DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s amendments filed on November 17, 2025, in which claims 21-23 have been added, claims 17-20 have been amended, and claims 2, 9, and 16 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2021/0037468) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0144736).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors (fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]), cause the wireless device to: receive one or more configuration parameters comprising: a first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool [0537]); and a second sidelink resource pool having a narrower bandwidth than the first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool. The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534],[0537]-[0538]); and transmit one or more transport blocks via the one or more resources (i.e., when the second UE transmits a sidelink broadcast transmission for a TB (Transport Block), the second UE may be required to select at least a resource in a slot among the first set of slots ([0460]). For sidelink transmission mode 3, The UE shall determine the subframes and resource blocks for transmitting SCI format 1 as follows: SCI format 1 is transmitted in two physical resource blocks per slot in each subframe where the corresponding PSSCH is transmitted ([0089]-[0091]), ([0098], [0141]-[0143]).
Huang does not specifically teach based on determining a starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool to be the same as a starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool, select one or more resources from the second sidelink resource pool.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Li teaches the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]). The second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0314]). The first sidelink resource and the second sidelink resource partly or fully overlap in frequency domain. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are the same ([0338], [0395]). Enabling a device to perform sidelink communication in a carrier/cell, wherein the carrier/cell comprises a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool, (ii) to select, or be scheduled and/or indicated with, a second sidelink resource in a first sidelink slot for delivering/transmitting a second data packet in the second sidelink resource pool, (iii) to perform a sidelink resource selection/re-selection procedure for selecting a first sidelink resource for delivering/transmitting a first data packet in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first device prevents selection of a sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot (e.g., the first device prevents selection of any sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot) as the first sidelink resource, and (iv) to perform a first sidelink transmission on the first sidelink resource ([0424]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Li within the system of Huang in order to enable the first device to9 performs a procedure to select a first sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first sidelink resource is selected from among candidate sidelink resources, of the first sidelink resource pool, that are not in the first sidelink slot.
Regarding claim 3, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the first sidelink resource pool partially, or fully,overlaps with the second sidelink resource pool in the frequency domain (i.e., The sidelink resource pool could be at least partially or fully overlapped in time domain with the second sidelink resource pool. For the overlapped slot, the sidelink resource pool may contain frequency resource which is at least overlapped or non-overlapped with frequency resource contained by the second sidelink resource pool [0464], [0535]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Li further teaches determine that the starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool is to be the same as the starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool (i.e., the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]). The second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0314]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the second sidelink resource pool is narrower, in frequency, than the first sidelink resource pool (The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534], [0537]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches wherein a center of the first sidelink resource pool is not aligned, in the frequency domain, with a center of the second sidelink resource pool ([0470], [0497]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches wherein one or more control channels of the first sidelink resource pool are within the second sidelink resource pool ([0143]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a first wireless device comprising: one or more processors (fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]), cause the wireless device to: transmit, to a second wireless device, one or more configuration parameters comprising: a first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool [0537]); and a second sidelink resource pool having a narrower bandwidth than the first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool. The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534],[0537]-[0538]).
Huang does not specifically teach wherein a starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool is the same as a starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Li teaches the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]). The second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0314]). The first sidelink resource and the second sidelink resource partly or fully overlap in frequency domain. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are the same ([0338], [0395]). Enabling a device to perform sidelink communication in a carrier/cell, wherein the carrier/cell comprises a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool, (ii) to select, or be scheduled and/or indicated with, a second sidelink resource in a first sidelink slot for delivering/transmitting a second data packet in the second sidelink resource pool, (iii) to perform a sidelink resource selection/re-selection procedure for selecting a first sidelink resource for delivering/transmitting a first data packet in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first device prevents selection of a sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot (e.g., the first device prevents selection of any sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot) as the first sidelink resource, and (iv) to perform a first sidelink transmission on the first sidelink resource ([0424]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Li within the system of Huang in order to enable the first device to9 performs a procedure to select a first sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first sidelink resource is selected from among candidate sidelink resources, of the first sidelink resource pool, that are not in the first sidelink slot.
Regarding claim 10, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the first sidelink resource pool partially, or fully,overlaps with the second sidelink resource pool in the frequency domain (i.e., The sidelink resource pool could be at least partially or fully overlapped in time domain with the second sidelink resource pool. For the overlapped slot, the sidelink resource pool may contain frequency resource which is at least overlapped or non-overlapped with frequency resource contained by the second sidelink resource pool [0464], [0535]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches determine to align the starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool with the starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool ([0470], [0497]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the second sidelink resource pool is narrower, in frequency, than the first sidelink resource pool (The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534], [0537]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches a center of the first sidelink resource pool is not aligned, in the frequency domain, with a center of the second sidelink resource pool ([0470], [0497]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches wherein one or more control channels of the first sidelink resource pool are within the second sidelink resource pool ([0143]-[0244]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device (fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]), cause the wireless device to: receive one or more configuration parameters comprising: a first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool [0537]); and a second sidelink resource pool having a narrower bandwidth than the first sidelink resource pool (i.e., a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool. The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534],[0537]-[0538]); and transmit one or more transport blocks via the one or more resources (i.e., when the second UE transmits a sidelink broadcast transmission for a TB (Transport Block), the second UE may be required to select at least a resource in a slot among the first set of slots ([0460]). For sidelink transmission mode 3, The UE shall determine the subframes and resource blocks for transmitting SCI format 1 as follows: SCI format 1 is transmitted in two physical resource blocks per slot in each subframe where the corresponding PSSCH is transmitted ([0089]-[0091]), ([0098], [0141]-[0143]).
Huang does not specifically teach based on determining a starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool to be the same as a starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool, select one or more resources from the second sidelink resource pool.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Li teaches the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]). The second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0314]). The first sidelink resource and the second sidelink resource partly or fully overlap in frequency domain. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are the same ([0338], [0395]). Enabling a device to perform sidelink communication in a carrier/cell, wherein the carrier/cell comprises a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool, (ii) to select, or be scheduled and/or indicated with, a second sidelink resource in a first sidelink slot for delivering/transmitting a second data packet in the second sidelink resource pool, (iii) to perform a sidelink resource selection/re-selection procedure for selecting a first sidelink resource for delivering/transmitting a first data packet in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first device prevents selection of a sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot (e.g., the first device prevents selection of any sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool in the first sidelink slot) as the first sidelink resource, and (iv) to perform a first sidelink transmission on the first sidelink resource ([0424]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Li within the system of Huang in order to enable the first device to9 performs a procedure to select a first sidelink resource in the first sidelink resource pool, wherein the first sidelink resource is selected from among candidate sidelink resources, of the first sidelink resource pool, that are not in the first sidelink slot.
Regarding claim 17, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the first sidelink resource pool partially, or fully,overlaps with the second sidelink resource pool in the frequency domain (i.e., The sidelink resource pool could be at least partially or fully overlapped in time domain with the second sidelink resource pool. For the overlapped slot, the sidelink resource pool may contain frequency resource which is at least overlapped or non-overlapped with frequency resource contained by the second sidelink resource pool [0464], [0535]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Li further teaches determine that the starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool is to be the same as the starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool (i.e., the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]). The second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0314]).
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the second sidelink resource pool is narrower, in frequency, than the first sidelink resource pool (The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0534], [0537]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches wherein a center of the first sidelink resource pool is not aligned, in the frequency domain, with a center of the second sidelink resource pool ([0470], [0497]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the first sidelink resource pool has a first bandwidth ([0534], [0537]-[0538]); and the second sidelink resource pool has a second bandwidth narrower than the first bandwidth (i.e., The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band) [0464], [0537]).
Regarding claim 21, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches one or more control channels of the first sidelink resource pool are within the second sidelink resource pool ([0170]).
Regarding claim 22, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the wireless device to determine whether the first sidelink resource pool overlaps with the second sidelink resource pool (i.e., The sidelink resource pool could be at least partially or fully overlapped in time domain with the second sidelink resource pool. For the overlapped slot, the sidelink resource pool may contain frequency resource which is at least overlapped or non-overlapped with frequency resource contained by the second sidelink resource pool [0464]).
Regarding claim 23, Huang in view of Li teaches all the limitations above. Huang further teaches the second sidelink resource pool is for a power saving wireless device (i.e., The first UE could monitor or sense the second sidelink resource pool by a narrowband RF chain. The first UE could monitor or sense the first sidelink resource pool by a wideband RF chain. It may improve power saving since the first UE does not need to always use wideband RF chain for sensing or monitoring [0538]-[0539]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that First, Li fails to disclose that one or more resources are selected from a resource pool "based on determining a starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool to be the same as a starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool." The Office Action cites to Li's discussion of sidelink resource pools being the same to assume that starting frequencies are the same, and cites to Li's discussion on selecting resources to transmit data packets. However, neither the Office Action nor Li disclose or suggest that resource selection occurs based on the starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool and the starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool being the same.
However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding arguments. First, it is public knowledge that Sidelink resource pools use the same frequency (or reuse frequencies) when devices are close together (within coverage), allowing direct device-to-device communication, especially in public safety (ProSe) or V2X scenarios, leveraging predefined time-frequency patterns to avoid network control while enabling efficient resource sharing for discovery and data, with frequency hopping often used for better reliability and to manage collisions. Second, Li discloses the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]-[0315]). Therefore, “starting frequency resource of the second sidelink resource pool to be the same as starting frequency resource of the first sidelink resource pool” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Li’s reference and common knowledge of V2V communication. For the above reasons, the rejection is final.
It is to be noted that the Examiner acknowledge that Li discloses the first sidelink resource pool and the second resource pool may be in different frequency.
The Applicant further argues that The Office Action citing to Li’s teaching that the first and second resource pools may be the same inherently contradicts the cited portions of Huang, which is being cited for teaching first and second resource pools have a wideband and a narrow band, respectively. In other words, Huang is being cited for teaching resource pools that are different. Therefore, when the Office Action uses Li to say that the resource pools are the same (e.g., may share a same starting frequency), this contradicts the cited features of Huang. Where Li suggests that the first and second sidelink resource pools are the same, the two resource pools may “share” a starting frequency. However, in this scenario, Li does not disclose or suggest that the two resource pools have different bandwidths. Thus, when Li describes that “in some examples” two resource pools that are “the same,” this implies that a second sidelink resource pool does not have a narrower bandwidth than the first sidelink resource pool.
However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding assertion, and maintains that Huang teaches the frequency resources used by the two channels are the same ([0170]) a first UE could be configured with a first sidelink resource pool and a second sidelink resource pool. The first sidelink resource pool may contain more frequency resource(s) than the second sidelink resource pool (e.g., the first sidelink resource pool is wideband). The second sidelink resource pool may contain less frequency resource(s) than the first sidelink resource pool (e.g., the second sidelink resource pool is narrow band). The first sidelink resource pool and the second sidelink resource pool may be TDMed in the carrier (corresponding to one sidelink resource pool is narrower than the other) ([0534], [0537]-[0539]). Knowing that it is public knowledge that Sidelink resource pools use the same frequency (or reuse frequencies) when devices are close together (within coverage), allowing direct device-to-device communication, especially in public safety (ProSe) or V2X scenarios, leveraging predefined time-frequency patterns to avoid network control while enabling efficient resource sharing for discovery and data, with frequency hopping often used for better reliability and to manage collisions. Second, Li discloses the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool may be the same. In some examples, the second sidelink resource pool and the first sidelink resource pool are in a same carrier/cell. In some examples, one or more resources in the first resource pool are in a same carrier/cell as one or more resources in the second resource pool ([0313]-[0315]). Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection for reasons recited above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ding et al. (US 20220330209) teaches a frequency domain resource for the first sidelink resource is the same as a frequency domain resource for the second sidelink resource.
Cai et al. (US 2020/0228283) discloses [0110] Referring to the left part of FIG. 3, a sidelink bandwidth or a resource pool can be divided into a plurality of narrowbands having a same frequency domain width in frequency domain, and each narrowband is identified by using a narrowband index. [0197] A sidelink bandwidth or a resource pool can be divided, in frequency domain, into a plurality of narrowbands having a same frequency domain width, and each narrowband is identified by using a narrowband index.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643