DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 10, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2.5-6. 8-9, 11, 13-18 and 20 are amended, claims 3-4, 7, 10, 12 and 19 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13-18 and 20 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to provide proper antecedent basis. Specifically, the claims recite “based on the adjustment data volume” without antecedent for “the adjustment data volume”. Therefore, the scopes of claims 1 and 20 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323) and Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek).
For claim 1, Hong teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications ([Para. 0377] and [FIG. 18], UE), the UE comprising: a transceiver ([Para. 0378] and [FIG. 18], a transmitter 1820 and receiver 1830), and a first processor ([Para. 0378] and [FIG. 18], a controller 1810 configured to configure a plurality of RLC entities … associated with one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity based on the high layer signaling), wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to: wherein the first data volume is determined such that any of a PDCP Service Data Unit (SDU) not constructed with a corresponding a PDCP data Protocol Data Unit (PDU) ([Para. 0275], Data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity included in the buffer status report may be included in the buffer size. [Examiner’s Note: The first data volume comprises data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity]. [Para. 0314] a UE is required to consider PDCP control PDUs and the following as data available for transmission in the PDCP layer. [Para. 0316], the SDU itself, if the SDU has not yet been processed by PDCP. [Para. 0317], the PDU if the SDU has been processed by PDCP), a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer ([Para. 0315], For SDUs for which no PDU has been submitted to lower layers), a PDCP control PDU ([Para. 0318], a PDCP control PDU), generate, based at least on the first data volume, a buffer status report ([Para. 0111], the UE may transmit, to the base station, a buffer status report generated by including PDCP data volume. [Para. 0275], Data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity included in the buffer status report may be included in the buffer size); and transmit a first buffer status report ([Para. 0111], the UE may transmit, to the base station, a buffer status report generated by including PDCP data volume).
Although teaching transmitting buffer status report by a UE that includes SDU PDU before submitted to RLC and control PDU for data volume, Hong does not teach a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted, and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB is included in only a former of the first data volume and an adjustment volume.
TS38.323 teaches a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted ([Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], For the purpose of MAC buffer status reporting, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider the following as PDCP data volume: for AM DRBs, the PDCP SDUs to be retransmitted according to clause 5.1.2), and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB is included in only a former of the first data volume and an adjustment volume ([Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], For the purpose of MAC buffer status reporting, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider the following as PDCP data volume: for AM DRBs, the PDCP Data PDUs to be retransmitted according to clause 5.5 [Examiner’s Note: That the first data volume comprises the PDCP data volume (the data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity in Hong) is indicated in Baek]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, so that the data volume includes a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted, as taught by TS38.323. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (TS38.323 [Scope Page 6]).
Although teaching data volume including SDU and PDU in the buffer, Hong and TS38.323 do not explicitly disclose determine, based on the adjustment data volume, a first data volume in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, and wherein the adjustment data volume comprises higher-laver data not having arrived at PDCP.
Baek is directed to providing method and apparatus for UE information delivery for network energy saving. More specifically, Baek teaches determine, based on the adjustment data volume, a first data volume in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer ([Para. 0078], the UE may trigger the UE network energy saving (NES) Assistance message using a data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0094], a method for triggering a UE NES Assistance message by a UE according to an expected data volume of a MAC device is discussed. In an embodiment, the data volume calculated by the MAC device of the UE may imply a value indicating the quantity of data to be transmitted by the UE to the base station through uplink. The UE may estimate the data volume expected to occur in a predetermined near future, and may use this expected data volume for triggering of the UE NES Assistance message. In another embodiment, the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer rather than the expected data volume of the MAC device [Examiner’s Note: Paragraph 0094 indicates that the data volume calculated in PDCP layer may be used rather than that in MAC layer]. [Para. 0097], the UE NES Assistance message may include information about the expected data volume of the UE. The UE NES Assistance message may be configured in the format of a buffer status report message. However, a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size. The buffer status report message including the expected data volume may be referred to as an expected buffer status report. In this case, satisfying the condition of operation 820 may result in a condition for triggering the expected buffer status report message. The expected data volume included in the UE NES Assistance may correspond to the total amount of valid data that is expected to occur in a predetermined near future and possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, and may be referred to as an expected buffer size [Examiner’s Note: Current buffer is the amount of data possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, corresponding to the data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity in Hong. The expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer includes the data volume expected to occur in the future at the PDCP layer and the current buffer at the PDCP layer. The data volume to occur in the future at the PDCP layer is the adjustment data volume and the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer is the first data volume]), and wherein the adjustment data volume comprises higher-laver data not having arrived at PDCP ([Para. 0078], the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using a data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0094], the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0097], a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size [Examiner’s Note: Data for transmission arrives in higher layer before arriving in PDCP layer. Data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer comprises that at the higher layer having not yet to occur at the PDCP layer. Data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer is the adjustment data volume]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong and TS38.323, so that data volume reported in the buffer status report includes the data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer, as taught by Baek. The modification would have provided improvement of power consumption of a base station (Baek [Para. 0011]).
For claim 2, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the adjustment data volume is unrelated to both a PDCP SDU and a PDCP PDU in buffer (Hong [Para. 0275], Data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity included in the buffer status report may be included in the buffer size. Hong [Para. 0314] a UE is required to consider the following as data available for transmission in the PDCP layer. Hong [Para. 0315], For SDUs for which no PDU has been submitted to lower layers. Hong [Para. 0316], the SDU itself, if the SDU has not yet been processed by PDCP [Examiner’s Note: These two data types are already received in the buffer]. Baek [Para. 0078], the UE may trigger the UE network energy saving (NES) Assistance message using a data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0094], the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0097], the UE NES Assistance message may include information about the expected data volume of the UE. The UE NES Assistance message may be configured in the format of a buffer status report message. However, a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size. The buffer status report message including the expected data volume may be referred to as an expected buffer status report. In this case, satisfying the condition of operation 820 may result in a condition for triggering the expected buffer status report message. The expected data volume included in the UE NES Assistance may correspond to the total amount of valid data that is expected to occur in a predetermined near future and possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, and may be referred to as an expected buffer size [Examiner’s Note: Current buffer is the amount of data possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, corresponding to the data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity in Hong. The data volume expected to occur in the future at the PDCP layer is unrelated to the data volume in the current buffer]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong and TS38.323, so that data volume reported in the buffer status report includes the data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer, as taught by Baek. The modification would have provided improvement of power consumption of a base station (Baek [Para. 0011]).
For claim 20, Hong teaches a method in a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications ([Para. 0011] a method of a user equipment configured for transmitting a buffer status report), the method comprising: wherein the first data volume is determined such that any of a PDCP Service Data Unit (SDU) not constructed with a corresponding a PDCP data Protocol Data Unit (PDU) ([Para. 0275], Data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity included in the buffer status report may be included in the buffer size. [Examiner’s Note: The first data volume comprises data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity]. [Para. 0314] a UE is required to consider PDCP control PDUs and the following as data available for transmission in the PDCP layer. [Para. 0316], the SDU itself, if the SDU has not yet been processed by PDCP. [Para. 0317], the PDU if the SDU has been processed by PDCP), a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer ([Para. 0315], For SDUs for which no PDU has been submitted to lower layers), a PDCP control PDU ([Para. 0318], a PDCP control PDU); and transmitting a first buffer status report ([Para. 0111], the UE may transmit, to the base station, a buffer status report generated by including PDCP data volume).
Although teaching transmitting buffer status report by a UE that includes SDU PDU before submitted to RLC and control PDU for data volume, Hong does not teach a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted, and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB is included in only a former of the first data volume and an adjustment volume.
TS38.323 teaches a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted ([Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], For the purpose of MAC buffer status reporting, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider the following as PDCP data volume: for AM DRBs, the PDCP SDUs to be retransmitted according to clause 5.1.2), and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB is included in only a former of the first data volume and an adjustment volume ([Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], For the purpose of MAC buffer status reporting, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider the following as PDCP data volume: for AM DRBs, the PDCP Data PDUs to be retransmitted according to clause 5.5 [Examiner’s Note: That the first data volume comprises the PDCP data volume (the data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity in Hong) is indicated in Baek]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, so that the data volume includes a PDCP SDU of an Acknowledged Mode Data Radio Bearer (AM DRB) that will be retransmitted and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted, as taught by TS38.323. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (TS38.323 [Scope Page 6]).
Although teaching data volume including SDU and PDU in the buffer, Hong and TS38.323 do not explicitly disclose determine, based on the adjustment data volume, a first data volume in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, and wherein the adjustment data volume comprises higher-laver data not having arrived at PDCP; generating, based on the first data volume and the adjustment data volume, a buffer status report.
Baek is directed to providing method and apparatus for UE information delivery for network energy saving. More specifically, Baek teaches determine, based on the adjustment data volume, a first data volume in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer ([Para. 0078], the UE may trigger the UE network energy saving (NES) Assistance message using a data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0094], a method for triggering a UE NES Assistance message by a UE according to an expected data volume of a MAC device is discussed. In an embodiment, the data volume calculated by the MAC device of the UE may imply a value indicating the quantity of data to be transmitted by the UE to the base station through uplink. The UE may estimate the data volume expected to occur in a predetermined near future, and may use this expected data volume for triggering of the UE NES Assistance message. In another embodiment, the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer rather than the expected data volume of the MAC device [Examiner’s Note: Paragraph 0094 indicates that the data volume calculated in PDCP layer may be used rather than that in MAC layer]. [Para. 0097], the UE NES Assistance message may include information about the expected data volume of the UE. The UE NES Assistance message may be configured in the format of a buffer status report message. However, a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size. The buffer status report message including the expected data volume may be referred to as an expected buffer status report. In this case, satisfying the condition of operation 820 may result in a condition for triggering the expected buffer status report message. The expected data volume included in the UE NES Assistance may correspond to the total amount of valid data that is expected to occur in a predetermined near future and possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, and may be referred to as an expected buffer size [Examiner’s Note: Current buffer is the amount of data possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, corresponding to the data volume available for transmission of a PDCP entity in Hong. The expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer includes the data volume expected to occur in the future at the PDCP layer and the current buffer at the PDCP layer. The data volume to occur in the future at the PDCP layer is the adjustment data volume and the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer is the first data volume]), and wherein the adjustment data volume comprises higher-laver data not having arrived at PDCP ([Para. 0078], the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using a data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0094], the UE may trigger the UE NES Assistance message using the expected data volume value of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer. [Para. 0097], a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size [Examiner’s Note: Data for transmission arrives in higher layer before arriving in PDCP layer. Data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer comprises that at the higher layer having not yet to occur at the PDCP layer. Data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer is the adjustment data volume]); generating, based on the first data volume and the adjustment data volume, a buffer status report ([Para. 0097], The UE NES Assistance message may be configured in the format of a buffer status report message. However, a buffer size field included in this buffer status report message may include the data volume (buffer size) expected to occur in a predetermined near future rather than the current buffer size. The buffer status report message including the expected data volume may be referred to as an expected buffer status report. In this case, satisfying the condition of operation 820 may result in a condition for triggering the expected buffer status report message [Examiner’s Note: Triggering the buffer status report message indicates generating the message]. The expected data volume included in the UE NES Assistance may correspond to the total amount of valid data that is expected to occur in a predetermined near future and possessed by the UE for transmission to the base station, and may be referred to as an expected buffer size).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong and TS38.323, so that data volume reported in the buffer status report includes the data volume expected to occur at the PDCP layer and the buffer status report message is triggered in a condition, as taught by Baek. The modification would have provided improvement of power consumption of a base station (Baek [Para. 0011]).
Claims 5, 8, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323) and Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek), and further in view of Rao et al. (US20250119785A1, hereinafter Rao).
For claim 5, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein at least one of a PDCP SDU not constructed with a corresponding PDCP data PDU, a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer (TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], the PDCP Data PDUs that have not been submitted to lower layers), a PDCP control PDU, a PDCP SDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted, and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted is used to determine the adjustment data volume.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong and Xu, so that the data volume in the buffer are those as listed by TS38.323. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (TS38.323 [Scope Page 6]).
Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek do not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a PDCP SDU not constructed with a corresponding PDCP data PDU, a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer, a PDCP control PDU, a PDCP SDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted, and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted is used to determine the adjustment data volume.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted is used to determine the adjustment data volume ([Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received, where the BSR may indicate the expected payload of the PDU set and/or the number of PDUs expected in the PDU set. The WTRU may determine the expected payload and/or the number of PDUs in the PDU set based on the markings/indications in the first PDU (e.g., PDU header), possibly indicating the type of PDU set [Examiner’s Note: Since only the first PDU of the PDU set has arrived in the buffer, the rest of PDUs of the PDU set have not arrived at the buffer, the expected PDUs are the adjustment data volume. After received and before transmission, the first PDU is available for transmission in the buffer, according to Hong and TS38.323, it is one of the listed data types, a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the first PDU of a PDU set that is received in the buffer determines the expected PDUs of the PDU set, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
For claim 8, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive a first signaling indicating a first data volume threshold, and the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume not exceeding the first volume threshold.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches wherein a transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive a first signaling indicating a first data volume threshold receiving a first signaling ([Para. 0147], The configuration/assistance information that is received by the WTRU from the network may include threshold values. The threshold values may include one or more of a buffer occupancy threshold), wherein the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume not exceeding the first data volume threshold ([Para. 0104], Based on the determination of the expected QoS for the PDUs received or to be received in QoS flows, the WTRU may apply certain mapping and buffer/queue management mechanisms at one or more layers of the AS layer protocol stack (e.g. PDCP). [Para. 0183], the WTRU may determine the expected amount of data volume when mapping the PDUs from a QoS flow to the first forwarding configuration based on the sum of data volume of the PDUs expected to be mapped. [Para. 0184], If the WTRU determines that the expected data volume is greater than the buffer occupancy threshold value associated with the forwarding configuration. The WTRU may determine how to address the potential buffer overload event based on the amount of data/PDUs in the QoS flows. [Para. 0185], The WTRU may receive an indication from network where the received indication may indicate updated threshold values related to buffer occupancy to apply in the forwarding configuration).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the WTRU addresses overload event when expected data volume exceeds the threshold, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
For claim 11, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive first Quality of Service (QoS) information, the first QoS information being for interactive service, wherein the first QoS information is used to determine a first transmission time, and the adjustment data volume comprising an expected data volume of a PDCP data unit before the first transmission time.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches wherein a transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive first Quality of Service (QoS) information ([Para. 0147], The configuration/assistance information that is received by the WTRU from the network may include threshold values. [0150], The threshold values may include expected data rate (EDR) threshold values. The WTRU may receive one or more EDR threshold values associated with the data rate expected for receiving/transmitting PDUs/ADUs in one or more data/QoS flows. The data rate may correspond to frames per second [0088] QoS requirement includes latency, data rate, and/or reliability), the first QoS information being for interactive service ([Para. 0112], the WTRU may perform for satisfying QoS requirements associated with extended reality (XR)/application-aware data transmission/reception. [Para. 0075], The rendering is mainly performed in an XR server and sent in DL at high data rate and low latency [Examiner’s Note: XR is related to data rate]), wherein the first QoS information is used to determine a first transmission time ([Para. 0240], the WTRU may trigger the transmission of SR and/or BSR (e.g., preemptive BSR) based on expected arrival time and/or expected payload sizes of PDUs in a PDU set. The WTRU may be aware of, and/or configured with, the information on the arrival time of the PDUs of a PDU set (e.g., from higher layers). Such arrival time may be associated with the arrival of periodic data, where the periodicity of the data may be aligned with the frame rate applied at higher layers/application. [Para. 0150], The data rate may correspond to frames per second [Examiner’s Note: The arrival time is associated with periodicity of data which is in turn aligned with frame rate which further in turn corresponds to data rate. EDR threshold is data rate information. Therefore, the arrival time is associated with EDR threshold]. Based on the estimation of the arrival time of the PDUs, the WTRU may trigger the transmission of SR/BSR, possibly preemptively for requesting the UL grants for transmitting of PDUs after the PDUs expected to be received [Examiner’s Note: The transmission time of BSR is the first transmission time determined based on expected arrival time, and the expected arrival time is associated with EDR threshold]), and the adjustment data volume comprising an expected data volume of a PDCP data unit before the first transmission time ([Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received, where the BSR may indicate the expected payload of the PDU set and/or the number of PDUs expected in the PDU set. The WTRU may determine the expected payload and/or the number of PDUs in the PDU set based on the markings/indications in the first PDU (e.g., PDU header), possibly indicating the type of PDU set [Examiner’s Note: Since only the first PDU of the PDU set has arrived in the buffer by the transmission time of BSR, the rest of PDUs of the PDU set that have not arrived but are expected to arrive at the transmission time of BSR constitute the adjustment data volume. BSR includes data volume of the PDU that has arrived in the buffer (as the first data volume) and the adjustment data volume. The transmission time of BSR may be after reception of the first PDU and before the arrival time of the following PDUs expected to arrive]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the WTRU transmits BSR based on the arrival times of the expected data, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
For claim 13, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 11. Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the first QoS information comprises a first QoS parameter, and the first QoS parameter comprised in first QoS information has a mapping relation with a group of QoS characteristics, wherein the group of QoS characteristics-comprises: pose-to-render-to-photon time and time delay jitter.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches wherein the first QoS information comprises a first QoS parameter ([Para. 0139], the WTRU may receive configuration/assistance information for enabling the WTRU for supporting any procedures, mechanisms, rules, actions etc., associated with handling differentiated QoS during data transmissions and/or receptions of data/PDUs/ADUs in one or more data/QoS flows), and the first QoS parameter comprised in first QoS information has a mapping relation with a group of QoS characteristics ([Para. 0141], The configuration/assistance information that is received by the WTRU from the network may include one or more of the following: mapping/forwarding configurations. [Para. 0145], The WTRU may receive the information on achieved/achievable QoS when using one or more mapping/forwarding configurations. [Para. 0104], The PDUs of different ADUs to be received in different QoS flows may have different expected QoS to be satisfied during transmission. Based on the determination of the expected QoS for the PDUs/ADUs received or to be received in QoS flows, the WTRU may apply certain mapping … such that the expected QoS for the PDUs may be satisfied during transmission), wherein the group of QoS characteristics comprises: pose-to-render-to-photon time and time delay jitter ([Para. 0147], The configuration/assistance information that is received by the WTRU from the network may include threshold values. [Para. 0152], The threshold values may include a pose difference threshold. The pose difference threshold value may correspond to the difference between the measurement of pose information at a first time instance and a second time instance. [Para. 0143], The WTRU may also receive another set of configuration parameters which may be associated with exceptional operation, which may be activated and/or used when detecting a triggering event/condition. [Para. 0166], The triggering events/conditions may include timing/timestamp information, which may be associated with an expected QoS. For example, the WTRU may track the timing related information (e.g., timestamp, marker and/or timing control PDU) in the one or more PDUs/ADUs received in an earlier time window for determining the latency or jitter).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, TS38.323 and Xu, so that the WTRU receives QoS information to map PDUs with specific QoS metrics, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
For claim 15, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach the first PDU set comprises at least one PDU unrelated to a PDCP SDU not constructed with a corresponding PDCP data PDU (Hong [0237], The buffer status reporting procedure is a procedure used to provide information on data available for transmission in UL buffers associated with a MAC entity to a serving base station. TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], For the purpose of MAC buffer status reporting, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider the following as PDCP data volume: the PDCP SDUs for which no PDCP Data PDUs have been constructed), a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer (TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], the PDCP Data PDUs that have not been submitted to lower layers), a PDCP control PDU (TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], the PDCP Control PDUs), a PDCP SDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted (TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], for AM DRBs, the PDCP SDUs to be retransmitted), and a PDCP data PDU of an AM DRB that will be retransmitted (TS38.323 [Page 18, Subsect. 5.6 Data volume calculation], for AM DRBs, the PDCP Data PDUs to be retransmitted).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong and Baek, so that the data volume in the buffer are those as listed by TS38.323. The modification would have allowed the system to provide the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) (TS38.323 [Scope Page 6]).
Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek do not explicitly disclose wherein a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a first PDU set, and the first PDU set is used to determine the adjustment data volume; the first PDU set comprises at least one PDU unrelated to a PDCP SDU not constructed with a corresponding PDCP data PDU, the meaning of the phrase that a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a first PDU set comprises: a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a number of PDUs comprised in the first PDU set, or a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a data volume of the first PDU set.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches wherein a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a first PDU set ([Para. 0223], The WTRU may perform marking of QoS flows in UL at an SDAP entity. For example, the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g., indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g., PDU headers) associated with a PDU set. [Para. 0225], The WTRU may be configured with one or more PDCP sublayers/entities for handling data forwarding on the basis of one or more PDU sets. [Para. 0226], The WTRU may perform maintenance of PDCP sequence numbers (SNs) at a PDCP entity. For example, the WTRU may include SNs in one or more PDUs/SDUs received from SDAP/higher layers based on the association of the PDUs to a PDU set [Examiner’s Note: Marking PDUs of a PDU set at SDAP/higher layer with ID indicates to PDCP a PDU set]), and the first PDU set is used to determine the adjustment data volume ([Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received, where the BSR may indicate the expected payload of the PDU set and/or the number of PDUs expected in the PDU set. The WTRU may determine the expected payload and/or the number of PDUs in the PDU set based on the markings/indications in the first PDU (e.g., PDU header)). [Examiner’s Note: Since only the first PDU of the PDU set has arrived in the buffer by the transmission time of BSR, the rest of PDUs of the PDU set that have not arrived but are expected to arrive at the transmission time of BSR constitute the adjustment data volume. BSR includes data volume of the PDU that has arrived in the buffer (as the first data volume) and the adjustment data volume. The transmission time of BSR may be after reception of the first PDU and before the arrival time of the following PDUs expected to arrive]), the first PDU set comprises at least one PDU unrelated to a PDCP SDU not constructed with a corresponding PDCP data PDU, a PDCP data PDU not submitted to a lower layer ([Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received [Examiner’s Note: When a PDU is revived in the buffer for BSR, according to Hong and TS38.323, it is one of the data listed in TS38.323 above]), the meaning of the phrase that a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a first PDU set comprises: a protocol layer above a PDCP of the first node indicates a number of PDU(s) comprised in the first PDU set ([Para. 0223], The WTRU may perform marking of QoS flows in UL at an SDAP entity. For example, the WTRU may include one or more markings (e.g., indications, IDs, SNs) in the PDUs (e.g., PDU headers) associated with a PDU set. [Para. 0225], The WTRU may perform maintenance of PDCP sequence numbers (SNs) at a PDCP entity. [Para. 0226], The WTRU may perform maintenance of PDCP sequence numbers (SNs) at a PDCP entity. For example, the WTRU may include SNs in one or more PDUs/SDUs received from SDAP/higher layers based on the association of the PDUs to a PDU set [Para. 0227], the SNs for the PDU set added by the WTRU may include a PDU set-level ID/SN (e.g., ID/SN associated with the PDU set) which may be common to one or more (e.g., all) PDUs associated with the PDU set and/or a PDU-level ID/SN. For example, a PDU set comprising of N PDUs may include one or more of the following SNs/IDs: first PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN: 1}, second PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN 2} [Examiner’s Note: Marking the PDUs of a PDU set at SDAP with ID indicates to PDCP the PDUs of the PDU set and sequence numbering of the PDUs of the PDU set at PDCP indicates the number of the PDUs of the PDU. Therefore, SDAP initially indicates the number of PDUs of the PDU set by marking the PDUs of the PDU set]), or a protocol layer above a PDCP of the UE indicates a data volume of the first PDU set.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that SDAP indicates to PDCP number of PDUs in a PDU set and the adjustment data volume is determined based on the received PDU in the PDU set, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323) and Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek), and further in view of Kanamarlapudi et al. (US20210185747A1, hereinafter Kanamarlapudi) and Rao et al. (US20250119785A1, hereinafter Rao).
For claim 6, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive a first signaling (Hong [FIG. 18, Para. [0378]], Receiver 1830 configured to receive signaling).
Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, Hong, TS38.323 and Xu do not explicitly disclose the first signaling indicating a first sequence number threshold; wherein a first PDCP data unit is a last PDCP data unit to be allocated a sequence number, a sequence number of the first PDCP data unit is a first sequence number.
Kanamarlapudi is directed to providing Buffer management techniques for enhanced multi-connectivity communications. More specifically, Kanamarlapudi teaches the first signaling indicating a first sequence number threshold ([Para. 0039], Threshold occupancy for memory storage may be in units of PDCP sequence number space. [Para. 0070], the PDCP entity 220 receives data packets from the upper layer entity 210 and buffers the data packets in a UL PDCP queue. [Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order. [Examiner’s Note: Within the sense of units of PDCP sequence number space, memory occupancy threshold may be the highest sequence number that may be allocated the PDU to arrive in the buffer]), wherein a first PDCP data unit is a last PDCP data unit to be allocated a sequence number ([Para. 0070], the PDCP entity 220 receives data packets from the upper layer entity 210 and buffers the data packets in a UL PDCP queue. [Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: The last PDCP data unit to be allocated a sequence number is the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer.]), a sequence number of the first PDCP data unit is a first sequence number ([Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: The first sequence number is the sequence number of the first PDCP data unit, i.e., last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38323 and Baek, so that the memory occupancy threshold may be the sequence number threshold, and PDUs are allocated with sequence numbers in ascending order when arriving in PDCP, as taught by Kanamarlapudi. The modification would have enabled UEs to reduce the amount of buffer memory required to provide a certain throughput performance (Kanamarlapudi, [Para. 0048]).
Although teaching the sequence number threshold and PDUs are allocated with sequence numbers in ascending order when arriving in PDCP, Hong, TS38.323, Xu and Kanamarlapudi do not explicitly disclose and the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume of a PDCP data unit not exceeding the first sequence number threshold after the first sequence number.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches and the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume of a PDCP data unit not exceeding the first sequence number threshold after the first sequence number ([Para. 0104], Based on the determination of the expected QoS for the PDUs received or to be received in QoS flows, the WTRU may apply certain mapping and buffer/queue management mechanisms at one or more layers of the AS layer protocol stack (e.g.PDCP). [Para. 0183], the WTRU may determine the expected amount of data volume when mapping the PDUs from a QoS flow to the first forwarding configuration based on the sum of data volume of the PDUs expected to be mapped and sum of data volume which is in buffer of the forwarding configuration [Examiner’s Note: The total data volume includes PDUs to be received and already in the buffer at PDCP. PDUs to be received constitute adjustment data volume and PDUs already in the buffer are numbered up to the first sequence number]. [Para. 0184], If the WTRU determines that the expected data volume is greater than the buffer occupancy threshold value associated with the forwarding configuration …The WTRU may determine how to address the potential buffer overload event based on the amount of data/PDUs in the QoS flows. The WTRU may split/partition the data/PDUs in QoS flows before mapping to forwarding configurations or perform flow control by controlling the amount of data mapped to the forwarding configurations. [Examiner’s Note: The PDU to be received in PDCP would have a sequence number after (greater than) the first sequence number (the sequence number allocated to the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer). If the expected data volume (the total data volume as including the expected data volume to be received) does not exceed the buffer occupancy threshold (the first sequence number threshold), the sequence number that would be allocated to the PDU to be received does not exceed the first sequence number threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Kanamarlapudi, so that the WTRU addresses overload event when expected data volume exceeds the threshold, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
For claim 9, Hong, TS38.323 and Baek teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a first PDCP data unit is a latest PDCP data unit, a sequence number of the first PDCP data unit is a first sequence number, the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume of K PDCP data units after the first sequence number, where K is a positive integer, and a value of K is related to a value of the first sequence number.
Kanamarlapudi is directed to providing Buffer management techniques for enhanced multi-connectivity communications. More specifically, Kanamarlapudi teaches wherein a first PDCP data unit is a latest PDCP data unit ([Para. 0070], the PDCP entity 220 receives data packets from the upper layer entity 210 and buffers the data packets in a UL PDCP queue. [Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: The latest PDCP data unit is the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer. Therefore, the first PDCP data unit is the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer]), a sequence number of the first PDCP data unit is a first sequence number ([Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: Without further specifying what “first sequence number” is, the first sequence number is interpreted as the sequence number allocated to the first PDCP data unit.]), the adjustment data volume comprises a data volume of K PDCP data units after the first sequence number ([Para. 0039], Threshold occupancy for memory storage may be in units of PDCP sequence number space. [Para. 0070], the PDCP entity 220 receives data packets from the upper layer entity 210 and buffers the data packets in a UL PDCP queue. [Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order. [Examiner’s Note: Within the sense of units of PDCP sequence number space, memory occupancy threshold may be the highest sequence number that may be allocated to the PDU to arrive in the buffer. K is the number of the PDUs after the sequence number allocated to the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer (the first sequence number)]), where K is a positive integer ([Para. 0039], Threshold occupancy for memory storage may be in units of PDCP sequence number space. [Para. 0070], the PDCP entity 220 receives data packets from the upper layer entity 210 and buffers the data packets in a UL PDCP queue. [Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: The sequence number as buffer occupancy threshold is greater than the sequence number allocated to the last of the PDUs that arrived in the buffer]), and a value of K is related to a value of the first sequence number ([Para. 0071], a PDCP entity may add PDCP packet headers to data packets (e.g., upper layer packets) and perform sequence numbering to associate each data packet with a sequence number in an ascending order [Examiner’s Note: The first sequence number is the sequence number allocated to the last of the PDCP data units that arrived in the PDCP buffer and K is the number of the PDUs after the first sequence number and within the sequence number threshold for the buffer]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the memory occupancy threshold may be the sequence number threshold, and PDUs are allocated with sequence numbers in ascending order when arriving in PDCP, as taught by Kanamarlapudi. The modification would have enabled UEs to reduce the amount of buffer memory required to provide a certain throughput performance (Kanamarlapudi, [Para. 0048])
Although teaching the sequence number threshold and PDUs are allocated with sequence numbers in ascending order when arriving in PDCP, Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Kanamarlapudi do not explicitly disclose when a value of the first sequence number increases, a value of K decreases.
Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches when a value of the first sequence number increases, a value of K decreases ([Para. 0147], The configuration/assistance information that is received by the WTRU from the network may include threshold values. The threshold values may include one or more of a buffer occupancy threshold [Examiners’ Note: As taught by Kanamarlapudi, the buffer occupancy threshold may be a sequence number threshold]. [Para. 0184], If the WTRU determines that the expected data volume is greater than the buffer occupancy threshold value associated with the forwarding configuration. The WTRU may determine how to address the potential buffer overload event. The WTRU may split/partition the data/PDUs in QoS flows before mapping to forwarding configurations or perform flow control by controlling the amount of data mapped to the forwarding configurations [Examiner’s Note: K is the number of the PDUs expected to be received (the expected data volume in the reference excluding the data volume already in the buffer). The data volume already in the buffer is represented as the sequence number allocated to the last of the PDUs that arrived in the buffer (the first sequence number). When the first sequence number increases, the number of the PDUs expected to be received, K, may decrease to meet buffer occupancy threshold, as The WTRU may determine how to address the potential buffer overload event by split PDUs in QoS flows or flow control to decrease the expected PDUs in the future]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the WTRU addresses overload event when expected data volume exceeds the threshold, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323), Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek) and Rao et al. (US20250119785A1, hereinafter Rao), and further in view of Loehr et al. (US20180014322A1, hereinafter Loehr).
For claim 14, Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Rao teach the UE of claim 11. Although teaching transmission time of BSR with the PDUs expected to arrive, Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Rao do not explicitly disclose wherein the first transmission time is related to a next running of an on_duration timer of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX).
Loehr is directed to providing improved scheduling request procedure. More specifically, Loehr teaches wherein the first transmission time is related to a next running of an on_duration timer of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ([Para. 0192], In FIG. 11, the BSR/SR trigger is depicted to take place at time t1, meaning that at said particular point in time the arrival of new data in a transmission buffer triggers the buffer status report and in turn the scheduling request. A flexible delay of the trigger of the scheduling request is implemented such that the scheduling request trigger is delayed to take place at the beginning of the On-Duration period, as depicted in FIG. 11. The corresponding scheduling request transmission occasion during the On-Duration period is used for transmitting the triggered scheduling request. The user equipment can easily monitor the PDCCH for the corresponding uplink grant from the radio base station allocating resources for the buffer status report [Examiner’s Note: Since the transmission for BSR occurs after the uplink grant for BSR uplink transmission, the transmission time for BSR is after the beginning of next on-duration, as indicated in FIG. 11. Therefore, the transmission time for BSR is related to next running of on-duration timer]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Rao, so that transmission of BSR is delayed to be within on_duration of DRX, as taught by Loehr. The modification would have provided an improved method for requesting uplink radio resources (Loehr, [Para. 0124]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323), Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek) and Rao et al. (US20250119785A1, hereinafter Rao), and further in view of Fu et al. (US20250142402A1, hereinafter Fu).
For claim 16, Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Rao teach the UE of claim 15. Although teaching determining the adjustment amount by the PDU set, Hong, TS38.323, Xu and Rao do not explicitly disclose wherein PDUs in the first PDU set have a dependency relation with each other, and the PDUs in the first PDU set are associated with a specific time.
Fu is directed to providing method for processing data, and device. More specifically, Fu teaches wherein PDUs in the first PDU set have a dependency relation with each other ([Para. 0035], an association or dependency relationship may be present between the PDUs. For example, a PDU set represents a video frame, and compression and decoding of the video frame may be completed only when all the associated PDUs within the PDU set are received at the same time), and the PDUs in the first PDU set are associated with a specific time ([Para. 0035], an association or dependency relationship may be present between the PDUs. For example, a PDU set represents a video frame, and compression and decoding of the video frame may be completed only when all the associated PDUs within the PDU set are received at the same time).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Rao, so that dependency of PDUs in a PDU set and the association of the PDUs with a specific time are considered in data processing, as taught by Fu. The modification would have provided greater flexibility and satisfying the different requirements of the different data (Fu [Para. 0098]).
For claim 17, Hong, TS38.323, Baek, Rao and Fu teach the UE of claim 16. The references further teach wherein the adjustment data volume comprises an estimated data volume of the first PDU set (Rao [Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received, where the BSR may indicate the expected payload of the PDU set and/or the number of PDUs expected in the PDU set. The WTRU may determine the expected payload and/or the number of PDUs in the PDU set based on the markings/indications in the first PDU (e.g., PDU header) [Examiner’s Note: Since only the first PDU of the PDU set is received at the buffer for BSR, the rest of PDUs of the PDU set have not arrived at the buffer, the expected PDUs in number or payload are the estimated data volume]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the expected PDUs of a PDU set are determined, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20190268799A1, hereinafter Hong) in view of TS38.323 (3GPP TS 38.323 version 16.2.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.323) and Baek et al. (US20230388923A1, hereinafter Baek), and further in view of Xu et al. (US20250151038A1, hereinafter Xu) and Rao et al. (US20250119785A1, hereinafter Rao).
For claim 18, Hong, TS38.323, Baek teach the UE of claim 1. Although teaching adjustment data volume and data volume in the buffer for buffer status report, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive first scheduling information, on resources indicated by the first scheduling information.
Xu is directed to providing Data transmission method and apparatus. More specifically, Xu teaches wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive first scheduling information ([Para. 0068] and [FIG. 6], Part 610: A terminal sends a BSR to a radio access network device. [Para. 0069] Part 620: The radio access network device sends scheduling information to the terminal, where the scheduling information schedules data transmission, and the scheduled data includes one or more of the following data: data corresponding to the current data volume and data corresponding to the estimated data volume. The scheduling information includes resource allocation information, to indicate, to the terminal, resources for carrying data. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the scheduling information from the radio access network device), on resources indicated by the first scheduling information ([Para. 0070], Part 630: The terminal sends data to the radio access network device based on the scheduling information, where the data includes one or more of the following: data corresponding to the current data volume and data corresponding to the estimated data volume).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, TS38.323 and Baek, so that the data volume is scheduled and transmitted uplink over the scheduled resource, as taught by Xu. The modification would have allowed data transmission delay to be reduced, and terminal user experience to be improved (Xu, [Para. 0005]).
Although Xu teaches transmitting uplink data based on received scheduling resource, indicating transmission of PDCP PDU set, Rao is directed to providing XR methods for supporting high granularity QoS differentiation. More specifically, Rao teaches transmitting a first PDCP PDU set comprising at least a first PDCP PDU ([Para. 0231], the transmitting and/or receiving PDCP entity may be configured with a discard timer. Such a timer may be used for ensuring that the PDUs in a PDU set are transmitted and/or received within a deadline. The transmitting entity (e.g., transmitting PDCP entity) may start a discard timer upon transmitting one or more PDUs of a PDU set. [Para. 0238], The WTRU may transmit BSR when a first PDU associated with a PDU set is received, where the BSR may indicate the expected payload of the PDU set and/or the number of PDUs expected in the PDU set), wherein a header of the first PDCP PDU comprises a first field and a second field ([Para. 0225], The WTRU may be configured with one or more PDCP sublayers/entities for handling data forwarding on the basis of one or more PDU sets. [Para. 0226], The WTRU may perform maintenance of PDCP sequence numbers (SNs) at a PDCP entity. [Para. 0227], the SNs for the PDU set added by the WTRU may include a PDU set-level ID/SN (e.g., ID/SN associated with the PDU set) which may be common to one or more (e.g., all) PDUs associated with the PDU set and/or a PDU-level ID/SN. For example, a PDU set comprising of N PDUs may include one or more of the following SNs/IDs: first PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN: 1}, second PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN 2}. [Para. 0228], The SNs for PDU set may be included in the PDCP header appended to each PDU), the first field indicates a sequence number of the first PDCP PDU ([Para. 0227], the SNs for the PDU set added by the WTRU may include a PDU set-level ID/SN (e.g., ID/SN associated with the PDU set) which may be common to one or more (e.g., all) PDUs associated with the PDU set and/or a PDU-level ID/SN. For example, a PDU set comprising of N PDUs may include one or more of the following SNs/IDs: first PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN: 1}, second PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN 2}), and the second field is used to indicate whether the first PDCP PDU belongs to a PDU set ([Para. 0227], the SNs for the PDU set added by the WTRU may include a PDU set-level ID/SN (e.g., ID/SN associated with the PDU set) which may be common to one or more (e.g., all) PDUs associated with the PDU set and/or a PDU-level ID/SN. For example, a PDU set comprising of N PDUs may include one or more of the following SNs/IDs: first PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN: 1}, second PDU {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN 2}[Examiner’s Note: {set-level SN: 1, PDU-level SN: 1} indicates the first PDU belongs to PDU set 1]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hong, TS38.323, Baek and Xu, so that PDUs of a PDU set are assigned SNs and ID to indicate the PDUs belong to the PDU set, as taught by Rao. The modification would have provided support for differentiated QoS with application awareness during data transmissions (Rao, [Para. 0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417