DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are faded. Applicant is requested to provide new drawings of better quality in which all lines and numbers are sufficiently dark, well defined and uniformly sized.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show following claimed features in sufficient detail, which is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention. The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A tool interface with a pinless inductive connection (claim 10)
A tooling cage or basket near the predetermined subsea location proximate a subsea infrastructure or subsea asset (claim 15)
the subsea tool system connected to the subsea infrastructure via a tooling interface connection (claim 16)
data and power connection between the subsea tool system and the subsea asset or subsea infrastructure via the tooling interface connection (claim 16)
a detachable wet mate connector tied to subsea infrastructure (claim 17)
a static unit/cage (claim 19)
Claim objections
Claim 10 is objected to because it does not depend from a preceding claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 10 is being treated as depending from claim 7.
Applicant is requested to make appropriate correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 15-17 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 9 sets forth a tool interface that is capable of providing simultaneous mechanical bi-directional torque/rotational power and communication via induction.
Claim 10 sets forth a tool interface comprises a pinless inductive connection that is capable of providing rotational/mechanical power and data communication between the small remotely operated vehicle tool and the main vehicle.
Claim 11 sets forth providing data communication and command signals between the main vehicle and a secondary subsea vehicle or the small remotely operated vehicle using an inductor provided on and between the tooling interface and a male adapter of the subsea tool system.
Claim 15 sets forth placing a predetermined set of tools and the subsea tool system into a tooling cage or basket near the predetermined subsea location, and then using the small remotely operated vehicle to carry the subsea tool system in the tooling basket.
Claim 16 further sets forth connecting the tool system to a subsea infrastructure or subsea asset via the tooling interface connection, and establishing a data and power connection between the subsea tool system and the subsea asset or subsea infrastructure via the tooling interface connection
Claim 17 sets forth a detachable wet mate connector tied to subsea infrastructure, and a power connection and data communication through the detachable wet mate connector and the tooling interface connection.
Claim 20 sets forth using the subsea tool system to function as an antenna for receiving and transferring communication signals wirelessly from a separate subsea vehicle.
However, it is noted that the disclosure does not provide sufficient detail on any of the above claimed mechanisms or how the claimed functionality is achieved. Therefore, in absence of adequate guidance in the specification, a person skilled in the art would not be able to make and/or use the claimed invention.
Claims 4 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4 (line 1), the limitation “wherein main vehicle adapter” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from the main vehicle adapter set forth in the preceding claim 1. Did the applicant intend this limitation to be “wherein the main vehicle adapter”?
In claim 7 (line 15), the limitation “a main vehicle” renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from the main vehicle set forth on line 2 of the same claim.
In claim 7 (line 23), the limitation “a common drive interface” renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from the common drive interface set forth on line 6 of the same claim.
In claim 10, the limitation “a pinless inductive connection configured to provide rotational power, mechanical power … or a combination of rotational power, mechanical power” emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear how the rotational power is different from the mechanical power.
In claim 11 (line 1), the limitation “wherein data communication” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from data communication set forth in the preceding claim 10. Did the applicant intend this limitation to be “wherein the data communication”?
In claim 13 (line 8), the limitation “a main vehicle” renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from the main vehicle set forth on line 1 of the same claim.
In claim 13 (line 13), the limitation “a common drive interface” renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if it is same or different from the common drive interface set forth on line 3 of the same claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hansen et al. (US 2019/0224858 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Hansen et al. disclose a subsea tool system, comprising: a housing [20] mounted on a main vehicle [2] (see ¶0041), a small remotely operated vehicle [120], and a main vehicle adapter [21b, 110, 111, 112] (see Figures 2, 8, 9 and 11; and ¶0033 through ¶0035, and ¶0046 through ¶0047). The housing comprises a predetermined footprint that is configured to fit within a predetermined space that is larger than the housing, and the small remotely operated vehicle comprises a predetermined size that is smaller than a narrow region or a constricted area where a larger subsea vehicle cannot enter due to size constraints of the larger subsea vehicle. The main vehicle adapter is configured to operatively connect the small remotely operated vehicle to the main vehicle. The subsea tool system further comprises a tether management system (TMS) disposed at least partially within the housing and configured to provide an adaptive length tether connection between the small remotely operated vehicle and the housing, wherein the TMS comprising a cable operatively connected to a cable retriever that is configured to selectively spool in or spool out the cable (see Fig 9 and Fig 16; and ¶0049).
Re claim 3, a power source [220, 221] is operatively in communication with the TMS (see ¶0022).
Re claim 4, as best understood, the main vehicle adapter comprises a male adapter configured to connect with the main vehicle through a tooling interface to provide power to the subsea tool system (Fig 1 and Fig 2).
Re claim 7, the main vehicle further comprises rounded front and aft ends (see Fig 9 and Fig 13a), and a tool interface comprising: a common drive interface; and a power interface (see ¶0025). The system further comprises a predetermined set of tools with a common drive interface; and a tool repository configured to selectively store the predetermined set of tools. (see Fig 9, and ¶0023 and ¶0034).
Re claim 8, the common drive interface comprises a plug and play interface (see ¶0029)
Re claim 9, the tool interface is capable of providing simultaneous mechanical bi-directional torque or rotational power and communication via induction (¶0025).
Re claim 10, as best understood, the tool interface comprises a pinless inductive connection is capable of providing, and therefore configured to provide, rotational/mechanical power, data communication between the small remotely operated vehicle tool and the main vehicle, or a combination of rotational/mechanical power, and communication between small remotely operated vehicle tool and the main vehicle.
Re claim 11, as best understood, the data communication comprises communication of data and command signals between the main vehicle and a secondary subsea vehicle or the small remotely operated vehicle using an inductor provided on and between the tooling interface and a male adapter of the subsea tool system (see Fig 12, and ¶0025 and ¶0036).
Re claim 12, the main vehicle comprises a remotely operated vehicle (ROV), an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV), a subsea drone, a dredging vehicle, a subsea crawler, a hybrid underwater vehicle, a resident remotely operated vehicle, or a skid (¶0042)
Re method claims 13-14, the steps set forth in the claims are considered encompassed in the construction and subsequent use of the device described above. Specifically, the main vehicle itself is broadly considered to be a tool repository for storing a predetermined set of tools each with a common drive interface. Therefore, when the main vehicle is positioned at a predetermined subsea location, the predetermined set of tools are similarly positioned at the same predetermined subsea location for attaching and detaching from the common drive interface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (US 2019/0224858 A1).
Hansen et al. disclose a subsea tool system, comprising: a housing mounted on a main vehicle and a small remotely operated vehicle, as described above.
Hansen et al. however fail to disclose the small remotely operated vehicle as having a diameter of 300 mm and a length of 435 mm (claim 2), or the housing comprising a corrosion resistant material (claim 5). Hansen et al. also fail to disclose using the TMS tether to retrieve the tool system back to a static unit or cage if the tool system was faulty or not working properly (claim 19).
It would however have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the miniature remotely operated vehicle with the claimed dimension as a matter of routine design choice. Providing the miniature remotely operated vehicle with such dimensions would have enabled it to access extremely constricted and confined spaces, thereby making it more versatile.
It would also have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct the housing with a corrosion resistant material. Using such a material would have made the housing resistant to corrosion from the salt water environment, thereby rendering it more durable and safe to use.
Re claim 19, as explained earlier, the main vehicle itself is considered to be a tool repository, and broadly equivalent to a static unit or cage, for storing a predetermined set of tools. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the TMS tether to retrieve the tools back to the static unit or cage of the main vehicle for inspection and/or quick replacement if the tool system was faulty or not working properly.
Claim 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (US 2019/0224858 A1) in view of Watt et al. (US 6167831 B1).
Hansen et al. disclose a subsea tool system, comprising a small remotely operated vehicle, as described above.
Hansen et al. however fail to explicitly disclose the small remotely operated vehicle as having a lighting system; a camera; a sensor; and a predetermined set of thrusters configured to assist movement of the small remotely operated vehicle (claim 6); or the tool interface comprises a detachable wet mate connector tied to subsea infrastructure (claim 17).
Watt et al. disclose a subsea system (see Fig 2) comprising remotely operated vehicle having a camera [38] (col. 1, line 43); sensors (col. 9, lines 42-45); a lighting system (col. 1, line 43); and a set of thrusters [28] to assist movement of the small remotely operated vehicle. A tool interface is provided with a detachable wet mate connector for providing power and data communication (see col. 8, lines 33-35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the remotely operated vehicle of Hansen et al. with a lighting system; a camera; a sensor; and a set of thrusters, as taught by Watt et al. Having such devices would have enabled the remotely operated vehicle of Hansen et al. to perform the inspection, maintenance, and repair work in a safe and efficient manner. It would have also been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the tool interface with a detachable wet mate, as taught by Watt et al., which would have further enabled an efficient power and data communication for the subsea tool system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (US 2019/0224858 A1) in view of Jameison et al. (US 9944370 B2)
Hansen et al. disclose a method of using subsea tool system, comprising a predetermined set of tools with a common drive interface and configured to be connected to a small remotely operated vehicle, as described above.
Hansen et al. however do not disclose placing the predetermined set of tools into a tooling cage or tooling basket near the predetermined subsea location, or docking the subsea tool system on a semi-permanent tooling basket to facilitate easy replacement of the subsea tool
Jamieson et al. disclose a method of using subsea tool system, comprising storing a predetermined set of tools into a tooling cage/basket at a subsea location and enable docking the subsea tool system on the tooling cage/basket to facilitate easy replacement of the subsea tool (see Fig 8; and col. 1; lines 49-54).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the tool system of Hansen et al. with a tooling cage or basket at a subsea location and enable docking the subsea tool system on the tooling cage/basket to facilitate easy replacement of the subsea tool, as taught by Jamieson et al. Having such an arrangement would have allowed efficient subsea operations without requiring lengthy work interruptions for tool change.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leonhardt et al. (US 11,608,148) and Wilson et al. (US 11,305,853 B2) each shows a subsea tool system and tool change
/AJAY VASUDEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615