DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/ have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In reference to applicant’s argument with respect to the amendment to claim 1, Kocher teaches various alternatives to protecting the keyhole 10. Figure 8 describes a unit 54 mounted on the doorframe using screw holes 19, wherein unit 54 includes a plate 64 covering a through-hole 58 that when aligned with keyhole 10 of the doorframe 4 allows emergency personnel to access the keyhole. Kocher further describes said plate 64 moves from moves from a first position to a second position (see description given in fig. 8 and corresponding description). Another example of a blocking member is described in fig. 13 and corresponding description when a slide gate 72 moves from one position to a second position to cover or uncover the keyhole 10 on doorframe 4. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 will be modified to include the new added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-15, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kocher (US Patent 7237655), of record.
Claim 1 and 22, Kocher a hoistway access control arrangement and a method for controlling access to an elevator hoistway, the control algorithm comprises: a control station 6; a communication device 51 (or energization control circuit 130) for communicating with an external user interface such as remote control unit 134 and an auxiliary release mechanism comprising electromagnets 20, spring 24, blocking member 64 having an access hole 58 (or figure 13, item 72), and a keyhole 10 provided in an elevator doorframe 4, wherein member 64 blocks access to keyhole 10 in a first position and in a second position keyhole hole 10 aligns with access hole 58 so that an authorized person can introduce a key 8 through said access hole 58 and keyhole 10 of the doorframe 4 to actuate unlocking bit 12 and release a landing door 2. Additionally, the access control arrangement is configured to lock and unlock the blocking member 64 in response to a signal from the communication device to the electromagnet 20, wherein an original request to move the blocking member can be received by the communication device from remote unit 134 (see for example col. 9 lines 54-67 where Kocher describes the interaction between a control unit and remote control units operated by maintenance or emergency personal).
Claim 7, Kocher teaches electromagnets 20 for controlling the locking position of disc 28.
Claim 8, Kocher teaches the use electromagnets 20, coil 146, or motor 82 as actuators for controlling release of different types of blocking members.
Claim 9, Kocher teaches the use of an actuator to control the blocking member.
Claim 10, as shown in fig. 5 above, the electromagnet 20 is disposed substantially in the same location with the blocking member.
Claim 11, as described in figures 5, 8, and 12, Kocher teaches the blocking member being arranged to be rotated around.
Claim 12, Kocher describes in fig. 13 a blocking member arranged to be linearly slid between a first and a second position.
Claim 13, Kocher describes in fig, 1 a notch on a surface 4 in a conveyor system (see item 10).
Claim 14, Kocher describes doorframe 4 being part of landing door 2.
Claim 15, Kocher describes the use of a mobile device 134.
Claim 18, Kocher teaches in col. 9 lines 59-61 authorized personnel transmitting an unlock signal 136 from a remote-control unit 134.
Claim 19, Kocher teaches a conveyor system comprising a door 2; a manually key operated mechanism using key 8 and keyhole 10 in doorframe 4 to gain access to door 2; and an access control arrangement as described above in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 20, Kocher teaches the conveyor system being an elevator (see fig. 1 and corresponding description.
Claim 21, Kocher teaches elevator system 1 comprising one or more landing doors 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 16-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocher (US Patent 7237655), of record and Beauchaud et al (US Publication 20180134521), of record.
Claim 2, the difference between the teachings of Kocher and the limitation of claim 2 is that claim 2 recites that the communication device uses wireless communication to communicate with the blocking member.
However, Beauchaud et al teaches an authorization device for an unlocking key in an elevator system comprising: an authorization device 102 in the form of an electronic chip or circuit board configured to enable wireless communication, wherein device 102 communicates with the elevator system that includes controller 316, a landing door 206, a frame 208, a keyway 210 located in the frame which is part of a locking mechanism of the landing door lock (see paragraph 0037) , and unlocking key 200, wherein the authorization device allows the locking mechanism to be unlocked and the landing door 206 to be opened.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use wireless communication in the control system taught by Kocher, since wireless systems allow real-time communication between components and service personnel and provide for faster troubleshooting.
Claims 3-6, Beauchaud et al teaches the use of wireless communication, the specific type of wireless systems is considered a design choice, and it would depend on the intend use of the control system or device.
Claims 16-17, Beauchaud et al teaches the use of wireless communication.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons given above in the rejection of claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RINA I DUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837