DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6, 10, and 12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 6, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "flexible insert" in claim 7, 8, 11, 14, and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the inner and outer vertical side surfaces" in 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends that Applicant amends the claim to utilize the same terminology as claim 17 in order to establish antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gueret (US 5301850 A).
In regards to claim 7, Gueret discloses a pump top for a liquid dispenser (dispensing head 703) comprising: a top half (top half indicated by the location strip 705), a bottom half (bottom half indicated by the location of the part 704), and a flexible insert positioned between the top and bottom halves (strip 705 of resilient material, col. 13 lls. 14-22), and wherein the flexible insert comprises a liquid guide formed to lie beneath a bottom surface of the top half, the liquid guide being formed by an inner side surface and an outer side surface (please refer to the annotated figure below),
the liquid guide being configured to provide a liquid flow path to conduct liquid to be dispensed to a liquid outlet port (dispensing opening 704a).
In regards to claim 8, Gueret discloses wherein the flexible insert further comprises first and second raised flexible ridges formed around the liquid guide (ribs 705b corresponding to grooves 704b) and configured such that when the top and bottom halves are attached together, the flexible insert is compressed and the first and second raised ridges form a liquid seal around the liquid flow path provided by the liquid guide (col. 13 lls. 14-22).
In regards to claim 11, Gueret discloses wherein the flexible insert is formed of silicone rubber (col. 3 lls. 4-14, whereas the obturator is designed to form a seal, as such the flexible insert and the obturator as synonymous).
In regards to claim 15, Gueret discloses wherein the flexible insert is formed of silicone rubber (col. 3 lls. 4-14, whereas the obturator is designed to form a seal, as such the flexible insert and the obturator as synonymous).
In regards to claim 17, Gueret discloses wherein the inner and outer side surfaces are each vertically disposed (refer to the annotated figure below).
Indicated by the guide lines and the description of the interface between the ribs 705b and grooves 704b (col. 13 lls. 18-23) it is shown that the outer and inner surfaces are vertically disposed in reference to the top and bottom surfaces of the bottom and top half, respectively.
In regards to claim 18, Gueret discloses wherein the inner and outer vertical side surfaces are each vertically disposed (please refer to the annotated figure below).
Indicated by the guide lines and the description of the interface between the ribs 705b and grooves 704b (col. 13 lls. 18-23) it is shown that the outer and inner surfaces are vertically disposed in reference to the top and bottom surfaces of the bottom and top half, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gueret (US 5301850 A).
In regards to claim 9, Gueret discloses the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert in the embodiment utilized for the rejection of claim 7, however said embodiment remains silent to a respective rear perimeter of each of the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert each follow the same semicircular contour. In an alternate embodiment, exemplified by Fig. 4, Gueret teaches a respective rear perimeter of each of the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert each follow the same semicircular contour (refer to the annotated figure below);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the top half and flexible insert to follow the same semicircular contour as the rear perimeter of the bottom half. By modifying the top half and flexible insert, the design and assembly is simplified into a coherent profile and comes more readily into contact with the bottom half (col. 11 lls. 41-43).
In regards to claim 13, Gueret discloses wherein the liquid flow path in the embodiment utilized in the rejection of independent claim 7; However, remains silent to the liquid flow path comprises first and second flow channels. In an alternate embodiment, depicted by Fig. 10, Gueret teaches the liquid flow path comprises first and second flow channels (Fig. 10 and col. 13 lls. 11-13). The Court has ruled that drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). MPEP 2125. It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flow path to include a first and second flow channel. By doing so, one skilled in the art would be capable of dispensing two simultaneous products (col. 13 lls. 11-13).
In regards to claim 14, Gueret discloses wherein the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert in the embodiment utilized for the rejection of claim 8, however said embodiment remains silent to a respective rear perimeter of each of the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert each follow the same semicircular contour. In an alternate embodiment, exemplified by Fig. 4, Gueret teaches a respective rear perimeter of each of the top half, the bottom half, and the flexible insert each follow the same semicircular contour (refer to the annotated figure below);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the top half and flexible insert to follow the same semicircular contour as the rear perimeter of the bottom half. By modifying the top half and flexible insert, the design and assembly is simplified into a coherent profile and comes more readily into contact with the bottom half (col. 11 lls. 41-43).
In regards to claim 16, Gueret discloses wherein the liquid flow path in the embodiment utilized in the rejection of independent claim 8; However, remains silent to the liquid flow path comprises first and second flow channels. In an alternate embodiment, depicted by Fig. 10, Gueret teaches the liquid flow path comprises first and second flow channels (Fig. 10 and col. 13 lls. 11-13). The Court has ruled that drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). MPEP 2125. It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the flow path to include a first and second flow channel. By doing so, one skilled in the art would be capable of dispensing two simultaneous products (col. 13 lls. 11-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Neuhaus et al. (US 8863994 B2) for the usage of a flexible insert to establish a flow path and Laidler et al. (US 7651013 B2) for including the flow path integrated into the flexible insert. .
/CHRISTOPHER S. PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754