DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim s 8-17, 20-22, and 24 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Heller (US 2009/0308743) which incorporates Say (US 6134461) by reference.
Regarding claim 8, Heller discloses an implantable device for continuous measurement of glucose concentration (paragraphs [0053]-[0056]) comprising: an electrode configured to generate a signal indicative of a concentration of glucose in a host (element 102), the electrode comprising an electroactive surface (paragraphs [0020], [0023], [0027]); and a membrane located over the electroactive surface of the electrode comprising: a first domain that comprises an enzyme configured to react with glucose (paragraph [0030]); and a second domain configured to reduce passage therethrough of an interferent, the second domain comprising a plurality of alternating polyelectrolyte layers, wherein the plurality of alternating polyelectrolyte layers comprise at least one of a polycationic layer and a polyanionic layer (paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0032]). Heller does not explicitly disclose the second domain being disposed between the electrode and the first domain such that the second domain contacts the electroactive surface. However, Say, incorporated by reference in Heller (see paragraph [0027]), discloses an implantable sensor that may be used for the continuous or automatic monitoring of a level of an analyte, such as glucose, lactate, or oxygen in a patient (abstract). Figure 4A of Say describes sensing layer 64 above separation layer 61, above working electrode 58a. With respect to Figure 4A, Say explains:
In another embodiment, the sensing layer 64 is not deposited directly on the working electrode 58a. Instead, the sensing layer 64 is spaced apart from the working electrode 58a, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, and separated from the working electrode 58a by a separation layer 61. The separation layer 61 typically includes one or more membranes or films. In addition to separating the working electrode 58a from the sensing layer
64, the separation layer 61 may also act as a mass transport limiting layer or an interferent eliminating layer, as described below. (Say 17:14-23.)
Thus, Say discloses an analyte sensor that includes an interferent eliminating layer disposed between an electrode and a sensing layer.
Although paragraph 32 of Heller discloses, as an option, the use of its second domain solely for reducing or eliminating the flux of interferents to the electrode, which does not require the second domain to be external to Heller's first domain, Heller may not explicitly disclose that the second domain is between Heller's electrode and first domain. Nonetheless, Say discloses a similar sensor in which its interferent eliminating layer 61 is between the sensing layer 64 and electrode 58a. Accordingly, when the desired purpose of the second domain is the reduction or elimination of the flux of interferents to the electrode, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the rearrangement of Heller's first and second domains such that the second domain was positioned between Heller's electrode and first domain to have been the obvious substitution of one domain location for another domain location according to known methods to yield predictable results. See KSR Int 'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
The Examiner notes that Heller’s electroactive surface of the electrode is disclosed as in contact with the membrane; as modified such that the second domain is in contact with the electrode, it would thus inherently be in contact with the electroactive surface.
Regarding claim 9, Heller further discloses that the second domain comprises an odd number of alternating polyelectrolyte layers (paragraph [0032], 3 layers).
Regarding claim 10, Heller further discloses that the second domain comprises a plurality of polycationic layers which form the most distal layer and the most proximal layer of the second domain (paragraph [0023], polycationic layer is most proximal; paragraph [0032], 3 layers would thus result in both the most proximal and most distal layers being polycationic).
Regarding claim 11, Heller further discloses that the second domain comprises at least three alternating polyelectrolyte layers (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Heller further discloses that the first and third most distal layers with respect to the electrode are polycationic layers (paragraph [0023], polycationic layer is most proximal; paragraph [0032], 3 layers would thus result in both the most proximal and most distal layers being polycationic), and the second most distal layer with respect to the electrode is a polyanionic layer (paragraph [0023], the polycationic layers alternate with polyanionic layers).
Regarding claim 13, Heller further discloses that the second domain comprises at least five alternating polyelectrolyte layers (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Heller discloses alternating polycationic layers with polyanionic layers (paragraph [0023]), and also discloses having at least 5 layers (paragraph [0032]), but does not specify that the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode are polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor are polyanionic layers. However, it would have been a mere matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have configured the device such that the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode are polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor are polyanionic layers, since Applicant has not disclosed this particular configuration of layers as providing a particular advantage, solving a stated problem, or serving a different purpose than that of the unspecified numeric identification of layers disclosed by Heller. Moreover, it appears that arranging the domains with polycationic odd layers and polyanionic even layers, or vice versa, would perform equally well to control the flux of analytes and interferents. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the system of Heller with the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode being polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor being polyanionic layers, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration that fails to patentably distinguish over Heller.
Regarding claim 15, Heller further discloses that the second domain comprises at least seven alternating polyelectrolyte layers (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Heller discloses alternating polycationic layers with polyanionic layers (paragraph [0023]), and also discloses having at least 7 layers (paragraph [0032]), but does not specify that the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode are polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor are polyanionic layers. However, it would have been a mere matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have configured the device such that the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode are polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor are polyanionic layers, since Applicant has not disclosed this particular configuration of layers as providing a particular advantage, solving a stated problem, or serving a different purpose than that of the unspecified numeric identification of layers disclosed by Heller. Moreover, it appears that arranging the domains with polycationic odd layers and polyanionic even layers, or vice versa, would perform equally well to control the flux of analytes and interferents. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the system of Heller with the first, third, fifth, and seventh most distal layers with respect to the electrode being polycationic layers, and the second, fourth, and sixth most distal layers with respect to the sensor being polyanionic layers, because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration that fails to patentably distinguish over Heller.
Regarding claim 17, Heller further discloses that the first domain is distal to the second domain with respect to the electrode (paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Heller is not specific as to the average linear charge of any of the layers; however, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05(II)). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the system of Heller with the polycationic layer comprising a polycation with an average linear charge from about 2 to 10 e/Å, particularly 2-3 e/Å, and the polyanionic layer comprising a polyanion with an average linear charge from about 2 to 10 e/Å, particularly 2-3 e/Å, as part of optimizing the efficiency of the layers. The Examiner also notes that, based on the disclosure, there is no particular significance to these ranges, as Applicant also discloses use of ranges falling entirely outside these values as also being desirable (paragraph [0171] as filed).
Regarding claim 22, Heller incorporates by reference the “Suitable miniature glucose electrodes” of US 5593852 in paragraph [0025]; Heller’852 discloses that an interference flux reduction domain may be in a separate membrane from a glucose flux reduction domain, and discloses both being present in the device (glucose diffusion limiting layer 10 and interference eliminating layer 12), resulting in including a diffusion resistance domain configured to reduce a flux therethrough of the glucose in addition to the “second domain” configured to reduce flux of an interferent.
Regarding claim 24, Heller discloses an implantable device for continuous measurement of glucose concentration (paragraphs [0053]-[0056]) comprising: an electrode configured to generate a signal indicative of a concentration of glucose in a host (element 102); and a membrane located over the electrode comprising: a first domain that comprises an enzyme configured to react with glucose and produce hydrogen peroxide (paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0030]); and a second domain configured to reduce passage therethrough of an interferent, the second domain comprising a plurality of alternating polyelectrolyte layers, wherein the plurality of alternating polyelectrolyte layers comprise at least one of a polycationic layer and a polyanionic layer (paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0032]); and wherein the electrode is configured to generate the signal from the hydrogen peroxide (paragraphs [0025], [0026], [0030]). Heller does not explicitly disclose the second domain being in contact with the electrode.
However, Say, incorporated by reference in Heller (see paragraph [0027]), discloses an implantable sensor that may be used for the continuous or automatic monitoring of a level of an analyte, such as glucose, lactate, or oxygen in a patient (abstract). Figure 4A of Say describes sensing layer 64 above separation layer 61, above working electrode 58a. With respect to Figure 4A, Say explains:
In another embodiment, the sensing layer 64 is not deposited directly on the working electrode 58a. Instead, the sensing layer 64 is spaced apart from the working electrode 58a, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, and separated from the working electrode 58a by a separation layer 61. The separation layer 61 typically includes one or more membranes or films. In addition to separating the working electrode 58a from the sensing layer
64, the separation layer 61 may also act as a mass transport limiting layer or an interferent eliminating layer, as described below. (Say 17:14-23.)
Thus, Say discloses an analyte sensor that includes an interferent eliminating layer disposed between an electrode and a sensing layer.
Although paragraph 32 of Heller discloses, as an option, the use of its second domain solely for reducing or eliminating the flux of interferents to the electrode, which does not require the second domain to be external to Heller's first domain, Heller may not explicitly disclose that the second domain is between Heller's electrode and first domain. Nonetheless, Say discloses a similar sensor in which its interferent eliminating layer 61 is between the sensing layer 64 and electrode 58a. Accordingly, when the desired purpose of the second domain is the reduction or elimination of the flux of interferents to the electrode, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the rearrangement of Heller's first and second domains such that the second domain was positioned between Heller's electrode and first domain to have been the obvious substitution of one domain location for another domain location according to known methods to yield predictable results. See KSR Int 'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claim 23 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Heller in view of Simpson (US 2011/0024307).
Heller (and Heller’852) do not address any aspects of hydrophobicity and/or hydrophilicity of the diffusion resistance domain. Simpson teaches an implantable device for continuous measurement of glucose concentration (abstract) which includes a diffusion resistance domain configured to control the flux of glucose comprising both hydrophilic and hydrophobic regions (paragraph [0198]-[0199]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the device of Heller using a diffusion resistance domain with both hydrophobic and hydrophilic regions, as taught by Simpson, in order to tailor the rate of flux allowed by adjusting the relative proportions of hydrophobic and hydrophilic components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Heller, as informed by the teachings of Say, would not result in the second domain contacting the electroactive surface of the electrode, as presented in previously pending claims 18 and 19 which the Board indicated as being left “to the Examiner to determine the propriety of the NEW GROUND OF REJECTION” with respect to these claims.
Applicant argues that Say’s teaching of the sensing layer being separated from the electrode by a separation layer such as an interferent eliminating layer would not result in the second domain, an interferent eliminating layer, being in contact with the electrode’s electroactive surface because Say does not disclose the specifics of a second domain as recited in the claims. Applicant’s remarks do not address Heller, the base reference modified using the teachings of Say, where Heller is relied upon for the presence of an electrode and a membrane having domains. The Examiner notes that Heller discloses its electrode as having an electroactive surface which is in contact with the membrane; modification of the relative locations of the domains within that membrane, as informed by Say’s teachings, would not require changing the location of the membrane itself where it is in contact with the electroactive surface. As informed by Say to have the second domain, an interferent limiting layer, on the electrode side of that membrane, with that membrane being in contact with the electroactive surface, the electroactive surface would thus be in contact with the second domain, that domain being an interferent limiting layer.
Regarding claim 24, Applicant’s remarks do not address the newly added limitations but instead presents arguments as to the Board’s rejection as presented 30 July 2026 of that claim; Applicant assert’s that the Board’s finding is “conclusory and contradicted by Say’s own text”, but Applicant’s remarks do not point to where that might be found in “Say’s own text”, such that this general allegation of contradiction is entirely unpersuasive.
Applicant further asserts that the Board agreed that reversing the order of domains “would alter Heller’s sensor’s function”; this is a gross mischaracterization of the statement. That phrase was presented to summarize the Board’s interpretation of the previous rejection, not as a judgement on the actual disclosures of Heller.
Rather, the Board explicitly stated that reversing the order of domains would result in the device still being operable as designed.
Applicant further argues that reversing the order of domains in Heller’s membrane would require more than simply changing their locations as a result of how the layers in the membrane are formed; Applicant has not shown any evidence in Heller of interaction between these components during construction that might be altered by the charged layers not being disposed “over the sensing layer” beyond Heller stating that they happen to be deposited in this sequence. No part of the disclosures of construction as presented by Heller indicate that the order of layers affects the overall function of the device where changing the order would change the function or shows any effect one layer has upon a subsequent layer during construction, particularly as Heller explicitly incorporates by reference teachings that would require changing the sequence of construction, such that this general allegation of being more than simple substitution is entirely unpersuasive.
Applicant then finally addresses the newly added limitations directed to the generation of hydrogen peroxide for signal sensing; Applicant argues that Heller and Say are directed only to the use of redox mediators and do not disclose sensing which involves signal generation from hydrogen peroxide. This is entirely unpersuasive. See paragraphs [0025]-[0026] of Heller, also cited above.
Conclusion
/KAREN E TOTH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791