DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Obligation Under 37 CFR 1.56 – Joint Inventors
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 9, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 15 and 20 have been amended. No claims have been canceled or added. Thus, claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Applicant’s amendment of April 9, 2026 overcomes the following objections/rejections:
Rejection of claims 1-11, 14-17 and 19-20 under 35 USC 102 (a)(2).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 20-21 of amended claim 1 recite: “wherein the user can access both the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses” (emphasis added) is grammatically improper. “Access both” requires two objects of the verb “access”; however, as recited, there is only one object of the verb “access,” e.g., “the first of the multiple metaverses.” Thus, as currently recited, claim 1 is vague and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of further examining claim 1 at this time, the examiner will interpret “wherein the user can access both the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses” (lines 20-21 of claim 1) as meaning: “wherein the user can simultaneously (i.e., both) access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses.”
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 24-25 of amended claim 8 recite: “wherein the user can access both the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses” (emphasis added) is grammatically improper. “Access both” requires two objects of the verb “access”; however, as recited, there is only one object of the verb “access,” e.g., “the first of the multiple metaverses.” Thus, as currently recited, claim 8 is vague and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of further examining claim 8 at this time, the examiner will interpret “wherein the user can access both the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses” (lines 24-25 of claim 8) as meaning: “wherein the user can simultaneously (i.e., both) access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses.”
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 has been amended to newly recite: “wherein the user feels a transition effect from the second of the multiple metaverses to the first of the multiple metaverses, and wherein the transition effect is one or more of a color change, a background change, an avatar change, a bot change, another visual change, a sound change, and a change to the appearance or function of the virtual user apparatus.” However, it is not clear how it is possible for the user to “feel” a color change, a background change, an avatar change, a bot change, another visual change, or a sound change, since none of these transition effects can actually be felt by the user, only seen or heard, or, more generally, experienced by the user. Thus, as currently recited, claim 20 is vague and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of further examining claim 20 at this time, the examiner will interpret “wherein the user feels a transition effect from the second of the multiple metaverses to the first of the multiple metaverses, and wherein the transition effect is one or more of a color change, a background change, an avatar change, a bot change, another visual change, a sound change, and a change to the appearance or function of the virtual user apparatus” as meaning: “wherein the user experiences a transition effect from the second of the multiple metaverses to the first of the multiple metaverses, and wherein the transition effect is one or more of a color change, a background change, an avatar change, a bot change, another visual change, a sound change, and a change to the appearance or function of the virtual user apparatus.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-11, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAL et al. (US 2024/0144587, hereinafter “LAL”) in view of ANDERSON et al. (US 2018/0288354, hereinafter “ANDERSON”).
Regarding claim 1, LAL discloses a computer system configured to permit a user to participate in multiple metaverses (¶ [0066]: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example system for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses,”) (Abstract: “Systems and methods for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality (XR) apps running on the same XR device are disclosed. The methods concurrently run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0036]: “a system to manage rendering, switching, and active and non-active presence in XR applications,” ¶ [0180]: “system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications,”), the computer system comprising:
one or more virtual reality (VR) servers (e.g., ¶ [0069]: “server 202”; See FIG. 23: “Social World Server”) configured to create multiple metaverses (¶ [0001]: “multiple mixed reality metaverses,”) (¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed. For example, server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server. Similarly, communication network 214 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one communication network. Server 202 is shown communicatively coupled to computing device 218 through communication network 214. While not shown in FIG. 2, server 202 may be directly communicatively coupled to computing device 218, for example, in a system absent or bypassing communication network 214.” ¶ [0070]: “Communication network 214 may comprise one or more network systems, such as, without limitation, an internet, LAN, WIFI or other network systems suitable for audio processing applications. In some embodiments, system 200 excludes server 202, and functionality that would otherwise be implemented by server 202 is instead implemented by other components of system 200, such as one or more components of communication network 214. In still other embodiments, server 202 works in conjunction with one or more components of communication network 214 to implement certain functionality described herein in a distributed or cooperative manner. Similarly, in some embodiments, system 200 excludes computing device 218, and functionality that would otherwise be implemented by computing device 218 is instead implemented by other components of system 200, such as one or more components of communication network 214 or server 202 or a combination. In still other embodiments, computing device 218 works in conjunction with one or more components of communication network 214 or server 202 to implement certain functionality described herein in a distributed or cooperative manner.” ¶ [0072]: “Server 202 includes control circuitry 220 and storage 224.” ¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars, user's preprogrammed responses for the avatars, back-end simulations of an app, state packets, notifications, summaries, app switching indications, such as poses, motions, or sequence of motions to determine which app to switch to, switching patterns, historical responses by the user, user environment details, including those details that concern user safety, and AI and ML algorithms). Non-volatile memory may also be used (e.g., to launch a boot-up routine, launch an app, render an app, and other instructions). Cloud-based storage may be used to supplement storages 224, 238 or instead of storages 224, 238. In some embodiments, data relating to avatars, user's preprogrammed responses for the avatars, back-end simulations of an app, state packets, notifications, summaries, app switching indications, such as poses, motions, or sequence of motions to determine which app to switch to, switching patters, historical responses by the user, user environment details, including those details that concern user safety, and AI and ML algorithms, and data relating to all other processes and features described herein, may be recorded and stored in one or more of storages 212, 238.” ¶ [0075]: “In client/server-based embodiments, control circuitry 228 may include communication circuitry suitable for communicating with an application server (e.g., server 202) or other networks or servers. The instructions for carrying out the functionality described herein may be stored on the application server. Communication circuitry may include a cable modem, an Ethernet card, or a wireless modem for communication with other equipment, or any other suitable communication circuitry. Such communication may involve the internet or any other suitable communication networks or paths (e.g., communication network 214). In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays. Alternatively, computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and process and display the received inputs locally, by control circuitry 228 and display 234, respectively.” ¶ [0076]: “Server 202 and computing device 218 may transmit and receive content and data such as activities performed in an app while the user is present in another app, auto-responses provided by avatars, scores in an app, and input from primary devices and secondary devices, such as AR devices. Control circuitry 220, 228 may send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data through communication network 214 using transceiver circuitry 260, 262, respectively. Control circuitry 220, 228 may communicate directly with each other using transceiver circuits 260, 262, respectively, avoiding communication network 214.”);
an avatar library in communication with each of the one or more VR servers, wherein the avatar library comprises a plurality of avatars (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,” ¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”);
a call center server (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator”; ¶ [0075]: “an application server (e.g., server 202) or other networks or servers. The instructions for carrying out the functionality described herein may be stored on the application server.” ¶ [0075]: “a remote server (e.g., server 202).” ¶ [0076]: “Server 202 and computing device 218 may transmit and receive content and data such as activities performed in an app while the user is present in another app, auto-responses provided by avatars, scores in an app, and input from primary devices and secondary devices, such as AR device s. Control circuitry 220, 228 may send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data through communication network 214 using transceiver circuitry 260, 262, respectively.”) in communication with the one or more VR servers (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World Server” ¶ [0069]: “server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server.”) and configured to communicate with a plurality of user operating devices (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD”; Abstract: “user's XR device” ¶ [0069]: “Server 202 is shown communicatively coupled to computing device 218 through communication network 214.” ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0093]: “another user in the XR app” ¶ [0112]: “another user in the same XR app,” ¶ [0138]: “a plurality of users that are present in an XR app” ¶ [0180]: “an XR head-mounted display (HMD)” ) (¶ [0068]: “Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed. For example, server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server. Similarly, communication network 214 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one communication network. Server 202 is shown communicatively coupled to computing device 218 through communication network 214. While not shown in FIG. 2, server 202 may be directly communicatively coupled to computing device 218, for example, in a system absent or bypassing communication network 214.” ¶ [0071]: “Computing device 218 includes control circuitry 228, display 234 and input circuitry 216. Control circuitry 228 in turn includes transceiver circuitry 262, storage 238 and processing circuitry 240. In some embodiments, computing device 218 or control circuitry 228 may be configured as electronic device 300 of FIG. 3.” ¶ [0075]: “In client/server-based embodiments, control circuitry 228 may include communication circuitry suitable for communicating with an application server (e.g., server 202) or other networks or servers. The instructions for carrying out the functionality described herein may be stored on the application server. Communication circuitry may include a cable modem, an Ethernet card, or a wireless modem for communication with other equipment, or any other suitable communication circuitry. Such communication may involve the internet or any other suitable communication networks or paths (e.g., communication network 214). In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays. Alternatively, computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and process and display the received inputs locally, by control circuitry 228 and display 234, respectively.” ¶ [0076]: “Server 202 and computing device 218 may transmit and receive content and data such as activities performed in an app while the user is present in another app, auto-responses provided by avatars, scores in an app, and input from primary devices and secondary devices, such as AR devices. Control circuitry 220, 228 may send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data through communication network 214 using transceiver circuitry 260, 262, respectively. Control circuitry 220, 228 may communicate directly with each other using transceiver circuits 260, 262, respectively, avoiding communication network 214.” ¶ [0082]: “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an extended reality device for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In an embodiment, the equipment device 300, is the same equipment device 202 of FIG. 2.” ¶ [0069]: “It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed.” ¶ [0085]: “The instructions for carrying out the above-mentioned functionality may be stored on one or more servers.”),
wherein each of the plurality of user operating devices (¶ [0095]: “the first user's XR device.” ¶ [0049]: “The extended reality (XR) device may be a headset, such as a virtual reality, augmented reality, or mixed reality headset, that is worn by a user. The XR headset may be a head-mounted XR device.”) is associated with a unique user (e.g., ¶ [0095]: “the first user.” ¶ [0094]: “other users” ¶ [0097]: “the second user” NOTE: Certainly, when the XR devices are headsets, each user would require their own XR headset.) (Abstract: “run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0049]: “The extended reality (XR) device may be a headset, such as a virtual reality, augmented reality, or mixed reality headset, that is worn by a user. The XR headset may be a head-mounted XR device. It may be a device that can be worn by a user by wrapping around their head, or some portion of their head, and in some instances, it may encompass the head and the eyes of the user.” ¶ [0068]: “In some embodiments, one or more parts of, or the entirety of system 200, may be configured as a system implementing various features, processes, functionalities and components of FIGS. 1, and 4-30. Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed.” NOTE: Since the XR device is a headset and each user only has one head, each XR headset is unique to the user wearing the headset. In other words, each Head-Mounted Display (HMD) is associated with a unique user, e.g., the user wearing the HMD.), and
wherein the call center server (e.g., ¶ [0075]: “a remote server (e.g., server 202).” ¶ [0180]: “a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server.” See FIG. 23. ¶ [0179]: “FIG. 23 is an example of a system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications,” See FIG. 27: “Multiplex to social world 1” and “Multiplex to social world 2”) is configured to position each unique user via one of the user operating devices (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD”) into one or more of the multiple metaverses (FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp”, “Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and/or “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”. ¶ [0180]: “concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server.” ¶ [0181]: “the computer system for multi-location is capable of concurrently running multiple 3D social world or multi-player game client simulations. The control circuitry in the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations.” ¶ [0185]: “the XR compute-and-render system may include a render and display multiplexer that performs the following functions: a) composing the event notification triggers and response summaries across the XR apps where the user is inactive into the rendering of the XR app in which the user is currently active, b) sending composited video views to the display system (HMD), c) receiving positional and rotational data from the HMD/controllers and forwarding it to the XR app in which the user is currently active, and d) when receiving a user command to teleport, or move active control, into another XR app based on a relevant event, and multiplexing the bi-directional stream to the XR app. Video may also be sent from the new XR app, and positional and rotational data may be received by this app in which the avatar is being actively controlled by the user.” ¶ [0186]: “FIG. 24 is a block diagram of processes performed by the system as a user switches between multiple concurrently running XR apps in the extended reality environment, such as the metaverse,” Abstract: “run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0048] In some embodiments, the user may have two, three, or several extended reality applications running simultaneously. These applications may relate to gaming; video conferencing; group watching of media assets; being virtually present at a game, in a virtual meeting, waiting in a virtual line for something like movies, plays, or sports event tickets; or any application that has a virtual, augmented, or metaverse application. The above-mentioned events, games, conferences, etc., are herein broadly referred to as virtual or metaverse applications.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.” ); and
a virtual user apparatus (e.g., ¶ [0075]: “a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202).” FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator” ¶ [0181]: “the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations.”) generated by the at least one of the one or more VR servers (e.g., ¶ [0180]: “a GPU-equipped cloud server.” ¶ [0181]: “the computer system for multi-location is capable of concurrently running multiple 3D social world or multi-player game client simulations. The control circuitry in the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations.” ¶ [0075]: “a remote server (e.g., server 202).” ¶ [0075]: “the displays generated by the remote server” ¶ [0075]: “generating the corresponding displays.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed. For example, server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server. Similarly, communication network 214 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one communication network. Server 202 is shown communicatively coupled to computing device 218 through communication network 214. While not shown in FIG. 2, server 202 may be directly communicatively coupled to computing device 218, for example, in a system absent or bypassing communication network 214.”) (Abstract: “back-end simulations” ¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.” Abstract: “concurrently run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” Abstract: “When the user is not actively present in a first app, activity in the first app is monitored, the avatar is configured to provide auto-responses based on AI, ML, or preprogrammed responses for relevant queries to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0040]: “allowing the user to concurrently run multiple apps in the virtual or metaverse space while allowing the user to simultaneously be present in each concurrently running app via an avatar.” ¶ [0040]: “automatically managing avatar presence in the multiple applications running simultaneously such that auto responses may be provided by the avatars in the apps where the user is not actively present in order to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0041]: “avatars of the user in the applications in which the user is not actively present are automated such that they may respond to any relevant events, queries, or situations that may arise in the app while the user is not actively present.” ¶ [0055]: “At block 103, upon determining that the user is currently actively present and participating in App 2 and that the user is simultaneously running a total of four apps on the XR device, the control circuitry may continue rendering App 2 on the XR device or start rendering App 2, if not already being rendered. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 (FIG. 2) may start (or continue if already started) maintaining a simulation of those apps in which the user is not actively present or participating. The simulations allow the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 to maintain current status in the apps without having to render them onto a display of the XR device.” ¶ [0190]: “FIG. 25 is block diagram of an example of switching between multiple concurrently running XR apps in the extended reality environment, such as the metaverse, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In this embodiment, the user switches from App 1 to App 4, then switches from App 4 to App 3, and then switches back to App 4. The processes performed when such switching occurs are described in connection with FIG. 26. For example, when the user indicates a switch from being actively present in App 1 to being actively present in App 4, the control circuitry renders App 4 and changes the status of Apps 1-3 to autopilot, or inactive presence status. Accordingly, the control circuitry performs an action of removing an avatar from App 4 and replacing it with the user. It may also allow the user to take active control of the existing avatar and remove it from autopilot. The control circuitry may also replace the user in App 1 with an avatar or remove manual control of the avatar in App 1 and put the avatar on autopilot.” ¶ [0191]: “FIG. 26 is a detailed description of processes and actions performed when switching between multiple concurrently running XR apps in the metaverse, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. FIG. 16 describes the processes and actions taken by the control circuitry as the user switches from active to inactive and then inactive to active from one XR app to another. For example, as depicted in row 1 of the table in FIG. 26, the user is currently active in App1 and inactive in Apps 2-4. As such, the processes and actions performed by control circuitry are depicted in column (processes and actions) where avatars are automated in Apps 2-4. As it can be seen, whenever the user is not active in an app, the avatar is automated and when the user switches to being active, then the automated mode is removed thereby allowing the user to perform user driven manual actions and maneuvers in the active app.”),
wherein the virtual user apparatus is unique to a user (See FIG. 23. ¶ [0180]: “the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.” Abstract: “use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.”) and
is in communication with the call center server (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator”; ¶ [0075]: “an application server (e.g., server 202) or other networks or servers. The instructions for carrying out the functionality described herein may be stored on the application server.” ¶ [0075]: “a remote server (e.g., server 202).” ¶ [0069]: “server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server.”), at least one of the one or more VR servers (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World Server” ¶ [0069]: “server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server.”), and the user operating device (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD”) (¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218.”) (¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.” ¶ Abstract: “concurrently run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” Abstract: “When the user is not actively present in a first app, activity in the first app is monitored, the avatar is configured to provide auto-responses based on AI, ML, or preprogrammed responses for relevant queries to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0040]: “allowing the user to concurrently run multiple apps in the virtual or metaverse space while allowing the user to simultaneously be present in each concurrently running app via an avatar.” ¶ [0040]: “automatically managing avatar presence in the multiple applications running simultaneously such that auto responses may be provided by the avatars in the apps where the user is not actively present in order to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0041]: “avatars of the user in the applications in which the user is not actively present are automated such that they may respond to any relevant events, queries, or situations that may arise in the app while the user is not actively present.”), and
wherein the virtual user apparatus (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Component 3D Social World Simulator)”) is present in each of the multiple metaverses in which the user is participating (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp”, “Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and/or “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)” Abstract: “run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.”) (¶ [0001]: “managing avatar presence in multiple applications running simultaneously and in parallel in the metaverse.” ¶ [0040]: “allowing the user to concurrently run multiple apps in the virtual or metaverse space while allowing the user to simultaneously be present in each concurrently running app via an avatar.” ¶ [0040]: “automatically managing avatar presence in the multiple applications running simultaneously such that auto responses may be provided by the avatars in the apps where the user is not actively present in order to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.” ¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.” ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.”),
and is configured to permit the user to select between one or more of the multiple metaverses in which to participate (e.g., FIG. 27: “Multiplex to social world 1” and/or “Multiplex to social world 2”) (¶ [0044]: “In instances where a user decides to switch from one application to another, which could be as a follow-up to a notification or just because the user desires to experience another application, the user may select an option provided in the notification to jump into a particular app. In some embodiments, the user may store preprogramed motions, sequences of motions, or gestures such that they can be used as an indication to the system for switching from one app to another app. When the system detects a motion or movement that matches a preprogrammed motion, the system associates that motion with one of the several apps that are currently running and performs the switch.” ¶ [0045]: “In some embodiments, when the user switches from a first application in which the user is currently present to another application, e.g., the second application, rendering of the first application is stopped and back-end simulation processing is initiated. The back-end simulation processing allows the system to keep track of all activities and the current state of the first application, which may be used at a later time to re render the first application when the user decides to switch back to it. Running back-end simulation and not performing rendering of the first application while the user is not actively present also allows the system to save resources, such as CPU and GPU resources, that may be used for rendering.”).
Whereas LAL is not entirely explicit as to, ANDERSON teaches:
when selecting between the one or more of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0026]: “The viewer 104 may toggle the visibility of the PIP screen, or control the PIP screen position, size, translucency, or content. More than one PIP screen may be presented in the AR/VR environment.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214).” ¶ [0058]: “to determine the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the PIP coordinator engine 306 is to receive an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view, and swap the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view. The user input may be a gesture, spoken command, hardware user interface element (e.g., a button on the housing of the HMD 300), or the like.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0069]: “determining the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD comprises receiving an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view and swapping the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view.”), as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “PIP screen 504 of alternative content.” and ¶ [0050]: “FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.”) from a second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) (¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214). Depending on the circumstances, the user may be able to interact with the swapped content. For instance, if the PIP screen displays an optional game to the user, the user may swap the content from the PIP screen to the main viewing area and play the optional game.” ¶ [0035]: “In yet another instance, the teammate's experience may be used as a shared experience, where both the user and the teammate are able to interact with the same virtual environment. In this case, after swapping the PIP content with the main area content, the user may interact with the environment along with the teammate.”), the second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space (FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504” See FIGS. 5A-C. ¶ [0050] FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment,”), wherein the user can both access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses (As shown in FIG. 5C, the user can access the content of the PIP screen 504 of FIG. 5B and monitor the AR content 502 of FIG. 5B in the PIP window 504 in FIG. 5C. ¶ [0070]: “At 606, an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD are displayed simultaneously.” ¶ [0072]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”) (¶ [0050]: “FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment, according to an embodiment. FIG. 5A illustrates an AR environment 500. The AR environment 500 is an outdoor real-world space with AR content 502. FIG. 5B illustrates the VR environment 500 with a PIP screen 504 of alternative content. The alternative content may be a game that a friend is playing, a preview of a VR game, or other content. The content of the PIP screen 504 may be selected based on the user's context. FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.” ¶ [0051]: “Thus, returning to FIG. 3, the HMD 300 may be implemented as system for presenting mixed reality presentations. Mixed reality presentations include any combination of AR with AR or VR, or VR with AR or VR, displayed at the same time to the user. The mix reality presentations may be displayed in a split-screen, main screen and PIP screen, or the like. Each screen includes its own content of AR or VR, which differs from the AR or VR being presented in the other screen(s).” ¶ [0059]: “to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD, the graphics driver is to display the PIP view as a floating window in the main view. The floating window may appear opaque or translucent. The translucency may be controlled by a user preference setting.” ¶ [0060]: “The HMD 300 also includes a graphics driver 308 to simultaneously display an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300. Alternate reality content refers to either virtual reality content or augmented reality content. The main view is also referred to as the main screen, main viewing area, or primary viewing area. The main view is where the operative alternate reality content is displayed to the user. The PIP view is typically a smaller area that is overlaid or incorporated into the main view of the HMD 300. The PIP view may be resizable, repositionable, or otherwise configurable. Multiple PIP views may exist in some embodiments.” ¶ [0061]: “The main view content may be AR or VR content, and the PIP view content may be AR or VR content.” ¶ [0062]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0065]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0075]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile VR system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LAL and ANDERSON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the multitasking VR system taught by LAL so as to incorporate the functionality of selecting between multiple metaverses and, as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses from a second of the multiple metaverses, the second of the multiple metaverses is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space so that the user can both access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses, as clearly taught by ANDERSON.
Regarding claim 2 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses:
wherein the call center server is configured to receive a command from one of the plurality of user operating devices unique to a user (e.g., FIG. 2: “Input Circuitry” 216 of “Electronic Device” 218.) or from a virtual user apparatus unique to the user, and to communicate with the VR server and instruct the VR server to communicate with the avatar library (¶ [0074]: “Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays. Alternatively, computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and process and display the received inputs locally, by control circuitry 228 and display 234, respectively.”) and select a unique avatar from the avatar library and place the unique avatar into at least one of the multiple metaverses to represent the unique user (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,” ¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”).
Regarding claim 3 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses:
wherein the call center server is configured to instruct the VR server to select (a) the same avatar for the unique user for each of the multiple metaverses in which the unique user participates, or (b) different avatars for the unique user for each of the multiple metaverses in which the unique user participates (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,” ¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”).
Regarding claim 4 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses the system further includes the plurality of user operating devices (¶ [0068]: “Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” NOTE: Fig. 2 shows one “Electronic Device” 218. However, as disclosed in ¶ [0068], there may be multiple electronic devices.), and
wherein (a) each of the plurality of user operating devices includes an electronic display configured to display each of the multiple metaverses in three dimensions (3D) (¶ [0002]: “All-encompassing headsets that wrap around the user's head, like Oculus, and applications built on its platform allow the user to be transported into the virtual world by displaying a virtual environment on a display of the headset. These headsets block out the outside world and display a 3D virtual world to create a virtual simulation for the user, such as riding a virtual roller coaster, doing a spacewalk on the moon, or performing a fictitious act that does not exist in the real world.” ¶ [0074]: “For example, in response to identifying that a user has interacted with and manipulated the 3D object as instructed, the control circuitry 228 may perform the steps of processes described in FIGS. 1, and 4-14, including revealing an occluded feature of the 3D virtual object and providing access to requested data, and also perform all the steps and processes described in all the figures depicted herein.” ¶ [0089]: “In some embodiments, the display 312 may be a 3D display.” ¶ [0181]: “In some embodiments, the computer system for multi-location is capable of concurrently running multiple 3D social world or multi-player game client simulations. The control circuitry in the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations. These simulations may be based on information about the user's state. The control circuitry may inform the server of any changes based on this state information of the user.” ), or (b) each user utilizes a separate 3D display device to view each of the multiple metaverses in 3D ( ) (¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.” In other words, each user present in any of the concurrently running XR apps would require their own head-mounted display to view each 3D virtual world.).
Regarding claim 5 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses:
wherein at least one of the one or more VR servers, the call center server, a plurality of the user operating devices, or a plurality of the virtual user apparatuses is configured to permit a plurality of users to interact with each other while in at least one of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0002]: “Activities in the virtual world where a user or a group of users can interact with each other, play games, conduct meetings and attend events” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.”).
Regarding claim 6 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses:
wherein the call center server and/or the one or more VR servers provides at least one of the multiple metaverses the functionality of media, sound, and/or notifications from outside of the metaverse (Abstract: “Notifications and summary of the activities in the first app are provided to the user while they are actively present in the second app.” ¶ [0042]: “The methods and systems may determine relevancy based on a plurality of factors. These factors may include the type of app, the context of the events, queries, and situations; which user is addressing such queries to the current user; and other factors. Once a determination is made that the event, query, or situation is relevant, notifications of relevant events, queries, and situations, along with circumstances surrounding them, may be provided to the user while the user is actively present in another app. A summary of all activities from an app in which the user is not actively present may also be provided to the user.”).
Regarding claim 7 (depends on claim 1), LAL discloses:
wherein each of the multiple metaverses operates simultaneously (¶ [0046]: “FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure.” ¶ [0048]: “In some embodiments, the user may have two, three, or several extended reality applications running simultaneously. These applications may relate to gaming; video conferencing; group watching of media assets; being virtually present at a game, in a virtual meeting, waiting in a virtual line for something like movies, plays, or sports event tickets; or any application that has a virtual, augmented, or metaverse application. The above-mentioned events, games, conferences, etc., are herein broadly referred to as virtual or metaverse applications.” ¶ [0066]: “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example system for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure and FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an extended reality device for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure.” ¶ [0100]: “FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an overall process for simultaneously being present in multiple extended reality metaverses that are running concurrently,”).
Regarding claim 8, LAL discloses a computer-implemented method for creating multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”),
wherein each of the multiple metaverses is configured to permit a plurality of virtual user apparatuses and/or user operating devices to simultaneously interact with each other inside of at least one of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0002]: “Activities in the virtual world where a user or a group of users can interact with each other, play games, conduct meetings and attend events” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.”),
the method comprising steps of:
utilizing one or more VR servers (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World Server”; ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”) to create multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”);
creating, via the one or more VR servers, a call center server (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)” ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”), or one or more user operating devices (e.g., FIG. 2: “Electronic Device” 218; ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” FIG. 23: “HMD”; ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”) the plurality of virtual user apparatuses (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”. ¶ [0006]: “Although running multiple apps that are not related to virtual reality in a device are known, running multiple apps in the metaverse that require the user's active presence and participation is not, leaving the user the only currently available choice of being actively present in one metaverse-related application at a time. As such, the users can be in one space at a given time—a space is a “virtual location” in one app. To move from one space to another, the user may quit their existing app, go to the home screen and then launch another app to enter a different social world. When users exit a first social world or app to go to a second social world or app, they are no longer present in the first social world or app.” NOTE: Since normally only one VR app can run at a time on a user device, each instance of a Social World and/or Multiplayer Game running concurrently is a virtual user apparatus. ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”) (¶ [0001]: “managing avatar presence in multiple applications running simultaneously and in parallel in the metaverse.” ¶ [0040]: “allowing the user to concurrently run multiple apps in the virtual or metaverse space while allowing the user to simultaneously be present in each concurrently running app via an avatar.” ¶ [0040]: “automatically managing avatar presence in the multiple applications running simultaneously such that auto responses may be provided by the avatars in the apps where the user is not actively present in order to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.” ¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.” ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.”),
wherein each of the plurality of virtual user apparatuses is unique to a user (See FIG. 23. ¶ [0180]: “the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.” Abstract: “use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0181]: “the computer system for multi-location is capable of concurrently running multiple 3D social world or multi-player game client simulations. The control circuitry in the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations. These simulations may be based on information about the user's state. The control circuitry may inform the server of any changes based on this state information of the user. These may include changes in user voice, HMD position and orientation trajectories, controller position and orientation trajectories, and actuations in a scene.” ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.”) and each of the one or more user operating devices is unique to the user (¶ [0095]: “the first user's XR device.” ¶ [0049]: “The extended reality (XR) device may be a headset, such as a virtual reality, augmented reality, or mixed reality headset, that is worn by a user. The XR headset may be a head-mounted XR device.” ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” e.g., ¶ [0095]: “the first user.” ¶ [0093]: “another user in the XR app” ¶ [0094]: “other users” ¶ [0097]: “the second user” ¶ [0112]: “Mary, another user in the same XR app,” ¶ [0126]: “other users in the XR app” NOTE: Certainly, when the XR devices are headsets, each user would require their own XR headset.) (Abstract: “run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0049]: “The extended reality (XR) device may be a headset, such as a virtual reality, augmented reality, or mixed reality headset, that is worn by a user. The XR headset may be a head-mounted XR device. It may be a device that can be worn by a user by wrapping around their head, or some portion of their head, and in some instances, it may encompass the head and the eyes of the user.” ¶ [0068]: “In some embodiments, one or more parts of, or the entirety of system 200, may be configured as a system implementing various features, processes, functionalities and components of FIGS. 1, and 4-30. Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed.” NOTE: Since the XR device is a headset and each user only has one head, each XR headset is unique to the user wearing the headset. In other words, each Head-Mounted Display (HMD) is associated with a unique user, e.g., the user wearing the HMD.);
utilizing the call center server (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)”; ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”), which is in communication with the one or more VR servers (e.g., as shown in FIG. 23, “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)” is in communication with “Social World Server”), to communicate with the plurality of virtual user apparatus (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)” ) and/or the one or more user operating devices (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD” ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”) in order to permit each of the plurality of virtual user apparatus and/or one or more user operating devices to communicate with each other in one or more of the multiple metaverses (e.g., as shown at least in FIG. 8: “Sports Bar Pool Table” 820 and/or “VR/Holographic Meeting” 830 different users are able to communicate with each other in each multiverse. ¶ [0048]: “the user may have two, three, or several extended reality applications running simultaneously. These applications may relate to gaming; video conferencing; group watching of media assets; being virtually present at a game, in a virtual meeting, waiting in a virtual line for something like movies, plays, or sports event tickets; or any application that has a virtual, augmented, or metaverse application. The above-mentioned events, games, conferences, etc., are herein broadly referred to as virtual or metaverse applications.” See ¶¶ [0109]-[0123]. ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820. What is relevant may depend on the type of app being used. For example, what is considered relevant in one app may not be considered relevant in another app, i.e., it may be app-dependent. For example, in a small VR/Holographic Meeting with a small number of people, such as three colleagues, someone making eye contact may be considered relevant enough to respond. However, in a crowded bar setting with many people, someone making eye contact may not be considered as relevant as the scenario with the small, intimate meeting.” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.” ¶ [0115]: “While John is away from the meeting and present in another app, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may notify John if his name is called, or a subject of interest such as “patents” is uttered. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also respond with pre-programmed behaviors or AI- or ML-based responses as discussed in connection with FIG. 6. Further, a transcription of everything that is said related to patents or patent strategy may be presented to John in real time in the event and response summary. John may also set preferences for the summary such that the summary is shorter or more concise.” ¶ [0117]: “While John meditates in another app, in one embodiment, John may get a notification that his friend, who has finished a round of pool, is addressing him, asking whether he would like to play. This notification may be sent from the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 since John is concurrently running the Sports Bar Pool Table app 820 on his XR device.” ¶ [0118]: “When John reviews the notification of his friend asking John if he would like to play, John may have several choices. In some embodiments, John may provide a response. In other embodiments, John may have prepared a response to such a question knowing that his turn on the pool table would be forthcoming, or John may decide to jump back into the app and play his turn. John may also do nothing, and the AI may take over and respond automatically.” ¶ [0119]: “In one embodiment, John may have prerecorded the response: “Give me a few minutes to check,” and control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may provide that response to the friend/other pool player.” ¶ [0121]: “When John switches to the work meeting, he notices Patrick is presenting on “FY 2022 Real Estate Acquisitions.” All the while John was away, an AI agent was already mimicking human head and hand movements in the meeting via John's avatar such that no one in the meeting noticed that John was away, when in reality John was actively present in the Nature Relaxation World XR app 810 or the pool table app.” ¶ [0122]: “When John returns to the app and takes active control of his avatar, nobody notices. Assured that he is not missing anything of relevance, he switches to the VR pool social world and plays a few rounds of pool. He talks to his friend for a while, and then gets a notification that Maggie, his supervisor, is addressing the meeting room. He tells his friend that he may join back in a while, and switches back to the VR meeting.” ¶ [0123]: “Every time John leaves an app, John's avatar is automatically controlled. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may provide automated responses using any of the methods described in the description related to FIG. 6. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also provide notifications to John if anything of significance requires his attention. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also provide a summary of events in the app to keep John updated. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also stop rendering the app and initiate back-end simulation processing. Once John is back in the app, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may delete the back-end processing, or only keep last few minutes of the processing, to clear the buffer and make space for future simulation storage. In this manner, John remains multi-located and multi-present in multiple applications, or social worlds, in the metaverse.”);
permitting each of the plurality of virtual user apparatuses and/or the one or more user operating devices to select a unique avatar from an avatar library in communication with the one or more VR servers (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,” ¶ [0103]: “The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”), and
the one or more VR servers placing the unique avatar in one or more of the multiple metaverses to represent the unique user (Abstract: “The methods concurrently run multiple XR apps on the user's XR device and use an avatar to represent the user's presence in each app.” ¶ [0048]: “the user may have two, three, or several extended reality applications running simultaneously. These applications may relate to gaming; video conferencing; group watching of media assets; being virtually present at a game, in a virtual meeting, waiting in a virtual line for something like movies, plays, or sports event tickets; or any application that has a virtual, augmented, or metaverse application. The above-mentioned events, games, conferences, etc., are herein broadly referred to as virtual or metaverse applications.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.” ¶ [0067]: “FIGS. 2 and 3 also describe example devices, systems, servers, and related hardware that may be used to implement processes, functions, and functionalities described at least in relation to FIGS. 1, 4-30. Further, FIGS. 2 and 3 may also be used for a variety of purposes, such as: determining a user's active presence in an app, the user's gaze, generating and managing avatars in multiple apps that are concurrently running, rendering the app and its contents if the user is actively present in the app, processing simulations of the app when the app is not rendered on a device or when the user is not actively present in the app,” ¶ [0103]: “The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”); and
the user selecting via the virtual user apparatus unique to the user, which of the multiple metaverses in which to participate (e.g., FIG. 27: “Multiplex to social world 1” and/or “Multiplex to social world 2”) (¶ [0044]: “In instances where a user decides to switch from one application to another, which could be as a follow-up to a notification or just because the user desires to experience another application, the user may select an option provided in the notification to jump into a particular app. In some embodiments, the user may store preprogramed motions, sequences of motions, or gestures such that they can be used as an indication to the system for switching from one app to another app. When the system detects a motion or movement that matches a preprogrammed motion, the system associates that motion with one of the several apps that are currently running and performs the switch.” ¶ [0045]: “In some embodiments, when the user switches from a first application in which the user is currently present to another application, e.g., the second application, rendering of the first application is stopped and back-end simulation processing is initiated. The back-end simulation processing allows the system to keep track of all activities and the current state of the first application, which may be used at a later time to re render the first application when the user decides to switch back to it. Running back-end simulation and not performing rendering of the first application while the user is not actively present also allows the system to save resources, such as CPU and GPU resources, that may be used for rendering.” NOTE: In other words, via a selected option and/or an indication by the user inside a first concurrently running XR app (i.e., with each concurrently running XR app corresponding to a virtual apparatus running that app), the user is able select from within the first XR app (i.e., via the corresponding virtual apparatus) a second XR app in which to participate.).
Whereas LAL is not entirely explicit as to, ANDERSON teaches:
when selecting which of the one or more of the multiple metaverses in which to participate (¶ [0026]: “The viewer 104 may toggle the visibility of the PIP screen, or control the PIP screen position, size, translucency, or content. More than one PIP screen may be presented in the AR/VR environment.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214).” ¶ [0058]: “to determine the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the PIP coordinator engine 306 is to receive an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view, and swap the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view. The user input may be a gesture, spoken command, hardware user interface element (e.g., a button on the housing of the HMD 300), or the like.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0069]: “determining the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD comprises receiving an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view and swapping the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view.”), as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “PIP screen 504 of alternative content.” and ¶ [0050]: “FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.”) from a second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) (¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214). Depending on the circumstances, the user may be able to interact with the swapped content. For instance, if the PIP screen displays an optional game to the user, the user may swap the content from the PIP screen to the main viewing area and play the optional game.” ¶ [0035]: “In yet another instance, the teammate's experience may be used as a shared experience, where both the user and the teammate are able to interact with the same virtual environment. In this case, after swapping the PIP content with the main area content, the user may interact with the environment along with the teammate.”), the second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space (FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504” See FIGS. 5A-C. ¶ [0050] FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment,”), wherein the user can simultaneously access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses (As shown in FIG. 5C, the user can access the content of the PIP screen 504 of FIG. 5B and monitor the AR content 502 of FIG. 5B in the PIP window 504 in FIG. 5C. ¶ [0070]: “At 606, an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD are displayed simultaneously.” ¶ [0072]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”) (¶ [0050]: “FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment, according to an embodiment. FIG. 5A illustrates an AR environment 500. The AR environment 500 is an outdoor real-world space with AR content 502. FIG. 5B illustrates the VR environment 500 with a PIP screen 504 of alternative content. The alternative content may be a game that a friend is playing, a preview of a VR game, or other content. The content of the PIP screen 504 may be selected based on the user's context. FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.” ¶ [0051]: “Thus, returning to FIG. 3, the HMD 300 may be implemented as system for presenting mixed reality presentations. Mixed reality presentations include any combination of AR with AR or VR, or VR with AR or VR, displayed at the same time to the user. The mix reality presentations may be displayed in a split-screen, main screen and PIP screen, or the like. Each screen includes its own content of AR or VR, which differs from the AR or VR being presented in the other screen(s).” ¶ [0059]: “to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD, the graphics driver is to display the PIP view as a floating window in the main view. The floating window may appear opaque or translucent. The translucency may be controlled by a user preference setting.” ¶ [0060]: “The HMD 300 also includes a graphics driver 308 to simultaneously display an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300. Alternate reality content refers to either virtual reality content or augmented reality content. The main view is also referred to as the main screen, main viewing area, or primary viewing area. The main view is where the operative alternate reality content is displayed to the user. The PIP view is typically a smaller area that is overlaid or incorporated into the main view of the HMD 300. The PIP view may be resizable, repositionable, or otherwise configurable. Multiple PIP views may exist in some embodiments.” ¶ [0061]: “The main view content may be AR or VR content, and the PIP view content may be AR or VR content.” ¶ [0062]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0065]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0075]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile VR system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LAL and ANDERSON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the multitasking VR system taught by LAL so as to incorporate the functionality of selecting between multiple metaverses and, as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses from a second of the multiple metaverses, the second of the multiple metaverses is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space so that the user can simultaneously access the first of the multiple metaverses and monitor the miniaturized second of the multiple metaverses, as clearly taught by ANDERSON.
Regarding claim 9 (depends on claim 8), LAL discloses:
wherein there is one VR server and the one VR server creates the multiple metaverses (e.g., as shown in FIG. 23, there is one “Social World Server” providing multiple metaverses, i.e., “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”).
Regarding claim 10 (depends on claim 8), LAL discloses:
wherein at least one metaverse is work-related and at least one metaverse is friend-related (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8, VR/Holographic Meeting 830 is a work-related metaverse and Nature Relaxation World 810 and/or Sports Bar Pool Table 820 are friend-related metaverses. ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112] In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.” ¶ [0117]: “While John meditates in another app, in one embodiment, John may get a notification that his friend, who has finished a round of pool, is addressing him, asking whether he would like to play. This notification may be sent from the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 since John is concurrently running the Sports Bar Pool Table app 820 on his XR device.”).
Regarding claim 11 (depends on claim 8), LAL discloses:
multiple VR servers (Although FIG. 23 shows only one “Social World Server” providing multiple metaverses, i.e., “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”, as per paragraphs [0068] and [0069], the Social World Server may include or be incorporated in more than one server. ¶ [0068]: “Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed. For example, server 202 may include, or may be incorporated in, more than one server.”), wherein each of the multiple VR servers is configured to create one or more of the multiple metaverses (As seen in FIG. 23, multiple metaverses are created, e.g., “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”).
Regarding claim 14 (depends on claim 8), LAL discloses:
wherein the VR server is configured such that the unique avatar appears simultaneously in at least some of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.”) and is configured to simultaneously engage in communications in each of the at least some multiple metaverses (¶ [0057]: “With respect to apps in which the user is not actively present and the avatars may be automatically operated, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may perform functions such as sending notifications; sending summaries; sending state packets to the system, server, and/or user; or providing in-app responses as needed by using any one or a combination of artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning (ML), prerecorded user responses, or responses remotely provided by the user.” NOTE: Thus, if the user’s avatar is queried simultaneously in any or all of Apps 1, 3 and 4, different automated responses corresponding to each query will simultaneously be generated in the respective Apps ).
Regarding claim 15, LAL discloses a computer system (e.g., FIG. 2 and FIG. 23) configured to create multiple metaverses in which users can conduct interactions (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)” ¶ [0181]: “the computer system for multi-location is capable of concurrently running multiple 3D social world or multi-player game client simulations. The control circuitry in the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations. These simulations may be based on information about the user's state. The control circuitry may inform the server of any changes based on this state information of the user. These may include changes in user voice, HMD position and orientation trajectories, controller position and orientation trajectories, and actuations in a scene.” ¶ [0002]: “Activities in the virtual world where a user or a group of users can interact with each other, play games, conduct meetings and attend events” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.”), the computer system comprising:
one or more VR servers (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World Server”; ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”) configured to create the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)”);
a call center server (e.g., FIG. 23: “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)”; ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”) in communication with the one or more VR servers (e.g., as shown in FIG. 23, “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)” is in communication with “Social World Server”) and configured to communicate with a plurality of user devices (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD”; e.g., FIG. 2: “Electronic Device” 218; ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”) (e.g., as shown at least in FIG. 8: “Sports Bar Pool Table” 820 and/or “VR/Holographic Meeting” 830 different users are able to communicate with each other in each multiverse. ¶ [0048]: “the user may have two, three, or several extended reality applications running simultaneously. These applications may relate to gaming; video conferencing; group watching of media assets; being virtually present at a game, in a virtual meeting, waiting in a virtual line for something like movies, plays, or sports event tickets; or any application that has a virtual, augmented, or metaverse application. The above-mentioned events, games, conferences, etc., are herein broadly referred to as virtual or metaverse applications.” See ¶¶ [0109]-[0123]. ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820. What is relevant may depend on the type of app being used. For example, what is considered relevant in one app may not be considered relevant in another app, i.e., it may be app-dependent. For example, in a small VR/Holographic Meeting with a small number of people, such as three colleagues, someone making eye contact may be considered relevant enough to respond. However, in a crowded bar setting with many people, someone making eye contact may not be considered as relevant as the scenario with the small, intimate meeting.” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.” ¶ [0115]: “While John is away from the meeting and present in another app, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may notify John if his name is called, or a subject of interest such as “patents” is uttered. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also respond with pre-programmed behaviors or AI- or ML-based responses as discussed in connection with FIG. 6. Further, a transcription of everything that is said related to patents or patent strategy may be presented to John in real time in the event and response summary. John may also set preferences for the summary such that the summary is shorter or more concise.” ¶ [0117]: “While John meditates in another app, in one embodiment, John may get a notification that his friend, who has finished a round of pool, is addressing him, asking whether he would like to play. This notification may be sent from the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 since John is concurrently running the Sports Bar Pool Table app 820 on his XR device.” ¶ [0118]: “When John reviews the notification of his friend asking John if he would like to play, John may have several choices. In some embodiments, John may provide a response. In other embodiments, John may have prepared a response to such a question knowing that his turn on the pool table would be forthcoming, or John may decide to jump back into the app and play his turn. John may also do nothing, and the AI may take over and respond automatically.” ¶ [0119]: “In one embodiment, John may have prerecorded the response: “Give me a few minutes to check,” and control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may provide that response to the friend/other pool player.” ¶ [0121]: “When John switches to the work meeting, he notices Patrick is presenting on “FY 2022 Real Estate Acquisitions.” All the while John was away, an AI agent was already mimicking human head and hand movements in the meeting via John's avatar such that no one in the meeting noticed that John was away, when in reality John was actively present in the Nature Relaxation World XR app 810 or the pool table app.” ¶ [0122]: “When John returns to the app and takes active control of his avatar, nobody notices. Assured that he is not missing anything of relevance, he switches to the VR pool social world and plays a few rounds of pool. He talks to his friend for a while, and then gets a notification that Maggie, his supervisor, is addressing the meeting room. He tells his friend that he may join back in a while, and switches back to the VR meeting.” ¶ [0123]: “Every time John leaves an app, John's avatar is automatically controlled. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may provide automated responses using any of the methods described in the description related to FIG. 6. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also provide notifications to John if anything of significance requires his attention. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also provide a summary of events in the app to keep John updated. The control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may also stop rendering the app and initiate back-end simulation processing. Once John is back in the app, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 may delete the back-end processing, or only keep last few minutes of the processing, to clear the buffer and make space for future simulation storage. In this manner, John remains multi-located and multi-present in multiple applications, or social worlds, in the metaverse.”);
an avatar library in communication with the one or more VR servers (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,”), wherein via the plurality of user devices (e.g., FIG. 23: “Display System, Ex., HMD”; e.g., FIG. 2: “Electronic Device” 218; ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”), users can select a unique avatar and place it via the one or more VR servers or call center server into at least one of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0072]: “Each storage 224, 238 may be used to store various types of content, metadata, and or other types of data (e.g., they can be used to store avatars,” ¶ [0103]: “The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.” ¶ [0068]: “system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.”);
a user operating device (e.g., FIG. 2: “Electronic Device” 218; FIG. 23: “HMD”; ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”) in communication with the one or more VR servers and/or the call center server (e.g., as can be seen in FIG. 23: HMD communicates directly with the “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)” and with the “Social World Server” through the “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)”. Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 2, “Electronic Device” 218 is in communication with “Server” 202.); and
a virtual user apparatus (e.g., ¶ [0075]: “a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202).” FIG. 23: any one of “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and/or “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)” ¶ [0181]: “the XR compute-and-render system may, for each app that is concurrently running, perform simulations.”) generated by one or more of the user operating device, the one or more VR servers, and/or the call center server (e.g., As shown in FIG. 23: “Social World 1 (E.g., VRChat Sky Camp)”, Social World 2 (Ex., RecRoom)”, “Social World 3 (E.g., VRChat School Gym)”, “Social World 4 (E.g., Liv)” and “Multiplayer Game 1 (E.g., PokerStars VR)” generated in the “Computer System (Multiple Concurrent 3D Social World Simulator)” and/or “Social World Server”. ¶ [0006]: “Although running multiple apps that are not related to virtual reality in a device are known, running multiple apps in the metaverse that require the user's active presence and participation is not, leaving the user the only currently available choice of being actively present in one metaverse-related application at a time. As such, the users can be in one space at a given time—a space is a “virtual location” in one app. To move from one space to another, the user may quit their existing app, go to the home screen and then launch another app to enter a different social world. When users exit a first social world or app to go to a second social world or app, they are no longer present in the first social world or app.” NOTE: Since normally only one VR app can run at a time on a user device, each instance of a Social World and/or Multiplayer Game running concurrently is a virtual user apparatus. ¶ [0180]: “In some embodiments, the system for concurrently managing active and non-active presence in multiple XR applications, which may be referred to as an XR compute-and-render system, includes an XR head-mounted display (HMD) (and controllers with the HMD) and optionally, a computer system, such as a GPU-equipped computer or a GPU-equipped cloud server. The exemplary architecture for the XR compute-and-render system, as depicted in FIG. 23, includes a pre-programmed behavior manager, an AI response generator, and a render and display multiplexer.”) (¶ [0001]: “managing avatar presence in multiple applications running simultaneously and in parallel in the metaverse.” ¶ [0040]: “allowing the user to concurrently run multiple apps in the virtual or metaverse space while allowing the user to simultaneously be present in each concurrently running app via an avatar.” ¶ [0040]: “automatically managing avatar presence in the multiple applications running simultaneously such that auto responses may be provided by the avatars in the apps where the user is not actively present in order to simulate the user's presence.” ¶ [0056]: “At block 104, in addition to rendering the active app and running back-end processing of the simulation of the apps in which the user is not actively present, the control circuitry 220 and/or 228 generates an avatar in the apps in which the user is not actively present. The avatar represents the user, and it is automatically operated to give the impression to other users of the app that the user is actively present in the app, even though, in reality, the user is actively present in another app. For example, as depicted in blocks 102 and 104, the app in which the user is actively present is App 2, and apps in which the user is not actively present are Apps 1, 3, and 4. In this embodiment, the control circuitry generates an avatar of the user in Apps 1, 3, and 4 such that other users in those apps cannot distinguish between the avatar being automatically operated or operated by the user who may be actively present and manually operating the avatar.” ¶ [0075]: “In another example of a client/server-based application, control circuitry 228 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server (e.g., server 202). For example, the remote server may store the instructions for the application in a storage device. The remote server may process the stored instructions using circuitry (e.g., control circuitry 228) and/or generate displays. Computing device 218 may receive the displays generated by the remote server and may display the content of the displays locally via display 234. This way, the processing of the instructions is performed remotely (e.g., by server 202) while the resulting displays, such as the display windows described elsewhere herein, are provided locally on computing device 218. Computing device 218 may receive inputs from the user via input circuitry 216 and transmit those inputs to the remote server for processing and generating the corresponding displays.” ¶ [0109]: “FIG. 8 is an example of types of XR applications running concurrently in an XR device, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. In some embodiments, a user may have several XR apps running at the same time. As depicted in this embodiment, a user may have the following three XR apps running on their XR device: a) a VR/Holographic Meeting 830, b) a Nature Relaxation World 810 for relaxing and meditating and c) a Sports Bar Pool Table 820.”),
wherein the virtual user apparatus is configured to permit the user to select one or more of the multiple metaverses in which to participate (e.g., FIG. 27: “Multiplex to social world 1” and/or “Multiplex to social world 2”) (¶ [0044]: “In instances where a user decides to switch from one application to another, which could be as a follow-up to a notification or just because the user desires to experience another application, the user may select an option provided in the notification to jump into a particular app. In some embodiments, the user may store preprogramed motions, sequences of motions, or gestures such that they can be used as an indication to the system for switching from one app to another app. When the system detects a motion or movement that matches a preprogrammed motion, the system associates that motion with one of the several apps that are currently running and performs the switch.” ¶ [0045]: “In some embodiments, when the user switches from a first application in which the user is currently present to another application, e.g., the second application, rendering of the first application is stopped and back-end simulation processing is initiated. The back-end simulation processing allows the system to keep track of all activities and the current state of the first application, which may be used at a later time to re render the first application when the user decides to switch back to it. Running back-end simulation and not performing rendering of the first application while the user is not actively present also allows the system to save resources, such as CPU and GPU resources, that may be used for rendering.” NOTE: In other words, via a selected option and/or an indication by the user inside a first concurrently running XR app (i.e., with each concurrently running XR app corresponding to a virtual apparatus running that app), the user is able select from within the first XR app (i.e., via the corresponding virtual apparatus) a second XR app in which to participate.).
Whereas LAL is not entirely explicit as to, ANDERSON teaches:
when selecting the one or more of the multiple metaverses in which to participate (¶ [0002]: “Virtual reality (VR) viewing may be defined as a fully simulated world, within which the viewer may interact.” ¶ [0026]: “In operation, the viewer 104 may interact with a AR/VR environment using the HMD 102.” ¶ [0026]: “The viewer 104 may toggle the visibility of the PIP screen, or control the PIP screen position, size, translucency, or content. More than one PIP screen may be presented in the AR/VR environment.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214). Depending on the circumstances, the user may be able to interact with the swapped content.” ¶ [0058]: “to determine the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the PIP coordinator engine 306 is to receive an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view, and swap the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view. The user input may be a gesture, spoken command, hardware user interface element (e.g., a button on the housing of the HMD 300), or the like.” ¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0069]: “determining the PIP content for display in the PIP view of the HMD comprises receiving an indication of a user input, the user input selecting the PIP view and swapping the PIP content in PIP view with alternate reality content in the main view, placing the PIP content in the main view and the alternate reality content in the PIP view.”),
as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “PIP screen 504 of alternative content.” and ¶ [0050]: “FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.”) from a second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) (¶ [0032]: “the user may “change the channel” of the PIP screen to change to different content.” ¶ [0035]: “If the user selects the PIP screen to replace the main viewing area's content, then the content of the main viewing screen and the PIP screen are swapped (operation 214). Depending on the circumstances, the user may be able to interact with the swapped content. For instance, if the PIP screen displays an optional game to the user, the user may swap the content from the PIP screen to the main viewing area and play the optional game.” ¶ [0035]: “In yet another instance, the teammate's experience may be used as a shared experience, where both the user and the teammate are able to interact with the same virtual environment. In this case, after swapping the PIP content with the main area content, the user may interact with the environment along with the teammate.”),
the second of the multiple metaverses (e.g., FIG. 5B: “AR content 502” and FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504”) is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space (FIG. 5C: “PIP screen 504” See FIGS. 5A-C. ¶ [0050] FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment,”) (As shown in FIG. 5C, the user can access the content of the PIP screen 504 of FIG. 5B and monitor the AR content 502 of FIG. 5B in the PIP window 504 in FIG. 5C. ¶ [0070]: “At 606, an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD are displayed simultaneously.” ¶ [0072]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”) (¶ [0050]: “FIGS. 5A-C are schematic diagrams illustrating a transition from one VR environment to another VR environment, according to an embodiment. FIG. 5A illustrates an AR environment 500. The AR environment 500 is an outdoor real-world space with AR content 502. FIG. 5B illustrates the VR environment 500 with a PIP screen 504 of alternative content. The alternative content may be a game that a friend is playing, a preview of a VR game, or other content. The content of the PIP screen 504 may be selected based on the user's context. FIG. 5C illustrates the VR environment 500 with the content from the PIP screen 504 swapped with the main viewing area content.” ¶ [0051]: “Thus, returning to FIG. 3, the HMD 300 may be implemented as system for presenting mixed reality presentations. Mixed reality presentations include any combination of AR with AR or VR, or VR with AR or VR, displayed at the same time to the user. The mix reality presentations may be displayed in a split-screen, main screen and PIP screen, or the like. Each screen includes its own content of AR or VR, which differs from the AR or VR being presented in the other screen(s).” ¶ [0059]: “to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD, the graphics driver is to display the PIP view as a floating window in the main view. The floating window may appear opaque or translucent. The translucency may be controlled by a user preference setting.” ¶ [0060]: “The HMD 300 also includes a graphics driver 308 to simultaneously display an alternate reality content in a main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300. Alternate reality content refers to either virtual reality content or augmented reality content. The main view is also referred to as the main screen, main viewing area, or primary viewing area. The main view is where the operative alternate reality content is displayed to the user. The PIP view is typically a smaller area that is overlaid or incorporated into the main view of the HMD 300. The PIP view may be resizable, repositionable, or otherwise configurable. Multiple PIP views may exist in some embodiments.” ¶ [0061]: “The main view content may be AR or VR content, and the PIP view content may be AR or VR content.” ¶ [0062]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0065]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and to display the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD 300 and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD 300, the graphics driver 308 is to display second virtual reality content in the PIP view.” ¶ [0075]: “the alternate reality content comprises virtual reality content, and displaying the alternate reality content in the main view of the HMD and the PIP content in the PIP view of the HMD comprises displaying second virtual reality content in the PIP view.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile VR system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LAL and ANDERSON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the multitasking VR system taught by LAL so as to incorporate the functionality of selecting between multiple metaverses and, as the user enters a first of the multiple metaverses from a second of the multiple metaverses, the second of the multiple metaverses is miniaturized into a prior miniaturized metaverse space, as clearly taught by ANDERSON.
Regarding claim 16 (depends on claim 15), LAL discloses:
wherein the call center server and/or the one or more VR servers is configured to permit (a) a plurality of the user operating devices and/or a plurality of the virtual user apparatuses to simultaneously participate in one of the multiple metaverses (¶ [0002]: “Activities in the virtual world where a user or a group of users can interact with each other, play games, conduct meetings and attend events” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.”), and/or (b) the plurality of user devices and/or the plurality of the virtual user apparatuses to simultaneously participate in a plurality of the multiple metaverses ( ) ( ) (¶ [0002]: “Activities in the virtual world where a user or a group of users can interact with each other, play games, conduct meetings and attend events” ¶ [0111]: “An example of a process to be present in multiple concurrently running XR apps via an avatar when the user may be actually present in one app will further be explained using the scenarios presented in blocks 810-830. In one embodiment, a user (John Doe), is concurrently in a VR/holographic meeting, a social world where he may relax and meditate in a nature setting while interacting with like-minded strangers, and a sports bar with friends where he occasionally steps in to take a turn at a pool table. These may be the three XR apps concurrently running on John's XR device.” ¶ [0112]: “In one embodiment, John is present in the work meeting via his avatar. He finishes his turn to present on “FY 2022 Patent Strategy” and takes questions from his colleagues. Mary, another user in the same XR app, is next, and while Mary is presenting, John has no interest in being present during her presentation on “FY 2022 Purchase Order Summary.” To recharge, John switches XR apps and goes from being present in the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830 to the Nature Relaxation World XR App 810 without exiting the VR/Holographic Meeting XR App 830.” ¶ [0068]: “Although FIG. 2 shows a certain number of components, in various examples, system 200 may include fewer than the illustrated number of components and/or multiples of one or more of the illustrated number of components.” ¶ [0069]: “System 200 is shown to include a computing device 218, a server 202 and a communication network 214. It is understood that while a single instance of a component may be shown and described relative to FIG. 2, additional instances of the component may be employed.” NOTE: As per paragraphs [0068] and [0069], although the functionality of only one XR device is described for a single user, clearly the system may include additional XR devices for each additional user. Thus, each XR device would be able to simultaneously run multiple XR Apps while simultaneously maintaining a presence in each running XR App.).
Regarding claim 17 (depends on claim 15), LAL discloses:
wherein each user communicates via the unique avatar for the user (¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”).
Regarding claim 19 (depends on claim 15), LAL discloses:
wherein the VR server or call enter server is configured so the user can replace one metaverse with another by voice command, facial movement, hand movement, body movement, or with the selection device (¶ [0168]: “FIG. 20 is block diagram of types of switch detection factors for switching from one XR app to another XR app running concurrently in the extended reality space, such as the metaverse, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure.” ¶ [0169]: “In some embodiments, the user may store a particular pose, an orientation, a sequence of motions, gestures, or a combination of keywords or phrases and any of the above to trigger switching active presence from one XR app to another XR app. In other words, physical actions and gestures made by the user may be used as a human remote (similar to a remote control but instead using human gestures and movements) to switch active presence to a particular app from a plurality of apps that are concurrently running on the user's XR device.”).
Regarding claim 20 (depends on claim 15), LAL discloses:
wherein the user experiences a transition effect from the second of the multiple metaverses to the first of the multiple metaverses, and the transition effect is one or more of a color change (¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”), a background change, an avatar change (¶ [0103]: “The response may be provided via an avatar, such as an avatar depicted in FIG. 7. The user may select different types of avatars in different XR applications that are currently running on the user's XR device. The avatars may be user-selected or may be system-defined by each application. The avatars may also be customized such as having different colors or different features such that the user can easily distinguish each XR app based on the avatar in the XR app that represents the user.”), a bot change, another visual change, a sound change, and a change to the appearance or function of the virtual user apparatus.
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAL et al. (US 2024/0144587) in view of Matsuda (US 6,820,112).
Regarding claim 12 (depends on claim 8), LAL does not teach: wherein the one or more VR servers further generate bots in one or more of the multiple metaverses, wherein at least one of the bots is controlled by at least one of the one or more VR servers and is configured to communicate with the unique avatar.
However, whereas LAL is not explicit as to, Matsuda teaches: wherein the one or more VR servers further generate bots in one or more of the multiple metaverses (object management node 102 incorporates a speech function, thinking function, remembering function and a learning function for the virtual living object 101, column 7, lines 10-15. Note: the object is not considered generated until all the functions incorporated by the server is completed), wherein at least one of the bots is controlled by at least one of the one or more VR servers (management node, column 3, lines 15-20) and is configured to communicate with the unique avatar (column 7, lines 20-30, a conversation or the like is possible between the avatar and bot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified LAL to include: wherein the one or more VR servers further generate bots in one or more of the multiple metaverses, wherein at least one of the bots is controlled by at least one of the one or more VR servers and is configured to communicate with the unique avatar.
The reason of doing so would have improved the virtual world of LAL by providing more well known function into the system of LAL to benefit users.
Regarding claim 13 (depends on claim 8), LAL does not teach: wherein the one or more VR servers further generate bots in a plurality of the multiple metaverses, wherein each bot has a different appearance and/or function, and each is configured to communicate with the unique avatar.
However, whereas LAL is not explicit as to, Matsuda teaches: wherein the one or more VR servers (OA server 100, fig. 1) further generate bots (object management node 102 incorporates a speech function, thinking function, remembering function and a learning function for the virtual living object 101, column 7, lines 10-15. Note: the object is not considered generated until all the functions incorporated by the server is completed) in a plurality of the multiple metaverses (plurality of virtual community spaces, column 7, lines 25-30), wherein each bot has a different appearance and/or function (function, column 7, lines 10-15), and each is configured to communicate with the unique avatar (column 7, lines 20-30, a conversation or the like is possible between the avatar and bot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified LAL to include: wherein the one or more VR servers further generate bots in a plurality of the multiple metaverses, wherein each bot has a different appearance and/or function, and each is configured to communicate with the unique avatar.
The reason of doing so would have improved the virtual world of LAL by providing more well known function into the system of LAL to benefit users.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAL et al. (US 2024/0144587) in view of TOKUTAKE (EP 4 425 438 A1).
Regarding claim 18 (depends on claim 15), whereas LAL may not be explicit as to, TOKUTAKE teaches:
the computer system is further configured to (a) reduce the size of an avatar, (b) reduce the size of one of the multiple metaverses (e.g., as shown in at least FIG. 19, the active metaverse (i.e., metaverse # 3 for user C) is enlarged, and inactive metaverses #1, #2 and #4 are reduced, i.e., minimized, on the display), (c) change the appearance of an avatar, or (d) eliminate the appearance of the avatar (exit/logout of metaverse ), when (i) the user is active in another communication state (¶ [0195]: “In a case where it is determined in step S213 that the metaverse that receives the interaction is another metaverse, the processing proceeds to step S214, and the synchronization service application 130 determines whether or not to move to the metaverse that receives the interaction. The determination as to whether or not to move to the metaverse that receives the interaction is performed on the basis of the operation of the user according to the movement confirmation described with reference to Fig. 19.” ¶ [0196]: “In a case where it is determined in step S214 that the user moves to the metaverse that receives the interaction, in step S215, the synchronization service application 130 moves to the metaverse that receives the interaction under the control of the space management unit 510 of the synchronization service provision device 300.” As can be seen in FIG. 19, only the active metaverse is displayed in the foreground. Thus, when the user moves from active metaverse #3 to metaverse #4, active metaverse #3 is set to the background and minimized on the display.), or (ii) when the user sends an appropriate command via the user selection device (exit/logout command ).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile and/or user friendly system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LAL and TOKUTAKE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system taught by LAL so as to incorporate reducing the size of one of the multiple metaverses when the user is active in another communication state, as taught by TOKUTAKE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 9, 2026 with respect to a 102 rejection of amended claims as being anticipated by LAL have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, i.e., the herein-above 103 rejection as being unpatentable over LAL in view ANDERSON.
Conclusion
At present, it is not apparent to the examiner which part of the application could serve as a basis for new and allowable claims. However, should the applicant nevertheless regard some particular matter as patentable, the examiner encourages applicant to appropriately amend the claims to include such matter and to indicate in the REMARKS the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention as well as the significance thereof.
Furthermore, should applicant decide to amend the claims, examiner respectfully requests that the applicant please indicate in the REMARKS from which page(s), line(s) or claim(s) of the originally filed application that any amendments are derived. See MPEP § 2163(II)(A) (There is a strong presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262, 191 USPQ at 96; however, with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims.).
Contact Information
/VINCENT PEREN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617