DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2023 and 09/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyake et al. (JP2015220107A- Machine Translation), "hereinafter "Koyake" in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20190252727 A1), hereinafter "Shimizu". Koyake and Shimizu et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely coating of solid electrolytes.
In regard to Claim 1, Koyake et al. discloses a solid-state battery comprising: a battery laminate including one or more unit batteries (Koyake, [1, 47]), the unit battery configured of a positive electrode layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode layer laminated in this order (Koyake, Abstract). Koyake et al. also discloses wherein at least one of the positive electrode layer, the solid electrolyte layer, and the negative electrode layer contains Li3.5Si0.6P0.4O4 and/or Li2S·P2S5, i.e. a sulfide solid electrolyte (Koyake, [2]) and an inorganic coating layer coating at least a portion of a periphery of the battery laminate (Koyake, [7]). While Koyake et al. discloses the inorganic coating layer may be made of an inorganic glass (Koyake, [3]), it is silent as to the glass possessing a transition point of 260°C or higher and 360°C or lower.
Shimizu et al. discloses a solid battery including a positive electrode layer, a negative electrode layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a protective layer coating at least a portion of a periphery of the battery laminate (Shimizu, Abstract, [0103]), wherein the coating layer is preferably a glass including Li.sub.2O SiO.sub.2 B.sub.2O.sub.3 (Shimizu, [0058]), which is a glass disclosed on a preferred list in the current application (Original Specification, [0044]), wherein the preferred glass for the coating layer in Shimizu has a glass transition point of 500 °C or less (Shimizu, [0104]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the preferred glass of Shimizu with the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Shimizu as the glass coating of Koyake, as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisan of Koyake and as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claims 2-3, Koyake et al. in view of Shimizu et al. disclose the sulfide solid-state battery according to claim 1. Koyake et al. also discloses wherein the inorganic coating layer is coated with a resin coating layer made of a fluorine-based resin (Example 2), and wherein the sulfide solid-state battery of claim 1 is soldered to a printed circuit board (Koyake, [50]).
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725