DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's arguments filed on April 30, 2026. Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-12 are pending. Claims 5-12 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, and 4 are examined herein.
Response to Arguments
In view of applicant’s amendments arguments, the 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, and 4 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG PUB 2014/0370131) is hereby withdrawn.
Any rejection from the previous Office action not set forth on record below is hereby withdrawn.
The new rejections are made in the Non-Final Office action below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana (WO 2018/004901) in view of Zhao (Chinese Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2004).
Rana teaches formulations comprising plant extract from Bauhinia variegate employed to improve the appearance of skin or at least one sign of aging in skin (claim 1; claim 13).
Rana teaches in addition to improving the aesthetic or cosmetic appearance of skin, the topical compositions may be topically applied to enhance the general health, vitality and appearance of the skin. The composition may be applied to skin to improve microcirculation, communication among skin cells, replenishment of essential nutrients or skin constituents, or to improve the metabolism, proliferation, multiplication, turnover and/or exfoliation of skin cells [00122].
Rana teaches wherein the amount of Bauhinia, individually or in combination with a plant ingredient or plant extract from Sesamum, effective to improve the appearance of skin or at least one sign of aging in skin amount ranges from about 0.0 1 % to about 0. 1 % by weight of the total composition (claim 12).
Rana teaches when the composition is administered to a subject, the subject is a mammal or human [0037].
Rana does not specifically teach the structure of the compound (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one as required by the instant claims.
Zhao teaches (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one has been isolated from Bauhinia variegate for the first time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have known that purified extracts of Bauhinia variegate as possessing anti-aging skin effects as taught by Rana contain (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one. The motivation, provided by Zhao, teaches that said compound is isolated from Bauhinia variegate extracts. Thus, the skilled artisan would expect that the purified extracts of Bauhinia variegate contain (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one.
Based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited art.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni in view of Zhao (Chinese Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2004).
Kulkarni teaches Bauhinia variegate extracts as useful in the treatment of metabolic disorders such as type I and II diabetes (abstract; page 127, discussion).
Kulkarni does not specifically teach the structure of the compound (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one as required by the instant claims.
Zhao teaches (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one has been isolated from Bauhinia variegate for the first time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have known that purified extracts of Bauhinia variegate as possessing anti-aging skin effects as taught by Kulkarni contain (24S)-3ß-hydroxy-5a-stigmastan-6-one. The motivation, provided by Zhao, teaches that said compound is isolated from Bauhinia variegate extracts.
Based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited art.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622