DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farris (US 2011/0192891 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 7, Farris discloses a reusable container closure comprising a connection mechanism (100) couplable to a container (see box of Figures 4-7B), the container comprising a bottom, a top, and sides, the top comprising a first flap (202) and a second flap (204), the first flap comprising a first hinge end (Examiner considers the hinge end to be the portion of the flap foldably attached to a box sidewall) and a first edge (i.e. distal free edge) opposite the first hinge end, the second flap comprising a second hinge end and a second edge opposite the second hinge end, the first and second hinge ends are each connected to a side of the container, the connection mechanism (100 or 100a) extending substantially along an entire length of the first edge of the first flap (see Figures 4-7B), wherein the first edge is adjacent to a second edge of the second flap when the first and second flaps are in a closed position (see Fig. 7A), and wherein the connection mechanism comprises a tab (104; Examiner considers portion 104 to extend as a tab) couplable along the first edge of the first flap (see Par. 0038-0039); and a channel (1000a; see Fig. 10A; Examiner considers element 1000a to present a “channel”) opposite the tab configured to enclose a portion of the second flap along a substantial portion of the second edge (see Figures 9A-10B), wherein when the first and second flaps are in an open position the tab remains coupled to the first flap (see Fig. 9A), and wherein when the first and second flaps are in the closed position the channel maintains the second edge in the channel while the tab remains coupled to the first flap (see Fig. 10B). Examiner considers Farris’s connection material to be rigid.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Farris discloses a reusable container closure wherein the channel is a first channel and the tab is a first tab and further comprising a second tab, the first tab and the second tab forming a second channel therebetween, the second channel configured to couple to the first flap by a friction fit (see Fig. 9A-10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris in view of Bartone, Sr. (US 7854372 B1; hereinafter Bartone).
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14-18, Farris lacks a detachable strap wrapped around the box. Bartone teaches a box closure clip further comprising a strap (dual straps 221a/222a; see Fig. 9), detachably coupled to opposite sides of the box, such that the strap maintains one of a bottom in a closed position or first and second top flaps in the closed position (Col 3 lines 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Farris’s box to include binder straps to ensure that the closure clips remain in place during transit, as taught by Bartone. Examiner notes that Farris discloses a box that is a generic regular slotted container which employs a standard four top closure flaps and four bottom closure flaps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. Claim 20 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11-14, filed 03/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-8 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Dismukes have been fully considered and are persuasive. Dismukes fails to teach a connection mechanism that span along substantially an entire length of a closure flap. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)--Farris.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734