DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of Claims 1 and 6 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify Huber in view of Flaherty. Huber discloses embodiments where driver assistance control systems are used. See at least [0034]-[0036] of Huber, wherein the fuel consumption and time of arrival calculations are made while performing automatic braking control and traction control. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Huber’s disclosure could be applied to other forms of driver assistance control. This would enable drivers to recognize the effects on fuel consumption and time of arrival based on different braking, speed, and acceleration behaviors (see [0032]-[0033] and [0053] of Huber).
New grounds of rejection are introduced for new claims 11-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170146356 A1, with an earliest priority date of 05/09/2014 and a publication date of 05/25/2017, hereinafter “Huber” in view of US 20110068950 A1, filed 09/17/2010, hereinafter “Flaherty”.
Regarding Claim 1, Huber teaches a control apparatus, comprising: a processor and a memory that stores instructions executed by the processor causing the processor to be configured to. See at least [0052]-[0054] and figure 2, control unit 190 which controls display of fuel consumption and time of arrival information of a running vehicle on display 200.
while the vehicle is running toward the destination set in the navigation information and performing the driving assist control, calculate a time difference between (i) an original scheduled arrival time defined by the navigation information at a running start time point at which the vehicle began running toward the destination and (ii) an estimated arrival time at which the vehicle is estimated to arrive at the destination; See at least [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0061], and figures 2-4, wherein unit 180 calculates a difference between a desired arrival time and a likely estimated arrival time. See at least [0019], [0026]-[0028], and [0038] wherein the vehicle is currently on a route to a destination input by the user in the navigation apparatus. At the time of input (i.e., at the running start time point), a time of arrival is calculated based on the destination input in the navigation apparatus. The user then selects the time of arrival as the desired time of arrival (original schedule arrival time).
generate a time image based on the time difference that has been calculated, the time image indicating whether the estimated arrival time is shortened or lengthened with respect to the original scheduled arrival time. See at least [0040], [0059]-[0061], and figure 4, wherein a time image 440 is generated, which indicates the difference between the current driving time, determined by the current vehicle speed, and the desired driving time.
calculate, when the vehicle is running, an energy consumption reduction effect to be obtained in the vehicle by running. See at least [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0061], and figures 2-4, wherein unit 180 calculates an energy consumption reduction effect.
generate an effect image based on the energy consumption reduction effect that has been calculated, the effect image indicating the energy consumption reduction effect. See at least [0057], 0059]-[0061], figure 3, and figure 4, wherein an effect image 340/430 is generated, which indicates the difference between the energy consumption effect resulting from the user’s desired time of arrival.
and simultaneously display the time image that has been generated and the effect image that has been generated in real time on a display apparatus. See at least [0059]-[0061] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed, representing the current state of the vehicle.
Huber remains silent on perform road-to-vehicle communication by wirelessly communicating with a device on a road side to acquire information regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path on which the vehicle is running toward a destination that is set in navigation information; perform driving assist control that brings the vehicle into a running state in which the vehicle can always pass through the traffic lights in a state in which the lighting color of the traffic lights is green along the path on which the vehicle is running.
Flaherty teaches perform road-to-vehicle communication by wirelessly communicating with a device on a road side to acquire information regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path on which the vehicle is running toward a destination that is set in navigation information. See at least [0080] and figure 8, wherein a signal timing processor 820 of vehicle 10 wirelessly communicates with roadside device 210. The roadside device 210 transmits information on an intersection’s green light timing, which is received by signal timing processor 820 of the vehicle and displayed on display 830 of the vehicle.
perform driving assist control that brings the vehicle into a running state in which the vehicle can always pass through the traffic lights in a state in which the lighting color of the traffic lights is green along the path on which the vehicle is running. See at least [0076]-[0077] and figure 5, wherein the vehicles 10a-d achieve an energy consumption reduction effect by executing platooning in a control state where the vehicles travel in synchronization to always pass traffic lights 250a-c when they are green.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Huber with Flaherty’s road-to-vehicle wireless communication, wherein information is acquired regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path, and a control state where a vehicle is directed to always pass intersections when the traffic lights are green. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables vehicles to reduce energy consumption, reduce emissions, improve safety, and reduce congestion, as recognized by Flaherty (see at least [0085]).
Regarding Claim 6, Huber teaches a display system comprising: a display apparatus disposed within a vehicle. See at least [0052]-[0054] and figure 2, control unit 190 which controls display of fuel consumption and time of arrival information of a running vehicle on display 200.
and a processor and a memory that stores instructions executed by the processor causing the processor to be configured to. See at least [0052]-[0054] and figure 2, control unit 190 which controls display of fuel consumption and time of arrival information of a running vehicle on display 200.
while the vehicle is running toward the destination set in the navigation information and performing the driving assist control, calculate a time difference between (i) an original scheduled arrival time defined by the navigation information at a running start time point at which the vehicle began running toward the destination and (ii) an estimated arrival time at which the vehicle is estimated to arrive at the destination; See at least [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0061], and figures 2-4, wherein unit 180 calculates a difference between a desired arrival time and a likely estimated arrival time. See at least [0019], [0026]-[0028], and [0038] wherein the vehicle is currently on a route to a destination input by the user in the navigation apparatus. At the time of input (i.e., at the running start time point), a time of arrival is calculated based on the destination input in the navigation apparatus. The user then selects the time of arrival as the desired time of arrival (original schedule arrival time).
generate a time image based on the time difference that has been calculated, the time image indicating whether the estimated arrival time is shortened or lengthened with respect to the original scheduled arrival time. See at least [0040], [0059]-[0061], and figure 4, wherein a time image 440 is generated, which indicates the difference between the current driving time, determined by the current vehicle speed, and the desired driving time.
calculate, when the vehicle is running, an energy consumption reduction effect to be obtained in the vehicle by running. See at least [0053]-[0055], [0057]-[0061], and figures 2-4, wherein unit 180 calculates an energy consumption reduction effect.
generate an effect image based on the energy consumption reduction effect that has been calculated, the effect image indicating the energy consumption reduction effect. See at least [0057], 0059]-[0061], figure 3, and figure 4, wherein an effect image 340/430 is generated, which indicates the difference between the energy consumption effect resulting from the user’s desired time of arrival.
and simultaneously display the time image that has been generated and the effect image that has been generated in real time on a display apparatus. See at least [0059]-[0061] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed, representing the current state of the vehicle.
Huber remains silent on perform road-to-vehicle communication by wirelessly communicating with a device on a road side to acquire information regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path on which the vehicle is running toward a destination that is set in navigation information; perform driving assist control that brings the vehicle into a running state in which the vehicle can always pass through the traffic lights in a state in which the lighting color of the traffic lights is green along the path on which the vehicle is running.
Flaherty teaches perform road-to-vehicle communication by wirelessly communicating with a device on a road side to acquire information regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path on which the vehicle is running toward a destination that is set in navigation information. See at least [0080] and figure 8, wherein a signal timing processor 820 of vehicle 10 wirelessly communicates with roadside device 210. The roadside device 210 transmits information on an intersection’s green light timing, which is received by signal timing processor 820 of the vehicle and displayed on display 830 of the vehicle.
perform driving assist control that brings the vehicle into a running state in which the vehicle can always pass through the traffic lights in a state in which the lighting color of the traffic lights is green along the path on which the vehicle is running. See at least [0076]-[0077] and figure 5, wherein the vehicles 10a-d achieve an energy consumption reduction effect by executing platooning in a control state where the vehicles travel in synchronization to always pass traffic lights 250a-c when they are green.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Huber with Flaherty’s road-to-vehicle wireless communication, wherein information is acquired regarding a lighting color of traffic lights along a path, and a control state where a vehicle is directed to always pass intersections when the traffic lights are green. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables vehicles to reduce energy consumption, reduce emissions, improve safety, and reduce congestion, as recognized by Flaherty (see at least [0085]).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber and Flaherty as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20110205044 A1, filed 09/30/2008, hereinafter “Enomoto”.
Regarding Claim 11, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches wherein: the processor displays the time image and the effect image adjacent to each other on the display apparatus. See at least [0060] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed next to each other on the display.
Huber remains silent on the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays.
Enomoto teaches the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays. See at least [0211] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 12, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches wherein: (a) the time image depending on whether the estimated arrival time is shortened or lengthened with respect to the original scheduled arrival time. See at least [0040], [0059]-[0061], and figure 4, wherein a time image 440 is generated, which indicates the difference between the current driving time, determined by the current vehicle speed, and the desired driving time.
the processor displays the time image and the effect image adjacent to each other on the display apparatus. See at least [0060] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed next to each other on the display.
Huber remains silent on the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays, (a) a bar that extends either above or below a central line, (b) the effect image including a bar having a length that increases as the energy consumption reduction effect increases.
Enomoto teaches the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays. See at least [0211] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
(a) a bar that extends either above or below a central line, See at least [0059] and figure 2b, wherein the generated image includes a bar 39 which extends on either side of a central line R depending on the state of the fuel consumption. Additionally, see at least [0063], wherein the bar extends either upwards or downwards from the central line R.
(b) the effect image including a bar having a length that increases as the energy consumption reduction effect increases. See at least [0211]-[0215] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display, wherein the fuel efficiency is represented by a bar with a length that increases as the fuel efficiency increases. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 13, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 14, Huber, Flaherty, and Enomoto in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 15, Huber, Flaherty, and Enomoto in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 12 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 16, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 6 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches wherein: the processor displays the time image and the effect image adjacent to each other on the display apparatus. See at least [0060] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed next to each other on the display.
Huber remains silent on the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays.
Enomoto teaches the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays. See at least [0211] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 17, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 6 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches wherein: (a) the time image depending on whether the estimated arrival time is shortened or lengthened with respect to the original scheduled arrival time. See at least [0040], [0059]-[0061], and figure 4, wherein a time image 440 is generated, which indicates the difference between the current driving time, determined by the current vehicle speed, and the desired driving time.
the processor displays the time image and the effect image adjacent to each other on the display apparatus. See at least [0060] and figure 4, wherein the time image 440 and the effect image 430 are displayed next to each other on the display.
Huber remains silent on the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays, (a) a bar that extends either above or below a central line, (b) the effect image including a bar having a length that increases as the energy consumption reduction effect increases.
Enomoto teaches the processor generates the time image and the effect image as meter displays. See at least [0211] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
(a) a bar that extends either above or below a central line, See at least [0059] and figure 2b, wherein the generated image includes a bar 39 which extends on either side of a central line R depending on the state of the fuel consumption. Additionally, see at least [0063], wherein the bar extends either upwards or downwards from the central line R.
(b) the effect image including a bar having a length that increases as the energy consumption reduction effect increases. See at least [0211]-[0215] and figure 22, wherein the effect image 203 is generated as a meter display, wherein the fuel efficiency is represented by a bar with a length that increases as the fuel efficiency increases. In combination with Huber’s teaching, discussed above, of generating a time and effect image, this limitation is taught in its entirety.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 18, Huber and Flaherty in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 6 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 19, Huber, Flaherty, and Enomoto in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 16 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 20, Huber, Flaherty, and Enomoto in combination disclose all of the limitations of Claim 17 as discussed above, and Huber additionally teaches the maximum value being greater than 0% and less than 100. See at least [0049], wherein the calculated value of energy consumption reduction is 7%.
wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image.
Enomoto teaches wherein: the processor sets a maximum value for the energy consumption reduction effect, and the maximum value is displayed as part of the effect image. See at least [0214] and figure 22, wherein a maximum fuel efficiency score is calculated and displayed.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to further modify Huber with Enomoto’s technique of generating effect images as meter displays. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved fuel efficiency for drivers, as recognized by Enomoto ([0006]-[0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667