Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites an acronym, “PWM”, without defining it in the claims. Examiner suggests defining the acronym in the claim to conform with standard conventions of claim writing. Examiner has not rejected the claim on grounds of clarity because it is well established within the specification and the field of endeavor that PWM stands for pulse width modulation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Schindler et al., German Patent Publication DE 102017003743A1 (hereinafter “Schindler”).
In Reference to claim 1:
Schindler discloses a sensor cover for a vehicle (See, Abstract and Title) comprising: at least one heating element (3.1) that heats a surface of the cover, a field of view that is in an area transparent to electromagnetic waves transmitted from or to the sensor (See, Paragraph [0028]); an electric connector that connects the at least one heating element (3.1) with a power source (See, Paragraph [0030] as such feature is implicit in the operation, the heating element needs to be powered and is powered by electric and therefore would require an electrical connector); at least one control device that controls the operation of the at least one heating element (See, Paragraph [0032] which discloses controlling the current/voltage to the heating element); the at least one heating element (3) generates a variable electrical resistance depending on the variation of its temperature( See, Paragraph [0033]), that is detected by the at least one control device, said at least one control device powering on or off the at least one heating element according to the electric resistance detected by the at least one control device (implicit that the control device would turn the power on and off according to the electrical resistance detected (as such means is a way of determining temperature of the heating element based of its electrical resistance) as once the established temperature and electrical resistance was achieved the controller would turn off to prevent overshooting as there is no longer demand.
In Reference to Claim 4:
Schindler further disclose wherein the electric resistance of the at least one heating element 3 is measured by the detection unit (which communicated with the control device inherently) (4) measuring the voltage at the poles of the heating element. See, Figure 1.
In Reference to Claim 11:
Schindler further discloses wherein the sensor cover comprises two or more heating elements (See, Figure 1) which shows at least two heating elements 3.1 (See, Arrows) running perpendicular to each other.
IN Reference to Claim 12:
Schindler further discloses wherein the electrical connector\ and the one or more control devices are placed outside the field of view (See, Connection outside of FOV to detection unit 4 which is responsible for monitoring the heating element voltage and current, to determine power that will be controlled)
In Reference to Claim 13:
Schindler discloses a method for heating a sensor cover (Figure 1) for vehicles the sensor cover comprising: at least one heating element (3.1) that heats a surface of the cover, a field of view that is in an area transparent to electromagnetic waves transmitted from or to the sensor (See, Paragraph [0028]); an electric connector that connects the at least one heating element (3.1) with a power source (See, Paragraph [0030] as such feature is implicit in the operation, the heating element needs to be powered and is powered by electric and therefore would require an electrical connector); at least one control device that controls the operation of the at least one heating element (See, Paragraph [0032] which discloses controlling the current/voltage to the heating element); the at least one heating element (3) generates a variable electrical resistance depending on the variation of its temperature( See, Paragraph [0033]), that is detected by the at least one control device, said at least one control device powering on or off the at least one heating element according to the electric resistance detected by the at least one control device (implicit that the control device would turn the power on and off according to the electrical resistance detected (as such means is a way of determining temperature of the heating element based of its electrical resistance) as once the established temperature and electrical resistance was achieved the controller would turn off to prevent overshooting as there is no longer demand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al., German Patent Publication DE 102017003743A1 (hereinafter “Schindler”).
In Reference to Claim 2 and 14:
Schindler explicitly discloses all the limitations in claim 1 and 13, respectively, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein, if the electric resistance of the at least one heating element ncreases when its temperature increases, the at least one control device: switches off the at least one heating element when the detected electric resistance is greater than an electric resistance corresponding to a maximum temperature of the heating element, and switches on the at least one heating elementwhen the detected electric resistance is lower than an electric resistance generated at a minimum predetermined temperature.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Schindler to function in the fashion disclosed, specifically such that the electric resistance of the at least one heating element increases when its temperature increases, the at least one control device:switches off the at least one heating element when the detected electric resistance is greater than an electric resistance corresponding to a maximum temperature of the heating element and switches on the at least one heating element when the detected electric resistance is lower than an electric resistance generated at a minimum predetermined temperature because such operation is a standard control for a resistive heating loop. It is well established in the field of endeavor that as the resistor is heated its resistance increases and typically when temperature is reached to reduce energy waste, overheating and overshooting the desired temperature, the controller switches the at least one heating element off when its resistance corresponds to a higher temperature value and likewise when the temperature threshold is not met would switch the current back on to increase the heat.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al., German Patent Publication DE 102017003743A1 (hereinafter “Schindler”) in view of Criminale et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0295824 (hereinafter “Criminale”).
In Reference to Claim 6:
Schindler discloses all the limitations set forth in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the circulating intensity at the at least one heating element is measured by the control device measuring the magnetic field generated by the intensity with a current sensor based on the Hall effect or through a fluxgate magnetic sensor because Schindler is not operating on the principle induction heating but resistive.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Criminale discloses a heating unit wherein the circulating intensity at the at least one heating element is measured by the control device (measuring the magnetic field generated by the intensity with a current sensor based on the Hall effect or through a fluxgate magnetic sensor. See, Paragraph [0026] which explicitly discloses sensing the heating element by using a hall effect sensor.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Schindler with the teachings of Criminale, specifically to modify the heating element such that it is an induction heating which can be thereby sensed by a hall sensor as taught by Criminale, because such a modification is a simple substitution of one known heating means and feedback sensor (Resistive with voltage sensed of Schindler) with another (induction and hall effect sensor of Criminale) providing the same predictable results of heating and feedback sensing of the heating element.
Claim 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al., German Patent Publication DE 102017003743A1 (hereinafter “Schindler”) in view of Karam et al., U.S. Patent Publication US2021/0389547 (hereinafter “Karam”)
In Reference to Claim 7 and 8:
Schindler discloses all the limitations set forth in claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose four-point electric resistance measurement method is used to measure the electric resistance of the at least one heating element and wherein a Wheatstone bridge.
However, in the same field of endeavor heating for lensed camera systems, Karam discloses a resistance measurement method for determining temperature, said method including a four-point electric resistance in the form of a wheatstone bridge (150) for the purpose of improving accuracy of the temperature sensed. See also Paragraph [0120].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Schindler such that the detector 4 of Schindler contain the teachings of Karam, a four point electrical resistance in the formation of a wheatstone bridge because as discussed in Karam such a sensor provides more accurate resistance readings and therefore a more accurate temperature reading.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schindler et al., German Patent Publication DE 102017003743A1 (hereinafter “Schindler”) in view of Haas et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0060576 (hereinafter “Haas”).
In Reference to Claim 9:
Schindler discloses all the limitations set forth in claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose herein the at least one heating element (3.1) is switched on and off by a switch controlled by the at least one control device (4), although likely inherent for Schindler to operate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, heating systems for vehicles, Haas discloses a heating element (ink) which is capable of being switched on or off respectively via a switch, said switch being operated by a controller. See, Paragraph [0063].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Schindler with the teachings of Haas, namely to incorporate the on/off switch of Haas into the control circuit as such features are well established within electrical heating circuits for their advantage of providing a more reliable means of controlling the thermal output of the heater instead of relying on merely a control signal.
In Reference to Claim 10:
Schindler discloses all the limitation of claim 1 but fails to disclose herein the measurements of the temperature control device are triggered by the PWM when it has a duty cycle lower than 100% or by its own periodical pulse when the PWM has a duty cycle of 100%.
However, in the same field of endeavor Haas discloses a temperature control device ( PID controller) that is operated by pulse width modulation to adjust the heating, said PWM being a duty cyle lower than 100%. See, Paragraph [0057].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Schindler such that the controller of Schindler operate the heating element via PWM as taught by Haas because such a modification provides the benefit of “reduc[ing] extreme temperature excursions possible in an "on/off" system. As a result, the life and reliability of the power source may be extend”. See, Paragraph [0057] of Haas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to disclose the control aspect of when the detected electric resistance is lower than an electric resistance generated at a maximum temperature of the hottest point of the heating element , and -switches on the at least one heating element (7) when the detected electric resistance is greater than an electric resistance generated at a minimum predetermined temperature. The prior art operates the heating element in a traditional fashion wherein the resistance increases as the temperature heats up as recited in claim 3 and 15.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of measuring the circulating intensity (magnetic field generated) at the heating element by measuring the voltage at the poles of a resistance connected in series. The prior art fails to disclose such features and Examiner does not believe it would be obvious to modify given that the prior art monitors the heating element and magnetic field in an alternative means.
Conclusion
/DANIEL S COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745