DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species of 177Lu-HTKO1169 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because object because the individual curves and data points representing different experimental groups in Figure 6 are not clearly distinguishable. Specifically, the legend lists six experimental groups but the graph displays only five distinct curves. It is unclear whether the horizontal line at the 1.0 survival level represents actual data for one of the treatment groups as there are no distinct data points or symbols visible on that line. It is unclear whether two data series may be perfectly overlapping or one series has been omitted form the plot entirely. This discrepancy creates ambiguity as to which curve corresponds to which group. To overcome this objection, the applicant is required to provide a substitute sheet for Figure 6 that ensures all six data series are clearly identifiable. The applicant may utilize distinct line patterns, varied symbol types, and/or lead lines with reference numerals/labels.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the terms Endeavor 90®, 4000 QTRAP®, Luna®, Wizard2®, GraphPad Prism®, Inveon Research Workplace®, FreeZone Plus™, and Sep-Pak® which are a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 30, and 46 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “R2 is … NO2 or CH3;” should read “R2 is … NO2, or CH3;” (add “,” in front of “or”).
In claim 1, “R3 is … or …” should read “R3 is … , or …” (add “,” in front of “or”).
In claim 30, “SarAr … or a derivative thereof;” should read “SarAr …) or a derivative thereof;” (add “)” in front of “or”).
In claim 30, “TRAP … acid) or a derivative thereof;” should read “TRAP … acid]) or a derivative thereof;” (add “ ]” in front of “)”).
In claim 46, “R2 is I, Br or …” should read “R2 is I, Br, or …” (add “,” in front of “or”).
In claim 46, “X is absent, 225Ac or 177Lu.” should read “X is absent, 225Ac, or 177Lu.” (add “,” in front of “or”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 15, 25, 30, 31, 35, 40, 42, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benesova et al. (WO 2018 215627; cited on IDS filed November 21, 2023).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 12, 15, 25, 30, 31, 35, and 40, Benesova discloses a compound comprising a chelating agent, a prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA)-binding entity, and an albumin-binding entity connected via suitable linkers and spacers for use as diagnostic and/or therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals (page 1, ¶ 1). Benesova discloses a compound of General Formula (7b) shown in claim 25, which reads on the Formula I-a of instant claim 1 when R1 is I in para position; R2 is H; n is 1; V is N; D is 1,4,7,10-tetraazacyclododecane-1 ,4,7,10-tetraacetic acid (DOTA); and a is 4. Benesova discloses that the amino acid residue (A) can be glutamate (claim 26). Benesova discloses that the glutamate can be bonded through Cdelta (γ -linkage) as shown in Formula (3b) when m is 2 and n is 1 (claim 27), which reads on
(R3) of instant claims 1 and 25.
Regarding claim 3, Benesova discloses a compound of General Formula (7b) shown in claim 25, which reads on the Formula I-b of instant claims 1 and 3 when R1 is I in para position; R2 is H; n is 1; V is -CH2NH-; D is DOTA; and a is 0. Benesova discloses that the A can be glutamate (claim 26) and the glutamate residue can be bonded through Cdelta (γ -linkage) as shown in formula (3b) when m is 2 and n is 1 (claim 27), which reads on
(R3) of instant claims 1 and 25.
Regarding claims 42 and 43, Benesova discloses that DOTA can be bound by radiometal such as 177Lu (page 33, ¶ 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 15, 25, 30, 31, 35, 40, 42, 43, and 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benesova et al. (WO 2018 215627; cited on IDS filed November 21, 2023) in view of Anderson et al. (Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry, 2007; cited on PTO-892).
As discussed above, regarding claims 1, 2, 12, 15, 25, 30, 31, 35, and 40, Benesova discloses a compound comprising a chelating agent, a prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA)-binding entity, and an albumin-binding entity connected via suitable linkers and spacers for use as diagnostic and/or therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals (page 1, ¶ 1). Benesova discloses a compound of General Formula (7b) shown in claim 25, which reads on the Formula I-a of instant claim 1 when R1 is I in para position; R2 is H; n is 1; V is N; D is 1,4,7,10-tetraazacyclododecane-1 ,4,7,10-tetraacetic acid (DOTA); and a is 4. Benesova discloses that the amino acid residue (A) can be glutamate (claim 26). Benesova discloses that the glutamate residue can be bonded through Cdelta (γ -linkage) as shown in formula (3b) when m is 2 and n is 1 (claim 27), which reads on
(R3) of instant claims 1 and 25. Regarding claim 3, Benesova discloses a compound of General Formula (7b) shown in claim 25, which reads on the Formula I-b of instant claims 1 and 3 when R1 is I in para position; R2 is H; n is 1; V is CH2NH; D is DOTA; and a is 0. Benesova discloses that the A can be glutamate (claim 26) and the glutamate residue can be bonded through Cdelta (γ-linkage) as shown in formula (3b) when m is 2 and n is 1 (claim 27), which reads on
(R3) of instant claims 1 and 25. Regarding claims 42 and 43, Benesova discloses that DOTA can be bound by radiometal such as 177Lu (page 33, ¶ 3).
Regarding claims 46-48, Benesova does not disclose the glutamate residue (R3) is linked through an α-peptide bond,
as shown in instant claims 1, 25, and 46.
Anderson discloses that substrate specificity of PSMA is dependent on the chemical structure of the substrate (abstract). Anderson discloses that binding affinity and metabolic stability vary between the compounds comprising α-linked and γ-linked glutamate residues (page 6680, para 2, ¶ 1; page 6680, Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Benesova by substituting γ -linked glutamate with α-linked glutamate to optimize binding affinity and stability of the compound. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Anderson teaches that glutamate can be linked through α-peptide bond and the pharmacokinetic properties can be different depending on the linkage type. The structural difference between Benesova and instant claims 46-48 (elected species of 177Lu-HTKO1169) is merely the point of attachment on the same glutamate residue. This is a common structural modification used in medicinal chemistry to adjust the stability, flexibility, orientation, and fit of a ligand within a binding pocket. Glutamate provides only two available carboxyl groups for peptide bonding (α and γ). Choosing between these two attachment points represents a selection from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to investigate improved pharmacokinetic variables. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the standard synthesis method of the α-linked version in order to improve synthetic yield and reduce production cost for industrial drug development. Accordingly, Benesova in view of Anderson renders instant claims 46-48 (177Lu-HTKO1169) obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 12, 15, 25, 30, 31, 35, 40, 42, 43, and 46-48 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,504,441 (cited on IDS filed November 21, 2023) in view of Benesova et al. (WO 2018 215627; cited on IDS filed November 21, 2023).
Claim 1 of the ‘441 recites a compound of Formula II, which is structurally similar to the compounds of instant claims 1 and 46 when R2 is CH2; R6 is H; R7 is
; R10 is
(9-anthrylmethyl group); R12 is I in para position; and R11 is
. Claim 13 of the ‘441 recites that Rx can be DOTA and chelated with 177Lu.
Claims of the ‘441 do not recite
(2-naphthylmethyl group, R1 of instant claim1) at the R10 position.
As discussed above, Benesova discloses a compound comprising a chelating agent, a prostate specific membrane antigen (PSMA)-binding entity, and an albumin-binding entity connected via suitable linkers and spacers for use as diagnostic and/or therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals (page 1, ¶ 1). Benesova discloses the structure of Formula (7b), which has a 2-naphthylmethyl group at the same position (claim 25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of the ‘441 by substituting the 9-anthrylmethyl group at the R10 position with the 2-naphthylmethyl group. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Benesova teaches that 2-naphthylmethyl group can be incorporated into the compound at that exact position. The naphthalene and anthracene are members of a homologous series of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and transitioning between a tricyclic (anthracene) and a bicyclic (naphthalene) system represents a routine reduction or extension of the aromatic core. Furthermore, moving a substitution from the 2-position to the 9-position is a regioisomeric variation that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ to optimize structural interactions, modulate lipophilicity, and manage steric bulk.
Regarding the -CH2- linkers, claim 1 of the ‘441 recites that R2 can be -CH2- or -(CH2)3-, whereas instant claim recites a length of -(CH2)2-. Similarly, Formula I-b of instant claims 1 and 3 includes an additional -(CH2)1-4- connected to -R3- and no -CH2- connected to -NH-R4 compared to the Formula II of the ‘441. The length of the linker (-CH2-) is a matter of routine optimization and is therefore obvious. Compounds which are positional isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP § 2144.09).
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618