DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
An interview was conducted and proposed an Examiner’s amendment to the claims in a condition for allowance, but did not result in an authorization.
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 18 June 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 9 are now pending in the application.
Amendments to the specification and to the claims 1, 4 and 7 to overcome the informalities are acceptable. Therefore, specification and claim objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 18 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on Pages 10-11, that “Applicant submits that due to the geometry of the substrate's side faces, the substrate will sink into the lead-free glass solder without the application of pressure, even in spite of the higher surface tension that is provided with lead-free glass solders (see, e.g., para. [0011] of the present Application as originally filed). As such, the continuously tapered side surfaces of the claimed semiconductor substrate are not mere arbitrary design choices.…As an initial matter, as shown in Fig. 17 of Yokura, the side surfaces of the alleged semiconductor substrate 131 do not continuously taper from the upper side of the alleged semiconductor substrate 131, as required by claim 1. Rather, only the bottom half of the sides of the alleged semiconductor substrate 131 of Yokura appear to be tapered in Fig. 17. Furthermore, in paras. [0103] and [0104] of Yokura, the reference clarifies that it is merely the comers of the alleged semiconductor substrate 131 of Fig. 17 that are cut, so as to be tapered.”
Examiner respectfully submits that: firstly, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the substrate will sink into the lead-free glass solder without the application of pressure, even in spite of the higher surface tension that is provided with lead-free glass solders) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
[AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (upper side)][AltContent: textbox (sensor body)][AltContent: textbox (tapered section)][AltContent: textbox (sensor body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 17, Yokura.
Secondly, claim 1 recites the limitation, “wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration” (emphasis added). As applicant agrees on page 11 second paragraph, “only the bottom half of the sides of the alleged semiconductor substrate 131 of Yokura appear to be tapered in Fig. 17”, Yokura teaches at least sections of the sensor chip having a continuous taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side (see annotated Fig. 11 above). Also, see the measuring element in Fig. 18 of the instant application and the sensor chip 130 of Yokura in Fig. 17. Therefore, Yokura teaches, the recited limitation “wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration”.
In response to applicant’s argument on Page 10, last paragraph “the Examiner's motivation for modifying Yuichiro in view of Yokura is to minimize the thermal expansion coefficient between the semiconductor substrate/silicon substrate and the diaphragm. Applicant submits, however, that the minimizing of the thermal coefficient between those two elements is important in Yokura because the semiconductor sensor/alleged measuring element 130 of Yokura is directly bonded to the diaphragm (see Abstract; see Fig. 17). With specific regard to the embodiment of Fig. 17 of Yokura, when the corners of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 of Yokura each have an obtuse angle, "the stress can be reduced so that the sensor chip 130 and the diaphragm 121 can be reliably bonded together for a long period of time. Applicant submits that such specific stress discussed in Yokura, which is the reason for the angled corners, does not apply to Yuichiro because the alleged measuring element 40 of Yuichiro is not bonded directly to the alleged diaphragm 22 (see Fig. 1 B). Similarly, in Ding, the element 500 is not bonded directly to the substrate 504. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the alleged motivation does not provide the requisite rational line of reasoning to modify Yuichiro (and Ding) in a manner that would arrive at the claimed invention.”
Respectfully, examiner submits that, Yokura teaches in para. [0006] that, the material having a thermal expansion coefficient close to a thermal expansion coefficient of a semiconductor substrate reduces the thermal stress. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that, a tapered surface would improve the thermal stress while bonding it to substrate or a sensor body. Further, Yokura teaches in para. [0104] that, four edges of the sensor chip 130 is cut so that each corner of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 has an obtuse angle...the stress applied to the interface between the diaphragm 121 and the sensor chip 130 is concentrated on corners of the interface, i.e., corners of the back surface of the sensor chip 130. The concentration of the stress can be reduced by increasing angles of corners of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 (emphasis added). Therefore, when each corner of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 has an obtuse angle, the stress can be reduced so that the sensor chip 130 and the diaphragm 121 can be reliably bonded together for a long period of time and hence one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to replace the sensor chip 40 of Yuichiro with a tapered sensor chip 130 of Yokura.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 12: “volatile, organic components” should read
-- volatile organic components --
In claim 9, line 1: “The method according to claim 8,” should read:
-- The method according to claim 7, --
See, claim 8 canceled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichiro (WO 2018038068) in view of Ding (US 20130105999) and further in view of Yokura (US 20080202249).
[AltContent: textbox (measuring element sinks)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (measuring element)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (sensor body)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1, Yuichiro.
Regarding claim 1, Yuichiro teaches, a method for manufacturing a sensor body (strain sensor 100, see annotated Figs. 1A and 1B), the method comprising:
A. providing a sensor body (metal cylindrical body 20, see annotated Fig. 1), at least one measuring element (semiconductor element 40) and either a lead-free glass solder paste or at least one lead-free molded glass part (glass 30, semiconductor element 40 is bonded via a glass 30 on a diaphragm 22, para. [0014]);
B. applying the lead-free glass solder paste on at least one surface portion of a membrane (diaphragm 22, Fig. 1) of the sensor body or placing the lead-free molded glass part on the at least one surface portion of the membrane of the sensor body (semiconductor element 40 is bonded onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, para. [0014]);
C. applying the at least one measuring element (semiconductor element 40) to the lead-free glass solder paste or to the lead-free molded glass part (glass 30, see Fig. 1);
D. heating the sensor body to a temperature and storing the sensor body at the temperature for a storage period, so that either the lead-free glass solder paste vaporize and the glass particles melt to form a lead-free glass solder into which the at least one measuring element sinks without an application of force or the lead-free molded glass part melts to create a lead-free glass solder into which the at least one measuring element sinks without an application of force (see the edges of the semiconductor element 40 in annotated Fig. 1B, strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it. The temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]); and
E. after step D, cooling the sensor body so that the lead-free glass solder solidifies thereby connecting the at least one measuring element to the membrane of the sensor body (strain sensor 100 is manufactured by bonding the semiconductor element 40 on the diaphragm 22 using molten glass and then cooling to solidify the glass 30, para. [0014]),
wherein the at least one measuring element has a semiconductor substrate (semiconductor element 40), the semiconductor substrate having an upper side and a lower side (see the semiconductor element 40),
wherein in step C, the lower side of the semiconductor substrate of the at least one measuring element is applied to the lead-free glass solder paste or to the lead-free molded glass part (semiconductor element 40 is bonded via a glass 30 on a diaphragm 22, para. [0014]), and
wherein in step D, the at least one measuring element sinks into the lead-free glass solder, starting from the lower side of the semiconductor substrate, without application of force due to the tapered configuration of the semiconductor substrate (see the edges of the semiconductor element 40 in annotated Fig. 1B, strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it. The temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (lead-free glass solder paste)]
Annotated Fig. 1, Ding.
Yuichiro does not explicitly teach, the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile organic components. However, Ding teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 102 and a measuring element 104 and a lead-free glass solder paste (glass frit adhesive 106, see annotated Fig. 1) or at least one lead-free molded glass part, wherein the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile, organic components (glass frit adhesive layer 106 is comprised of ground glass particles in a paste…screen printed on to the upper surface 110 of the substrate 102 and heated to burn off volatile solvents in the paste and to partially glaze the outside surface of the paste, para. [0011]). Yuichiro teaches in para. [0014] strain sensor 100 is manufactured by bonding the semiconductor element 40 on the diaphragm 22 using molten glass and then cooling to solidify the glass 30, and para. [0023], after the semiconductor element 40 is bonded onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, when the glass 30 is cooled to room temperature approximately 250 C that solidifies the molten glass. Ding teaches in Fig. 1, a lead-free glass solder paste and heating to burn off volatile solvents in the paste. Therefore, Yuichiro in view of Ding teaches the recited structure (see the Note below). Further, from the teaching of a partially sank measuring element 40 in Fig. 1B and placing a semiconductor element 40 over a molten glass 30 in para. [0014-0016] of Yuichiro, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that “measuring element sinks without an application of force” as recited in lines 13 and 15, unless otherwise defined. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ding, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the molten glass paste 30 with a glass frit adhesive 106 as Ding taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming a strong bond between the measuring element and the sensor body as Ding disclosed in para. [0011].
Modified Yuichiro does not teach, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side, wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration. However, Yokura teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 120 comprising a diaphragm 121 in Fig. 17, a measuring element 130, and bonding the measuring element to the sensor body, in which,
in a plan view, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side (see the silicon substrate 131, Fig. 17 below), wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper (see annotated Fig. 17) from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration (see annotated Fig. 1 below, four edges of the sensor chip 130 is cut so that each corner of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 has an obtuse angle, para. [0104], in which it is obvious that at least sections of the substrate are tapered).
[AltContent: textbox (sensor body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (tapered substrate)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 17, Yokura.
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yokura, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the semiconductor substrate with a silicon substate 131 as Yokura taught in Fig. 17 so that it enables minimizing the thermal expansion coefficient between the silicon substrate and the diaphragm. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in providing the semiconductor substrate a tapering configuration. Furthermore, unless otherwise defined, the recited process steps of applying lead-free glass solder, applying the measuring element and heating the sensor body by which the product is made, are not necessarily done in the recited order. A simple substitution of a semiconductor element 40 of Yuichiro with a tapered sensor chip 130 of Yokura would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Note: Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 3, Yuichiro in view of Ding and Yokura teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Yuichiro further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the temperature is between 3000 C and 6000 C (temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Yuichiro teaches, a method for manufacturing a sensor body (strain sensor 100, Figs. 1A and 1B), the method comprising:
A. providing a sensor body (metal cylindrical body 20, see annotated Fig. 1), at least one measuring element (semiconductor element 40) and either a lead-free molded glass solder paste or at least one lead-free glass part (glass 30);
B. applying the lead-free glass solder paste on at least one surface portion of a membrane (diaphragm 22, Fig. 1) of the sensor body or placing the lead-free molded glass part on the at least one surface portion of the membrane of the sensor body (semiconductor element 40 is bonded onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, para. [0014]);
C. heating the sensor body to a temperature and storing the sensor body at the temperature for a storage period, so that the lead-free glass solder paste vaporize and the glass particles melt to form a lead-free glass solder or the lead-free molded glass part melts to create a lead-free glass solder and adheres to the membrane (strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it. The temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]);
D. applying the at least one measuring element to the lead-free glass solder so that the measuring element sinks into the lead-free glass solder without an application of force (see the edges of the semiconductor element 40 in annotated Fig. 1B); and
E. after step D, cooling the sensor body so that the lead-free glass solder solidifies thereby connecting the at least one measuring element to the membrane of the sensor body (strain sensor 100 is manufactured by bonding the semiconductor element 40 on the diaphragm 22 using molten glass and then cooling to solidify the glass 30, para. [0014]),
wherein the at least one measuring element has a semiconductor substrate (semiconductor element 40), the semiconductor substrate having an upper side and a lower side (see the semiconductor element 40),
wherein in step D, the lower side of the semiconductor substrate of the at least one measuring element is applied to the lead-free glass solder so that the at least one measuring element sinks into the lead-free glass solder, starting from the lower side of the semiconductor substrate, without application of force due to the tapered configuration of the semiconductor substrate (see the edges of the semiconductor element 40 in annotated Fig. 1B, strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it. The temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]).
Yuichiro does not explicitly teach, the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile organic components. However, Ding teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 102 and a measuring element 104 and a lead-free glass solder paste (glass frit adhesive 106, see annotated Fig. 1) or at least one lead-free molded glass part, wherein the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile, organic components (glass frit adhesive layer 106 is comprised of ground glass particles in a paste. The particle-bearing paste is screen printed on to the upper surface 110 of the substrate 102 and heated to burn off volatile solvents in the paste and to partially glaze the outside surface of the paste, para. [0011]).
Yuichiro teaches in para. [0014] strain sensor 100 is manufactured by bonding the semiconductor element 40 on the diaphragm 22 using molten glass and then cooling to solidify the glass 30, and para. [0023], after the semiconductor element 40 is bonded onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, when the glass 30 is cooled to room temperature approximately 250 C that solidifies the molten glass. Ding teaches in Fig. 1, a lead-free glass solder paste and heating to burn off volatile solvents in the paste. Further, from the teaching of a partially sank measuring element 40 in Fig. 1B and placing a semiconductor element 40 over a molten glass 30 in para. [0014-0016] of Yuichiro, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that “measuring element sinks without an application of force” as recited in lines 13 and 15, unless otherwise defined. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ding, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the molten glass paste 30 with a glass frit adhesive 106 as Ding taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming a strong bond between the measuring element and the sensor body as Ding disclosed in para. [0011].
Modified Yuichiro does not teach, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side, wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration. However, Yokura teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 120 comprising a diaphragm 121 in Fig. 17, a measuring element 130, and bonding the measuring element to the sensor body, in which,
in a plan view, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side (see the silicon substrate 131, annotated Fig. 17), wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper (see annotated Fig. 17) from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration (see annotated Fig. 1 below, four edges of the sensor chip 130 is cut so that each corner of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 has an obtuse angle, para. [0104]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yokura, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the semiconductor substrate with a silicon substate 131 as Yokura taught in Fig. 17 so that it enables minimizing the thermal expansion coefficient between the silicon substrate and the diaphragm. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or any special steps were devised in providing the semiconductor substrate a tapering configuration. Furthermore, unless otherwise defined, the recited process steps of applying lead-free glass solder, applying the measuring element and heating the sensor body by which the product is made, are not necessarily done in the recited order. A simple substitution of a semiconductor element 40 of Yuichiro with a tapered sensor chip 130 of Yokura would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 6, Yuichiro in view of Ding and Yokura teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Yuichiro further teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the temperature is between 3000 C and 6000 C (temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling (the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C., para. [0014]).
Claim(s) 7 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichiro in view of Ding and further in view of Yasuhiro (JP 2000275128) and Yokura.
Regarding claim 7, Yuichiro teaches, a method for manufacturing a sensor body (strain sensor 100, Figs. 1A and 1B), the method comprising:
A. providing a sensor body (metal cylindrical body 20, see annotated Fig. 1), at least one measuring element (semiconductor element 40) and either a lead-free molded glass solder paste (glass 30) or at least one lead-free glass part, wherein the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles;
B. applying the lead-free glass solder paste on at least one surface portion of a membrane (diaphragm 22, Fig. 1) of the sensor body or placing the lead-free molded glass part on the at least one surface portion of the membrane of the sensor body (see Fig. 1B, semiconductor element 40 is bonded onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, para. [0014]);
C. heating the sensor body to a temperature and storing the sensor body at the temperature for a storage period, so that the lead-free glass solder paste vaporize and the glass particles melt to form a lead-free glass solder or the lead-free molded glass part melts to create a lead-free glass solder and adheres to the membrane (strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it. The temperature at which the glass 30 solidifies upon cooling, the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C, para. [0014]);
D. after step C, cooling the sensor body so that the lead-free glass solder solidifies (strain sensor 100 is manufactured by bonding the semiconductor element 40 on the diaphragm 22 using molten glass and then cooling to solidify the glass 30, para. [0014]);
E. after step D, applying the at least one measuring element (semiconductor element 40) to the lead-free glass solder (see Fig. 1).
wherein the at least one measuring element has a semiconductor substrate (semiconductor element 40), the semiconductor substrate having an upper side and a lower side (see the semiconductor element 40),
wherein in step E, the lower side of the semiconductor substrate of the at least one measuring element is applied to the lead-free glass solder so that the at least one measuring element sinks into the lead-free glass solder, starting from the lower side of the semiconductor substrate, without application of force due to the tapered configuration of the semiconductor substrate (see the edges of the semiconductor element 40 in annotated Fig. 1B, strain sensor 100 is fabricated by bonding the semiconductor element 40 onto the diaphragm 22 using molten glass, and then cooling the glass 30 to solidify it, para. [0014]).
Yuichiro does not explicitly teach, the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile organic components. However, Ding teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 102 and a measuring element 104 and a lead-free glass solder paste (glass frit adhesive 106, see annotated Fig. 1) or at least one lead-free molded glass part, wherein the lead-free glass solder paste comprises glass particles and volatile, organic components (glass frit adhesive layer 106 is comprised of ground glass particles in a paste. The particle-bearing paste is screen printed on to the upper surface 110 of the substrate 102 and heated to burn off volatile solvents in the paste and to partially glaze the outside surface of the paste, para. [0011]). From the teaching of a partially sank measuring element 40 in Fig. 1B and placing a semiconductor element 40 over a molten glass 30 in para. [0014-0016] of Yuichiro, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that “measuring element sinks without an application of force” as recited in lines 13 and 15, unless otherwise defined. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Ding, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the molten glass paste 30 with a glass frit adhesive 106 as Ding taught in Fig. 1 so that it enables forming a strong bond between the measuring element and the sensor body as Ding disclosed in para. [0011].
Modified Yuichiro does not teach, re-heating the sensor body to reliquify the lead-free glass solder. However, Yasuhiro teaches, a method for manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 10 in Fig. 2, and bonding a measuring element 40 with a lead-free glass solder 50, in which,
F. after step E, re-heating the sensor body to reliquify the lead-free glass solder so that the measuring element sinks into the lead-free glass solder without application of force (sensor chip is then assembled, and the glass is re-melted by baking, completing the glass bonding of the chip…about 30 minutes, para. [0031]); and
G. after step F, cooling the sensor body so that the lead-free glass solder re-solidifies thereby connecting the at least one measuring element to the membrane of the sensor body (completing the glass bonding of the chip, para. [0031]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yasuhiro, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to include a re-heating and cooling step as taught by Yasuhiro so that it enables to form a strong bond between the measuring element and the sensor body. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in re-heating the sensor body or re-solidifying the glass solder. Such a combination would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Modified Yuichiro does not teach, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side, wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration. However, Yokura teaches, a method of manufacturing a sensor body including providing a sensor body 120 comprising a diaphragm 121 in Fig. 17, a measuring element 130, and bonding the measuring element to the sensor body, in which,
in a plan view, a surface of the upper side fully projects beyond a surface of the lower side over an entire edge of the surface of the lower side such that the lower side has a smaller area than the upper side (see the silicon substrate 131, annotated Fig. 17), wherein side faces of the semiconductor substrate continuously taper (see annotated Fig. 17) from the upper side in a direction of the lower side, at least in sections, such that the semiconductor substrate has a tapered configuration (see annotated Fig. 1 above, four edges of the sensor chip 130 is cut so that each corner of the back surface of the sensor chip 130 has an obtuse angle, para. [0104]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yokura, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of manufacturing of the sensor body of Yuichiro and to replace the semiconductor substrate with a silicon substate 131 as Yokura taught in Fig. 17 so that it enables minimizing the thermal expansion coefficient between the silicon substrate and the diaphragm. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in providing the semiconductor substrate a tapering configuration. Furthermore, unless otherwise defined, the recited process steps of applying lead-free glass solder, applying the measuring element and heating the sensor body by which the product is made, are not necessarily done in the recited order. A simple substitution of a semiconductor element 40 of Yuichiro with a tapered sensor chip 130 of Yokura would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 9, Yuichiro in view of Ding, Yasuhiro and Yokura teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 7. Yuichiro further teaches, the method according to claim [[8]] 7, wherein the temperature is between 3000 C and 6000 C (the glass fixation point temperature is, for example, in the range of about 4600 C to 5100 C, and is typically 5050 C., para. [0014]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729