DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 11 and 16-17 are amended, Claims 3 and 18 are canceled, Claims 21-22 are newly added and Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-22 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings filed 05/11/2026 are accepted.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the drawings filed 05/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of Claims 5-9 and 11 are withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 05/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert". Kiskiras and Hubert et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered insulation.
In regard to Claims 1, Kiskiras et al. discloses a thermal insulator comprising a first heat resistant outer layer (panel 4), including a first impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a first heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a second heat resistant outer layer (panel 24) including a second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a second heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer sandwiched between the first outer layer and the second outer layer (panel 8) (Kiskiras, [0014], Figure 5).
Kiskiras et al. also discloses first and second spacers sandwiched between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, Figure 5 (12)), the first and second spacers having a circumferentially continuous wall with an outer spacer periphery and an inner spacer periphery, the inner spacer periphery bounding a space forming a first and second air pocket between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, [0019], Figures 2A/2B (13)). The spacers of Kiskiras can also be provided with different patterns and geometries which may reasonably include annular which is a readily know variation to the skilled artisan (Kiskiras, [0022-0023]).
The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide a material for the outer layers, coating film and intermediate layer (panels) and are aware of many thermally insulating materials available. Kiskiras further discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses a beneficial flexible thermal insulator for an electric vehicle battery pack comprising a first and second laminated outer layer including a first and second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating (mica coating) bonded to a first and second heat-resistant fabric (fiber mat) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer of fabric sandwiched between the first laminated outer layer and the second laminated outer layer (Hubert, [15, 34]), where air pockets are provided between layers (Hubert, [34]). Hubert et al. also discloses a specific example comprising the combination of a mica based coating on fiberglass (Hubert, Example 1), which as an insulating layer has beneficial properties such as thermal insulation, electrical insulation, ability to survive higher temperature and flexibility to survive bulging without tearing (Hubert, [75-76]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a mica laminated fiberglass mat layer as taught in Hubert as the first and second heat resistant outer layers of Kiskiras as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Hubert and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to Claims 4 and 10, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 3. The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide an outer heat resistant material (panel) with a predetermined thickness and Kiskiras discloses the thickness dimensions of the panels and spacers can be set to any suitable dimensions to facilitate adequate thermal insulation while a lightweight thermal barrier system is the preferred outcome (Kiskiras, [0018-0019]). Kiskiras further discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses an outer heat resistant layer comprising mica laminated on fiberglass with a thickness in a range of 0.05 to 0.15 mm and an intermediate layer has a thickness between 2-5mm (Hubert, [23, 35]), which overlaps the claimed ranges and would be an obvious choice to try for the skilled artisan of Kiskiras. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claims 5-6, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 4. Kiskiras et al. also discloses the fabric layer of the intermediate layer is not particularly limited and discloses an example embodiment wherein the fabric layer of the intermediate layer is an impervious silicon sheet material (Kiskiras, [15]).
In regard to Claims 7-9, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 5. With respect to the limitations of claims 7-9, it is noted that the limitations are directed to non-selected options of parent claim 5. For example, claim 5 explicitly recites that the fabric layer of the intermediate layer is one of an impervious sheet material, a woven fabric, or a nonwoven fabric, i.e. dependent on or more materials selected from the group consisting of…” (emphasis added). Accordingly, the limitations of claims 7-9 are reasonably considered to be optional limitations which depend upon the selection of a woven fabric, or a nonwoven fabric recited in claim 5, and which, in this case have not been selected because Kiskiras et al. discloses the use of an impervious sheet material, as noted above.
In regard to Claims 11-14, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 1. The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide a material for the spacers and are aware of many thermally insulating materials available. Kiskiras further discloses the spacers can be formed from the same insulation material as the panels and that the panels may include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0004, 0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses a preferred material comprising a nonwoven silica based layer (Hubert, [41]) as well as a list of alternatives such as calcium silicates, calcium magnesium silicates which are an alkaline earth silicate composition (Hubert, [7]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a nonwoven layer comprising silica as taught in Hubert as the spacer material as disclosed in Kiskiras et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of success and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert" as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Huang et al. (WO 2021022130 A1 – US 20220262539 A1 referenced for citation), hereinafter “Huang”
In regard to Claim 2, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 1. While Kiskiras discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art and Hubert discloses that the first and second heat-resistant fabrics may be woven fiberglass (Hubert, Example 1) it is silent as to the fabrics comprising tightly woven fiberglass fabrics.
Huang et al. discloses a layered thermal insulation with silica coated heat resistant outer layers sandwiching an intermediate layer wherein the outer coated layers comprise a tightly woven fiberglass (Examples 14-16) wherein this beneficial material selection results in preventing or delaying thermal propagation within a rechargeable electrical energy storage system as well as heat transfer to parts around or outside of a rechargeable electrical energy storage system (Huang, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a silica coated tightly woven fiberglass outer heat resistant layer as taught in Huang as the coated outer heat resistant fabric layers of Kiskiras as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Huang and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known material to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert" as applied to claim 1 and 10 above and further in view of Yoshii et al. (US 20210115622 A1), hereinafter "Yoshii". Kiskiras, Hubert and Yoshii et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered insulation.
In regard to Claim 15, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 11. The skilled artisans of Kiskiras must provide the spacers in a predetermined thickness and Kiskiras et al. also discloses the spacers are suitably dimensioned so as to define a gap or space in the form of an air gap between the panels and that the thickness dimensions of the panels and spacers can be set to any suitable dimensions to facilitate adequate thermal insulation (Kiskiras, [0018]). While an embodiment of Kiskiras provides spacers that are 2.54mm thick, this is not particularly limited and as disclosed in Kiskiras, the thickness of the spacer may be the same thickness as the outer layers or intermediate layers. Hubert et al. discloses an intermediate layer that can range in thickness from 2-5mm and a mica laminated fiber layer that can range in thickness from 0.05 to 0.2 mm but is silent as to a layer that is 1.4-1.6 mm thick.
Yoshii et al. discloses a beneficial multilayer insulation material comprising a fiber material which is 1.5mm thick (Yoshii, [0030]), and which may reasonably be selected as the spacer material in Kiskiras, thus anticipating the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a beneficial insulating fiber that is 1.5mm thick as taught in Yoshii et al. as the spacer material provided by the skilled artisans of Kiskiras as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisans of Kiskiras and as doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert". Kiskiras and Hubert et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered insulation.
In regard to Claims 16, Kiskiras et al. discloses a thermal insulator which may be used in a vehicle comprising a first heat resistant outer layer (panel 4), including a first impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a first heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a second heat resistant outer layer (panel 24) including a second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a second heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer sandwiched between the first outer layer and the second outer layer (panel 8) (Kiskiras, [0014], Figure 5).
Kiskiras et al. also discloses first and second spacers sandwiched between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, Figure 5 (12)), the first and second spacers having a circumferentially continuous wall with an outer spacer periphery and an inner spacer periphery, the inner spacer periphery bounding a space forming a first and second air pocket between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, [0019], Figures 2A/2B (13)). The spacers of Kiskiras can also be provided with different patterns and geometries which may reasonably include annular which is a readily know variation to the skilled artisan (Kiskiras, [0022-0023]).
The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide a material for the outer layers, coating film and intermediate layer (panels) and are aware of many thermally insulating materials available. Kiskiras further discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses a beneficial flexible thermal insulator for an electric vehicle battery pack comprising a first and second laminated outer layer including a first and second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating (mica coating) bonded to a first and second heat-resistant fabric (fiber mat) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer of fabric sandwiched between the first laminated outer layer and the second laminated outer layer (Hubert, [15, 34]), where air pockets are provided between layers (Hubert, [34]). Hubert et al. also discloses a specific example comprising the combination of a mica based coating on woven fiberglass (Hubert, Example 1), which as an insulating layer has beneficial properties such as thermal insulation, electrical insulation, ability to survive higher temperature and flexibility to survive bulging without tearing (Hubert, [75-76]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a mica laminated woven fiberglass mat layer as taught in Hubert as the first and second heat resistant outer layers of Kiskiras as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Hubert and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to Claim 19, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the electric vehicle battery pack of claim 16. Kiskiras et al. also discloses the fabric layer of the intermediate layer is not particularly limited and discloses an example embodiment wherein the fabric layer of the intermediate layer is an impervious silicon sheet material (Kiskiras, [15]).
In regard to Claim 20, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the electric vehicle battery pack of claim 16. The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide a material for the spacers and are aware of many thermally insulating materials available. Kiskiras further discloses the spacers can be formed from the same insulation material as the panels and that the panels may include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0004, 0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses a preferred material comprising a nonwoven silica based layer (Hubert, [41]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a nonwoven layer comprising silica as taught in Hubert as the spacer material as disclosed in Kiskiras et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of success and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert" as applied to claim 1 and 10 above and further in view of Yoshii et al. (US 20210115622 A1), hereinafter "Yoshii". Kiskiras, Hubert and Yoshii et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered insulation.
In regard to Claim 17, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the electric vehicle battery pack of claim 16. The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide an outer heat resistant material (panel), an intermediate layer, and spacers with predetermined thicknesses and Kiskiras discloses the thickness dimensions of the panels and spacers can be set to any suitable dimensions to facilitate adequate thermal insulation while a lightweight thermal barrier system is the preferred outcome (Kiskiras, [0018-0019]). Kiskiras further discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses an outer heat resistant layer comprising mica laminated on woven fiberglass with a thickness in a range of 0.05 to 0.15 mm and an intermediate layer has a thickness between 2-5mm (Hubert, [23, 35]), which overlaps the claimed ranges and would be an obvious choice to try for the skilled artisan of Kiskiras.
Yoshii et al. discloses a beneficial multilayer insulation material comprising a fiber material which is 1.5mm thick (Yoshii, [0030]), and which may reasonably be selected as the spacer material in Kiskiras, thus anticipating the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert". Kiskiras and Hubert et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely multilayered insulation.
In regard to Claims 21, Kiskiras et al. discloses a flexible thermal insulator for an electric vehicle battery pack comprising a first heat resistant outer layer (panel 4), including a first impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a first heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a second heat resistant outer layer (panel 24) including a second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating bonded to a second heat-resistant fabric (Kiskiras, [0026]) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer sandwiched between the first outer layer and the second outer layer (panel 8) (Kiskiras, [0014], Figure 5).
Kiskiras et al. also discloses first and second spacers sandwiched between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, Figure 5 (12)), the first and second spacers having a circumferentially continuous wall with an outer spacer periphery and an inner spacer periphery, the inner spacer periphery bounding a space forming a first and second air pocket between the first and second outer layers and the heat-resistant intermediate layer (Kiskiras, [0019], Figures 2A/2B (13)). The spacers of Kiskiras can also be provided with different patterns and geometries which may reasonably include annular which is a readily know variation to the skilled artisan (Kiskiras, [0022-0023]).
The skilled artisan of Kiskiras must provide a material for the outer layers, coating film and intermediate layer (panels) and are aware of many thermally insulating materials available. Kiskiras further discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hubert et al. discloses a beneficial flexible thermal insulator for an electric vehicle battery pack comprising a first and second laminated outer layer including a first and second impervious, heat-resistant outer coating (mica coating) bonded to a first and second heat-resistant fabric (fiber mat) and a heat-resistant intermediate layer of fabric sandwiched between the first laminated outer layer and the second laminated outer layer (Hubert, [15, 34]), where air pockets are provided between layers (Hubert, [34]). Hubert et al. also discloses a specific example comprising the combination of a mica based coating on woven fiberglass (Hubert, Example 1), which as an insulating layer has beneficial properties such as thermal insulation, electrical insulation, ability to survive higher temperature and flexibility to survive bulging without tearing (Hubert, [75-76]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a mica laminated woven fiberglass mat layer as taught in Hubert as the first and second heat resistant outer layers of Kiskiras as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Hubert and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiskiras et al. (US 20090308022 A1), hereinafter "Kiskiras" in view of Hubert et al. (WO 2018011384 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Hubert" as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Huang et al. (WO 2021022130 A1 – US 20220262539 A1 referenced for citation), hereinafter “Huang”
In regard to Claim 22, Kiskiras et al. in view of Hubert et al. discloses the flexible thermal insulator of claim 1. While Kiskiras discloses the thermal barrier system can include one or more combinations of different types of insulator materials having different thermal conductivities (Kiskiras, [0016]), which can be selected by the skilled artisan based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variation in materials is predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art and Hubert discloses that the first and second heat-resistant fabrics may be woven fiberglass (Hubert, Example 1), it is silent as to the fabrics comprising tightly woven fiberglass fabrics.
Huang et al. discloses a layered thermal insulation with silica coated heat resistant outer layers sandwiching an intermediate layer wherein the outer coated layers comprise a tightly woven fiberglass (Examples 14-16) wherein this beneficial material selection results in preventing or delaying thermal propagation within a rechargeable electrical energy storage system as well as heat transfer to parts around or outside of a rechargeable electrical energy storage system (Huang, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a silica coated tightly woven fiberglass outer heat resistant layer as taught in Huang as the coated outer heat resistant fabric layers of Kiskiras as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Huang and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known material to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments regarding claim 1 and impermissible hindsight, amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Kiskiras discloses the structure of claim 1 comprising coated outer layers spaced apart from a heat resistant intermediate layer wherein the layers are formed from similarly thermally insulative materials and is used for the same function, namely a thermal insulator for an electric vehicle battery pack and Hubert et al. discloses a similar configuration with a beneficial material selection for the layers and thus this combination would be readily apparent for the skilled artisan to try with the reasonable expectation of success without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stude et al. (US 20210074960 A1), discloses a multi-layer heat insulation element for thermal insulation of a battery is proposed, with a first cover layer, with a second cover layer and with a compressible and/or pliable intermediate ply arranged between the cover layers, which has at least one heat-resistant fiber layer, wherein the fiber layer is formed from a needled nonwoven and/or wherein the cover layers are flexurally weak and the heat insulation element as a whole is compressible and flexibly pliable..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725