DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 7-14 in the reply filed on May 14, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 15-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups I and III there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 14, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an output device configured to guide the subject to raise a hand to vary the transmural pressure of an artery” in claims 7 and “the output device is further configured to guide the subject to apply hard finger pressure on the camera; and guide the subject to change a level of finger pressure” in claim 8. The output devices in claims 7 and 8 are modified by functional language, “configured to”, and not further modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim functions. Accordingly, these limitations meet the 3-Prong analysis and therefore invoke 112(f). The specification discloses “Such output devices can include visual output devices, such as screen 102 or other visual device configured to provide a visual indicator, animation, text or other visual signals to guide the subject as described herein. In addition, or as a further alternative, the output device can include a speaker or other audio device configured to provide an audio indicator, spoken text or instructions, or other audio signals to guide the subject as described herein.” (the applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0038). Therefore, the output devices provide sufficient structure as recited in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process for A device for determining blood pressure) without significantly more.
Step 1:
The claimed invention of claims 7-14 is directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a device for determining blood pressure.
Step 2A, Prong One:
Regarding claims 7-14, the recited steps are directed to mental process, i.e., concepts that can be performed in a mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)). The courts have found that concepts performed in a human mind falls within the judicial exceptions, often labelled as “abstract ideas”.
Specifically, the following limitations recite mental process.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation of “guide the subject to raise a hand to vary the transmural pressure of an artery while maintaining a finger pressure on the camera” (certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)).
Regarding claim 7, the limitation of “compute pulse pressure of the subject from the finger PPG waveform and the vertical height” (mental process: with pen and paper).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of “guide the subject to apply hard finger pressure on the camera” (certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of “guide the subject to change a level of finger pressure based on the measured AC and/or DC value of the PPG waveform and the PPG measurement during the hard finger pressure; and” (certain methods of organizing human activity: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of “identify a finger pressure corresponding to when a blood volume oscillation is near maximal.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, decision).
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of “compare the PPG waveform during hand raising with the PPG waveform during finger pressing to assess a level of accuracy of the device.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, decision).
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of “construct a shifted oscillogram to relate variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations to a hydrostatic pressure change measured using the vertical height, wherein the pulse pressure is computed from the shifted oscillogram.” (mental process: with pen and paper, observation, evaluation).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation of “measure the vertical height of the device relative to the heart.” (mental process: with pen and paper, observation, evaluation).
Regarding claim 12, the limitation of “convert the pulse pressure to brachial artery pulse pressure using a transfer function.” (mental process: with pen and paper, evaluation).
Regarding claim 14, the limitation of “the blood pressure is adjusted based on blood density, gravity, and/or the readings of the barometric sensor.” (mental process: observation, evaluation, adjustment).
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claims, including dependent claims, are analyzed as a whole to determine whether additional limitations are recited such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “measure a finger photo-plethysmography (PPG) waveform;” amounts to insignificant extra-solution (data-output/gathering).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “measure a vertical height of the device relative to a heart of a subject;” amounts to insignificant extra-solution (data-output/gathering).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “a camera” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “a finger photo-plethysmography (PPG)” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “an accelerometer” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “an output device” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “a processor” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “display the pulse pressure on the screen.” amounts to insignificant extra-solution (data-output/presentation).
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “the screen” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element of “the output device” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element of “the camera” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 8, the additional element of “the processor” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “the processor” amounts to a particular technological environment or field or use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 9, the additional element of “PPG” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding claim 10, the additional element of “the processor” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 11, the additional element of “the accelerometer” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 12, the additional element of “the processor” amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “measure finger pressure of the subject” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “measure a finger PPG waveform of the subject;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “measure a vertical height of the device relative to a heart of the subject;” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “measure readings of the barometric pressure sensor during finger pressing and without finger pressing while holding the device at heart level” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “adjust the blood pressure measured during the finger pressing to the heart level using the readings of the barometric pressure sensor, and display the adjusted blood pressure of the subject on a screen.” amounts to insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “a force sensor” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “a finger photo-plethysmography (PPG)” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “a barometric pressure sensor” amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “a processor“ amounts to a generic computer component (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 14, the additional element of “the barometric sensor“ amounts to a conventional sensor used for insignificant extra solution activity (data gathering).
Regarding the claimed a device for determining blood pressure disclosed in the applicant’s specification, the specification does not sufficiently describe a concrete technological improvement attributable to the claimed invention of the device for determining blood pressure. A particular technological environment or field or use and Insignificant extra solution activity activity do not integrate a judicial exception. Regarding claims 7-14, the judicial exception is not integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 7-14 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements, including “A device for determining blood pressure”, “camera”, “accelerometer”, “force sensor”, “barometric pressure sensor” and “PPG” are recited at a high level of generality and are used for extra-solution activity, such as data gathering necessary to perform the abstract idea as well as part of generic measuring equipment used to perform extra-solution data delivery functions to perform the abstract idea and “processor”, “output device”, “screen” are recited at high level of generality and used as part generic computer equipment used to perform extra-solution data delivery computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Therefore, these elements do not provide an inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrases "a subject" in line 1 and 4 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if each recitation refers to the same “subject” or not.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the transmural pressure” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the screen" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “hard finger pressure” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hard finger pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of “hard” is indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the measured AC " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the PPG measurement” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “a finger pressure” in line 5 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the “a finger pressure in claim 8 is meant to refer to the “a finger pressure in claim 7 or not.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 recites limitation “wherein the accelerometer is configured to measure the vertical height of the device relative to the heart.” and is dependent back to claim 7 which recites “an accelerometer configured to measure a vertical height of the device relative to a heart of a subject” thus claim 11 does not further limit claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Chandrasekhar” (WO2020006518A1) in view of “Asada” (US 20070055163 A1) and further “Fortin” (US20110105918A1).
Regarding claim 7.
Chandrasekhar teaches A device for determining blood pressure of a subject (Abstract) comprising:
a camera (sensor 406) configured to measure a finger photo-plethysmography (PPG) waveform (Paragraph 0067: “the front facing sensor 406 is a standard optical camera customary to many modern mobile phone devices, but can be employed as a PPG sensor for purposes of measuring blood pressure”, “The output of the camera 406 may include standard "RGB" channels, which can be preferentially leveraged to better isolate data indicative of blood volume oscillations (including heart beats and heart rate).”, and Paragraph 0106: “the camera of the device acts as a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor to detect and measure contemporaneous blood volume oscillations.”);
an accelerometer configured to measure a vertical height of the device relative to a heart of a subject (Paragraph 0092: “BP at heart level should be measured. For example, if the mobile device is lower than the heart, the finger BP will be higher than the BP at the heart. BP at heart level can be determined using an accelerometer and/or camera of a device”, “The vertical distance between the phone and heart can be estimated using the camera in order to correct the BP measurement despite the height mis-positioning via a pgh term”);
an output device configured to guide the subject to raise a hand to vary the transmural pressure of an artery while maintaining a finger pressure on the camera (Paragraph 0091: “hand raising maneuvers to measure the finger pressing contact area with smartphones can also be used to achieve better measurement results. When a hand is raised (or lowered), BP in the finger changes by pgh, where p is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical height change of the hand raise.”, Paragraph 0102: “step 724 may also involve guiding the user to hold the device at heart level. As discussed with respect to FIG. 6, this may involve written or audio instructions, image depictions, or animations/videos to ensure the user is holding the device at the correct level relative to the user's heart.”, Paragraph 0040: “The user then presses her finger uniformly on the screen and camera to slowly change (e.g., increase) the applied finger pressure.”, and Paragraph 0068: “Finger pressure may be computed as the outputted force divided by the finger contact area for the portion of a finger the user presses against the screen. In devices that provide localized force output specific to points on the surface 410 of the screen area 412, finger area can be measured simultaneously with force. A user may press her fingertip uniformly on the front camera and screen, the variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations and applied finger pressure may be measured by the camera”, and Paragraph 0062: “The amplitude of these oscillations varies with the cuff pressure, as the arterial blood volume-transmural pressure relationship is nonlinear. Thus, the sensor also records these variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations as well.Transmural pressure of an artery is defined as the internal pressure (i.e., BP) minus the external pressure (cuff pressure in this case).”).
a processor (Processor 102) configured to display the BP data on the screen (Paragraph 0070: “The program may also cause the processor of the device 420 to display on screen 418 an indication of systolic pressure (SP) 434, an indication of diastolic pressure 432, and/or an indication of mean arterial pressure (MAP) 440. Standard brachial (arm) BP, which is the proven cardiovascular risk factor, may also be derived.”, Paragraph 0113: “after a valid set of blood pressure values has been determined, they may be stored at step 756 for future use. For example, they may be stored to show historical values or may be correlated to different user activity. In one embodiment, the mobile device may output blood pressure measurements to a user's EMR, to a preventative medicine application, to a doctor, or to a commercial application (e.g., anonymously to a group insurance database for rate incentive purposes)’, and Fig 4B illustrates displaying BP data on mobile device screen).
compute BP measurement of the subject from the finger PPG waveform and the vertical height (Paragraph 0091: “When a hand is raised (or lowered), BP in the finger changes by pgh, where p is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical height change of the hand raise. The term h can be measured with existing applications based on a video camera, an accelerometer, and/or a gyroscope that may be included in a device such as a smartphone.”, and Paragraph 0067: “sensor 406 is a camera that outputs red, green, and blue (RGB) channel information, and can be used as reflectance-mode PPG sensor array. The RGB camera can operate as multiple photodetectors and a camera flash integrated on the front of device 402 could operate as a light source providing specific wavelengths of light that make blood volume readings more accurate and obtainable. Each pixel in a RGB video output can thus provide blood volume waveforms at the three wavelengths. That is, the RGB video can construct a "PPG image”. From the PPG image, "hot spots” in the finger can be identified to measure the blood volume from a target artery of interest. The RBG camera, already built in the mobile device, may be leveraged to measure the blood volume oscillations”);
Chandresekhar teaches a BP measurement based on finger PPG waveform and vertical height (Paragraph 0091) but is silent on the BP measurement being a pulse pressure.
Asada teaches to guide the subject to raise a hand to vary the transmural pressure of an artery (Paragraph 0061: “Maximum compliance occurs when transmural pressure (PTM), the pressure difference across a vascular wall, is kept near zero”, Paragraph 0067: “The wearer's arm and sensor unit are raised to a maximum comfortable height above the heart 202 (typically this is a height of nearly 30 cm above the heart). A known external pressure is applied to the sensor unit (Pcuff) 204. The PPG signal amplitude at the known externally applied pressure is measured 206.”, Paragraph 0089: “feedback, such as visual, audio, or tactile cues, can be used to guide the patient to appropriate actions. The appropriate actions can include recalibrating the PPG-ABP relationship, changing the height of the sensor, or positioning an extremity in a certain position. For example, when a chime is sounded, the patient might be directed to place his/her hand directly over the hear”).
compute BP measurement of the subject from the finger PPG waveform and the vertical height (Paragraph 0069: “PPG calibration can be accomplished by combining data from the recorded height sensor (P.sub.height), cuff pressure sensor (P.sub.cuff), and amplitude data ({overscore (y)}”, Paragraph 0074: “the diastolic and systolic blood pressures may also be identified from the non-linear calibration curve. FIG. 4(b) depicts the PPG amplitude component vs. cuff pressure plus the hydrostatic pressure. Systolic pressure 402 may be estimated as a point greater than the MAP 404 with an amplitude equal to a specified fraction, approximately half, of the maximum PPG amplitude.”,” Diastolic pressure 406 may be estimated using a process similar to systolic pressure 402 except that the multiplying factor is typically between 0.75-0.85.”, and Paragraph 0076: “a constant PPG sensor unit pressure is applied to the extremity. Usually this PPG sensor unit pressure is near, or less than, the pressure applied during a previous calibration or measurement. Instead of varying the PPG sensor unit pressure applied to the extremity, the hydrostatic pressure is modulated by changing the height of the extremity.”, “the extremity and the sensor are raised to a plurality of heights and the PPG amplitude is measured at each of the heights 412”); .
Fortin teaches compute pulse pressure of the subject from the finger PPG waveform (Paragraph 0039: “pulse pressure (PP) of BP depends on the control-loop gain(s)”, and Paragraph 0041: “Calibration methods include transforming the signal along a straight line:
p ++(t)=k*p cuff(t)+d (5),
where k and d can be calculated from NBP-values as follows:
k
=
S
B
P
-
D
B
P
s
B
P
-
d
B
P
(
6
)
d
=
S
B
P
∙
k
∙
s
B
P
(7)
where SBP and DBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the NBP calibration device (e.g., the upper arm blood pressure cuff) and sBP and dBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the uncalibrated finger cuff.”) (the examiner notes that pulse pressure is the difference between systolic blood pressure (sBP) and diastolic blood pressure (DBP)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar with Asada because incorporating Asada’s height-based PPG calibration would have accounted for hydrostatic pressure changes caused by vertical displacement of the hand relative to the heart, thereby varying the arterial transmural pressure while PPG is measured and enabling blood pressure to the determined from the resulting PPG response (Asada, Paragraphs 0052, 0053, 0061, 0065,0067, 0076, 0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Asada further with Fortin because incorporating Fortin’s processing of the finger PPG-derived blood-pressure signal would have permitted determination of pulse-pressure information while accounting for physiological and hydrostatic differences between the finger and heart/upper arm level, thereby improving the accuracy of the resulting blood-pressure measurement(Fortin, Paragraphs 0038,0039).
Regarding claim 8, Chandrasekhar in view of Asada and Fortin teaches the device of Claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Chandrasekhar teaches wherein the output device is further configured to guide the subject to apply hard finger pressure on the camera (Paragraph 0026: “ The instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to display, via the display screen, an indication to a user of a finger pressing location on the pressure-sensitive user display screen, display a real time guidance to the user via the display screen to vary pressure of the finger against the pressure- sensitive user display screen, receive pressure data from the pressure-sensitive user display screen while the user is applying pressure, receive output data of the optical sensor, and calculate blood volume oscillations from the optical sensor output data,”, and Paragraph 0094: “it has been estimated that 95% of people could achieve finger pressure at a maximum of > 178 mmHg and resolution of <2 mmHg with the application running on device 500. These specifications are largely congruent with BP measurement.”);
guide the subject to change a level of finger pressure based on the measured AC and/or DC value of the PPG waveform and the PPG measurement during the hard finger pressure (Paragraph 0062: “The amplitude of these oscillations varies with the cuff pressure, as the arterial blood volume-transmural pressure relationship is nonlinear. Thus, the sensor also records these variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations as well.”, Paragraph 0064: “The PPG or oscillation data can be acquired from a standard camera of a mobile device, and pressure data can be acquired directly from a screen.”, Paragraph 0071: “The screen 418 may also display an indication of the real time pressure data 436 from the strain gauge array of the device 420. In this way, a user can see in real time whether she is applying enough, too much, or not enough force when pressing her finger against screen 418”, Paragraph 0104: “If the user is pressing too lightly or too hard to obtain a valid oscillometric blood pressure reading given the sensitivity of the device's strain gauge array 738, feedback is provided to the user 740. Once the user's finger is at an appropriate baseline pressure 742, oscillometric data acquisition begins at step 744.”, Paragraph 0105: “scillometric blood pressure measuring involves a gradual increase (or decrease) of applied pressure over an artery. For finger pressure- based oscillometry (without use of a cuff or similar equipment), the user is the "actuator." In other words, the user will press her index finger increasingly harder onto the device. To aid a user in doing this, the screen provides a graphical depiction of calculated applied pressure, at step 734. Applied pressure is determined by either a total pressure reading output by the strain gauge array, or in some devices may be determined on a localized basis from localized readings at various points along the strain gauge array's area.”); and
the processor is further configured to identify a finger pressure corresponding to when a blood volume oscillation is near maximal (Paragraph 0062: “The amplitude of these oscillations varies with the cuff pressure, as the arterial blood volume-transmural pressure relationship is nonlinear”, “The BP values are estimated from the oscillogram (i.e., the oscillation amplitudes versus the cuff pressure) using an algorithm. One algorithm is to estimate mean BP as the cuff pressure at which the oscillogram is maximal and systolic and diastolic BP as the cuff pressures at which the oscillogram are some fixed ratios of its maximal value (i.e., the "fixed ratio" method)”, Paragraph 0068: “Finger pressure may be computed as the outputted force divided by the finger contact area for the portion of a finger the user presses against the screen. In devices that provide localized force output specific to points on the surface 410 of the screen area 412, finger area can be measured simultaneously with force. A user may press her fingertip uniformly on the front camera and screen, the variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations and applied finger pressure may be measured by the camera and strain gauge array 408, and BP can then be computed based on the measured oscillations.”, Paragraph 0107:” Using the measured varying amplitude blood volume oscillations and the pressure measurements, the method then computes blood pressure related data, such as an oscillogram (i.e., amplitude of blood volume oscillations as a function of applied pressure), at step 754. From the oscillogram, the SP, DP, and MP of the user are determined and presented, for example using a display of the device as shown in FIG. 4(b). Blood volume oscillations can be calculated using spatial averaging followed by band-pass (1.8-4.3 Hz) filtering of a red video channel of an optical camera.”, and Paragraph 0108: “an oscillogram is constructed by first taking a maximum value and a minimum value of each beat of the blood volume waveform that is detected and measured by the PPG sensor. The maximum value and minimum value of each beat, as a function of the pressure applied to the screen of the mobile”).
Regarding claim 9, Chandrasekhar in view of Asada, and Fortin teaches the device of Claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Chandrasekhar teaches wherein the processor is further configured to compare the PPG waveform during hand raising with the PPG waveform during finger pressing to assess a level of accuracy of the device (Paragraph 0091: “When a hand is raised (or lowered), BP in the finger changes by pgh, where p is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical height change of the hand raise. The term h can be measured with existing applications based on a video camera, an accelerometer, and/or a gyroscope that may be included in a device such as a smartphone.”, “Mean BP may be computed to within a scale factor equal to the finger pressing contact area from the finger oscillograms obtained with the hand at heart level and another level, and the area scale factor may then be determined so that the difference in the two BP values equals pgh. More conveniently, BP may be computed to within an area scale factor from the finger oscillogram obtained with the hand at heart level. The blood volume oscillations at a constant force (rather than increasing force) may then be obtained at another hand level”, Paragraph 0040: “The user then presses her finger uniformly on the screen and camera to slowly change (e.g., increase) the applied finger pressure.”, and Paragraph 0106: “the camera of the device acts as a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor to detect and measure contemporaneous blood volume oscillations. I”).
Asada teaches wherein the processor is further configured to compare the PPG waveform during hand raising with the PPG waveform during finger pressing to assess a level of accuracy of the device (Paragraph 0073: “A calibration curve of PPG versus relative change in P.sub.TM, which is modified by the change in height, is obtained with the y-intercept (that is to say, at zero transmural pressure) identified where the slope of PPG-versus-P.sub.”, Paragraph 0110: “the PPG sensor unit 800 is positioned on the finger base 802. Next, the PPG sensor unit pressure applied to the finger base 802 is set to a low pressure of approximately 30 mmHg 902.”, Paragraph 0076: “a constant PPG sensor unit pressure is applied to the extremity”,” Instead of varying the PPG sensor unit pressure applied to the extremity, the hydrostatic pressure is modulated by changing the height of the extremity.”,” the extremity and the sensor are raised to a plurality of heights and the PPG amplitude is measured at each of the heights 412.”, and Fig. 4C illustrates the PPG signal measurement flow involving both application of a known external pressure (extremity) to the PPG sensor unit and height-based PPG signal measurement, thereby providing a combined data set for comparison.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar with Asada because incorporating Asada’s concurrent height-based PPG measurement under applied sensor pressure would have allowed the PPG responses obtained under the hand-raising and finger-pressure conditions to be evaluated to one another, thereby assessing the consistency and accuracy of the blood-pressure measurement (Asada, Paragraphs 0065,0067,0076,0095).
Regarding claim 10, Chandrasekhar in view of Asada and Fortin teaches the device of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Chandrasekhar teaches wherein the processor is configured to construct an oscillogram (Paragraph 0091: “When a hand is raised (or lowered), BP in the finger changes by pgh, where p is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical height change of the hand raise. The term h can be measured with existing applications based on a video camera, an accelerometer, and/or a gyroscope that may be included in a device such as a smartphone. Mean BP may be computed to within a scale factor equal to the finger pressing contact area from the finger oscillograms obtained with the hand at heart level and another level, and the area scale factor may then be determined so that the difference in the two BP values equals pgh. More conveniently,”, Paragraph 0012: “a device including a force sensitive display screen, a photoplethysmography sensor disposed outside of and adjacent to the display screen, a processor, a memory connected to the processor containing a set of instructions is provided by the present disclosure. The set of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to display, via the display screen, a guidance”, and Paragraph 0016: “the instructions may further cause the processor to obtain the measurements of the finger using the fingerprint scanner of the display screen.”).
variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations (Paragraph 0067: “The RGB camera can operate as multiple photodetectors and a camera flash integrated on the front of device 402 could operate as a light source providing specific wavelengths of light that make blood volume readings more accurate and obtainable. Each pixel in a RGB video output can thus provide blood volume waveforms at the three wavelengths. That is, the RGB video can construct a "PPG image””, Paragraph 0068: “the variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations and applied finger pressure may be measured by the camera and strain gauge array 408”, and Paragraph 0107: “the method then computes blood pressure related data, such as an oscillogram (i.e., amplitude of blood volume oscillations as a function of applied pressure)”).
a hydrostatic pressure change measured using the vertical height (Paragraph 0091: “When a hand is raised (or lowered), BP in the finger changes by pgh, where p is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical height change of the hand raise”, and Paragraph 0092: “The vertical distance between the phone and heart can be estimated using the camera in order to correct the BP measurement”).
However, Chandrasekhar does not teach the oscillogram comprises shifted oscillogram.
to relate variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations to a hydrostatic pressure change measured using the vertical height, wherein the pulse pressure is computed from the shifted oscillogram.
Asada teaches wherein the processor is configured to construct a shifted oscillogram to relate variable-amplitude blood volume oscillations to a hydrostatic pressure change measured using the vertical height (Paragraph 0057: “A photoplethysmogram (PPG) is a non-invasive circulatory signal related to the pulsatile volume of blood in tissue, which is derived from a light source.”, Paragraph 0061: “(P.sub.height) is the external hydrostatic pressure, P.sub.height=-.rho.gh, (.rho. is the density of the blood, g is the acceleration of gravity, and h is the height offset of the measurement site relative to the proximal aorta)”, Paragraph 0062: “For a given pressure change, the volume change, and consequently the PPG amplitude, will be maximum when the transmural pressure is kept near zero”, Paragraph 0063: “The ABP at the extremity can be assumed to change proportionally to the change in height. The height at which the PPG signal is maximum is the height where the artery is at maximum compliance” ,Paragraph 0069: “PPG calibration can be accomplished by combining data from the recorded height sensor (P.sub.height), cuff pressure sensor (P.sub.cuff), and amplitude data ({overscore (y)}”, Paragraph 0073: “A calibration curve of PPG versus relative change in PTM, which is modified by the change in height,”, Paragraph 0076: “the extremity and the sensor are raised to a plurality of heights and the PPG amplitude is measured at each of the heights 412”),
wherein the BP measurement is computed from the shifted oscillogram (Paragraph 0074: “FIG. 4(b) depicts the PPG amplitude component vs. cuff pressure plus the hydrostatic pressure. Systolic pressure 402 may be estimated as a point greater than the MAP 404 with an amplitude equal to a specified fraction, approximately half, of the maximum PPG amplitude. I”, “diastolic pressure 406 may be estimated using a process similar to systolic pressure 402 except that the multiplying factor is typically between 0.75-0.85.”).
Fortin teaches the pulse pressure is computed from the shifted oscillogram (Paragraph 0039: “pulse pressure (PP) of BP depends on the control-loop gain(s)”, and Paragraph 0041: “Calibration methods include transforming the signal along a straight line:
p ++(t)=k*p cuff(t)+d (5),
where k and d can be calculated from NBP-values as follows:
k
=
S
B
P
-
D
B
P
s
B
P
-
d
B
P
(
6
)
d
=
S
B
P
∙
k
∙
s
B
P
(7)
where SBP and DBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the NBP calibration device (e.g., the upper arm blood pressure cuff) and sBP and dBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the uncalibrated finger cuff.”) (the examiner notes that pulse pressure is analogous to SBP-DBP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar with Asada because incorporating Asada’s height-based PPG calibration would have allowed the measured blood-volume oscillations to be related to hydrostatic-pressure changes caused by vertical displacement of the extremity, thereby compensating for height-dependent effects and improving the accuracy of blood-pressure determination (Asada, Paragraphs 0073, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar in view of Asada further with Fortin because incorporating Fortin’s processing and calibration of finger-derived blood-pressure signals would have provided a more accurate representation of arterial blood pressure by accounting for difference between peripheral finger measurements and clinically relevant arterial pressure (Fortin, Paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0045).
Regarding claim 11, Chandrasekhar in view of Asada and Fortin teaches the device of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Chandrasekhar teaches wherein the accelerometer is configured to measure the vertical height of the device relative to the heart (Paragraph 0092: “if the mobile device is lower than the heart, the finger BP will be higher than the BP at the heart. BP at heart level can be determined using an accelerometer and/or camera of a device”, “the user is explicitly instructed to hold the phone at heart level with back straight and neck bent so that the head is above the phone”, “The vertical distance between the phone and heart can be estimated using the camera in order to correct the BP measurement”).
Regarding claim 12, Chandrasekhar in view of Asada and Fortin teaches the device of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Chandrasekhar teaches wherein the processor is configured to convert the BP data to brachial artery pulse pressure using a transfer function (Paragraph 0070: “The program may also cause the processor of the device 420 to display on screen 418 an indication of systolic pressure (SP) 434, an indication of diastolic pressure 432, and/or an indication of mean arterial pressure (MAP) 440. Standard brachial (arm) BP, which is the proven cardiovascular risk factor, may also be derived. While finger and brachial MP and DP are similar, finger SP is higher than brachial SP due to arterial wave reflection. Brachial SP may be estimated by simple transformations of finger BP”, “Alternatively, a transfer function may be applied to more accurately estimate brachial BP from finger BP”).
However, Chandrasekhar does not teach the BP data comprises the pulse pressure.
Fortin teaches wherein the processor is configured to convert the pulse pressure to brachial artery pulse pressure using a transfer function (Paragraph 0039: “One method of enhancing the VUT pressure signal pcuff(t), and thus increasing accuracy of the signal, is to calibrate the signal v that is measured at the finger to a standard upper arm sphygmomanometer (NBP). One reason for doing this is that there are inherent physiological and hydrostatic differences of BP measured at the finger artery as opposed to the upper arm. since the upper arm is almost close to heart level whereas the finger can be anywhere. Additionally, pulse pressure (PP) of BP depends on the control-loop gain ((Paragraph 0039: “pulse pressure (PP) of BP depends on the control-loop gain(s)”, and Paragraph 0041: “Calibration methods include transforming the signal along a straight line:
p ++(t)=k*p cuff(t)+d (5),
where k and d can be calculated from NBP-values as follows:
k
=
S
B
P
-
D
B
P
s
B
P
-
d
B
P
(
6
)
d
=
S
B
P
∙
k
∙
s
B
P
(7)
where SBP and DBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the NBP calibration device (e.g., the upper arm blood pressure cuff) and sBP and dBP are systolic and diastolic values measured from the uncalibrated finger cuff.”) (the examiner notes that pulse pressure is the difference between systolic blood pressure (sBP) and diastolic blood pressure (dBP).”, Paragraph 0045: “When a transfer function is applied in order to transfer the wave form of the pulses (e.g., from finger to upper arm wave forms) this transfer function starts with its frequency range at the lowest possible beat frequency, which is at approximately 0.3 Hz”, Paragraph 0073: “processor 210 can be of any type including but not limited to a microprocessor (.mu.P), a microcontroller (.mu.C), a digital signal processor (DSP), or any combination thereof. Processor 210 can include one more levels of caching, such as a level one cache 211 and a level two cache 212, a processor core 213, and registers 214. The processor core 213 can include an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a floating point unit (FPU), a digital signal processing core (DSP Core), or any combination thereof”, and Paragraph 0074: “the system memory 220 can be of any type including but not limited to volatile memory (such as RAM), non-volatile memory (such as ROM, flash memory, etc.) or any combination thereof. System memory 220 typically includes an operating system 221, one or more applications 222, and program data 224. For example, an application 222 may be designed to receive certain inputs from the PPG system and base decisions off of those inputs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chandrasekhar with Fortin because incorporating Fortin’s transfer-function conversion of finger-derived pulse waveforms to upper-arm waveforms would have compensated for physiological differences between finger and brachial measurements, thereby improving the accuracy of the reported brachial pulse pressure (Fortin, Paragraphs 0038,0039, 0045).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Zemel” (US 20200196881 A1) in view of “Klaassen” (US2017340209A1).
Regarding claim 13.
Zemel teaches A device for determining blood pressure of a subject (Abstract) comprising:
a force sensor configured to measure finger pressure of the subject (Paragraph 0101: “The pressure sensor 324 (DigiTacts Sensors, Pressure Profiling Systems, USA) is a thin-filmed, 16×3 array of capacitive transducer elements (5 mm length squares). Each element outputs the pressure exerted on it in the normal direction”, and Paragraph 0103: “FIG. 10 is a diagram depicting the example of an index finger that exerts the pressure applied 116 to the prototype system 394.”);
a finger photo-plethysmography (PPG) sensor configured to measure a finger PPG waveform of the subject (Paragraph 0100: “The sensor includes the PPG sensor 320 and pressure transducers as the pressure sensor 324 housed in a plastic enclosure. The PPG sensor 320 is an LED and photodetector operating in reflectance-mode and at an infrared wavelength (940 nm) to penetrate an artery beneath the skin. The PPG sensor 320 surface, which constitutes the pressing area, in this example, with respect to an arterial measurement on a finger, is a 10 mm diameter circle.”, and Paragraph 0110: “With the PPG sensor array 528, the target artery 516 may be located and blood volume oscillations from therein may be measured via selection of the largest amplitude waveform obtained from the photodetectors 508.”);
to measure a vertical height of the device relative to a heart of the subject (Paragraph 0020: “The hydrostatic bias can be corrected by having the user hold the target anatomical region of interest, such as the wrist, at heart level, by having the device measure the height difference between the measurement location and the heart”, Paragraph 0103: “the finger is at heart level in order to eliminate confounding hydrostatic effects.”, and Paragraph 0129: “the recorded BP measurements can be adjusted accordingly for the height at which the measurements were being taken using a rho-g-h correction, where rho is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical distance between the anatomy of interest and heart estimated from the images.”);
A processor (computer processor 300) configured to (Paragraph 0064):
measure readings of the sensor during finger pressing while holding the device at heart level (Paragraph 0020: “The hydrostatic bias can be corrected by having the user hold the target anatomical region of interest, such as the wrist, at heart level, by having the device measure the height difference between the measurement location and the heart”, Paragraph 0060: “the user presses their anatomical location of interest against the sensor 108 to steadily increase the external pressure of the underlying artery, while the sensor 108, which includes a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor and a pressure sensor, detects and measures the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensor 108.”, and Paragraph 0103: “the finger is at heart level in order to eliminate confounding hydrostatic effects”) (the examiner note: Zemel does not disclose that the sensor comprises the barometric pressure sensor),
adjust the blood pressure measured during the finger pressing to the heart level using the readings of the sensor, (Paragraph 0020: “The hydrostatic bias can be corrected by having the user hold the target anatomical region of interest, such as the wrist, at heart level, by having the device measure the height difference between the measurement location and the heart”, “Machine readable software instructions and supporting circuitry that are suitably configured with algorithms based on appropriate mathematical models can then be used to correct the blood pressure values based on the vertical displacement from the hea”, Paragraph 0103: “The pressing protocol includes pressing the PPG sensor 320 with the center of the index finger”, “The protocol further includes instructing the user to apply the force in the normal direction while the finger is at heart level in order to eliminate confounding hydrostatic effects.”,” If the system detects that the mobile device 100 is not being held at heart level, then the recorded BP measurements can be adjusted accordingly for the height at which the measurements were being taken using a rho-g-h correction, where rho is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical distance between the anatomy of interest and heart estimated from the images.”) (the examiner note: Zemel does not disclose that the sensor comprises the barometric pressure sensor).
display the adjusted blood pressure of the subject on a screen (Paragraph 0068: “The BP estimator 312 is configured to determine the BP based on the oscillogram 128 generated by the oscillogram generator 308. Subsequently, the BP estimator 312 presents the BP value on the display 104.”).
Zemel does not teach the sensor comprise a barometric pressure sensor.
Klaassen teaches a barometric pressure sensor (Paragraph 0011: “A signal indicative of the height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal may be received and/or calculated from at least a height sensor, accelerometer, and/or a barometric pressure sensor coupled to the wrist-worn device.”, “The standard or mean arterial pressure may be determined based on the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal and the signal indicative of the height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal (e.g., hydrostatic pressure component).”, Paragraph 0019: “The second sensor may comprise at least one PPG sensor or pressure sensor coupled to the wrist-worn device for sensing the second user signal indicative of arrival of the pressure pulse in the wrist. The at least one PPG sensor may comprise at least one infra-red, red, or green optical source and a detector positioned over a radial artery of the wrist (or the finger or arm) of the user.”, Paragraph 0030: “A signal is received indicative of a height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with each PTT measurement and the relative blood pressure signals adjusted based on the height of the sensor relative to the heart signal associated with each PTT measurement so as to account for hydrostatic pressure differentials.”, “hydrostatic effects may also be negated by taking measurements while the user is lying down (e.g., BCG passive monitoring while the user is asleep) so that there is little to no variation between the height of the wrist sensor relative to the heart or by aligning the wrist sensor relative to the height of the heart during a measurement”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zemel with Klaassen by substituting a barometric pressure sensor for Zemel’s accelerometer-based height sensing because both sensors are known for determining sensor height relative to the heart for accounting for hydrostatic pressure effects, and such substitution would have predictably provided the heart-relative height information used by Zemel to correct blood pressure measurements (MPEP § 2143(I)(B): Simple Substitution of One Known Element for Another To Obtain Predictable Results) (Klaassen, Paragraphs 0011, 0030, 0134-0138).
Regarding claim 14, Zemel in view of Klaassen teaches the device of Claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Zemen teaches wherein the blood pressure is adjusted based on blood density, gravity (Paragraph 0020: “Machine readable software instructions and supporting circuitry that are suitably configured with algorithms based on appropriate mathematical models can then be used to correct the blood pressure values based on the vertical displacement from the heart.”, and Paragraph 0129: “the recorded BP measurements can be adjusted accordingly for the height at which the measurements were being taken using a rho-g-h correction, where rho is the known blood density, g is gravity, and h is the vertical distance between the anatomy of interest and heart estimated from the images.”), and/or.
Zemen does not teach the readings of the barometric sensor.
Klaassen teaches the readings of the barometric sensor (Paragraph 0011: “A signal indicative of the height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal may be received and/or calculated from at least a height sensor, accelerometer, and/or a barometric pressure sensor coupled to the wrist-worn device.”, “The standard or mean arterial pressure may be determined based on the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal and the signal indicative of the height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with the maximum volume or pressure waveform signal (e.g., hydrostatic pressure component).”, Paragraph 0019: “The second sensor may comprise at least one PPG sensor or pressure sensor coupled to the wrist-worn device for sensing the second user signal indicative of arrival of the pressure pulse in the wrist. The at least one PPG sensor may comprise at least one infra-red, red, or green optical source and a detector positioned over a radial artery of the wrist (or the finger or arm) of the user.”, Paragraph 0030: “A signal is received indicative of a height of the sensor relative to the heart associated with each PTT measurement and the relative blood pressure signals adjusted based on the height of the sensor relative to the heart signal associated with each PTT measurement so as to account for hydrostatic pressure differentials.”, “hydrostatic effects may also be negated by taking measurements while the user is lying down (e.g., BCG passive monitoring while the user is asleep) so that there is little to no variation between the height of the wrist sensor relative to the heart or by aligning the wrist sensor relative to the height of the heart during a measurement”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zemel with Klaassen because incorporating Klaassen’s barometric-pressure-based height determination would have provided the heart-relative height used in Zemel’s existing ρgh hydrostatic correction, thereby allowing blood pressure to be adjusted using blood density, gravity, and barometric-pressure-derived height information (Klaassen, Paragraphs 0030, 0134-0138).
Conclusion
/MORGAN SANGJO SHIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/PATRICK FERNANDES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791