DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, namely claims 1-10, in the reply filed on June 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH11338025A (Atsuta ‘025 - citing to the attached English translation) in view of JP 2006301375 A (Goto ‘375 – citing to the attached English translation) and US 20180084194 A1 (Woodman ‘194), and further in view of Grepow Rechargeable Battery (Grepow 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Atsuta ‘025 teaches an image capture system (a camera heating and warming device for a camera; [0006]), comprising:
an image capture apparatus (a camera; [0006]) including an image capture apparatus battery (a battery 18 is located within the camera body 10; [0009]) configured to functionally operate a first operational temperature (the camera may become slow or cease to operate at low temperatures, i.e., the built-battery has an operational temperature at which the camera is able to operate when powered by the built-in battery; [0001]);
a heater device (a camera heating and warming device; [0006]), the heater device configured to thermally couple to the image capture apparatus battery (the heater is installed on the outside of the battery by laminating the heating element with a heat-resistant flexible film, i.e., the heater is thermally coupled to the battery to raise the temperature of the battery when the heater is powered on and heating; [0009]); and
at least one of the image capture apparatus battery or the heater device including a heater controller (a temperature control means that controls the power heater to maintain the temperature within the set range; [0006]; the heater is controlled to raise the temperature of each part to the set temperature; [0015]) configured to:
initiate a heating process based on a first defined event (if the temperature checked by a temperature sensor is lower than the temperature set to fully utilize the battery’s performance, the heater is heated to raise the temperature to a level that allows the battery to perform optimally; [0014]).
Atsuta ‘025 does not expressly disclose that the heater device includes a heater device battery, wherein the heater controller sets a current level of the heater device and maintains or adjusts the current level of the heater device until a second defined event.
Goto ‘375 discloses a camera case that does not degrade battery performance even when shooting in cold regions ([0007]). The camera case includes a heater which starts generating heat when power is supplied, a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature, a temperature setting unit for setting a start temperature for starting the power supply and a stop temperature for stopping the power supply; a temperature determination unit that makes a first determination whether the temperature is below the start temperature and a second determination of whether the temperature is above the stop temperature based on the measurement result of the temperature, wherein the temperature control means starts the power supply when the temperature is below the start temperature and stops the power supply when the temperature is above the stop temperature ([0009]).
The power supply, i.e., the current supplied by the driver 41 to the heater 27 is determined based on the control signal from the temperature control unit 36 ([0036]).
The camera case 56 can accommodate a battery 54 for the digital camera 15 and a spare battery 55 for the heater 27 ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025, to include a heater device battery, wherein the power supply or current supplied to the heater is determined based on the control signal from the temperature control means when based on a start temperature or a stop temperature, i.e., a first and second defined event, to maintain battery performance when shooting in cold regions, as suggested by Goto ‘375.
Atsuta ‘025 discloses an LCD for displaying shooting modes and warnings ([0009]), but does not expressly disclose that the heater controller is configured to display an indication that the image capture apparatus can detect, capture, or record an image based on the image capture apparatus battery attaining the first operational temperature.
Woodman ‘194 discloses a digital camera having a camera body with a battery assembly that may operate less efficiently at low temperatures ([0013]). Accordingly, the camera may also include thermal management system for a digital camera that may increase the temperature of the battery assembly by powering on various components of the camera system ([0014]). The camera may include a processor configured to control the thermal management system of the camera ([0015]). The processor can receive measurements such as the temperature of the battery assembly ([0015]).
The internals of the camera body may include electronics for an external display device capable of displaying information about the camera system ([0013]). For example, the camera can include an interactive display 120 that allows for interaction with the camera while simultaneously displaying camera information on a surface of the camera ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025 to include an external display capable of displaying information such as an indication that the image capture apparatus can detect, capture or record an image when the battery attains a first operational temperature, as suggested by Woodman ‘194, to display camera information on a surface of the camera.
Atsuta ‘025 does not disclose that the heater device battery is configured to operate at a second operational temperature lower than the first operational temperature.
Grepow 2020 discloses that soft low-temperature lithium-ion polymer batteries should have the best performance in low temperatures (page 1). The batteries can be manufactured to a certain shape and size according to the space remaining in the devices they power (page 1). Grepow’s low-temperature batteries can be made to operate in low-temperatures (page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a battery for the heater device that has an operational temperature lower than a conventional battery, because the battery with a lower operational temperature can operate in low temperature environments, as suggested by Grepow 2020, for the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025.
Regarding claim 3, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
set the current level of the heater device to zero upon initiation of the heating process (as an initial operation, the temperature control device measures temperature inside the camera case to determine if the temperature is below a set temperature of 10°C or lower before outputting a control signal to the drive to start supplying power to the heater causing the heater to generate heat, i.e., the power supply/current is set to zero until the temperature control device determines the temperature to be at or below a start temperature/first defined event; [0038] – [0040] of Goto ‘375);
read one or more temperature measurements indicative of a temperature of the image capture apparatus battery (the temperature control device measures the temperature inside the camera case; [0038] of Goto ‘375; when the camera is started up and at regular intervals while the camera is running, the temperature is checked by the temperature senso; [0014] of Atsuta ‘025), wherein the first defined event indicates that the one or more temperature measurements fall within a heater device operational range (if the temperature determination unit determines that the internal temperature is 10°C or less, the temperature control device outputs a control signal that causes the heater to generate heat, i.e., the heater turns on when the first defined event is at a temperature set for the heater operational range; [0040] of Goto ‘375) and the second defined event is attained when an image capture apparatus battery temperature attains the first operational temperature (the temperature control device stops the operation of the heater at a second defined event when the temperature reaches a stop temperature; [0050] of Goto ‘375); and
adjust the current level of the heater device, wherein the read and adjust are repeated until the second defined event (the temperature control device instructs the temperature control unit to determine at regular intervals whether or not the temperature inside the camera case has fallen below 10°C, i.e., the temperature control device reads the temperature and adjusts the current level to maintain the heater until the temperature is above 10°C, the stop temperature of the second defined event; [0042] – [0043] of Goto ‘375).
Regarding claim 7, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 3, wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
set the current level of the heater device to zero when the one or more temperature measurements include the image capture apparatus battery temperature indicating that the image capture apparatus battery temperature is at a defined value above the first operational temperature (the temperature control means stops the power supply, i.e., sets the power supply/current to zero to stop the heater, when the temperature reaches the stop temperature at a temperature above the start temperature; [0009] of Goto ‘375).
Regarding claim 8, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 3, wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
maintain the current level of the heater device when the one or more temperature measurements include the image capture apparatus battery temperature indicating that the image capture apparatus battery temperature is at the operational temperature if the temperature determination unit determines that the internal temperature is less than the stop temperature, the temperature control device maintains the power supply/current to the heater, checking the temperature again until it reaches the stop temperature; [0054] – [0055] of Goto ‘375).
Regarding claim 9, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the first defined event occurs when a timer is set by the heater controller (as soon as the temperature control unit starts outputting a control signal to the driver, the timer starts timing; [0035] of Goto ‘375) and the second defined event occurs when the timer expires (when the timer reaches the set time, the temperature control unit stops outputting the control signal to the driver; [0035] of Goto ‘375), the heater controller is configured to:
set the current level of the heater device to zero upon initiation of the heating process (as an initial operation, the temperature control device measures temperature inside the camera case to determine if the temperature is below a set temperature of 10°C or lower before outputting a control signal to the drive to start supplying power to the heater causing the heater to generate heat, i.e., the power supply/current is set to zero until the temperature control device determines the temperature to be at or below a start temperature/first defined event; [0038] – [0040] of Goto ‘375); and
set the current level of the heater device to zero when the second defined event occurs (when the determination unit determines the temperature has reached the stop temperature or higher, the temperature control unit outputs a stop signal to the driver, and the driver stops supply power to the heater, thereby stopping the heating of the heater; [0055] of Goto ‘375).
Regarding claim 10, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
set the current level of the heater device to zero upon initiation of the heating process (as an initial operation, the temperature control device measures temperature inside the camera case to determine if the temperature is below a set temperature of 10°C or lower before outputting a control signal to the drive to start supplying power to the heater causing the heater to generate heat, i.e., the power supply/current is set to zero until the temperature control device determines the temperature to be at or below a start temperature/first defined event; [0038] – [0040] of Goto ‘375);
read one or more temperature measurements indicative of a temperature of the image capture apparatus battery (the temperature control device measures the temperature inside the camera case; [0038] of Goto ‘375; when the camera is started up and at regular intervals while the camera is running, the temperature is checked by the temperature senso; [0014] of Atsuta ‘025), wherein the one or more temperature measurements is an interface temperature measurement and the first defined event indicates that an interface temperature measurement is below the first operational temperature (the temperature sensor is capable of measuring the temperature inside the camera case; [0024] of Goto ‘375; if the temperature determination unit determines that the internal temperature is 10°C or less, the temperature control device outputs a control signal that causes the heater to generate heat, i.e., the heater turns on when the first defined event is at a temperature of 10°C or less; [0040] of Goto ‘375) and second defined event is attained when interface temperature measurement attains the first operational temperature (the temperature control device stops the operation of the heater at a second defined event when the temperature reaches a stop temperature; [0050] of Goto ‘375); and
adjust the current level of the heater device, wherein the read and adjust are repeated until the second defined event (the temperature control device instructs the temperature control unit to determine at regular intervals whether or not the temperature inside the camera case has fallen below 10°C, i.e., the temperature control device reads the temperature and adjusts the current level to maintain the heater until the temperature is above 10°C, the stop temperature of the second defined event; [0042] – [0043] of Goto ‘375).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH11338025A (Atsuta ‘025 - citing to the attached English translation) in view of JP 2006301375 A (Goto ‘375 – citing to the attached English translation), US 20180084194 A1 (Woodman ‘194), and Grepow Rechargeable Battery (Grepow 2020), and further in view of US 20200036064 A1 (Hess ‘064).
Regarding claim 2, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the heater 21 includes a heating element ([0009]), but does not expressly disclose that the heater device includes the heating element and a heat spreader.
Hess ‘064 a battery module with a heating assembly 26 including a thermally conductive pad 18, a heat spreader 20, and a heating element 22 ([0016]). The heating element 22 is connected to a voltage source to active the heating element 22, allowing heat to spread across the heat spreader 20, through the thermally conductive pad 18 to directly heat the cells connected thereto ([0015] - [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the heater device includes a heating element and a heat spreader to directly heat the cell, as suggested by Hess ‘064, in the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH11338025A (Atsuta ‘025 - citing to the attached English translation) in view of JP 2006301375 A (Goto ‘375 – citing to the attached English translation), US 20180084194 A1 (Woodman ‘194), and Grepow Rechargeable Battery (Grepow 2020), and further in view of US 20080024089 A1 (Meng ‘089).
Regarding claim 4, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
turn off the heater device when the one or more temperature measurements include an ambient temperature indicating that heating of the image capture apparatus battery is unnecessary.
Meng ‘089 discloses a system and method for control battery cell charge current based on the ambient temperature conditions to which battery cells of a battery are exposed ([0012]). The system may include a temperature sensor configured to sense the ambient temperature of the external environment ([0031]). A current/temperature relationship may be a temperature-dependent current regulation algorithm that is configured to provide charge current control values to the control logic based on temperature sensed by the temperature sensor ([0031]). When an adverse temperature environment (e.g., a cold temperature environment) is detected, the temperature-dependent current regulation algorithm may be used to compute out and control a smaller current output to the battery to mitigate the negative impacts of the adverse temperature ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025, to include an ambient temperature sensor that measures the temperature of the external environment, wherein the heater controller may be configured to turn off the power supply or set the current level to zero when an ambient temperature is measured and corresponds to a set temperature value within the control system that corresponds to an ambient temperature where heating is unnecessary, as suggested by Meng ‘089, based on temperature measurements obtained from the external environment in which the image capture system is exposed to.
Regarding claim 5, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 3, wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
turn off the heater device when the one or more temperature measurements include an ambient temperature indicating that heating of the image capture apparatus battery to the first operational temperature is unattainable.
Meng ‘089 discloses a system and method for control battery cell charge current based on the ambient temperature conditions to which battery cells of a battery are exposed ([0012]). The system may include a temperature sensor configured to sense the ambient temperature of the external environment ([0031]). A current/temperature relationship may be a temperature-dependent current regulation algorithm that is configured to provide charge current control values to the control logic based on temperature sensed by the temperature sensor ([0031]). When an adverse temperature environment (e.g., a cold temperature environment) is detected, the temperature-dependent current regulation algorithm may be used to compute out and control a smaller current output to the battery to mitigate the negative impacts of the adverse temperature ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025, to include an ambient temperature sensor that measures the temperature of the external environment, wherein the heater controller may be configured to turn off the power supply or set the current level to zero when an ambient temperature is measured and corresponds to a set temperature value within the control system that corresponds to an ambient temperature where heating of the image capture apparatus battery to the first operational temperature is unattainable, as suggested by Meng ‘089, based on temperature measurements obtained from the external environment in which the image capture system is exposed to, to mitigate the negative impacts of the adverse temperature.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH11338025A (Atsuta ‘025 - citing to the attached English translation) in view of JP 2006301375 A (Goto ‘375 – citing to the attached English translation), US 20180084194 A1 (Woodman ‘194), and Grepow Rechargeable Battery (Grepow 2020), and further in view of US 20150144614 A1 (Kim ‘614).
Regarding claim 6, Atsuta ‘025 teaches the image capture system of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the heater controller is further configured to:
set the current level of the heater device to zero when the one or more temperature measurements include a heater device battery temperature indicating that the heater device battery is overheating.
Kim ‘614 discloses a battery temperature raising system that includes a power supply configured to operate a heater, a heater attached to a battery module and configured to increase a battery temperature by a heating operation, and a heater relay mounted on the circuit between the heater and the power supply and configured to open and close the circuit to selectively turn the heater on and off ([0012]). The system also includes a first sensor configured to sense the battery temperature, a second sensor configured to sense a heater temperature, and a controller configured to output a control signal to operate the heater relay to selectively turn the heater on and off based on temperature information sensed by the first and second sensors ([0012]). Accordingly, it may be possible to secure the durability of the battery and prevent the thermal deformation of the heater by preventing the battery temperature from excessively rising and the hear from overheating ([0017]). The power supply 11 may be a battery ([0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the controller turns off the heater, i.e., sets the power supply/current to zero, when the heater device battery temperature reaches a set temperature, for example, a stop temperature, based on information obtained from including a heater battery device temperature sensor, to prevent overheating of the heater device and the heater device battery, as suggested by Kim ‘614, in the image capture system, as taught by Atsuta ‘025.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20060016793 A1 (Zhu ‘793) discloses a battery heater system for a vehicle that can be connected to an external power source to maintain the battery temperature at a level that ensures optimal battery performance and at a minimum level where the vehicle will also start in any climate ([0006]). The external power source can be, for example, a separate low-voltage battery ([0006]). The battery heater system 100 includes a heater 104 for warming the battery cells 103 ([0014]). The battery heater system 100 may also include a controller 114 that may be powered by the separate low-voltage battery 120 ([0016]). The controller 114 can monitor the temperature of the battery system 102 ([0016]). The controller 114 controls operations of the heater 104 based on signals received indicating a battery temperature ([0015]).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725