DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 26, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 12, 22-23, 25 and 27-28 have been amended.
In view of the amendment filed November 26, 2025, the previous objection to claim 12 has been withdrawn. Further, the previous rejections to claims 23 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 12-13, 18-19 and 21-29 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 should be amended to read, “A first .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claim 23 recites in part, “a union of the another resource set and the another resource set”. It is not clear what is the difference between “the another resource set” and “the another resource set” that are to be part of the union. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim is not clear.
The similar issue is noted in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 21-23 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer HHI et al (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e R1-2008757, hereinafter Fraunhofer) in view of LG Electronics (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897, hereinafter LG), and Xiao et al. (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao).
For claim 1, Fraunhofer teaches a method for operating a first terminal in a wireless communication system ([Sect. 2, para. 1], the determination of these resources by UE-A, and how they are signaled or transmitted to UE-B. Once UE-B receives the set of resources, procedures related to when and how UE-B would use these resources and their relation to resource pools and cast types have been explored in detail. [Examiner's Note: UE-B is the first UE]), the method comprising: receiving first information about at least one resource set from a second terminal ([Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, para. 2], In the case that the set of resources are preferred for UE-B’s transmission, UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. [Examiner's Note: UE-A is the second terminal]. Based on these set of resources, UE-B can use them for its own intended transmissions. [Page 4, Subsect. 2.3, para. 1], For UE-A to send the set of resources to UE-B, the container or signaling procedure used must ensure that the resources are received by UE-B in a latency critical manner, but at the same time ensure that the overhead for the transmission is kept to a minimum); selecting at least one resource based on at least one of the first information or a result of the resource sensing by the first terminal ([Pages 2-3, Sect. 2 first paragraph], UE-B receives the set of resources determined by UE-A [Examiner’s Note: UE-B is the first terminal]. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.2], UE-A can generate the set of resources. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.2, Candidate Resource Set], UE-A would determine the candidate resource set SA. UE-A would send these resources to UE-B in the form of assistance messages. [Page 5, Subsect. Procedure for UE-B to take “a set of resources” into Account. Second paragraph], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, UE-B can choose to either consider the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission [Examiner’s Note: The provided candidate resource set is the first information (from UE-A). Its own candidate resource set is from UE-B itself]. This would provide UE-B with an insight on the status of resources where it does not have any sensing results. UE-B can then generate a combined candidate resource set, which it can then send to the higher layers to determine the final resources to be used for the intended transmission [Examiner’s Note: To determine to be used for the intended transmission is to be selected. Either considering the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set, the candidate resource set of UE-B is selected based completely or in combination on the first information] This procedure can be used for both the types of resource sets, where UE-B would consider the set of resources while generating the final candidate resource set, if they were a preferred set, or would exclude the set of resources from its own candidate resource set, if they were a set not preferred to be used [Examiner’s Note: The procedure of selecting resource]); and performing sidelink communication by using the at last one resource ([Page 5, Subsect. 2.4, para. 2], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, UE-B can choose to either consider the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission. UE-B can then generate a combined candidate resource set, which it can then send to the higher layers to determine the final resources to be used for intended transmission. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1, first para. After FIG. 2], These resources can be used by UE-B either for a transmission back to UE-A or to any other UE within its vicinity), wherein the first information is determined based on at least one of expected resource conflict or potential resource conflict ([Page 2, Subsect 2.1, third para.], On the other hand, the set of resources that are preferred not to be used by UE-B are those resources that UE-A had detected to be occupied by other UEs for their respective transmissions. These resources are to be avoided by UE-B when selecting resources for its own transmissions), wherein the first information is transmitted in response to request message from the first terminal or based on condition of the second terminal ([Page 7, Subsect. 3.1, first para.], UE-B can explicitly send a request to UE-A, asking for a set of resources to assist in its resource selection process), and wherein the first information includes information used for determining the at least one of resource set comprising a preferred resource set or a non-preferred resource set ([Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, para. 2], In the case that the set of resources are preferred for UE-B’s transmission, UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1, Proposal 1], We support the inclusion of assistance messages that inform UE-B about a preferred set of resources, as well as a set of resources that are not preferred to be used by UE-B).
Although teaching selecting sidelink resources based on combination of the assistance messages from the second terminal and result of resource sensing ([Page 5, Subsect. Procedure for UE-B to take “a set of resources” into Account. Second and third paragraphs], This would provide UE-B with an insight on the status of resources where it does not have any sensing results due to the half-duplex constraint. If UE-B has also carried out the sensing and selection process, it can compare the selected resources, as determined by the higher layers, with those received in the assistance message. Having common or overlapping resources would provide UE-B with added confidence that the resources are indeed available and can be safely used for its intended transmissions), Fraunhofer does not explicitly disclose performing resource sensing operation in discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time.
LG teaches performing resource sensing operation in discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time ([Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, first paragraph], Mode-2 operation can also be affected by the SL DRX operation. RAN1 needs to clarify what time duration can be used for the channel sensing for mode-2 resource allocation. [Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, second paragraph], More reasonable option may be to allow the channel sensing during the inactive time. Though it requires more power consumption of the UE, the reliability of the channel sensing results will be significantly enhanced. For example, if SL DRX UE is to transmit a packet during the ON duration, and the channel sensing is allowed only during the active time, there is no way of getting the sensing results based on the recent channel status. In this case, a certain time duration prior to the ON duration on the inactive time can be used for channel sensing, and the UE will get more reliable sensing results).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fraunhofer, so that the resource sensing is performed in DRX inactive time, as taught by LG. The modification would have enhanced the reliability of the channel sensing results (LG [Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, second paragraph]).
Although teaching selecting sidelink resources based on the assistance messages from the second terminal and performing resource sensing in DRX inactive time, Fraunhofer and LG do not explicitly disclose sensing wherein the at least one resource is included in a resource pool.
Xiao is directed to providing message sending method and apparatus. More specifically, Xiao teaches wherein the at least one resource is included in a resource pool ([Para. 0161], the terminal device obtains the D2D direct communication resource from a D2D direct communication resource pool in a manner that is based on self-selection, or the terminal device obtains the D2D direct communication resource from a D2D direct communication resource pool in a manner that is based on scheduling by a base station).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fraunhofer and LG, so that the selected resource is included in a resource pool, as taught by Xiao. The modification would have flexibly performed a V2X service (Xiao [Para. 0006]).
For claim 12, Fraunhofer teaches a first user terminal in a wireless communication system ([Fig. 3] vehicle UE-B [Examiner’s Note: UE-B is the first terminal as used in claim 1]), the first terminal comprising: a processor ([Page 5, Subsect. 2.4, para. 2], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, UE-B can choose to either consider the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission [Examiner’s Note: Such determination requires a processor]); and a memory storing one or more instructions executed by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed to perform ([Sect. 2, para. 1], Once UE-B receives the set of resources, procedures related to when and how UE-B would use these resources and their relation to resource pools and cast types have been explored in detail, indicating a memory in which the instruction is stored for used by the processor): receiving first information about at least one resource set from a second terminal ([Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, para. 2], In the case that the set of resources are preferred for UE-B’s transmission, UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. [Examiner's Note: UE-A is the second UE]. Based on these set of resources, UE-B can use them for its own intended transmissions. [Page 4, Subsect. 2.3, para. 1], For UE-A to send the set of resources to UE-B, the container or signaling procedure used must ensure that the resources are received by UE-B in a latency critical manner, but at the same time ensure that the overhead for the transmission is kept to a minimum); selecting at least one candidate resource based on at least one of the first information or a result of the resource sensing by the first terminal ([Pages 2-3, Sect. 2 first paragraph], UE-B receives the set of resources determined by UE-A [Examiner’s Note: UE-B is the first terminal]. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.2], UE-A can generate the set of resources. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.2, Candidate Resource Set],UE-A would determine the candidate resource set SA. UE-A would send these resources to UE-B in the form of assistance messages. [Page 5, Subsect. Procedure for UE-B to take “a set of resources” into Account. Second paragraph], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, UE-B can choose to either consider the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission [Examiner’s Note: The provided candidate resource set is the first information (from UE-A). Its own candidate resource set is from UE-B itself]. This would provide UE-B with an insight on the status of resources where it does not have any sensing results. UE-B can then generate a combined candidate resource set, which it can then send to the higher layers to determine the final resources to be used for the intended transmission [Examiner’s Note: To determine to be used for the intended transmission is to be selected. Either considering the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set, the candidate resource set of UE-B is selected based completely or in combination on the first information] This procedure can be used for both the types of resource sets, where UE-B would consider the set of resources while generating the final candidate resource set, if they were a preferred set, or would exclude the set of resources from its own candidate resource set, if they were a set not preferred to be used [Examiner’s Note: The procedure of selecting resource]); and performing sidelink communication by using the at last one resource ([Page 5, Subsect. 2.4, para. 2], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, UE-B can choose to either consider the provided candidate resource set on its own, or in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission. UE-B can then generate a combined candidate resource set, which it can then send to the higher layers to determine the final resources to be used. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1, first para. After FIG. 2], These resources can be used by UE-B either for a transmission back to UE-A or to any other UE within its vicinity), wherein the first information is determined based on at least one of expected resource conflict or potential resource conflict ([Page 2, Subsect 2.1, third para.], On the other hand, the set of resources that are preferred not to be used by UE-B are those resources that UE-A had detected to be occupied by other UEs for their respective transmissions. These resources are to be avoided by UE-B when selecting resources for its own transmissions), wherein the first information is transmitted in response to request message from the first terminal or based on condition of the second terminal ([Page 7, Subsect. 3.1, first para.], UE-B can explicitly send a request to UE-A, asking for a set of resources to assist in its resource selection process), and wherein the first information includes information used for determining the at least one of resource set comprising a preferred resource set or a non-preferred resource set ([Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, para. 2], In the case that the set of resources are preferred for UE-B’s transmission, UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1, Proposal 1], We support the inclusion of assistance messages that inform UE-B about a preferred set of resources, as well as a set of resources that are not preferred to be used by UE-B).
Although teaching selecting sidelink resources based on combination of the assistance messages from the second terminal and result of resource sensing ([Page 5, Subsect. Procedure for UE-B to take “a set of resources” into Account. Second and third paragraphs], This would provide UE-B with an insight on the status of resources where it does not have any sensing results due to the half-duplex constraint. If UE-B has also carried out the sensing and selection process, it can compare the selected resources, as determined by the higher layers, with those received in the assistance message. Having common or overlapping resources would provide UE-B with added confidence that the resources are indeed available and can be safely used for its intended transmissions), Fraunhofer does not explicitly disclose performing resource sensing operation in discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time.
LG teaches performing resource sensing operation in discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time ([Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, first paragraph], Mode-2 operation can also be affected by the SL DRX operation. RAN1 needs to clarify what time duration can be used for the channel sensing for mode-2 resource allocation. [Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, second paragraph], More reasonable option may be to allow the channel sensing during the inactive time. Though it requires more power consumption of the UE, the reliability of the channel sensing results will be significantly enhanced. For example, if SL DRX UE is to transmit a packet during the ON duration, and the channel sensing is allowed only during the active time, there is no way of getting the sensing results based on the recent channel status. In this case, a certain time duration prior to the ON duration on the inactive time can be used for channel sensing, and the UE will get more reliable sensing results).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fraunhofer, so that the resource sensing is performed in DRX inactive time, as taught by LG. The modification would have enhanced the reliability of the channel sensing results (LG [Page 6, Sect. 2.4 Impact on mode-2 resource allocation, second paragraph]).
Although teaching selecting sidelink resources based on the assistance messages from the second terminal and performing resource sensing in DRX inactive time, Fraunhofer and LG do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one resource is included in a resource pool.
Xiao is directed to providing message sending method and apparatus. More specifically, Xiao teaches wherein the at least one resource is included in a resource pool ([Para. 0161], the terminal device obtains the D2D direct communication resource from a D2D direct communication resource pool in a manner that is based on self-selection, or the terminal device obtains the D2D direct communication resource from a D2D direct communication resource pool in a manner that is based on scheduling by a base station).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Fraunhofer and LG, so that the selected resource is included in a resource pool, as taught by Xia. The modification would have flexibly performed a V2X service (Xiao [Para. 0006]).
For claim 21, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein first information is received by at least on media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or sidelink control information (SCI) (Fraunhofer [Page 4, Subsect. 2.3 Signaling of “a set of resources” by UE-A], Proposal 5: We support the transmission of assistance messages using a new second stage SCI. The assistance message can be: Included in the new second stage SCI, occupying the entire transmission instance, or Included in the data payload associated with the new second stage SCI in a transmission instance).
For claim 22, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein in that case the resource sensing operation is not performed, the at least one resource is selected based on the at least one resource set (Fraunhofer [Page 7, Subsect. 3.1 Based on an Explicit Trigger, second para.], UE-B can end up in such a situation when it is unable to obtain sensing results due to power constraints, and requires assistance from UE-A to provide it with … specific resources to be used by UE-B for the intended transmission in the absence of any sensing results).
For claim 23, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 22. The references further teach wherein the at least one resource is selected as an intersection of the at least one resource set and another resource set that is determined based on the resource sensing operation (Fraunhofer [Page 5, Subsect. 2.4 Procedure for UE-B to take “a set of resources” into Account, third para], If UE-B has also carried out the sensing and selection process, it can compare the selected resources, with those received in the assistance message. Having common or overlapping resources would provide UE-B with added confidence that the resources are indeed available and can be safely used for its intended transmissions. Fraunhofer [FIG. 1] and [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”, second para.], UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. Based on these set of resources, UE-B can use them for its own intended transmissions, as shown in Figure 1), or a union of the another resource set and the another resource set.
For claims 26-28 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 21-23. Therefore, claims 26-28 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 21-23.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer HHI et al (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e R1-2008757, hereinafter Fraunhofer) in view of LG Electronics (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897, hereinafter LG) and Xiao et al. (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao), and further in view of LG Electronics (#3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2007412, hereinafter LG2).
For claim 2, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first information includes an indicator indicating whether the at least one resource set is the preferred resource set or the non- preferred resource set (Fraunhofer [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1, Proposal 3], We propose to include an indication of the type of resources that are sent from UE-A to UE-B, namely a preferred set of resources or a set of resources that are not preferred to be used by UE-B); and in that case the indicator indicates the non-preferred resource set (Fraunhofer [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, third para.], If UE-A is the intended recipient for a transmission from UE-B, UE-A can also indicate resources that it already has scheduled and reserved for other transmissions… hence, these resources are not preferred), wherein the at least one resource is selected based on excluding overlapped part with the resource indicated by the first information from the resource pool (Fraunhofer [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1, third para.] and [FIG 2], These resources are to be avoided by UE-B when selecting resources for its own transmissions, as shown in Figure 2).
Although teaching indicating whether the resource set in assistance message is preferred or not and excluding the resource not preferred in selection, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one resource is selected based on excluding overlapped part with the resource indicated by the first information from the resource pool.
LG2 teaches wherein the at least one resource is selected based on excluding overlapped part with the resource indicated by the first information from the resource pool ([Page 18, bottom lines], When a set of resources determined at UE-A is sent to UE-B in mode 2 and UE-B takes this into account in the resource selection for its own transmission, for the definition of “a set of resource”, at least followings are considered. [Page 20, Samsung], The definition of “a set of resources” is a set of candidate resource(s) within a resource pool…For “a set of resources” at least the following are considered…UE-A’s (pool) not preferred resource(s)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that the resource set not preferred is from a resource pool, as taught by LG2. The modification would have allowed a UE takes into account in the resource selection for its own transmission of the resource set which is not preferred to be used (LG2 [Page 18, bottom lines and Page 19, the second line]).
For claim 13 is directed to method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer HHI et al (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e R1-2008757, hereinafter Fraunhofer) in view of LG Electronics (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897, hereinafter LG) and Xiao et al. (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao), and further in view of Zhang et al (WO2022082672A1 (English translation), hereinafter Zhang).
For claim 8, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal (Fraunhofer [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”, first para.], two types of resource sets were considered – a set of resources which is, preferred for UE-B’s transmission, as well as a set of resources which is preferred not to be used by UE B. Fraunhofer [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”], Proposal 3: We propose to include an indication of the type of resources that are sent from UE-A to UE-B, namely a preferred set of resources or a set of resources that are not preferred to be used by UE-B [Examiner’s Note: There are only two types of resource sets from the assistance message, namely, preferred and not preferred. Therefore, any received assistance message is either preferred or not preferred]).
Although teaching selecting resource based on assistance message, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal; and selecting one information from among the first information and the second information based on a preconfigured criterion.
Zhang is directed to providing resource selection method and apparatus. More specifically, Zhang teaches further comprising: receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal ([Second last para. in page 5], the auxiliary information may at least indicate (or include) resource information, that is, indicate a resource set. [Last two lines in page 1], the third terminal device receives the first auxiliary information sent by the first terminal device; the third terminal device receives the second auxiliary information sent by the second terminal device. [Fig. 5] and [Last para. in page 7 and first para. in page 8], before sending device B (third terminal device) sends sidelink data to receiving device A (first terminal device) and receiving device C (second terminal device), sending device B receives data from the receiving device A and receiving device C's auxiliary information. [Examiner Note; device B is the first UE, device A is the second UE and device C the third UE in claim 8]), and selecting one information from among the first information and the second information based on a preconfigured criterion ([Para. 5 in page 12], the third terminal device performs resource selection according to the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information. [Examiner’s Note: selecting the one resource set information from the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information]. Resource selection or reselection is continued using the assistance information from the terminal device with the farthest distance and the result of its own perception. [Examiner’s Note: The selection of the one resource set information from the first and second auxiliary information is based on the criterion of selecting the information from the receiving device of the furthest distance. After the one resource set information is selected, the sending device further selects between the one resource set information and its own perception]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that a UE selects one resource set information from the resource set information from two other UEs based on a preconfigured criterion, as taught by Zhang. The implementation allows the system to take into account the resource selection preferences of different receiving devices, and select the resources for which all receiving devices are subject to less interference for side link transmission, thereby improving the reliability of transmission (Zhang, [Para. 9 in page 2]).
For claim 9, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. However, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one resource set used to select the at least one resource is determined based on a distance between the first terminal and a fourth terminal with which the first terminal performs the sidelink communication.
Zhang is directed to providing resource selection method and apparatus. More specifically, Zhang teaches wherein the at least one resource set used to select the at least one resource is determined based on a distance between the first terminal and a fourth terminal with which the first terminal performs the sidelink communication ([Second last para. in page 5], the auxiliary information may at least indicate (or include) resource information, that is, indicate a resource set. [Last two lines in page 1], the third terminal device receives the first auxiliary information sent by the first terminal device; the third terminal device receives the second auxiliary information sent by the second terminal device. [Fig. 5] and [Last para. in page 7 and first para. in page 8], before sending device B (third terminal device) sends sidelink data to receiving device A (first terminal device) and receiving device C (second terminal device), sending device B receives data from the receiving device A and receiving device C's auxiliary information. [Examiner Note; Device B is the first UE, device C is the second UE and device A the fourth UE in claim 9]. [Para. 5 in page 12], the third terminal device performs resource selection according to the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information. [Examiner’s Note: selecting the one resource set information from the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information]. Resource selection or reselection is continued using the assistance information from the terminal device with the farthest distance and the result of its own perception. [Examiner’s Note: The selection of the one resource set information from the first and second auxiliary information is based on the criterion of selecting the information from the receiving device of the furthest distance]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that a resource set used to select the candidate resource is determined based on a distance between two UEs communicating over the sidelink, as taught by Zhang. The implementation allows the system to take into account the resource selection preferences of different receiving devices, and select the resources for which all receiving devices are subject to less interference for side link transmission, thereby improving the reliability of transmission (Zhang, [Para. 9 in page 2]).
For claim 18, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the first terminal of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the one or more instructions are further executed to perform (Fraunhofer [Sect. 2, para. 1], inter-UE coordination, such as the determination of these resources by UE-A, and how they are signaled or transmitted to UE-B. Once UE-B receives the set of resources, procedures related to when and how UE-B would use these resources and their relation to resource pools and cast types have been explored in detail, indicating a memory in which the instruction is stored for used by the processor): receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal (Fraunhofer [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”, first para.], two types of resource sets were considered – a set of resources which is, preferred for UE-B’s transmission, as well as a set of resources which is preferred not to be used by UE B. Fraunhofer [Page 3, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”], Proposal 3: We propose to include an indication of the type of resources that are sent from UE-A to UE-B, namely a preferred set of resources or a set of resources that are not preferred to be used by UE-B [Examiner’s Note: There are only two types of resource sets from the assistance message, namely, preferred and not preferred. Therefore, any received assistance message is either preferred or not preferred]).
Although teaching selecting resource based on assistance message, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal; and selecting one information from among the first information and the second information based on a preconfigured criterion.
Zhang is directed to providing resource selection method and apparatus. More specifically, Zhang teaches further comprising: receiving second information about at least one resource set that is preferred or non-preferred from a third terminal ([Second last para. in page 5], the auxiliary information may at least indicate (or include) resource information, that is, indicate a resource set. [Last two lines in page 1], the third terminal device receives the first auxiliary information sent by the first terminal device; the third terminal device receives the second auxiliary information sent by the second terminal device. [Fig. 5] and [Last para. in page 7 and first para. in page 8], before sending device B (third terminal device) sends sidelink data to receiving device A (first terminal device) and receiving device C (second terminal device), sending device B receives data from the receiving device A and receiving device C's auxiliary information. [Examiner Note; device B is the first UE, device A is the second UE and device C the third UE in claim 8]), and selecting one information from among the first information and the second information based on a preconfigured criterion ([Para. 5 in page 12], the third terminal device performs resource selection according to the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information. [Examiner’s Note: selecting the one resource set information from the first auxiliary information and the second auxiliary information]. Resource selection or reselection is continued using the assistance information from the terminal device with the farthest distance and the result of its own perception. [Examiner’s Note: The selection of the one resource set information from the first and second auxiliary information is based on the criterion of selecting the information from the receiving device of the furthest distance. After the one resource set information is selected, the sending device further selects between the one resource set information and its own perception]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the system of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that a UE selects one resource set information from the resource set information from two other UEs based on a preconfigured criterion, as taught by Zhang. The implementation allows the system to take into account the resource selection preferences of different receiving devices, and select the resources for which all receiving devices are subject to less interference for side link transmission, thereby improving the reliability of transmission (Zhang, [Para. 9 in page 2]).
For claim 19 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 9.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer HHI et al (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e R1-2008757, hereinafter Fraunhofer) in view of LG Electronics (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897, hereinafter LG) and Xiao et al. (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao), and further in view of Dutta et al (US20210320777A1, hereinafter Dutta).
For claim 24, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein performing the sidelink communication (Fraunhofer [Subsect. 2.1, first para. After FIG. 2], These resources can be used by UE-B either for a transmission back to UE-A or to any other UE within its vicinity) comprises, transmitting an initial transmitting data unit by using the intersection or the difference (Fraunhofer [Subsect. 2.4, para. 2], If UE-B receives a set of resources mapping to a candidate resource set generated by UE-A, in combination with its own candidate resource set that UE-B had generated for the intended transmission. [Subsect. 2.1, first para. After FIG. 2], These resources can be used by UE-B either for a transmission back to UE-A or to any other UE within its vicinity. Fraunhofer [FIG. 1] and [Page 2, Subsect. 2.1 Definition of “a set of resources”, second para.], UE-A sends a set of resources that it sees available during its sensing and resource selection process. Based on these set of resources, UE-B can use them for its own intended transmissions, as shown in Figure 1).
Although teaching selecting resource by intersection of the resource set in the assistance message and resource set of its own determined by the UE for initial transmissions, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not explicitly disclose and transmitting a retransmitting data unit by using the union.
Dutta teaches and transmitting a retransmitting data unit by using the union ([Para. 0079], when a packet arrives in a wireless communication device such as a UE in sidelink communication for another UE, the UE determines or identifies a set of candidate resources in which it may transmit in a next transmission. [Para. 0080], the candidate resource set is chosen from all available resources that are within a packet delay budget (PDB) window or a maximum re-transmission budget window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the method of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that when a retransmission data unit is transmitted in the sidelink communication, the union is selected as the candidate resource, as taught by Dutta. The implementation allows the system to decrease resources exclusion to gain further potential time/frequency resources that may be scheduled by a device (Dutta, [Abstract]).
For claim 29 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 24. Therefore, claim 29 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 24.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer HHI et al (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #103-e R1-2008757, hereinafter Fraunhofer) in view of LG Electronics (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897, hereinafter LG) and Xiao et al. (US20180376308A1, hereinafter Xiao), and further in view of InterDigital Inc. (3GPP RAN WG2 Meeting #103bis R2-1814017, hereinafter InterDigital).
For claim 25, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching selecting resource based on assistance message or result of sensing, Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao do not explicitly disclose wherein selecting the at least one resource comprises, selecting the at least one resource set based on the result of the resource sensing without the first information, in that case the first terminal performs the sidelink communication in a multicast scheme or a broadcast scheme.
InterDigital teaches wherein selecting the at least one resource ([Sect. 2, Page 2], In LTE V2X, a UE selects resources based on its own sensing results and the priority of each packet) comprises, selecting the at least one resource set based on the result of the resource sensing without the first information ([Sect. 2, Page 1], Since NR V2X will still support broadcast transmissions that do not rely on any UE feedback for link adaptation, there seems to be no reason to change the LTE baseline for UE autonomous resource selection for broadcast case. [Sect. 2, Page 2], In LTE V2X, a UE selects resources based on its own sensing results and the priority of each packet. Proposal 2: For broadcast transmissions in NR V2X using mode 2, apart from sensing results from other UE transmissions, the UE autonomously selects sidelink resources without assistance/scheduling from other UEs), in that case the first terminal performs the sidelink communication in a multicast scheme or a broadcast scheme ([Sect. 2, Page 2], Proposal 2: For broadcast transmissions in NR V2X using mode 2, apart from sensing results from other UE transmissions, the UE autonomously selects sidelink resources without assistance/scheduling from other UEs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fraunhofer, LG and Xiao, so that when the first UE performs the sidelink communication in a broadcast scheme, the candidate resource is selected without assistance from other UEs, as taught by InterDigital. The implementation allows the NR V2X to achieve broadcast without changing the LTE baseline when there seems to be no reason to change (InterDigital, [Sect. 2]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417