DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 9 – 12, and 17 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al (US 2020/0204824, hereafter Lai) in view of YE et al (US 2017/0251213, hereafter YE) in further view of Lee (US 2020/0145648).
As per claim 1, Lai discloses an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
deriving inter prediction samples based on an inter prediction for a current block (¶ 52 - 55);
deriving intra prediction samples based on an intra prediction for the current block (¶ 52 - 55); and
deriving a prediction block for the current block based on a weighted sum derived by applying weights to the inter prediction samples and the intra prediction samples (¶ 50 - 55),
wherein the weights are set based on a shape of the current block, and
wherein for an intra prediction mode being equal to a vertical mode and a height of the current block being equal to N (¶ 55 - 57).
However, Lai does not explicitly teach a weight derived for an intra prediction sample at a sample position based on a width of the current block being N is different from a weight derived for the intra prediction sample at said sample position based on the width of the current block being greater than N.
In the same field of endeavor YE teaches a weight derived for an intra prediction sample at a sample position based on a width of the current block being N is different from a weight derived for the intra prediction sample at said sample position based on the width of the current block being greater than N (¶ 56 and 76).
However, Lai or Ye does not explicitly teach wherein the weights are set according to a size of the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the weights are set according to a size of the current block (¶ 15 and 221).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lai in view of Ye in further view of Lee. The advantage is improving video encoding.
As per claim 2, Lai discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the sum of a weight of the intra prediction sample and a weight of the inter predication sample is a power of two (¶ 53).
As per claim 3, Lai discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the intra prediction samples are derived based on a vertical mode, and
wherein a first weight of a first intra prediction sample is used for a first distance between an above reference sample of the current block and the first intra prediction sample, wherein a second weight of a second intra prediction sample is used for a second distance between the above reference sample and the second intra prediction sample, wherein based on the second distance being greater than the first distance, the first weight is greater than the second weight (¶ 52; the weighting coefficient is related to the Intra mode direction. For example, w_Intra may decrease along the Intra mode direction.).
As per claim 4, Lai discloses the image decoding method of claim 3, wherein a third weight of a first inter prediction sample is used for the first distance, wherein a fourth weight of a second inter prediction sample is used for the second distance, wherein based on the second distance being greater than the first distance, the third weight is smaller than the fourth weight (¶ 52; the weighting coefficient is related to the Intra mode direction. … On the other hand, w_Inter may increase along the Intra mode direction.).
Regarding clam 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding clam 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding clam 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding clam 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding clam 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding clam 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding clam 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 19.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487