steering wheel) [0066, FIG. 3]. The braking mechanism having a first brake actuator (brake lever 42, FIG. 4a), a braking cone portion (brake pad 104, FIG. 4a) including a truncated cone braking surface (cone portion 104b + contact surface 104c, FIG. 4a) non-rotatably connected to the housing (par. 69 discloses brake pad is attached non-rotatably). The cone portion (104b, i.e. the truncated cone braking surface) has an inclination, with respect to a radial direction, of 20 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the truncated cone braking surface of Ailinger with the inclination of Tomberg in order to provide an optimized braking surface which is adapted to the structural limitations of surrounding structures, allowing for smooth increases and decreases in braking torque [Tomberg - 0039].
Regarding claim 20, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 19, and Tomberg further teaches
wherein the first braking cone portion (104b) forms at least one circumferential slit (sloped notches 123) and the first brake actuator (42) forms at least one first hook (cam elements 122) extending through the at least one circumferential slit (par. 67 discloses sloped notches of disk portion co-operate with respective came elements of brake toggle plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the brake mechanism of Ailinger with the slit and hook elements of Tomberg in order to improve braking capabilities by providing respective elements that connect the cone braking portion with the brake actuator and better limit axial movement [Tomberg - 0067], and in order to provide a modification to the brake ring portion (Ailinger - 116, FIG. 3) that more intuitively connects the brake actuator (38) to the cone braking portion (118) [Ailinger – Col. 5, Ln. 5-10].
Regarding Claim 21, Ailinger, as previously modified by Tomberg, teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 19, and Ailinger further discloses
wherein the first truncated cone braking surface comprises a truncated cone shape (depicted in FIG. 3), and
wherein the second truncated cone braking surface comprises a truncated cone shape (depicted in FIG. 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795