DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, readable on claims 11-18 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims are 1-19 are pending, claims 1-10 and 19 are withdrawn, and claims 11-18 and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “wherein the first memory is located in the sensor”. However the examiner believes “wherein the first memory is located in the image pickup unit” are the correct words to use here.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first memory is located in the sensor” (Claim 12), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2020/0352410 to Okawa et al. (hereinafter “Okawa”).
Regarding claim 11, Okawa discloses an endoscope, comprising: a first memory configured to store a first identification information (26, Fig. 2, [0023]); and a second memory configured to store a second identification information (44, Fig. 2, [0030]) wherein the first identification information matches the second identification information ([0025], [0036]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Okawa discloses an endoscope system, comprising: an endoscope observing apparatus (1, Fig. 2, [0019]); and the endoscope according to claim 11 (2, Fig. 2, [0019]), further comprising: a sensor configured to monitor a subject (24, Fig. 2, [0023]); an operating unit (10, Fig. 1, [0020]); a universal cable extends from a side surface of the operating unit (11, Fig. 1, [0020]); and a connector configured to connect the universal cable to the endoscope observing apparatus (41, Fig. 2, [0027]), wherein the first memory is located in the sensor (23, 26, Fig 2, [0026]), and wherein the second memory is located in the connector (44, Fig. 2, [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Okawa discloses the endoscope system according to claim 12, and Okawa further discloses wherein the sensor is an image sensor (26, Fig 2, [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Okawa discloses the endoscope according to claim 11, and Okawa further discloses further comprising: a processor (3, Fig. 2, [0031]), wherein the processor is configured to: acquire the first identification information stored in the first memory of the endoscope ([0049]-[0052]), acquire the second identification information stored in the second memory of the endoscope, compare the acquired first identification information with the acquired second identification information acquired, and based on a result of the comparing, perform a first processing or a second processing([0049]-[0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0352410 to Okawa and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0265052 to Morishima et al. (hereinafter “Morishima”).
Regarding claim 14, Okawa disclose the endoscope according to claim 11.
Okawa fails to expressly teach further including a single-use component.
However, Morihsima teaches of an endoscope (Morishima: 10, Fig. 5, [0032]) further including a single-use component (Morishima: 23, Fig. 5, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Okawa to utilize a single-use component, as taught by Morishima. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of preventing infections ([0037] of Morishima).
Regarding claim 15, Okawa, in view of Morishima, teaches the endoscope according to claim 14.
Okawa, in view of Morishima, fails to expressly teach further including a multi-use component, wherein the first memory is provided in the multi-use component.
However, Morishima further teaches further including a multi-use component (Morishima: [0039]), wherein the first memory is provided in the multi-use component (Morishima: [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Okawa, in view of Morishima, to utilize a multi-use component, as taught by Morishima. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reducing costs ([0039] of Morishima).
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0352410 to Okawa and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0265052 to Morishima et al. (hereinafter “Morishima”) and U.S. Publication No. 2021/0145265 to Morishima et al. (hereinafter “Morishima(65)”).
Regarding claim 16, Okawa, in view of Morishima, teaches the endoscope according to claim 14.
Okawa, in view of Morishima, fails to expressly teach wherein the second memory is provided in the single-use component.
However, Morishima further teaches wherein the second memory is provided in the component (Morishima: 19, Fig. 5, [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Okawa, in view of Morishima, to utilize a second memory provided in the component, as taught by Morishima. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of providing information about the endoscope ([0074] of Morishima).
Okawa, in view of Morishima, fails to expressly teach a single-use component.
However, Morishima(65) teaches of an endoscope including a single-use component (S, Fig. 2, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Okawa, in view of Morishima, to utilize a single-use component, as taught by Morishima(65). It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reducing costs ([0061] of Morishima).
Regarding claim 17, Okawa, in view of Morishima and Morishima(65) teaches the endoscope according to claim 16, and Okawa further discloses wherein the second memory is a onetime programmable ROM (Okawa: 44, Fig. 2, [0030]).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795