DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and request for continued examination filed 01/05/2026. Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are currently pending in this application. Claims 9-20 have been previously withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2017/0061756 A1) in view of Egawa (U.S. 2011/0018706 A1) in view of Karschnia (U.S. 2008/0084852 A1).
Claim 1, Kim teaches;
A gateway device (Kim, Fig. 2: 300) for transmission of data to fire devices (Kim, Fig. 2: 100) of a fire system (Kim, Fig. 2), to:
receive an activation signal from a fire control panel (Kim, Paragraph [0032], The terminal board 300 applies a first voltage which may be loaded with predetermined information, e.g. call information, all of which is under control of the CPU 400. The controlling of the CPU 400 is functionally equivalent to receiving an activation signal from the fire control panel, i.e. CPU 400.); and
transmit the activation signal from the gateway device to a plurality of fire devices included in a cluster (Kim, Paragraph [0032], The sensors 100 of Fig. 2 represent a cluster and the terminal board 300 transmits the predetermined information provided by the CPU to the sensors 100.) to activate each of the plurality of fire devices (Kim, Paragraph [0032], In response to the supplied operating power and loaded predetermined information, the sensors 100 transmit information to the CPU, wherein the response from the sensors 100 is indicative of an activation of the sensors 100.), including continually performing the monitoring operation of each of the plurality of fire devices, in response to receiving the activation signal (Kim, Paragraph [0034], While power is being supplied to the sensor 100, the sensor 100 continually performs the monitoring operation.);
wherein:
the plurality of fire devices are arranged in a bi-directional loop (Kim, Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0024-0025]) such that the activation signal is sent in a first direction around the bi-directional loop and in a second direction around the bi-directional loop simultaneously (Kim, Paragraph [0034], The sensors 100 are supplied with the first voltage from the first loop line 11 and the second voltage from the second loop line 12.); and
the first direction is opposite the second direction (Kim, Paragraphs [0032] and [0034], Signals including voltage may be transmitted on loop lines 11 and 12 via connection lines 21 and 22, respectively. A signal originating from first connection line 21 may be sensed for changes in voltage/current on second connection line 22 (see Kim, Paragraph [0032]), thereby indicating that signals originating via connection lines 21 and 22 are functionally equivalent to being in opposite directions.).
Kim does not specifically teach:
The gateway device comprising:
a memory; and
a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory; and
transmit according to predetermined time slots over a plurality of channels, activating a visual alarm and an audible alarm of each of the plurality of fire devices;
wherein:
the gateway device is allocated a first time slot of the predetermined time slots.
However, as per the limitations of a memory and a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory, Kim teaches an MCU 38 in Fig. 1, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the terminal board 300 to include a combination of an MCU 38 and corresponding memory for storing instructions for performing the functions of the terminal board 300, under the control of the CPU 400. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the terminal board 300 for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results.
Egawa teaches:
Activating a visual alarm and an audible alarm of each of the plurality of fire devices (Egawa, Fig. 3: 46, Paragraphs [0109] and [0113] and [0119], The alert section 46 includes a speaker 68 and an LED 22 for outputting an audible alarm and a visual indicator, respectively, in response to a detected abnormal condition, e.g. a fire.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kim by integrating the teaching of an alarm device, as taught by Egawa.
The motivation would be to ensure all persons who are present are able to receive an alarm regarding a detected fire (see Egawa, Paragraph [0004]).
Kim in view of Egawa does not specifically teach:
The gateway device comprising:
transmit according to predetermined time slots over a plurality of channels;
wherein:
the gateway device is allocated a first time slot of the predetermined time slots.
Karschnia teaches:
Transmit according to predetermined time slots (Karschnia, Figs. 3A-3D, Paragraph [0008]) over a plurality of channels (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009], The different frequency channels are equivalent to a plurality of channels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system of Kim in view of Egawa by integrating the teaching of timeslots and frequency channels, as taught by Karschnia. Therefore, a first time slot, as taught by Karschnia, would be assigned to the terminal board 300 of Kim (see Kim, Paragraph [0032]).
The motivation would be to enable the passing of messages without collisions (see Karschnia, Paragraph [0009]).
Claim 2, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to stagger transmission of the activation signal over the plurality of channels by:
transmitting the activation signal in the first direction over a first channel at the first time slot (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other.);
transmitting the activation signal in the second direction over a third channel at a second time slot (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other.);
transmitting the activation signal in the first direction over a second channel at a third time slot (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other.); and
transmitting the activation signal in the second direction over a fourth channel at a fourth time slot (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other.).
Claim 3, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 2, wherein:
the first channel is at a first frequency and the third channel is at a third frequency that is proximate to the first frequency (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other. The term “proximate” is interpreted as to be within a frequency spectrum usable by the system.); and
the second channel is at a second frequency and the fourth channel is at a fourth frequency that is proximate to the second frequency (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other. The term “proximate” is interpreted as to be within a frequency spectrum usable by the system.).
Claim 4, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 3, wherein the first frequency and the third frequency are spaced apart from the second frequency and the fourth frequency in a frequency band (Karschnia, Paragraphs [0008-0009] and [0028], In the combination of Kim in view of Karschnia, the transmitted signals would be done over a plurality of assigned timeslots and transmission frequencies. Each of the plurality of timeslots representing a respective first, second, third, etc. time slot and each transmission frequency representing a respective first, second, third, etc. channel, wherein each time slot and each channel are different from each other. The term “spaced apart” is interpreted as being different enough so as to not interfere with each other, e.g. collision.).
Claim 5, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive fire device activation data from a fire device of the plurality of fire devices (Kim, Paragraph [0032], The terminal board 300 receives transmitted information from the sensor, e.g. sensed information.);
transmit the fire device activation data to the fire control panel (Kim, Paragraph [0036], The CPU 400 confirms the current environment state around the sensor, by analyzing the received sensed information.); and
receive the activation signal from the fire control panel in response to the fire control panel determining a fire event is occurring from the fire device activation data (Kim, Paragraphs [0032], [0034], and [0036], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the CPU 400 to continue to control the terminal board 300 to send and receive signals to and from sensors 100, even in the event of a sensed disaster. The Examiner notes that the system continues to operate unless barrier 250 prevents a connection with lines 21 and/or 22 due to open/short circuits experienced in a dangerous region (see Kim, Paragraphs [0040-0042]).).
Claim 7, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the activation signal to the plurality of fire devices by transmitting the activation signal to a first fire device of the plurality of fire devices in the first direction and a third fire device of the plurality of fire devices in the second direction (Kim, Paragraphs [0032] and [0034], In the example of Fig. 2, Sensor “1” would be functionally equivalent to a first fire device and Sensor “8” would be functionally equivalent to a third fire device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the opposite situation to be true.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2017/0061756 A1) in view of Egawa (U.S. 2011/0018706 A1) in view of Karschnia (U.S. 2008/0084852 A1), in view of Barson et al. (U.S. 2020/0402380 A1).
Claim 8, Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia further teaches:
The gateway device of claim 7.
Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia does not specifically teach:
Wherein:
transmitting the activation signal to the first fire device in the first direction causes the first fire device to transmit the activation signal to a second fire device of the plurality of fire devices and the second fire device to transmit the activation signal to the third fire device in the first direction around the bi-directional loop; and
transmitting the activation signal to the third fire device in the second direction causes the third fire device to transmit the activation signal to the second fire device and the second fire device to transmit the activation signal to the first fire device in the second direction around the bi-directional loop.
Barson teaches:
An addressable loop of alarm devices that enable communication between a control panel and each of the plurality of alarm devices (see Barson, Fig. 1, Paragraphs [0024-0025], The wiring 112 can carry combined power transmission and digital communications between alarm devices 110-1, 110-2, …, 110-N. The system provides bi-directional communication between the control panel and the alarm devices (see Barson, Paragraph [0003]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kim in view of Egawa in view of Karschnia by integrating the teaching of an addressable loop, as taught by Barson.
The motivation would be to provide devices that are capable of continuing to provide alarms even if a short circuit fault occurs in the loop(s) (see Barson, Paragraph [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686