DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 3-6, in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 2 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected electrode, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu (US 20140248543 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses an electrode (claim 128, “working electrode”)
comprising: an active material layer (claim 128, “substrate structure comprising one or more LIB current collector structures and/or one or more LIB active material structures”), wherein a groove (para 154, “trenches or indentations 4264”; fig. 42A-42C) is formed on a surface of the active material layer, at least part of an inner surface of the groove is covered with a nanostructure layer (para 154, “nanostructures 4220”; fig. 42A-42C), and the nanostructure layer includes a nanostructure (para 154).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses the nanostructures “can be of essentially any desired size” (para 98). Zhu additionally discloses nanostructures have an average thickness (length) of “less than about 10 µm” (para 98, figs. 2A-2K).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20140248543 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses nanostructures can have “a diameter of about 10 nm to about 500 nm” (para 98). The diameter range disclosed by Zhu overlaps the diameter range of 10 to 300 nm claimed in the instant application. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Zhu does not explicitly disclose the diameter is a feret diameter. Zhou discloses the diameter “refers to the width or diameter of a cross-section normal to a first axis of the nanostructure, where the first axis has the greatest difference in length with respect to the second and third axes” (para 53). Zhou additionally discloses that “where the cross-section is not circular, the width or diameter is the average of the major and minor axes of that cross-section” (para 53). This constitutes a geometric distance across the particle at defined orientation which corresponds to a feret diameter.
Regarding claim 6, Zhu discloses the active material layer has a first chemical composition (claim 15, “active material substrate structure comprises graphite”), the nanostructure has a second chemical composition (claim 4, “nanostructures comprise silicon (Si)”).
Zhu fails to explicitly disclose the second chemical composition has a smaller oxygen composition ratio and a smaller carbon composition ratio than the first chemical composition.
Zhu discloses active material layer can comprise graphite and an inactive material (para 80); and a nanostructure can comprise silicon, inactive materials, conductive materials and any mixtures thereof (para 108). Zhu additionally discloses nanostructures of varying materials and mixtures (para 109; figs. 3A-3I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to select these materials to optimize conductivity, adhesion or other certain characteristics (para 79). A skilled artisan would have known that silicon naturally contains less oxygen and carbon than graphite based active material and thus the second chemical composition would have a smaller oxygen composition ratio and a smaller carbon composition ratio than the first chemical composition.
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746