DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ogasaka (JP 2022063637) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakatani et al. (JP 2012166611).
With respect to claim 1, Ogasaka teaches a vehicle body rear structure comprising a rear wheel (Fig.1, Item 2) disposed on a vehicle side portion; a rear side frame (Figs.1 and 2, Item 5) that is disposed substantially along a vehicle forward/rearward direction and that extends to a vehicle-rear-side than the rear wheel; and a collapsing member/muffler (Fig.2, Item 11)(muffler will inherently collapse when impacted) that is disposed at the vehicle-rear-side of the rear wheel (Fig.2, Item 2) so that at least a part of the collapsing member/muffler overlaps the rear wheel in the forward/rearward direction, wherein the collapsing member is fixed to the rear side frame (Fig.2, Item 5).
Or, in the alternative, Ogasaka fails to particularly disclose wherein the muffler is a collapsing member and fixed to the rear side frame.
Nevertheless, Nakatani et al. teach a muffler (Figs.1 and 2, Item 30) being a collapsing member (Figs.5 and 6, Item 30; Text relating to these figures) and fixed (Fig.1, Items 60) to the rear side frame (Fig.1, Item 2 or 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Nakatani et al. teachings with the Ogasaka design because it would provide for the muffler to be employed as a collapsing member that would help absorb and dissipate the energy created by an impact, in this manner protecting a fuel tank and/or battery cells to be dangerously deform or broken.
With respect to claim 2, Nakatani et al. teach wherein the collapsing member is a silencer (Fig.2, Item 30) for exhaust silencing.
With respect to claim 3, Ogasaka teaches wherein the collapsing member (Fig.2, Item 11) is fixed to the rear side frame (Fig.2, Item 5) at a position in front side than an intermediate position between the rear wheel (Fig.2, Item 2) and a rear end portion (Fig.2, Item 6) of the rear side frame (Fig.2, Item 5).
With respect to claim 4, Nakatani et al. teach wherein the collapsing member (Figs.1 and 2, Item 30) is fixed (Figs.1 and 2, Items 60) to a lower surface of the rear side frame at below the rear side frame (Fig.2, Item 2).
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
March 27, 2026