DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18: the term “can” should be changed to --is configured to--; and
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Gaiser (US 20200148036 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gaiser discloses
An electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1), comprising:
an electronic housing (automobile, fig.1) in which control components (intended use) are accommodated; and
a drying assembly (FC, SC, annotated figure below) having a dryer housing (element 1, fig.1) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (element 12, fig.1) is accommodated and which has at least one opening (element 2, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (automobile), wherein the drying assembly (FC, SC) is adapted such that the opening (element 2) prevents passage of the drying agent (element 12) into the electronic housing (automobile);
wherein the dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure below) comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber (FC, annotated figure below) for the drying agent (element 12) and a separate, second accommodation chamber (SC, annotated figure below) for a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent (element 12).
Regarding claim 11, Gaiser discloses
A drying assembly (FC, SC, annotated figure below) for a control device (electric automobile, fig.1) that is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 volts (intended use) in an electrically driven vehicle, wherein the control device (electric automobile) comprises an electronic housing (automobile, fig.1) with control components (intended use) accommodated therein, the drying assembly (FC, SC) comprising:
a rigid dryer housing (element 1, fig.1) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (element 12, fig.1) is accommodated and which comprises at least one opening (element 2, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (automobile), wherein the drying assembly (FC, SC) is adapted such that the opening (element 2) prevents passage of the drying agent (element 12) into the electronic housing (automobile);
wherein the dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure below) comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber (FC, annotated figure below) for the drying agent (element 12) and a separate, second accommodation chamber (SC, annotated figure below) for a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent (element 12).
Regarding claim 15, Gaiser discloses
An electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1) installed in an electric vehicle, which electronic device (electric automobile) is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 (intended use) volts and comprises:
an electronic housing (element 1, fig.1) which is installed in the electric vehicle and in which control components of the electronic device (electric automobile) are accommodated;
a drying assembly (FC, SC, annotated figure below) which is installed in the electric vehicle and which has a dryer housing (element 1, fig.1) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (element 12, fig.1) is accommodated and which has at least one opening (element 2, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (element 1), wherein the drying assembly (FC, SC) is adapted such that the opening (element 2) prevents passage of the drying agent (element 12) into the electronic housing (element 1), and wherein the drying assembly includes (FC, SC, annotated figure below) a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent (element 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiser (US 20200148036 A1) in view of Rongmu (CN 208022107).
Regarding claim 1, Gaiser discloses
An electronic device (heating system 12, fig.1), comprising:
an electronic housing (reactant storage container 18, fig.1) in which control components (filling level sensor 34, fig.1) are accommodated; and
a drying assembly (reaction container 14, fig.1) having a dryer housing (housing of reaction container 14) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (first reactant 22, fig.1) is accommodated and which has at least one opening (valve assembly 30, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (reactant storage container 18), wherein the drying assembly (reaction container 14) is adapted such that the opening (valve assembly 30) prevents a passage of the drying agent (second reactant 24) into the electronic housing (reactant storage container 18).
However, Gaiser does not disclose the dryer housing comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber for the drying agent and a separate, second accommodation chamber for a regeneration device configured to regenerate the drying agent.
Rongmu discloses an electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1), comprising: a dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure below) comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber (FC, annotated figure below) for the drying agent (element 12, fig.1) and a separate, second accommodation chamber (SC, annotated figure below) for a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, by at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber and a separate, second accommodation chamber for a regeneration device, as taught by Rongmu, in order to dry agent and regenerate the drying agent.
Regarding claim 6, Gaiser discloses
the regeneration device (heat conductor device 54, fig.1) comprises at least one PTC heating element [Par.0003 cited: “…To achieve sufficient heating in such vehicles as well, it is known, for example, to use electrical heating devices, for example, PTC heaters…”] which is convectively and/or radiantly coupled to the drying agent (first reactant 22, fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Gaiser discloses
the regeneration device (heat conductor device 54, fig.1) is accommodated in the dryer housing (housing of reaction container 14, fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, Gaiser discloses
a PTC heating element [Par.0003 cited: “…To achieve sufficient heating in such vehicles as well, it is known, for example, to use electrical heating devices, for example, PTC heaters…”] which is electrically connected to the electronic device (heating system 12, fig.1), which can be controlled by at least one of the control components (filling level sensor 34, fig.1), and which is configured for heating a heat carrier (heat removal device 58, fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Gaiser discloses
the electronic device (heating system 12, fig.1) is configured to be installed in a vehicle (vehicle 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Gaiser discloses
A drying assembly (reaction container 14, fig.1) for a control device (heating system 12, fig.1) in a vehicle (vehicle 10, fig.1), wherein the control device (heating system 12) comprises an electronic housing (reactant storage container 18, fig.1) with control components (filling level sensor 34, fig.1) accommodated therein, the drying assembly (reaction container 14, fig.1) comprising: a rigid dryer housing (housing of reaction container 14, fig.1) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (first reactant 22, fig.1) is accommodated and which comprises at least one opening (valve assembly 30, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (housing of reaction container 14), wherein the drying assembly (reaction container 14) is adapted such that the opening (valve assembly 30) prevents passage of the drying agent (first reactant 22) into the electronic housing (reactant storage container 18).
However, Gaiser does not disclose a drying assembly for a control device that is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 volts in an electrically driven vehicle, and the dryer housing comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber for the drying agent and a separate, second accommodation chamber for a regeneration device configured to regenerate the drying agent.
Rongmu discloses an electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1) in an electrically driven vehicle, comprising: a dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure below) comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber (FC, annotated figure below) for the drying agent and a separate, second accommodation chamber (SC, annotated figure below) for a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, by at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber and a separate, second accommodation chamber for a regeneration device, as taught by Rongmu, in order to dry agent and regenerate the drying agent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the drying assembly of Gaiser, with a control device that is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 volts in an electrically driven vehicle, in order suitable for the user application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, Gaiser discloses
the dryer housing (housing of reaction container 14, fig.1) has a further opening formed therein (opening heat removal device 58, fig.1).
Regarding claim 15, Gaiser discloses
An electronic device (heating system 12, fig.1) comprises:
an electronic housing (reactant storage container 18, fig.1) which is installed in the electric vehicle (intended use) and in which control components of the electronic device (heating system 12) are accommodated;
a drying assembly (reaction container 14, fig.1) which is installed in the electric vehicle (intended use) and which has a dryer housing (housing of reaction container 14) in which a hygroscopic drying agent (first reactant 22, fig.1) is accommodated and which has at least one opening (valve assembly 30, fig.1) communicating with the electronic housing (reactant storage container 18), wherein the drying assembly (reaction container 14) is adapted such that the opening prevents passage of the drying agent (first reactant 22) into the electronic housing (reactant storage container 18).
However, Gaiser does not disclose the electronic device installed in an electric vehicle, which electronic device is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 volts and comprises the drying assembly includes a regeneration device configured to regenerate the drying agent.
Rongmu discloses an electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1) in an electrically driven vehicle, comprising: a dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure below) comprises a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent (element 12, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, by including a regeneration device, as taught by Rongmu, in order to regenerate the drying agent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the drying assembly of Gaiser, with a control device that is adapted to control electrical currents of over 200 volts in an electrically driven vehicle, in order suitable for the user application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 16, Rongmu discloses
the dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure above) comprises at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber (FC, annotated figure below) for the drying agent and a separate, second accommodation chamber (SC, annotated figure below) for a regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) configured to regenerate the drying agent (element 12, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, by at least two parts and forms a first accommodation chamber and a separate, second accommodation chamber for a regeneration device, as taught by Rongmu, in order to dry agent and regenerate the drying agent.
Regarding claim 18, Rongmu discloses
the at least one opening (element 2, fig.1) of the dryer housing (FC, SC, annotated figure above) is the only opening through which moisture escapes when the regeneration device (elements 5, 6, 9, fig.1) regenerates the drying agent (element 12, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, by including the at least one opening of the dryer housing is the only opening, as taught by Rongmu, in order to escape when the regeneration device regenerates the drying agent.
Regarding claim 19, Rongmu discloses
the electronic device (electric automobile, fig.1) indirectly or directly controls a motor unit (element 8, fig.1) in the electric vehicle, but does not disclose motor unit has a power of more than 1 MW.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Rongmu, has a power of more than 1 MW, in order to provide an air flow, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 2-4, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiser (US 20200148036 A1) in view of Rongmu (CN 208022107) and further in view of Goenka et al. (US 5968386).
Regarding claim 2, Gaiser discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose a grid or screen that is provided in the dryer housing, and wherein the drying agent is fixed or retained in the dryer housing via the grid or the screen.
Goenka discloses a grid or screen that is provided in the dryer housing (case 51, fig.3) [Col.2, lines 45-49 cited: “…case 51 may comprise a rigid housing made of plastic, metal, ceramic, or some other material with apertures, screens, or other means therein for allowing the desiccant material 53 to absorb through the case 51 any moisture present within the pocket 20…”], and wherein the drying agent (desiccant material 53, fig.3) is fixed or retained in the dryer housing (case 51) via the grid or the screen (screens, Col.2, lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Gaiser’s invention, by including a grid or screen that is provided in the dryer housing, and wherein the drying agent is fixed or retained in the dryer housing via the grid or the screen, as taught by Goenka, in order to protect the dryer housing.
Regarding claim 3, Gaiser discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose the dryer housing is detachably connected to the electronic housing.
Goenka discloses the dryer housing (case 51, fig.3) is detachably connected to the electronic housing (outer periphery 18, fig.4) [case 51 can be disconnected to the outer periphery 18, fig.5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a dryer housing of Gaiser, is detachably connected to the electronic housing, as taught by Goenka, in order to provide a removable connection of dryer housing and electronic housing.
Regarding claim 4, Gaiser discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose the dryer housing is configured to be rigid, wherein the rigid section of the dryer housing is provided with a fastener that releasably connects the dryer housing to the electronic housing.
Goenka discloses the dryer housing (case 51, fig.3) is configured to be rigid (element 24, fig.4), wherein the rigid section (element 24) of the dryer housing (case 51) is provided with a fastener [element 24 can be a fastener, fig.4] that releasably connects the dryer housing (case 51) to the electronic housing (outer periphery 18, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer housing of Gaiser, is configured to be at least substantially or sectionally rigid, wherein the rigid section of the dryer housing is provided with a fastener that releasably connects the dryer housing to the electronic housing, as taught by Goenka, in order to provide a connection of dryer housing and electronic housing.
Regarding claim 13, Gaiser discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose the drying assembly comprises a fastener for releasable connecting the drying assembly to an electronic housing.
Goenka discloses the drying assembly (desiccant element 50, figs.3-5) comprises a fastener (element 24, fig.4) for releasable connecting the drying assembly (desiccant element 50) to an electronic housing (outer periphery 18, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the drying assembly of Gaiser, comprises a fastener for releasable connecting the drying assembly to an electronic housing, as taught by Goenka, in order to provide a connection of dryer housing and electronic housing.
Regarding claim 17, Gaiser discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose the drying assembly is screwed to the electronic housing.
Goenka discloses the drying assembly (case 51, fig.3) is screwed [element 24, fig.4 can be considered as “screwed”] to the electronic housing (outer periphery 18, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dryer assembly of Gaiser, is screwed to the electronic housing, as taught by Goenka, in order to provide a connection of dryer housing and electronic housing.
Response to Amendment/Argument
With respect to Claim Objections and Rejection 112b: the applicant amendment filed on 07/24/2026, that overcame the Claim Objection and Rejection 112b in the previous Office action, but the newly added claim 18 has raised the new issue of Claim Objections. See above.
With respect to 102 and 103 Rejection: the applicant amendments and arguments in Remark filed on 07/24/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. See Rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gyoerke et al. (US 20210394105 A1) is considered as a relevant prior art in field of a gas contaminate elimination device, as shown in fig.1, with a housing, multiple chambers, but does not explicitly disclose drying agent and regenerate the drying agent…
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/09/2026