DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 08/11/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
To date, no information disclosure statement has been made of record byApplicant. Applicant is invited to submit any and all known pertinent prior art, ifany is known to Applicant, in accordance with 37 CFR §1.56, 1.97, 1.98, etc.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “ face of the cell” should be clearly identified and tabs must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In addition, it is not clear the difference between structural elements such as “face of the cell” No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 05/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of Claims 14-20 (Species II) does not include any additional concepts or features, nor does it suggest a different direction for search. This is not found persuasive because a search for a cylindrical battery is drastically different from a search a battery module for, since Species I contents a structurally and patentable different element such as thickness of the first insulating seal and the thickness of the second insulating seal, plurality of a first and second nanopores. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record and requires search within different classes like H01M10/123 for Species I and H01 M50/20 for Species II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the Remarks/amendment filed on 05/29/2026. Claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 1-20 are now pending. Claims 14-20 have been withdrawn from examination as being drawn to non-elected Species Claims 1-13 are presented for examination. Applicants’ arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1 it is unclear what kind of structure claimed by the term on “a same face of the cell” (see instant Fig. 3 below).
It is also unclear what insulative connection means? For examination purposes it is interpreted as claimed elements electrically insulated from each other.
Claims 2-13 depend from claim 1 directly or indirectly and fall therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2002/0142195 to Ehara.
Regarding claim 1, Ehara discloses a cylindrical battery (the secondary battery may be a cylindrical battery para 60), comprising: a housing (battery case, Abstract), provided with an opening (Fig. 3) a cell (4), arranged in the housing, the cell is provided with a first tab and a second tab with the polarity opposite to that of the first tab, and the first tab and the second tab are both located on a same end face of the cell ( leads 3 and 5 interpreted as a part of tab and located on the same face of the cell, See marked Fig.3 below) and a top cover assembly, sealing the opening and comprising a cover (41, Fig. 3), a first conductive portion and a second conductive portion, wherein the cover, the first conductive portion (45) and the second conductive portion (47, terminals are necessarily conductive) are in insulating connection (electrically insulated from each other but part of cover assembly 41), the first conductive portion is connected with the first tab, and the second conductive portion is connected with the second tab. As such instant claim 1 is anticipated by Ehara.
Fig. 3 of Ehara
Regarding claim 11, Ehara discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. In addition, Ehara teaches that terminals 45 and 47 are made from cold-plated nickel connected with nickel lead (para 37). As such, the first conductive portion comprises the same material as a first tab and the second conductive portion comprises the same material as the second conductive tab (nickel) Therefore claimed limitation considered met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application is currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 2, 12 and 13 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2002/0142195 to Ehara.
Regarding claim 2, Ehara discloses wherein a first through hole and a second through hole are formed in the cover in the thickness direction thereof in a penetrating manner, the first conductive portion is arranged in the first through hole and the second conductive portion is arranged in the second through hole (45 and 47, Fig. 3 above). Ehara does not expressly disclose an insulation sealing connection of the first and second conductive portion from a cover. However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seal the first and second conductive portion from the cover in order to avoid a short circuit if cover made from conductive material.
Regarding claim 12, Ehara discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Ehara does not expressly disclose wherein one of the first conductive portions and the second conductive portion is made of aluminum while the other one of the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion is made of copper or nickel-plated copper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make one of the first conductive portions and the second conductive portion from aluminum while the other one of the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion from of copper or nickel-plated copper, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Ehara discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. In addition, Ehara discloses that case 7 made from aluminum (para 37). Ehara does not expressly disclose the cover made from the same material. However, It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make combine the cover and the case made from the same material to avoid formation of electrochemical pair at the site of connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record- US 20120164495, US 2002/0142195, US 6132900 fail to teach or suggest each and every limitation of claim 3. Claims 4-10 depend from claim 3 directly or indirectly and fall therewith.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751