DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1 and 11 are amended
Claims 1-20 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 15, 17, 19, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Huke (US 20220028223) in view of Hubbard et al. (US 20110250937).
Regarding claim 1:
Huke teaches:
A computing system in a cloud computing environment for providing live updates at an event location (Huke [0064] The system also includes a cloud 106 or communication network may be a wired and/or a wireless network. [0070] The process begins with the user logging into the play by play wagering system hosted on the server. Play data can be any sensor data that indicates anything about the live game, such as , but no limited to audio of visual data that indicates “actions”, “sides”, “event” data, “total” data, “listed pitchers”, specific players, whistles, fouls, touchdowns, goals, yardage, player error, etc., at step 300.), comprising:
a first mobile computing device having a processor configured to execute tangible computer-readable instructions for a live-event information tracking application (Huke [0063] This is a system for a community-based event driven wagering platform. This System includes a live event 102, for example a sporting event such as a football game, basketball game, baseball game, hockey game, tennis match, golf tournament, eSports or digital game, etc. [0018] It should be recognized by those skilled in the art that the various sequence of actions described herein can be performed by specific circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuits (ASICs)) and/or by program instructions executed by at least one processor.);
wherein the first mobile computing device is configured to execute tangible computer-readable instructions to display augmented reality elements on an overlay of an image on a screen if one or more trackable GPS-enabled mobile computing devices are within a proximity to the first mobile computing device during the live event (Huke [0060] Augmented reality means a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image on a user's view of the real world, thus providing a composite view. In an example of this invention, a real time view of the game can be seen and a “bet” which is a computer-generated data point is placed above the player that is bet on. Augmented reality can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners. [0008] For example, a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you). [0064] The system may include a plurality of sensors 104 that may be used such as motion sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, cameras such as an RGB-D camera which is a digital camera providing color (RGB) and depth information for every pixel in an image, microphones, radiofrequency receiver, a thermal imager, a radar device, a lidar device, an ultrasound device, a speaker, wearable devices etc. Also, the plurality of sensors may include tracking devices, such as RFID tags, GPS chips or other such devices embedded on uniforms, in equipment, in the field of play, in the boundaries of the field of play, or other markers on the field of play.).
Huke fails to teach:
a plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices, each different from the first mobile computing device and each associated with at least one element of the live-event, each GPS-enabled computing device trackable by a live-event information management system and enabled to be GPS tracked during a live event but not trackable before the event begins or after the events ends;
a server computer different from each of the GPS-enabled computing devices and different from the first mobile computing device for registering the first mobile computing device at an event and configured to track via a GPS system each of the plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices (Huke [Claim 1] receiving, by the wagering platform, a GPS location from the mobile device of at least one of the plurality of users; );
Hubbard teaches:
a plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices, each different from the first mobile computing device and each associated with at least one element of the live-event, each GPS-enabled computing device trackable by a live-event information management system and enabled to be GPS tracked during a live event but not trackable before the event begins or after the events ends (Huke [0008] For example, a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you). [0072] The community building module then queries the GPS of the user device to determine the user's physical location, at step 402.) (Hubbard [Claim 1] a software solution running on a portable device accompanying a race participant such as a cell phones, PDA, BlackBerry.TM., iPhone.TM. or the like, implementing a method to track or download, calculate as necessary and display one or more of the following metrics: Participant location via GPS or other wireless positioning technology, Map and satellite representations of the location of the race distance since beginning of event, elapsed time since beginning of event, average pace since beginning of event,);
a server computer different from each of the GPS-enabled computing devices and different from the first mobile computing device for registering the first mobile computing device at an event and configured to track via a GPS system each of the plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices (Huke [0064] The present invention includes the use of a modification of the current sports wagering system application invention in which it is set up as a peer-to-peer wagering system, where one mobile device acts as the server does in the current invention.)(Hubbard [0071] That route would then be saved to the device and in the users account on the server. In either case, the user would then be presented a graphical map of the race selected with the current GPS location overlaid and a user defined selection of the available metrics shown designated as 2.4 and described below.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the GPS-enabled computing devices comprises a mobile GPS-enabled computing device (Huke [0001] The embodiments are generally related to wagering on individual events inside of a sporting event. The use of mobile devices to facilitate event based wagering, and how the multitude of users of mobile event driven wagering platform interact with one another.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the GPS-enabled computing devices comprises a stationary GPS-enabled computing device (Huke [0067] The peer to peer module 118 allows the user to message other users and propose wagers directly to other users. a user device such as a computing device, laptop, smartphone, tablet, computer, smart speaker, or I/O devices. I/O devices may be present in the computing device.).
A GPS computing device is not limited to a device that must be in motion at all times, therefore someone skilled in the art can assume any device that may be moving could also be stationary.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 4:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein the live event comprises a golf tournament and at least one of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices comprises a golfer placard at the golf tournament associated with at least one golf tournament participant (Huke [0031] The term event refers to a form of play, sport, contest, or game, especially one played according to rules and decided by skill, strength, or luck. In some embodiments, an event may be football, hockey, basketball, baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, cricket, rugby, MMA, boxing, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, horse racing, car racing, boat racing, cycling, wrestling, Olympic sport, etc. Event can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein the live event comprises a racing event and at least one of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices comprises a device mounted to a participant in the racing event (Huke [0031] The term event refers to a form of play, sport, contest, or game, especially one played according to rules and decided by skill, strength, or luck. In some embodiments, an event may be football, hockey, basketball, baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, cricket, rugby, MMA, boxing, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, horse racing, car racing, boat racing, cycling, wrestling, Olympic sport, etc. Event can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 6:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein the live event comprises a convention and at least one of the plurality of GPS-enabled devices comprises a device mounted to a booth participant at the convention (Huke [0051] Kiosks are devices that offer interactions with customers clients and users with a wide range of modular solutions for both retail and online sports gaming. Kiosks can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 7:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the augmented reality elements comprises a second mobile computing device associated with a known friend of a user of the first mobile computing device (Huke [0072] The community building module then polls the user for additional communities to join or friends to invite, at step 418. The community building module allows for the user to join another community or invite another friend to a community the module returns to step 410.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the augmented reality elements comprises a second mobile computing device associated with a favorite participant in the live event (Huke [0026] The “sides” are the two teams or individuals participating in an event: the underdog and the favorite.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 9:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the augmented reality elements comprises a physical stationary location having a GPS-enabled computing device affixed thereto (Huke [0053] State based integration allows for a given sports gambling game to be modified by states in the United States or countries, based upon the state the player is in, based upon mobile phone or other geolocation identification means. State based integration can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 10:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The computing system of claim 1,
wherein the first mobile computing device is configured to execute tangible computer-readable instructions to display a configurable menus of selectable augmented reality elements on an overlay of the image on the screen during the live event (Huke [0072] The community building module present the user with all of the communities identified in steps 404, 406 and 408, and display those communities for the user to select on the user device interface, at step 410.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11:
Huke teaches:
A computing method of providing live updates about a live event during the live event to attendees of the live event, the method comprising (Huke [0070] The process begins with the user logging into the play by play wagering system hosted on the server. Play data can be any sensor data that indicates anything about the live game, such as , but no limited to audio of visual data that indicates “actions”, “sides”, “event” data, “total” data, “listed pitchers”, specific players, whistles, fouls, touchdowns, goals, yardage, player error, etc., at step 300.):
executing a live-event information tracking system at a server computer communicatively coupled to a computer network (Huke [0064] The system also includes a cloud 106 or communication network may be a wired and/or a wireless network.);
establishing communication and determine GPS location of a plurality of GPS-enable computing devices associated with the live event via the computer network (Huke [0008] For example, a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you). [0072] The community building module then queries the GPS of the user device to determine the user's physical location, at step 402.);
tracking the plurality of GPS-enabled devices computing devices and pushing updates to one or more user computing devices having a pre-established credentialed relationship with the live-event information tracking system (Huke [0070] The process begins with the user logging into the play by play wagering system hosted on the server. Play data can be any sensor data that indicates anything about the live game, such as , but no limited to audio of visual data that indicates “actions”, “sides”, “event” data, “total” data, “listed pitchers”, specific players, whistles, fouls, touchdowns, goals, yardage, player error, etc., at step 300.);
displaying an augmented-reality element associated with one of the plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices overlayed on an image displayed on the user computer device if the respective GPS location of the respective GPS-enabled device is determined to be in proximity to the user computing device (Huke [0060] Augmented reality means a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image on a user's view of the real world, thus providing a composite view. In an example of this invention, a real time view of the game can be seen and a “bet” which is a computer-generated data point is placed above the player that is bet on. Augmented reality can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners. [0008] For example, a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you). [0064] The system may include a plurality of sensors 104 that may be used such as motion sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, cameras such as an RGB-D camera which is a digital camera providing color (RGB) and depth information for every pixel in an image, microphones, radiofrequency receiver, a thermal imager, a radar device, a lidar device, an ultrasound device, a speaker, wearable devices etc. Also, the plurality of sensors may include tracking devices, such as RFID tags, GPS chips or other such devices embedded on uniforms, in equipment, in the field of play, in the boundaries of the field of play, or other markers on the field of play.);
indicating to the server computer that the live event has ended (Huke [0028] to “push” refers to when the event or game ends with no winner or loser for wagering purposes, a tie for wagering purposes.);
terminating communication and stop tracking GPS location of the plurality of GPS-enable computing devices associated with the live event (Huke [Claim 1] calculating odds of events within a live sporting event for real time play by play wagering; communicating the odds as available wagers to a mobile device of at least one of the plurality of users; receiving selected wagers from the mobile device of at least one of the plurality of users; receiving, by the wagering platform, a GPS location from the mobile device of at least one of the plurality of users;).
Huke fails to teach:
indicating to the server computer that the live event has commenced
Hubbard teaches:
indicating to the server computer that the live event has commenced (Hubbard [0072] The racer will also be able to enable observation of other race participants on his local display. The ability to start and or stop the race either manually or automatically based on GPS location will be provided.);
indicating to the server computer that the live event has ended (Hubbard [0072] The racer will also be able to enable observation of other race participants on his local display. The ability to start and or stop the race either manually or automatically based on GPS location will be provided. [0005] Server--For the purpose of this concept, the server should be consider one or more remote computing, communications and storage devices accessible by the local devices and capable of receiving, storing, manipulating and transmitting data to and from users and observers during a race as well as providing access to data in its storage. The server will provide adequate security to ensure servicing only communications with adequate authority.);
It is obvious to one skilled in the art that once an event ends or there is no more reason to track the GPS location of a user the program would terminate the GPS connection.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein displaying the augmented-reality element further comprises displaying the augmented-reality element associated with one of the plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices if the respective GPS location of the respective GPS-enabled device is determined to be within 500 yards of the user computing device (Huke [0008] a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein indicating to the server computer that the live event has commenced further comprises indicating that a golf tournament has commenced (Huke [0031] The term event refers to a form of play, sport, contest, or game, especially one played according to rules and decided by skill, strength, or luck. In some embodiments, an event may be football, hockey, basketball, baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, cricket, rugby, MMA, boxing, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, horse racing, car racing, boat racing, cycling, wrestling, Olympic sport, etc. Event can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein indicating to the server computer that the live event has commenced further comprises indicating that a racing event has commenced (Huke [0031] The term event refers to a form of play, sport, contest, or game, especially one played according to rules and decided by skill, strength, or luck. In some embodiments, an event may be football, hockey, basketball, baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, cricket, rugby, MMA, boxing, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, horse racing, car racing, boat racing, cycling, wrestling, Olympic sport, etc. Event can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein indicating to the server computer that the live event has commenced further comprises indicating that a convention has commenced (Huke [0031] The term event refers to a form of play, sport, contest, or game, especially one played according to rules and decided by skill, strength, or luck. In some embodiments, an event may be football, hockey, basketball, baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, cricket, rugby, MMA, boxing, swimming, skiing, snowboarding, horse racing, car racing, boat racing, cycling, wrestling, Olympic sport, etc. Event can be integrated into the embodiments in a variety of manners.).
A sporting event may be interpreted as a convention especially if the sporting event is a multi-day event such as the Olympics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving input at a menu on the display of the user computer device from the user to determine type of augmented-reality elements to receive push updates (Huke [0008] For example, a user can scan his or her game ticket into the data management and analytics software system and then receive notifications as to the locations of fellow leaderboard members also in attendance (e.g., number forty is two rows behind you).);
and display only the selected type of augmented-reality element (Huke [0008] Furthermore, users can identify fellow leaderboard members at a local sports bar, for example, and create a sub-leaderboard consisting only of those members in attendance.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 19:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein displaying the augmented-reality element further comprises displaying the augmented-reality element on an image representing a horizon view from the GPS location of the user computing device (Huke [0060] Augmented reality means a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image on a user's view of the real world, thus providing a composite view.).
It can be interpreted that if an augmented reality device as claimed in Huke provides a computer-generated view on a user’s view, a user operating the augmented reality device would be able to view a horizontal view at the GPS location.
Regarding claim 20:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
wherein displaying the augmented-reality element further comprises displaying the augmented-reality element on an image captured by a camera on the GPS location of the user computing device (Huke [0060] Augmented reality means a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image on a user's view of the real world, thus providing a composite view.).
A user operating an augmented reality device which provides graphical overlays over a live view is known to be capturing video or images in real time, therefore one skilled in the art may assume that an element may be displayed in the view.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Hubbard. Having multiple different devices being connected with GPS that are trackable, as in Hubbard, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a to have multiple devices tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having multiple devices have their location tracked, to yield predictable results.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Huke (US 20220028223) in view of Hubbard et al. (US 20110250937) and Wence et al. (US 20070168126).
Regarding claim 16:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
Huke and Hubbard do not teach:
receiving input from the user to determine waypoints on a display
and generating walking directions in response to establishing the waypoints.
Wence teaches:
receiving input from the user to determine waypoints on a display (Wence [0089] To operate the navigation system, use the input buttons 50 of the device to select the waypoint finder application. Press any input button 50 to identify your origin, the place to which you want to return.);
and generating walking directions in response to establishing the waypoints (Wence [0089] From your current position, you should travel the number of meters indicated by the distance 40 in the direction indicated by the directional arrow 30. The arrow 30 will point directly at the origin. If you turn the device 10 and face a different direction, the arrow 30 will turn to show the new direction relative to the device 10, but will still point at the origin.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Wence. Navigating different waypoints in an area, as in Wence, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to navigate using the program. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, navigating waypoints based on a user input, to yield predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Huke (US 20220028223) in view of Hubbard et al. (US 20110250937) and Crutchfield et al. (US 20150296340).
Regarding claim 18:
Huke and Hubbard teach:
The method of claim 11,
Huke and Hubbard do not teach:
wherein displaying the augmented-reality element further comprises displaying the augmented-reality element on an image representing an arial view from the GPS location of the user computing device.
Crutchfield teaches:
wherein displaying the augmented-reality element further comprises displaying the augmented-reality element on an image representing an arial view from the GPS location of the user computing device (Crutchfield [0021] The mobile device app 105 may also communicate with a location server 104, such as a Google™ Maps API server, to support the bird's eye view of the mobile device 101. [0022] The mobile device 101, may be equipped with a GPS module 106 to determine the position (e.g., longitude and latitude) and a gyroscope sensor 107 to determine the orientation (e.g., yaw, pitch, and roll) of the mobile device 101 and its camera (not shown)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huke with Crutchfield. Being able to see an arial view with GPS, as in Crutchfield, would benefit the Huke teachings by allowing for a way to get a bird’s eye view of the area that is tracked. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, viewing a certain area through an arial view, to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 11. Reference US 20130072301 has been removed and added to teach the US 20110250937 amended limitations of “a plurality of GPS-enabled computing devices, each different from the first mobile computing device and each associated with at least one element of the live-event, each GPS-enabled computing device trackable by a live-event information management system and enabled to be GPS tracked during a live event but not trackable before the event begins or after the events ends.” Which was added in an earlier amendment and “a server computer different from each of the GPS-enabled computing devices and different from the first mobile computing device”
In light of the amendments, the 103 rejection for independent claims 1 and 11 has been updated to include Hubbard (US 20110250937). Hubbard includes teachings of a server computer as well as “(Hubbard [0072] The racer will also be able to enable observation of other race participants on his local display. The ability to start and or stop the race either manually or automatically based on GPS location will be provided. [0005] Server--For the purpose of this concept, the server should be consider one or more remote computing, communications and storage devices accessible by the local devices and capable of receiving, storing, manipulating and transmitting data to and from users and observers during a race as well as providing access to data in its storage. The server will provide adequate security to ensure servicing only communications with adequate authority.).” It would be reasonable to assume that during a “racing event” the participants wouldn’t be able to track the location of a vehicle not during an event.
Therefore, in light of the amendments, claims 1 and 11 are rejected by 35 U.S.C. 103. All dependent claims have also been updated.
Regarding dependent claim 16, the 103 rejection stands. Wence teaches navigating waypoints with arrows that show walking directions. It would be obvious to someone with ordinarily skill in the art that having waypoints and navigating with them could be used for a live event (Wence [0089] To operate the navigation system, use the input buttons 50 of the device to select the waypoint finder application. Press any input button 50 to identify your origin, the place to which you want to return.) (Wence [0089] From your current position, you should travel the number of meters indicated by the distance 40 in the direction indicated by the directional arrow 30. The arrow 30 will point directly at the origin. If you turn the device 10 and face a different direction, the arrow 30 will turn to show the new direction relative to the device 10, but will still point at the origin.).
Regarding dependent claim 18, the 103 rejection stands. Crutchfield teaches a bird’s eye view of the device. It would be obvious to someone with ordinarily skill in the art that a bird’s eye view may be displayed on an augmented device (Crutchfield [0021] The mobile device app 105 may also communicate with a location server 104, such as a Google™ Maps API server, to support the bird's eye view of the mobile device 101. [0022] The mobile device 101, may be equipped with a GPS module 106 to determine the position (e.g., longitude and latitude) and a gyroscope sensor 107 to determine the orientation (e.g., yaw, pitch, and roll) of the mobile device 101 and its camera (not shown)).
Conclusion
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612