DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to the Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment filed 04 March 2026. Claims 1 and 8 are amended. Claims 6-7 and 9-18 are canceled. Currently, claims 1-5 and 8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 February 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 07 July 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
REJECTIONS – MAINTAINED & NEW
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(New) Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hutchinson et al. (Synthesis of alkylated methylene bisphosphonates via organothallium intermediates, J. Organometallic Chem. 1985, 291, 145-151; entered into the IDS on 22 December 2023).
In pursuit of halogenated methylene bis-phosphonic acids, Hutchinson discloses a method to obtain medronic acid through the hydrolysis of tetraisopropyl esters of methylene bis-phosphonic acids through the use of bromotrimethylsilane, added under dry nitrogen, stirred for ≥20 hours, lyophilized, then dissolved in aqueous methanol which was removed in vacuo. This last procedure was repeated four times, then the residues dissolved in water and isolated via ion exchange chromatography (pg. 151, section – viii). This reaction is best illustrated by Scifinder© as the reference itself provides little in the way of visual representation:
As the claim does not specify exact reaction conditions, Hutchinson reads upon the claim where medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester, contacted with trimethylsilyl bromide to form a mixture, and treating the mixture with a liquid comprising water, thereby forming medronic acid. As such, Hutchinson anticipates claim 1.
(New) With regards to the limitations of claim 2, wherein the compound of the formula (A) is reacted with trimethylsilyl bromide or trimethylsilyl iodide, are met as Hutchinson uses trimethylsilyl bromide to deprotect medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(New) Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson et al. (Synthesis of alkylated methylene bisphosphonates via organothallium intermediates, J. Organometallic Chem. 1985, 291, 145-151) in view of Vaghefi et al. (Synthesis of certain nucleoside methylenediphosphonate sugars as potential inhibitors of glycosyltransferases, J. Med. Chem. 1987, 30, 8, 1391-1399).
Hutchinson discloses a method of deprotecting medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester using trimethylsilyl bromide followed by hydrolysis with aqueous methanol.
Hutchinson does not, however, teach where the compound of the formula (A) is reacted with trimethylsilyl chloride and an alkali metal iodide or bromide.
Vaghefi addresses this by teaching deprotection of medronic acid diisopropyl ester diphenyl ester 8 using trimethylsilyl chloride with sodium iodide to yield medronic acid diphenyl ester 5:
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to consider the use of trimethylsilyl chloride with sodium iodide to perform deprotection of isopropyl phosphonic acid esters, in light of the teachings of Veghefi, and apply these same conditions to the deprotection of medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester.
Regarding the limitation of claim 4, wherein an alkali metal iodide is utilized and is sodium iodide, is met as Veghefi teaches the use of sodium iodide with trimethylsilyl chloride in phosphonic acid ester deprotection.
(New) Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson and Veghefi as applied to claims 3-4 above, and further in view of Erion et al. (Thyroid hormone receptor agonist and use thereof, WO 2017/184811 A1, 2017).
Hutchinson discloses a method of deprotecting medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester using trimethylsilyl bromide followed by hydrolysis with aqueous methanol. Veghefi further expands this by teaching deprotection using trimethylsilyl chloride and sodium iodide.
They do not, however, teach where the alkali metal iodide utilized is potassium iodide.
Erion fixes this shortcoming by teaching the use of potassium iodide with trimethylsilyl chloride in the deprotection of diisopropyl phosphonic acid ester 1G to give the resulting phosphonic acid 1I (pg. 40 – scheme 1, para. 0134):
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to consider the use of potassium iodide as an alternative to sodium iodide along with trimethylsilyl chloride to perform deprotection of isopropyl phosphonic acid esters, in light of the teachings of Erion, and apply this condition to the deprotection of medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester.
(New) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson et al. (Synthesis of alkylated methylene bisphosphonates via organothallium intermediates, J. Organometallic Chem. 1985, 291, 145-151) in view of Chiminazzo et al. (Challenging synthesis of bisphosphonate derivatives with reduced steric hindrance, Tet. Lett. 2021, 70, 153012; entered in the IDS 22 December 2023).
Hutchinson discloses a method of deprotecting medronic acid tetraisopropyl ester using trimethylsilyl bromide followed by hydrolysis with aqueous methanol.
Hutchinson does not, however, teach post alkylation by further comprising reacting the medronic acid with an alkylating compound of the formula HC(OR)3, wherein R is a methyl.
Chiminazzo rectifies this deficiency by teaching alkylation, using trimethyl orthoformate, of bis-phosphonic acid 8 to give medronic acid tetramethyl ester 5 under refluxing conditions yielding 71% (pg. 2, scheme 2). Once again, this is best illustrated by Scifinder© as scheme 2 in the reference includes more elements than is required and does not fit well into this office action:
As such, it would have been prima facie obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to apply the same experimental conditions as taught by Chiminazzo to medronic acid to obtain medronic acid tetramethyl ester using trimethyl orthoformate.
Summary
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN CHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622