DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the rejection set forth below addressing the amendments to the claims.
In response to applicant’s argument that Li’s spoon presses top-down through a hole and does not glide or applies pressure gently from below, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the spoon of Li can be glided over the skin and pressed sufficiently around the pore to inherently apply pressure from the pore below and remove debris from the pore in a single movement, the prior art meets the limitations. It is the examiner’s position the rounded open curve of Li would be capable of performing this operation on at least smaller pores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 5431665) in view of Rosenburg et al (US. 5910147).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses method and a device comprising an extractor tool for removing debris from a pore, the extractor tool comprising: a shaft (handle) texture that facilitates fine movement of a tip (see image below); and the tip coupled to the shaft (figure 1), wherein the tip forms a rounded open curve (22, 21, 131) operable to glide over skin and to press on skin around the pore to apply pressure to the port from below and remove debris from the pore in a single movement (C:1, L: 9-20, downward pressure can be applied even with injury; C:2, L:38-47; it is further noted recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim). Li does not specifically disclose the device comprises a hash pattern. However, Rosenburg et al (hereafter Rosenburg) teaches it was well known in the art at the time of the invention to include a hash pattern texture (20, figure 5) on the surface of a handle (or shaft) in order to improve grip for the thumb and forefinger (C:4, L:40-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a hash pattern texture on to the device handle of Li, as taught as well known in the art at the time of the invention by Rosenburg, in order to improve grip for the thumb and forefinger when using the device.
Regarding claims 2-7, Li in view of Rosenburg teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the tip is operable to press on skin around the pore to apply pressure to the pore from below (Li, figure 4, as long as the prior art meets the structural requirements in the claims and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the limitations. The hooks can be pushed around the pimple from below) and to press on skin around the pore to extract debris from the pore, wherein the debris comprises comedone, skin, sebum, whitehead or blackhead (Li, C:2, L:38-50). Functional limitations are not given full patentable weight. As long as the prior art meets the structural requirements of the claim and is capable of performing the recited function, the prior art meets the limitations. In the instant case, the tip of the device of Li in view of Rosenburg would be capable of pressing on skin around the pore to extract debris from the pore, wherein the debris could be comedone, sebum, dead skin, comprises a blackhead or whitehead.
Regarding claim 8-9, Li in view of Rosenburg teaches all of the limitations set forth in Claim 1, wherein Rosenberg further teaches that stainless steel is a known suitable material for blemish extractors at the time of the invention (C:1, L:30-40; C:5, L:5-10) to endure endless sterilizations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further make the shaft and tip in the method of Li in view of Rosenberg out of stainless steel in order to endure endless sterilizations, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 10-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkovich (US 5935380) in view of Kang (US 20060155306).
Regarding claim 10, Berkovich discloses a method of extracting debris from a pore, the method comprising: pinching skin around the pore (depressing skin); and applying force to the pore from below using an extractor tool (depressing skin and forcing blackhead up out of pores), wherein the extractor tool comprises: a rod shaped shaft (10) that facilitates fine movement of a tip (12); and the pointed tip coupled to the shaft, wherein the tip comprises a rounded open curve (20, 14; C:2, L:43-50) operable to glide over skin and to press on skin around the pore to apply pressure to the pore from below and remove debris from the pore in a single movement (C:2, L:25-36). Berkovich further teaches the shaft can have serrations or grooves to aid in grasping, but does not specifically disclose the serrations or grooves comprise a hash pattern texture. However, Kang teaches a method of extracting debris from a pore using an extractor tool, wherein the extractor tool comprises a rod-shaped shaft comprising a hash pattern texture (102) as an art-recognized equivalent gripping structure to aid in grasping at the time of the invention, such that handle can be grasped well in a hand (paragraph 0034). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the grooves and serrations of the shaft of Berkovich comprise a hash pattern texture, as taught as known in the art by Kang, as an art-recognized equivalent handle texture pattern for pore debris extractors at the time of the invention in order to make the handle easily graspable in a hand and it has been held that mere substitution of art-recognized equivalents at the time of the invention involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Berkovich in view of Kang teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 10, wherein Berkovich teaches the tip is operable to press on skin around the pore to apply pressure to the pore from below a follicle of the pore (C:2, L:25-36).
Regarding claim 12, Berkovich in view of Kang teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 11, Berkovich further teaches the tip is further operable to press on skin around the pore to extract debris from the pore (C:2, L:31, depressing skin).
Regarding claim 13, Berkovich in view of Kang teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the debris comprises comedone (C:2, L:55-60; acne).
Regarding claim 14-16, Berkovich in view of Kang teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 12, wherein the debris comprises sebum, dead skin, a blackhead, or whitehead (C:2, L:32, blackhead comprises dead skin and sebum).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkovich (US 5935380) in view of Kang (US 20060155306), as applied to claims 10 above, and further in view of Forrest (US 20130144308).
Regarding claims 17-18, Berkovich in view of Kang teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 10, wherein Berkovich further teaches the device made from metal, such as that used in dental, for safe contact with the skin and strong enough it will not break, but does not specifically disclose the shaft and the tip are made from a surgical steel. However, Forrest teaches that stainless steel is a suitable material for blemish extractors at the time of the invention (claim 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further make the shaft and tip in the method of Li in view of Kang out of stainless steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771