DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 2nd 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Applicants have amended Claims 1, 3 and 8. Applicants’ amendments to claims 3 and 8 have overcome grammatical corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
. Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US6972396) in view of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and in further view of Kitamura(US20200237391).
As to Claim 1, Miyazaki discloses a tweezer device comprising a first housing and a second housing. See Fig 1a, Fig 1b, Fig 2a and Fig 2b, col 4 line 45-48 “the upper side sleeve (6a) is movable relative to the housing(2) while the lower side sleeve(6b) is fixed on the housing(2).
Miyazaki discloses a first socket(5), Exhibit A, see Fig 2a and Fig 2b arranged in said first housing into which a proximal end of a first tip can be inserted; col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)"
Exhibit A
Miyazaki discloses a second socket(5), Exhibit B, see Fig 2a and Fig 2b, arranged in said second housing(6b) into which a proximal end of a second tip can be inserted; col 5 line 63 "a socket(5), col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)".
Exhibit B
Miyazaki discloses a support member(32) associated with the first tip(4a), see Fig 3a and Fig 3b, col 6 line 51 "The plug(32) is formed with a flat plane(35) at its rear end to determine the rotational position of the movable leg(3a) relative to the movable sleeve at the portion of the plug(32)", where the plug(32) including a flat portion(35), enables the rotational position of movable leg 3a relative to movable sleeve(6a). The plug(32) rotationally locates and supports the proximal portion of the leg and tip relative to the socket and sleeve configuration.
Exhibit C
Miyazaki discloses and said first housing(2) having an internal space accommodating the leg and socket arrangement, see Fig 1a, 2a and 2b, Cols lines 64-65, where the socket(5) and leg(3) are positioned within the interior of the sleeve(6a).
Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose a tweezer device comprising; a first housing and a second housing wherein said first housing and said second housing rotate about a rotation shaft so that a distance between a distal end of the said first housing and a distal end of the said second housing can be changed.
Exhibit D
Nemoto. discloses A tweezer device comprising; a first housing(12a) and a second housing(12b), wherein said first housing and said second housing rotate about a rotation shaft (19) so that a distance between a distal end of the said first housing and a distal end of the said second housing can be changed; Thus the first housing(12a) and second housing (12b) rotably connected about the a rotational shaft(19) in a way that the rotation of the first and second housings about the shaft(19) changes the distance between the distal end. Nemoto further discloses that the first housing(12a) and second housing(12b) pivot about the shaft(19) and their angular and distal end separation changes as their relative position in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft remains unchanged, see Fig 1, paragraph 43 line 1-3 "The tweezers device (10) includes a housing (12), having a first housing (12a) on the side where the first tip (4a) is held, a second housing (12b) on the side where the second tip 2 is held", Abstract "and a rotating shaft to rotably connect the first leg and second leg" Claim 14, paragraph 8 line 5 "a rotating shaft to rotably connect said first leg and said second leg" paragraph 8 line 9 "first distal end of said first leg and said second distal end of said second leg".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a rotating shaft(19) of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) as modification to Miyazaki (US6972396) to allow positional adjustment along the rotation shaft, hence enhancing alignment of the distal ends. See Fig 2, paragraph 44 line 6-7 “and rotating shaft(19) to rotatably connect the first leg(16) and the second leg(18)”.
Miyazaki and Nemoto does not explicitly disclose A tweezer device, wherein a relative positional relationship between the first housing and the second housing in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft is unchanged.
Kitamura discloses a tweezer device comprising of a rotary to linear displacement mechanism with configuration to enable displacement in the longitudinal direction of a rotation shaft. The rotary body(31) includes first(36A) and second(36B) screw portions, engaging first(38A) and second(38B) screw nuts, paragraph 46, explains that the nuts(38A 38B) are movable in relation to the support member(28) in the direction along the rotation axis R, shown as the longitudinal axis C as it is being resisted from rotating relative to the support member(28).
Kitamura further discloses that the rotation of rotary body(31) about rotation axis R causes the first(38A) and second(38B) nuts to move in the opposite direction along the longitudinal axis C/rotational axis R due to the reason that the first(36A) and second(36B) screw portions are reversely threaded, see paragraph 46-47. Therefore, the rotation about the rotation axis is converted to a translational displacement along the longitudinal direction.Kitamura further discloses providing the longitudinal adjustment by the displacement of an internal member relative to the housing, instead of the longitudinal displacement of the housing, see paragraph 24 explains that the movable member(14) moves along longitudinal axis C with respect to the housing(3) such that a relative positional relationship between the first housing and the second housing in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft is unchanged.
. Thus, this show a longitudinal displacement of an internal member while preserving the position of the surrounding housing.
A person of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the first socket is longitudinally displaced relative to the first housing along the direction of the rotation shaft as this is a known mechanical arrangement in which such rotation of a rotary member about an axis is converted by first(36A) and second(36B) screw portions engaging first(38A) and second(38B) screw nuts to the displacement of a connected member along the same axis. Thus, applying this well-known mechanism to the movable socket configuration of Miyazaki would provide longitudinal orientation of the socket and preserving the pivotal housing arrangement taught by Nemoto, see MPEP 2413 with predictable result of converting rotational motion into longitudinal displacement of the socket along the direction of the rotation shaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a rotating shaft(19) of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) as modification to Miyazaki (US6972396) and further modified by Kitamura(US20200237391) rotary to linear displacement mechanism to provide first and second housings rotatable about a rotation shaft to vary the distal end separation and maintain the relative orientation along the longitudinal direction of the shaft and also to provide displacement of the first socket along the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft, such that a relative positional relationship between the first housing and the second housing in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft is unchanged, hence allowing independent adjustment of the first socket without introducing axial displacement between the housings thereby preserving their longitudinal alignment and preventing changes in the housing during socket adjustment.
As to Claim 2, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Miyazaki further teaches, wherein said support member(32) is configured to hold said first tip(4a) having said proximal end inserted into said first socket(5) and a point of said first tip held by said support member(32), see (Exhibit C) serves as a rotating center of the first tip, see Fig 1a, Fig 1b,Fig 4a and Fig 4b, col 6 line 51 "The plug(32) is formed with a flat plane(35) at its rear end to determine the rotational position of the movable leg(3a) relative to the movable sleeve at the portion of the plug(32)".
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 3, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Miyazaki further discloses said displacement mechanism(6a), see Fig 1a(open position of leg and socket) and Fig 1b(closed position of leg and socket), col 6 line 45 'When the movable leg(3a) is inserted into the movable sleeve(6a)”, See Fig 2a and Fig 2b, col 5 line 63 "a socket(5), col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)".
Miyazaki further discloses a rotable operating member(10), see Fig 1a and 1b, col 5 line 13 “by holding the knob(10). The switching lever knob(10) may be labelled with marks “N” and “R” to indicate a set biasing condition”.
Miyazaki further discloses a shaft that rotates(9)when said operating member(10) rotates, see Fig 1a and 1b, col 5 line 5-6 “The switching lever(8) is fixed on a supporting shaft(9), col 5 line 6-7 “a supporting shaft(9) to turn therewith around the axis of the supporting shaft.
Miyazaki further discloses a socket receiving member(22) into which said first socket(5) is inserted, see Fig 1a, Fig 1b, Fig 2a and Fig2b.
Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose a tweezer, comprising of socket-receiving member(22) is displaced in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft by orbital rotation of the shaft.
Nemoto further discloses and which is displaced in said longitudinal direction of said rotation shaft(19) by orbital rotation of said shaft(19), paragraph 8 line 5 "a rotating shaft to rotable connect said first leg and said second leg" paragraph 8 line 9 "first distal end of said first leg and said second distal end of said second leg".
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 4, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3.
Miyazaki further discloses a socket receiving member(22) to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip(4a) into said first socket(5), said socket receiving member(22) receives said first socket(5) such that said first socket(5) is displaceable relative to said socket receiving member(22) in the said insertion direction of said first tip(4a), see Fig 1a, 1b, Fig 2a and 2b, col 5 line 5-6 “The switching lever(8) is fixed on a supporting shaft(9)”, col 5 line 6-7 “a supporting shaft(9) to turn therewith around the axis of the supporting shaft”, col 5 line 64 “and a leg fixing chuck(22)” , see Fig 2a and Fig 2b, show arranged in said first housing into which a proximal end of a first tip can be inserted; col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)".
Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose a stopper member for restricting displacement of said socket receiving member to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip into said first socket.
Nemoto further discloses a stopper member(33c), col 16 line 1-12 "In the above tweezers device, the width adjusting wheel may be in contact with a surface of the first leg opposite to the second leg. In this case, the open width adjusting means may include a stopper" col 54 line 1-2 "A protrusion 17c is provided on the top portion 17b, and the protrusion 17c can engage with the convex stopper 18e".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a stopper mechanism(33c) of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) as modification to Miyazaki (US6972396) and further modification of Kitamura(US20200237391) for restricting displacement (see Exhibit D), of socket receiving member to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip into said first socket hence enhancing independent movement of the first socket inside the first housing directly solving the problem of grip feel, paragraph 62 line 6 “together with the width adjusting wheel 33(b), and a displacement means (33d) to change the position of the width adjusting wheel (33b) against the shaft (33a). Paragraph 23 lines 1-4 “include a position adjusting wheel. In this case, upon rotation of the position adjusting wheel, it may adjust the position between the first distal end and the second distal end in the direction orthogonal to the virtual plane formed by the movement trace of the first leg and the second leg, paragraph 88 line 4 “The acceptable opening width of the first leg or the first bias portion and second leg or the second bias portion is adjusted by the width adjusting wheel and the stopper(33e).
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 5, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396) Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Nemoto further discloses adjusting member(33b) held by said first housing for displacing said first socket in an insertion direction of the first tip; see Exhibit (D), paragraph 61 line 2-3 "The acceptable opening width between (16d) and (18d) may be regulated by the width adjusting wheel (33b)”, paragraph 62 line 4 "a width adjusting wheel (33b) for performing the adjustment of allowable width", paragraph 67 lines 1-3 "The width adjusting wheel (33b) is provided in the wheel holding portion (first wheel holding portion) (16f) formed on the first leg (16), and is rotatably held in position by the first wheel holding portion and the first housing (12a)", paragraph 70 line 1-3 "The tweezers device (10) further includes an adjusting member (36) which adjust the relative position between the first distal end (16d) of the first leg (16) and the second distal end (18d) of the second leg (18) in the extending direction of the rotating shaft (19)".
Nemoto further discloses said housing has a restricting member(33d) that restricts displacement of said adjusting member, see Exhibit D, paragraph 62 line 10 “and a displacement means(33d) to change the position of the width adjusting wheel(33b) against the shaft (33a)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine an adjustment member and restricting member that restricts displacement of said adjustment member of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) as modification to Miyazaki (US6972396) and further modification of Kitamura(US20200237391) to enable the easy operation of the tweezer device, paragraph 15 line 11 “That is, it is easy to operate the width adjustment wheel with the hand holding tweezer”.
As to Claim 6, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2.
Miyazaki further discloses said support member(32) member comprising an O-ring made of a heat-resistant material and arranged to hold first tip. See Fig 2a, col 5 line 64-68 "O-ring(21) and a leg fixing chuck(22) are assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the leg are flexibly held by the sleeves respectively with portions of the legs fitted in the sockets(5). An LED(20) is provided on the rear downward position of the housing(2) to indicate whether the heaters built in the legs have been calibrated with respect to their heat or temperature”.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 7, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3.
Miyazaki further discloses support member(32) provided on first housing, said first socket(5) or said socket receiving member(22). See Fig 2a and Fig 2b, col 5 line 63 "a socket(5), col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)", see Fig 2a-b and Fig 3a-b, shows, a first housing, a first socket arranged in said first housing into which the approximal end of the first tip can be inserted. See Fig 3a and Fig 3b, col 6 line 51 "The plug(32) is formed with a flat plane(35) at its rear end to determine the rotational position of the movable leg(3a) relative to the movable sleeve at the portion of the plug(32)", col 5 line 64 “and a leg fixing chuck(22) , see Fig 2a and Fig 2b, shows, said first housing into which a proximal end of a first tip can be inserted; col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)".
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 8, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2.
Miyazaki further discloses said displace mechanism(6a) includes a rotatable operating member(10), a shaft that rotates(9) when said operating member rotates(10), and a socket receiving member(22) into which said first socket(5) is inserted. See Fig 2a-b and Fig 3a-b, shows, a first socket arranged in said first housing into which the approximal end of the first tip can be rotably inserted.
Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose tweezer, comprising of a rotatable operating member, a shaft that rotates when said operating member rotates and a socket-receiving member(22) into which said first socket is inserted and which is displaced in said longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft by orbital rotation of the said shaft.Nemoto further discloses and which is displaced in said longitudinal direction of said rotation shaft(19) by orbital rotation of said shaft(19), paragraph 8 line 5 "a rotating shaft to rotably connect said first leg and said second leg" paragraph 8 line 9 "first distal end of said first leg and said second distal end of said second leg".
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 9, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396), Nemoto (US2022/0226968) and Kitamura(US20200237391) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8.
Miyazaki further discloses a socket receiving member(22) to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip(4a) into said first socket(5), said socket receiving member(22) receives said first socket(5) such that said first socket(5) is displaceable relative to said socket receiving member(22) in the said insertion direction of said first tip(4a), see Fig 1a, 1b, Fig 2a and 2b, col 5 line 5-6 “The switching lever(8) is fixed on a supporting shaft(9)”, col 5 line 6-7 “a supporting shaft(9) to turn therewith around the axis of the supporting shaft”, col 5 line 64 “and a leg fixing chuck(22)” , see Fig 2a and Fig 2b show arranged in said first housing into which a proximal end of a first tip can be inserted; col 5 line 64 "assembled in the interior of each sleeve and the legs(3)".Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose a stopper member for restricting displacement of said socket receiving member to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip into said first socket.
Miyazaki does not explicitly disclose, wherein said first housing has a stopper member for restricting displacement of said socket receiving member to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip into said first socket, said socket receiving member receives said first socket such that said first socket is displaceable relative to said socket receiving member in said insertion direction of said first tip.
Nemoto further discloses a stopper member for restricting displacement(33c), paragraph 16 line 1-4 "In the above tweezers device, the width adjusting wheel(33b) may be in contact with a surface of the first leg opposite to the second leg. In this case, the open width adjusting means may include a stopper" paragraph 54 line 1-2 "A protrusion 17c is provided on the top portion 17b, and the protrusion 17c can engage with the convex stopper 18e".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a stopper mechanism(33c) of Nemoto (US2022/0226968) as modification to Miyazaki (US6972396) and further modified by Kitamura(US20200237391) for restricting displacement (see Exhibit D), of socket receiving member to prevent displacement in a direction of insertion of said first tip into said first socket hence enhancing independent movement of the first socket inside the first housing directly solving the problem of grip feel, paragraph 62 line 6 “together with the width adjusting wheel 33(b), and a displacement means (33d) to change the position of the width adjusting wheel (33b) against the shaft (33a)”, paragraph 23 lines 1-4 “include a position adjusting wheel. In this case, upon rotation of the position adjusting wheel, it may adjust the position between the first distal end and the second distal end in the direction orthogonal to the virtual plane formed by the movement trace of the first leg and the second leg”, paragraph 88 line 4 “The acceptable opening width of the first leg or the first bias portion and second leg or the second bias portion is adjusted by the width adjusting wheel and the stopper(33e)”.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
As to Claim 10, the combination of Miyazaki (US 6972396) and Nemoto (US2022/0226968) discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9.
Miyazaki further discloses said support member(32), see (Exhibit C) serves as a rotating center of the first tip., see Fig 1a, Fig 1b,Fig 4a and Fig 4b, col 6 line 51 "The plug(32) is formed with a flat plane(35) at its rear end to determine the rotational position of the movable leg(3a) relative to the movable sleeve at the portion of the plug(32)", see Fig 1a, 1b, 2a and 2b, col 4 line 45-48 “the upper side sleeve (6a) is movable relative to the housing(2) while the lower side sleeve(6b) is fixed on the housing(2). The support member(32) is located relative to the movable sleeve which is the upper sleeve(6a) with the movable leg(3a) in the first housing and first socket.
Miyazaki further discloses said first housing (12), first socket(5), or said socket receiving member(22), see Fig 1a, 1b, 2a and 2b.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-10, filed July 2nd 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto and further view of Kitamura(US20200237391) with explanation below.[AltContent: rect]
. See applicants’ response in page 5 “According to one aspect of the invention of claim 1, the tweezer device includes a displace mechanism for displacing a first socket in a longitudinal direction - that is, along the length - of a rotation shaft. The first socket is displaced longitudinally within a first housing, which has an internal space that allows that displacement, as claim 1 recites. The effect of this displacement within the first housing is that the relative positional relationship between the first and second housing is unchanged. As will be seen in the following, neither Miyazaki, nor Nemoto, nor any reasonable combination thereof discloses, describes, or reasonably suggests such structure”. Applicant further argues that Miyazaki’s socket and sleeve would move together, and Nemoto’s housings move with their respective legs.
Miyazaki(US6972396) is relied on for the tweezer socket, tip and housing configuration. Nemoto(US20220226968) is relied on for the first housing and second housing rotably connected about the rotation shaft. Applicant amended claim 1 to require that a relative positional relationship between the first housing and the second housing in the longitudinal direction of the rotation shaft is unchanged. The previous references of Miyazaki and Nemoto do not adequately establish this new limitation. Kitamura discloses a rotary to linear displacement mechanism whereby rotation of the rotary body produces longitudinal displacement and maintains the unchanged relative longitudinal positional relationship between the first and second housing Kitamura(US20200237391) is relied upon for the longitudinal displacement mechanism that produces longitudinal displacement and maintains the unchanged relative longitudinal positional relationship between the first and second housing. Kitamura teaches that the rotation of rotary body(31) about rotation axis R causes the first(38A) and second(38B) nuts to move in the opposite direction along the longitudinal axis C/rotational axis R due to the reason that the first(36A) and second(36B) screw portions are reversely threaded, see paragraph 44-47. Therefore, the rotation about the rotation axis is converted to a translational displacement along the longitudinal direction. Kitamura thus teaches longitudinal displacement of an internal structure without requiring longitudinal displacement of the housing, see MPEP 2111, 2112 2114, and 2115, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Applicant argues on pages 5-6 citing paragraph 49-99 that the configuration allows the first socket to move independently of the first housing such that the housing is not affected and the users grip feeling remains unchanged. The amended limitation regarding the unchanged positional relationship of housing is addressed by the combination of the prior art. Applicant relies on the additional benefit of preserving the user’s feeling of use and felling of gripping features, these are not recited as a limitation in claim 1 and limitations taking from the specification cannot be imported into the claim, see MPEP 2145. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 8-9 that Miyazaki’s plug(32) does not constitute a rotating center of the first tip. Miyazaki is relied on for the socket/tip configuration and Kitamura gives the rotary to linear displacement mechanism. Kitamura shows that the rotation of the rotary body(31), through first(36B) and second(36B) screw portions develops longitudinal displacement along rotation axis, see paragraph 44-47. As this displacement mechanism is implemented to Miyazaki socket/tip configuration, longitudinal displacement occurs to the proximal/socket portion of the tip, hence providing rotational displacement of the tip about the rotational axis and displacement of its distal end. The rejection does not need bodily integration of the precise structure of one reference into another, the point is what does the combined teachings would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2145(III). These combinations and modifications constitute a known mechanical arrangement giving predictable results, see MPEP 2143. Thus, the applicant’s argument directed at Miyazaki’s plug(32) alone doesn’t overcome the rejection of claim 2.
Applicant further argues on pages 8-9 that Miyazaki’s operating member changes the bias condition but does not enable longitudinal displacement along the rotation shaft. The rejection does not depend alone upon Miyazaki’s operational member, Kitamura teaches that the rotation of the rotary body(31), through first(36B) and second(36B) screw portions develops longitudinal displacement along rotation axis, thus rotational motion is converted to longitudinal displacement along the rotational axis. Accordingly, the structures or features the applicant identifies as not enabled in Miyazaki are given by Kitamura. Implementing the known rotary to linear mechanism to Miyazaki and Nemoto’s Tweezers is a known technique that obtains predictable result of longitudinal motion along the rotation shaft. Thus, the rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 9-10 that the previous office action inconsistently identified different structures of Miyazaki as the displacement mechanism, and those structures and limitations do not give longitudinal displacement by rotation. The rejection as currently shown clarifies the mapping in claims 3 and 8. Miyazaki gives the underlying socket structure and Kitamura gives the rotary to linear displacement system which include screw first(36A) and second(36) portion, rotary body(31) and moving members(38A 38B). Therefore, the applicant’s argument regarding the previous structures of Miyazaki is moot. Thus, the rejection of claim 3 and 8 under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained.
. Applicant argues on page 10 that Nemoto’s convex stopper(18e) merely limits the rotational range of the second tip and thus does not identify as the claimed stopper member. Applicants’ argument does not address the stopper structure relied on in the rejection by the examiner. The examiner relied on Nemoto’s stopper(33c) rather than the convex stopper(18e). Nemoto’s width adjusting configuration and stopper(33c) restricts and regulate motion, see paragraph 16 “In the above tweezers device, the width adjusting wheel may be in contact with a surface of the first leg opposite to the second leg. In this case, the open width adjusting means may include a stopper which is positioned on the second leg on the side opposite to the first leg, which the distance between the width adjusting wheel and the stopper changes by the rotation of the width adjusting wheel. The acceptable opening width is regulated by the stopper and the width adjusting wheel”. Accordingly, applicant’s argument regarding the convex stopper(18e) does not rebut the stopper member(33c) the Examiner relied on. Thus, the rejection of claim 4 under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 10 with remarks that “With respect to claim 6, which recites that the claimed support member comprises an O- ring, Applicant notes that the Examiner has read the claimed support member on Miyazaki's plug 32 in claim 1 but has read the support member on completely different structure (O-ring 21 and leg fixing chuck 22). Consequently, Applicant submits that the Examiner's reading of claim 6 on the Miyazaki/Nemoto combination fails”. Miyazaki discloses plug(32), leg fixing chuck(22), O-ring(21) as cooperating structures of the tip supporting configuration. The rejection does not require leg fixing chuck(22), O-ring(21) to form a wholly separate support configuration. Moreover claim 6 recites “comprises” which does not remove additional cooperating structures. Thus, the applicant’s argument doesn’t overcome the rejection of claim 6.
Applicant further argued that claims 2-10 are patentable based on their dependency from claim 1. As discussed earlier, amended claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained, see MPEP706.07(a). The additional limitations and structures of the dependent claims remain addressed by the combined prior art disclosures as set forth above in the rejections. Thus, the rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 USC 103 over Miyazaki in view of Nemoto in further view of Kitamura is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MTK./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654