DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 is objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokoo US PGPUB 2022/0314809.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Yokoo discloses a fuel cell vehicle [fig. 4, 30] comprising:
a fuel cell stack and a battery [fig. 4, batteries 3 & 4 and fuel cells 13 & 14; pars. 24-25];
a drive motor configured to drive the vehicle through electrical energy of the fuel cell stack or the battery [fig. 4, motors 1 and 2 are powered by all of batteries 3 and 4 and fuel cells 13 and 14], and to generate electric power through regenerative braking during braking [par. 25]; and
a controller configured to set a limit of a regenerative braking output of a drive motor upon braking of the vehicle [par. 22 & 25; BMS 7 controls the charging of the battery packs to maintain batteries within a certain SOC window, such that regenerating braking output (charging) to one battery can be prevented (a limit) and provided to another instead or limited all the way (fig. 2, ratio of SOC to SOCmax greater than 1 results in “No regenerative braking”], wherein the controller sets the limit of regenerative braking output based on a driving environment factor in an exterior of the vehicle [par. 21 & 23; after “descending a long hill” braking can be limited if the batteries are charged too high (fig. 2, “no regenerative braking”) and torque (including braking torque) can be controlled according to the incline of the vehicle (par. 6 & 21)], a vehicle manipulation factor of a vehicle driver [par. 28; the driver’s use of the accelerator and brake pedals can be used to provide input regarding required torque], and a vehicle driving factor as to a driving state of a vehicle part comprising the fuel cell stack and the battery [par. 25; the entire state of the energy system (batteries and fuel cells) can be considered (“in coordination”), thus a vehicle driving factor].
Regarding claim 14, the method steps disclosed therein would have been are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 1. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Regarding claim 2, Yokoo discloses wherein the vehicle environment factor comprises an inclination of a road [pars. 21 & 23], the controller reduces the regenerative braking output limit of the drive motor as a downhill inclination of the road increases [fig. 2; pars. 6, 21 & 23].
Regarding claim 3, Yokoo discloses wherein the vehicle manipulation factor comprises a depth variation of a brake pedal or a depth variation of an accelerator pedal, and the controller reduces the regenerative braking output limit of the drive motor as the depth variation of the brake pedal or the depth variation of the accelerator pedal increases [par. 28; the driver’s use of the accelerator and brake pedals can be used to provide input regarding required torque; accelerator and brake pedals send depth of pedal signals to control their respective systems].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the vehicle driving factor comprises an output consumption amount of a fuel cell balance of plant (BoP), and the controller reduces the regenerative braking output limit of the drive motor as the output consumption amount of the fuel cell BoP increases” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the controller calculates a reference regenerative braking output limit according to a state of charge (SOC) of the battery, and sets the regenerative braking output limit of the drive motor by reflecting the driving environment factor, the vehicle manipulation factor, and the vehicle driving factor in the reference regenerative braking output limit through an expression as follows: Z = X - di*D + (ai*Ai + a2*A2 + a3*A3), where Z is a regenerative braking output limit; X is a reference regenerative braking output limit; D is an amount of electric power generated through the fuel cell stack; Ai is a driving environment factor; A2 is a vehicle manipulation factor; A3 is a vehicle driving factor; and ai, a2, a3, and di are constants” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the controller controls the regenerative braking output of the drive motor in accordance with the set regenerative braking output limit upon beginning of regenerative braking, and again sets the regenerative braking output limit based on a difference between the regenerative braking output limit and a regenerative output of the drive motor after beginning of regenerative braking” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 6.
Claims 7-13, being dependent on claim 6, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 6.
With respect to claim 15, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein setting the limit of the regenerative braking output comprises: calculating a reference regenerative braking out limit according to a state of charge (SOC) of the battery; calculating, by the controller, an amount of electric power generated in the fuel cell stack; calculating, by the controller, an offset based on the driving environment factor, the vehicle manipulation factor and the vehicle driving factor; and setting the regenerative braking output limit by performing an arithmetic operation based on the calculated reference regenerative braking output limit, the calculated amount of electric power generated in the fuel cell stack, and the calculated offset” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US PGPUB 2021/0387545 discloses a hybrid fuel cell electric vehicle that adjusts regenerative braking based on the road environment.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859