DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because “a bird stop coupled to the roof deck to structurally support a solar panel underside of a first course of the solar panels and to structurally support a tile underside, the tile supported at the tile underside” should be --a bird stop coupled to the roof deck, the bird stop structurally supporting a solar panel of a first course of the solar panels at the solar panel underside and structurally supporting a tile at the tile underside--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bird stop coupled to the roof deck, the bird stop structurally supporting a solar panel of a first course of the solar panels at the solar panel underside and structurally supporting a tile at the tile underside must be shown or the features canceled from the claim 11. The specification discloses that “shown in FIGS. 10-11, embodiments of the roofing system 100 can include bird stops 110 that can support the underside of and ventilate the roof tiles and/or solar panels 106”, but the figures do not show the solar panel on the tile (such an arrangement apparently would require its own bird stop to fill the gaps created). Alternatively, if the system claimed is one in which the “solar panels that are integrated directly on roofing products, such as ceramic tiles”, para. 22, then such a system must be shown in the drawings. In addition, the only drawing showing solar panels over a roofing material is fig. 7 showing solar panels over shingles, not tiles (fig. 7 shows eave 112, but not the bird stop (presumably the system in which the fig. 3B bird stop is used, although the written specification only discloses that this is a bird stop “other embodiment”, para. 8). Finally, the drawings do not show the bird stop structurally supporting a solar panel of a first course of the solar panels at the solar panel underside and structurally supporting a tile at the tile underside because while the drawings show the bird stop structurally supporting the tiles, as pointed out above, the drawings do not show the bird stop supporting (structural or otherwise) any solar panels (supporting at the solar panel underside or anywhere else).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 and 17-19 – are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Inc. Florida Product Approval, Robida (11,739,532) and Davidson (2011/0000535).
11. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop (“Eagle”) teaches a roof system (“Birdstop”, page 11, fig. 6, and page 15) comprising:
a roof system eave (“EAVE”, page2);
a bird stop (“Birdstop”, page 11, fig. 6, and page 15) coupled to the roof deck (page 15) to block an opening beneath a first course of roofing tiles and the bird stop being under the roof tiles, page 15, the bird stop is solid and comprises a plurality of apertures (the slotted “vent” openings shown where the air enters the eave and travels up the roof, and under the tiles), and the bird stop comprises an upper contour that is complementary in shape to the underside of the first course of the roof tiles (see fig. 6 on page 11), and the bird stop comprises a mounting flange mf at a first position of the bird stop that is configured to engage the bird stop to the roof deck with a fastener, and a mounting flange (Malibu Birdstop lower mounting flange mf) at a lower portion thereof that engages and is mounted to the “ROOF DECK” (fig. 6 shows the bird stop capable of being mounted to the deck at least in that the bird stop is “placed…in its operating position”, dictionary.com, under the tile), and the bird stop structurally supporting a tile at the tile underside, page 11.
Eagle does not teach:
a) each aperture comprises a through hole and a deformed portion that protrudes from a respective through hole, each through hole comprises a length, a width and a depth, and at least one of the width or the depth comprises a maximum dimension of not greater than 1/8 inch,
b) the bird stop not including a mesh or backing material adjacent to the apertures, and
c) the deck supporting solar panels, the bird stop structurally supporting a solar panel of a first course of the solar panels at the solar panel underside, the panels adjacent the eave.
Building Consultants teaches apertures comprise a through hole (as shown in vent detail 5 6, the through hole is formed by the arch-shaped, upper, deformed metal portion, such through hole extending parallel with the viewing axis) and a deformed portion (the arch-shaped, upper, deformed metal portion) that protrudes from a respective through hole (the deformed portion “protrudes” from a respective through hole just as, for example, a handkerchief protrudes from a breast pocket), each through hole comprises a length (0.34”), a width (0.124”) and a depth (0.049”), and at least one of the width or the depth (the depth) comprises a maximum dimension of not greater than 1/8 inch (the through hole depth is 0.049”, which is less than 0.125”), and Robida teaches it is old in the art for a roof ventilation component with a hole/deformed portion-type aperture to not include a mesh or backing material adjacent to the apertures (“The off-ridge roof ventilation device should preferably also be…without a need for a screen”, col. 2, lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each Eagle aperture to comprise a through hole and a deformed portion that protrudes from a respective through hole, each through hole comprising a length, a width and a depth, and at least one of the width or the depth comprises a maximum dimension of not greater than 1/8 inch for the improved air flow of having two openings o1 and o2 instead of essentially just the one of Eagle, and to not include a mesh or backing material adjacent to the apertures as taught by Roboda to reduce the production and material cost of including a mesh.
Davidson teaches deck 900 supports tiles 409 and solar panels 40, a bird stop 38 structurally supporting the solar panel (supporting via being attached to the tile) of a first course of the solar panels, fig. 24, at the solar panel underside, the panel at the eave, fig. 45. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to put a solar panel on each tile (in the same way Applicant’s solar panels “are integrated directly on roofing products, such as ceramic tiles”, para. 22) because the solar devices are “cheaper to manufacture and install, more efficient in the conversion to electrical energy and the transmission of the electricity, to be more durable, and to be aesthetically pleasing”, para. 27.
Annotated 5 6 Vent Detail
Malibu Birdstop annotated figure on page 11
12. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof system of claim 11, and while the Eagle roof component does comprise louvers as defined in Applicant’s specification (“a single covering for an aperture that has only one opening, rather than two openings (e.g., via lancing or stamping)”, para. 24), and the Building Consultants through hole/deformed portions are referred to as a “LOUVER PATTERN” (see detail 5 6), the Eagle in view of Building Consultants roof component does not comprise louvers as claimed because in the combination bird stop the Eagle aperture is replaced with the Building Components through hole and deformed portion that protrudes from a respective through hole, the Building Consultants through hole/deformed portion being a single covering for an aperture that has “two openings (e.g., via lancing or stamping)”, para. 24) as specified, see annotated Vent Detail above.
13. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof system of claim 11, Building Consultants further teaching at least one of the width or the depth is not greater than 1/20 inch (the depth is not greater than 1/20 inch because the depth is .049”).
14. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof system of claim 11, Building Consultants further teaching each of the width and the depth is not greater than 1/8 inch (the width is .124” and the depth is .049”).
15. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof system of claim 11, Building Consultants further teaching each deformed portion comprises a trapezoidal shape (see the cross-section view).
17. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof component of claim 11, Robida further teaching each deformed portion extends outward, away from the vented roof space (the Robida deformed portion extending outward away from the vented space is analogous to the bird stop deformed portion extending outward away from the roof tiles toward the roof system eave (the vented space)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each deformed portion to extend outward, away from the roof tiles toward the roof system eave as opposed to inward toward and beneath the roofing tiles as taught by Building Consultants (as seen in 5 and 6, the deformed portion extends up, which is inward relative to the vented space when installed), as outwardly extended Building Consultants- type deformed portions interact better with air passing through the deformed portion to allow additional air exchange.
Claim 17 is understood to be drawn to a roof system because the applicant has positively recited claim elements other than the apparatus (the roof component). The claim recites that the deformed portion extends outward, away from the roof tiles “toward” the eave of the roof system. In re Larsen, 10 Fed. App’x 890 (Fed. Cir. 2001). It is suggested that the limitation “extends outward, away from the roof tiles toward the eave of the roof system” could be --configured to extend outward, away from the roof tiles toward the eave of the roof system--.
18. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson teaches the roof component of claim 11, Building Consultants further teaching each deformed portion extends inward (“inward” being disclosed at para. 20 as “toward and beneath the roofing tiles”) because as seen in 5 and 6, the deformed portion extends up, which is inward relative to the vented space when installed.
19. Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop in view of Building Consultants, Robida and Davidson, Eagle Roofing Products Malibu Birdstop further teaching the apertures comprise triangular array patterns (tap1 and tap2) that are not connected by other apertures,
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the Flaherty reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Johansen (2016/0105143) teaches it is old in the art to structurally support solar panels on a stop 100.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J KENNY/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633