DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-9, 12-18 and 20-28 are pending; claims 1, 9, 17 and 25 are independent. Claims 10-11 and 19 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 12-18 and 20-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 12-14, 17-18, 20-22, 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2023/0214958).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Zhang teaches a method of a server node sending data identifying digital assets in a workspace (Abstract and fig. 10), a system (fig. 1, a system architecture and Para 0034) including one or more processors (fig. 1, a processor 111) coupled to memory (fig. 1, a memory 121), the memory loaded with computer instructions to send data identifying digital assets in a workspace, the instructions, when executed on the processors, implement, at a server node (fig. 1 and Paras 0039-0040) and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium impressed with computer program instructions to send data identifying digital assets in a workspace, the instructions, when executed on a processor, implement operations, of a server node (Paras 0174-0180, (CRM1) through (CRM6) describe examples of computer-readable media that may be implemented in accordance with the present disclosure ), the method including:
receiving, at a server node and from a leader node, first data identifying a first subset of digital assets, from a set of digital assets in the workspace (fig. 10, step 1010 and Para 0134. Fig. 9, step 902 and Para 0125, wherein a presenter device sends shared data to a server device),
wherein the workspace is a shared virtual workspace including an arrangement of collaborative content and the collaborative content includes the set of digital assets in the workspace (fig. 7 and Para 0091, a shared set of digital assets rendered on a display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) and Para 0125, wherein shared data is sent as part of a video conference using one of various video conference tools) and
wherein each digital asset of the first subset of digital assets has a location within mapped display coordinates of a leader viewport in the workspace that is rendered on a display linked to the leader node (figs 7, 8A-D, a shared set of digital assets rendered on a display 530 from a presenter device);
splitting, by the server node, the received first data identifying the first subset of digital assets, into second data identifying a second subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, and third data identifying a third subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, wherein: (i) each digital asset of the second subset of digital assets has a location outside of mapped display coordinates of a follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on a display linked to a follower node following the leader node, and (ii) each digital asset of the third subset of digital assets has a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the follower node (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may adjust the data (1070). Figs 8A-D and Paras 0097-0123, wherein depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged on a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5); and
sending, by the server node to the follower node, the second data identifying the second subset of digital assets and the third data identifying the third subset of digital assets (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may send the adjusted data to a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). Fig. 9, step 908 and Para 0128, a server device sends shared data to a destination device);
wherein the second data identifying the second subset of digital assets allows an initial rendering of the follower viewport, on the display linked to the follower node, to
include the digital assets within the third subset of digital assets and prevents the initial rendering of the follower viewport, on the display linked to the follower node, from including the digital assets within the second subset of digital assets (fig. 9, step 908, Paras 0128 and 0140, wherein the server device sends the full amount of shared data for the destination device to reformat to display only the targeted focus and enlarged portion of the shared data).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein a size of the display linked to the leader node is at least four times larger than a size of the display linked to the follower node (fig. 7 and Para 0094, wherein the screen the size of the presenter’s display 24 inches and the size of the destination device 6 inches).
Regarding claims 3 Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the leader node is used by a leader participant presenting collaboration data to a follower participant using the follower node (fig. 7 and Para 0091, wherein a display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) and a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5)).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the data sent to the follower node, allows the initial rendering of the follower viewport to include digital assets that are reduced in size when displayed on the display linked to the follower node, compared to a size of the digital assets included in the leader viewport when displayed on the display linked to the leader node ((fig. 9, step 908, Paras 0128 and 0140, wherein the server device sends the full amount of shared data for the destination device to reformat to display only the targeted focus and enlarged portion of the shared data).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 21, Zhang teaches the method of claim 4, the system of claim 12 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the size of the digital assets in the initial rendering of the follower viewport when displayed of the display linked to the follower node is reduced by ½ times, compared to the size of the digital assets included in the leader viewport when displayed on the display linked to the leader node (fig. 7, Calculating Enlarging Factor and Paras 0092-0092).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 22, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, further including: generating, by the server node and from the first data identifying the first subset of digital assets in the workspace, the second data identifying the second subset of digital assets by removing, from the first data identifying the first subset of digital assets, the third data identifying the third subset of digital assets; and sending, from the server node to the follower node, the second data identifying the second subset of digital assets (fig. 9, step 908 and Para 0128, wherein the server device sends the full amount of shared data for the destination device to reformat to display only the targeted focus and enlarged portion of the shared data. In fig. 10 and Para 0140, wherein the computing device may adjust the data (1070) and send the adjusted data to a destination device (1080)).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang teaches a method for receiving data identifying digital assets in a workspace (Abstract and fig. 10), the method including:
receiving, from a server node and at a follower node that is following a leader node, second data identifying a second subset of digital assets, from a set of digital assets in the workspace, and third data identifying a third subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace (fig. 9, step 908, Paras 0128 and 0140, wherein the server device sends the full amount of shared data for the destination device to reformat to display only the targeted focus and enlarged portion of the shared data),
wherein the workspace is a shared virtual workspace including an arrangement of collaborative content and the collaborative content includes the set of digital assets in the workspace, and wherein the second subset of digital assets and the third subset of digital assets sent by the server node are subsets of a first subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace (fig. 7 and Para 0091, a shared set of digital assets rendered on a display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) and fig. 9, step 902, Para 0125, wherein shared data is sent as part of a video conference using one of various video conference tools),
each digital asset of the first subset of digital assets having a location within mapped display coordinates of a leader viewport in the workspace that is rendered on a display linked to the leader node, and wherein: (i) each digital asset of the second subset of digital assets has a location inside mapped display coordinates of the leader viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the leader node, and outside of mapped display coordinates of a follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on a display linked to the follower node, and (ii) each digital asset of the third subset of digital assets has a location inside the mapped display coordinates of the leader viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the leader node, and inside the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the follower node (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may adjust the data (1070). Figs 8A-D and Paras 0097-0123, wherein depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged on a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5);
selecting for an initial rendering of the follower viewport, by the follower node on the display linked to the follower node, the digital assets of the third subset of digital assets, wherein the digital assets of the third subset of digital assets is selected for the initial rendering at least partially in dependence upon the second data identifying the second subset of digital assets; and rendering, on the display linked to the follower node, the follower viewport including the third subset of digital assets and preventing the initial rendering of the follower viewport from including the second subset of digital assets (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may adjust the data (1070). Figs 8A-D and Paras 0097-0123, wherein depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged on a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, further including: splitting, by the server node, the received first data identifying the first subset of digital assets, into sixth data identifying a sixth subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, and seventh data identifying a seventh subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, wherein: (i) each digital asset of the sixth subset of digital assets has a location outside of mapped display coordinates of another follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on a screen space of a display linked to another follower node following the leader node, and (ii) each digital asset of the seventh subset of digital assets has a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the other follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the screen space of the display linked to the other follower node (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may adjust the data (1070). Figs 8A-D and Paras 0097-0123, wherein depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged on a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5); and
sending, by the server node to the other follower node (fig. 5, more than one destination devices 502) the sixth data identifying the sixth subset of digital assets and the seventh data identifying the seventh subset of digital assets, wherein the sixth data identifying the sixth subset of digital assets allows an initial rendering of the other follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the other follower node, to include the digital assets within the seventh subset of digital assets and prevents the initial rendering of the other follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the other follower node, from including the digital assets within the sixth subset of digital assets (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may send the adjusted data to a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). Fig. 9, step 908 and Para 0128, a server device sends shared data to a destination device), and
wherein at least one digital asset included in the third subset of digital assets having a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport is not included in the seventh subset of digital assets having a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the other follower viewport (Para 0086-0089, wherein the application 510 of the destination device may be configured to send information to enable adjustment of shared content or data. The information may be one or more of screen size, resolution, aspect ratio and other parameters associated with a display. In some implementations, the information may be an indication of the type of device using the display to be used to infer an approximate size of the device. Types of devices may be mobile phones, tablets, laptop computers, desktop computers, and the like).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, further including: receiving, at the server node, an updated arrangement of the collaborative content in the workspace, wherein the updated arrangement of the collaborative content includes an updated location for one or more of the digital assets in the set of digital assets (fig. 9 and Para 0130, wherein in step 912, information (e.g., display information) is sent from a destination device to the server device. The information may be one or more of screen size, resolution, aspect ratio and other parameters associated with the computer display of the destination device. In fig. 5 and Para 0086, wherein destination devices 502 may comprise an application 510 (e.g., meeting or other collaboration application), the application 510 may be configured to receive shared data from a server device. Further, the application 510 may be configured to receive a relative position to the destination device indicative of a location for targeted focus and/or enlargement.;
determining, by the server node, that a digital asset of the third subset of digital assets has re- located from a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport in the workspace to a new location outside of the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport (fig. 9 and Para 0131, wherein in step 914, an updated relative position is sent to the destination device. In some implementations, the relative position has been updated by the server device based on the information received in step 910. The updated relative position may change which portion of the shared data is enlarged and/or in focus for display);
updating, by the server node, (i) the third data to remove the re-located digital asset from the third subset of digital assets, and (ii) the second data to include the re-located digital asset in the second subset of digital assets (fig. 10step 1070 and Para 0140, wherein the computing device may adjust the data (1070); and
sending, by the server node to the follower node, the updated second data identifying the second subset of digital assets and the updated third data identifying the third subset of digital assets, wherein the updated second data identifying the second subset of digital assets allows an updated rendering of the follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the follower node, to include the digital assets within the third subset of digital assets and prevents the updated rendering of the follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the follower node, from including the digital assets within the second subset of digital assets, and wherein the updated rendering of the follower viewport does not include the re-located digital asset (figs 8A-D and Paras 097-0123, wherein FIGS. 8A-8D depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, further including: receiving, at the server node and from the leader node, updated mapped display coordinates of the leader viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the leader node (fig. 9 and Paras 012-0127, wherein in step 902, a presenter device sends shared data to a server device. In step 904, a presenter device sends a relative position to a server device. In step 906, information (e.g., display information) is sent from a presenter device to the server device. Display information may be one or more of screen size, resolution, aspect ratio and other parameters associated with the computer display of the presenter device);
re-splitting, by the server node and in dependence upon the updated mapped coordinates of the leader node, the first subset of digital assets into updated second data identifying an updated second subset of digital assets and updated third data identifying an updated third subset of digital assets, wherein (i) each digital asset of the updated second subset of digital assets has a location outside of mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the follower node following the leader node, (ii) each digital asset of the updated third subset of digital assets has a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the follower viewport in the workspace that is rendered on the display linked to the follower node, and (iii) at least one digital asset, that was previously included in the second subset of digital assets and excluded from the third subset of digital assets, is excluded from the updated second subset of digital assets and included in the updated third subset of digital assets (fig. 10step 1070 and Para 0140, wherein the computing device may adjust the data (1070 and figs 8A-D and Paras 097-0123, wherein FIGS. 8A-8D depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged); and
sending, by the server node to the follower node, the updated second data identifying the updated second subset of digital assets and the updated third data identifying the updated third subset of digital assets, wherein the updated second data identifying the updated second subset of digital assets allows an updated rendering of the follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the follower node, to include the digital assets within the updated third subset of digital assets and prevents the updated rendering of the follower viewport, on the screen space of the display linked to the follower node, from including the digital assets within the updated second subset of digital assets, and wherein the updated rendering of the follower viewport includes the digital asset that was previously prevented from the initial rendering of the follower viewport (fig. 9 and Para 0131, wherein in step 914, an updated relative position is sent to the destination device. In some implementations, the relative position has been updated by the server device based on the information received in step 910. The updated relative position may change which portion of the shared data is enlarged and/or in focus for display. In some implementations, the relative position is updated using the information sent by the destination device prior to the target focused and enlarged data being displayed on the destination device. In fig. 10, step 1080, the computing device may send the adjusted data to a destination device (1080)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 15 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2023/0214958) and further in view of Carlos (US 2016/0232647).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 23, Zhang teaches the method of claim 6, the system of claim 14 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 22, method of claim 6, further including: generating, by the server and from the first data identifying the first subset of digital assets in the workspace, fourth data identifying a fourth subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, and fifth data identifying a fifth subset of digital assets, from the set of digital assets in the workspace, wherein, as a result of the update event: (i) each digital asset of the fourth subset of digital assets has a location outside of the mapped display coordinates of the display linked to the follower node, and (ii) each digital asset of the fifth subset of digital assets has a location inside of the mapped display coordinates of the display linked to the follower node; and sending, from the server node and to the follower node, the fourth data identifying the fourth subset of digital assets and the fifth data identifying the fifth subset of digital assets (fig. 10, step 1070 and Para 0140, the computing device may adjust the data (1070). Figs 8A-D and Paras 0097-0123, wherein depict an illustration of a presentation using targeted focusing and/or enlarging to make an indicated portion of the presentation more legible when viewed on display of smaller size. A display 530 from a presenter device (e.g., presenter device 504, fig. 5) is depicted along with a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5). As can be seen in the depiction, certain elements, such as a portion of the text, may be rendered legible once target focused and enlarged on a display 520 of a destination device (e.g., destination device 502, fig. 5).
Zhang does not expressly disclose receiving, at the server node, an update event from the follower node indicating a pan operation in response to an input received at the follower node, wherein the pan operation updates at least a portion of the digital assets on the display linked to the follower node.
Carlos discloses “receiving, at the server node, an update event from the follower node indicating a pan operation in response to an input received at the follower node, wherein the pan operation updates at least a portion of the digital assets on the display linked to the follower node”, see figs 10, 12 and Paras 0123-0124.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method and the system of Zhang with the teaching of Carlos using panning operation by presentation engine of the viewer appliance (follower node) of the shared workspace so that the location of interaction and the interacted asset is displayed in the viewport window, as known technique to yield a predictable result.
Claim(s) 8, 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2023/0214958), and further in view of Jones (US 2005/0132299).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 24, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, the system of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, but, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the first data identifying the first subset of digital assets further includes toolbar data identifying a toolbar including user interface elements, the toolbar data further identifying a source location and a source dimension of the toolbar as displayed on the display linked to the leader node, the method further including: determining a target location and a target dimension of the toolbar for display on the display linked to the follower node, wherein the target location maps inside the mapped display coordinates of the display linked to the follower node and the target location and the target dimension prevent overlap of the toolbar with digital assets displayed in the display linked to the follower node.
However, Jones discloses “wherein the first data identifying the first subset of digital assets further includes toolbar data identifying a toolbar including user interface elements, the toolbar data further identifying a source location and a source dimension of the toolbar as displayed on the display linked to the leader node, the method further including: determining a target location and a target dimension of the toolbar for display on the display linked to the follower node, wherein the target location maps inside the mapped display coordinates of the display linked to the follower node and the target location and the target dimension prevent overlap of the toolbar with digital assets displayed in the display linked to the follower node”, see fig. 3B and Paras 0034-0035, only the desktop region 323 of display 321 is shared and appears in window 334. Control area 326 is placed in taskbar region 322, which is not shared.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a method and a system of Zhang with the teaching of Jones to share by a sharer display device only the desktop region of display which appears in viewer display and not shared a control area of the sharer display device which is placed in taskbar region. Thus the sharer is able to use application sharing to share a view of the entire desktop region without restriction on the control area, as a known technique to yield to a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jakobovits (US 2019/0121498), relates to apparatuses, methods, and systems for digital collaboration, which facilitate multiple simultaneous users having access to global workspace data, and more particularly to creating and accessing shared viewport markers that allow all users of digital collaboration systems to open viewports represented by the shared viewport markers.
Burckel (US 2022/0179552), relates to software and/or hardware, referred to as Tapistry, or the software/hardware/facility throughout the rest of this application, and more particularly for delivering an unstructured cognitive platform across one or more devices for human-computer interaction and interfaces.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 9/26/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625