DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/10/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20190348708-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Masahiro’, as evidenced by ‘A Review of Glass and Crystallizations of Glass-Ceramics’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Alzahrani’
Regarding Claim 1,
Masahiro teaches a solid electrolyte comprising (Masahiro, “A main object of the present disclosure is to provide a solid electrolyte with excellent ion conductivity”, see Abstract) : a lithium argyrodite film of formula of Lin-PxS-yXz and exhibiting a polyamorphous microstructure (Masahiro, “Examples of the amorphous sulfide solid electrolyte may include, Li2S—P2S5—LiI,… Li2S—P2S5—LiI—LiBr. ”, see [0076]) (Masahiro, “The solid electrolyte in the present disclosure is preferably a sulfide solid electrolyte. Also, the solid electrolyte in the present disclosure is preferably glass ceramic.”, see [0051])(The examiner notes that polyamorphous is interpreted based on the specification to including at least one amorphous phase “The lithium argyrodite may exhibit a polyamorphous microstructure. The polyamorphous microstructure may be a fully amorphous material, or may be a mixed glass-ceramic material”, see [0023] of the instant application) (The examiner notes that glass-ceramic contains amorphous phase(s) as evidenced by Alzahrani, “Partially crystallised glasses, often referred to as glass-ceramics, are a multiphase material containing amorphous and crystalline phase/s with various ratios (normally from 20% to 95%) The aim behind preparing glass-ceramics is that the end material should have superior properties, which cannot be achieved from the original glass, such as thermal shock resistance, control of thermal expansions, mechanical strength, optical properties etc.”) wherein X is F, Cl, Br, I, or a mixture of any two or more thereof; and wherein n is 1 to 10 ,x is 1 to 3, y is 3 to 8, and z is 1 to 3 (Masahiro, “ The amorphous oxide solid electrolyte may further contain a halogen element. Examples of the halogen element may include a F element, a Cl element, a Br element, and an I element.”, see [0078]).
Regarding Claim 3,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film comprises bridging P- S-P and terminating P-S--Li* bonds (Masahiro, “Examples of the amorphous sulfide solid electrolyte may include Li2S—P2S5, Li2S—P2S5—LiI, Li2S—P2S5—GeS2, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O—LiI, Li2S—P2S5—LiI—LiBr, Li2S—SiS2, Li2S—SiS2—LiI, Li2S—SiS2—LiBr, Li2S—SiS2—LiCl, Li2S—SiS2—B2S3—LiI, Li2S—SiS2—P2S5—LiI, Li2S—B2S3, Li2S—P2S5—ZmSn”, see [0076]).
Regarding Claim 4,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film comprises thiophosphate conformations having formulas PxSy where x is 1 to 3 and y is 3 to 8 (Masahiro, “Examples of the amorphous sulfide solid electrolyte may include Li2S—P2S5,”, see [0076]).
Regarding Claim 5,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film comprises thiophosphate conformations having formulas PS43-, P2S64-, P2S7 4-, and PS3- (Masahiro, “Li2S—P2S5—LiI,”, see [0076])(The examiner interprets P2S64-, as analogous to S—P2S5 based on the instant application “P2S6 4− is a hypothiophosphate with one P—S—P bridging bonds and with six P—S−—Li+ bonds”, see [0026] the examiner notes that the notation is different but the bond structure is similar)
Regarding Claim 7,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film exhibits an ionic conductivity greater than 10-6 S/cm (Masahiro, “The Li ion conductivity at 25° C. is, for example, 1.0*10−3 S/cm or more, may be 3.0*10−3 S/cm or more, and may be 3.3*10−3 S/cm or more.”, see [0052]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein X is Cl (Masahiro, “ The amorphous oxide solid electrolyte may further contain a halogen element. Examples of the halogen element may include a F element, a Cl element, a Br element, and an I element.”, see [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20190348708-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Masahiro’
Regarding Claim 2,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film has a thickness of about 1 um to about 50 um (Masahiro, “There are no particular limitations on the thickness of the solid electrolyte film; for example, …, and may be 10 μm or less. “, see [0081]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 10 μm or less broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1 μm to about 50 μm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 8,
Masahiro teaches the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film has a thickness of about 10 μm to about 20 μm (Masahiro, “There are no particular limitations on the thickness of the solid electrolyte film.. and may be 10 μm or less..”, see [0081]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 10 μm or less broadly overlaps the claimed range of 10 μm to about 20 μm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 20,
Masahiro teaches a solid-state battery comprising :a cathode comprising a cathode active material; an anode comprising lithium metal; an electrolyte disposed between and in physical contact with the cathode and the anode(Masahiro, “The present disclosure also provides an all solid state battery comprising a cathode active material layer containing a cathode active material, an anode active material layer containing an anode active material, and a solid electrolyte layer formed between the cathode active material layer and the anode active material layer; wherein at least one of the cathode active material layer, the anode active material layer, and the solid electrolyte layer contains the above described solid electrolyte.”, see [0019])(Masahiro, “Examples of the anode active material may include a metal active material and a carbon active material. Examples of the metal active material may include Li, In, Al, Si, and Sn.”, see [0062]); and wherein the electrolyte comprises a film of polyamorphous lithium argyrodite having a thickness of about 1 μm to about 50 μm (Masahiro, “There are no particular limitations on the thickness of the solid electrolyte film; for example, the thickness is 600 μm or less, may be 300 μm or less, may be 100 μm or less, may be 30 μm or less, and may be 10 μm or less. Meanwhile, the thickness of the solid electrolyte film is, for example, 0.5 μm or more.”, see [0081]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 10 μm or less broadly overlaps the claimed range of 1 μm to about 50 μm Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20190348708-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Masahiro’ in view of ‘Role of amorphous boundary layer in enhancing ionic conductivity of lithium–lanthanum–titanate electrolyte’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Mei’
Regarding Claim 6,
Masahiro does not teach the solid electrolyte of claim 1, wherein the lithium argyrodite film further comprises spherical nanocrystallites separated by amorphous grain boundaries.
Mei teaches the electrolyte comprises nanocrystallites separated by an amorphous grain boundaries (Mei, “In order to improve the grain boundary effect, an amorphous silica layer is introduced into grain boundary of ceramic electrolytes based on lithium–lanthanum–titanate, as evidenced by electron microscopy. The results showed that the total ionic conductivity could be to be enhanced over 1 × 10−4 S/cm at room temperature.”, see Abstract)(see annotated figure below)
Mei teaches that the amorphous grain boundary increases the conductivity of the solid electrolyte (Mei, “In order to improve the grain boundary effect, an amorphous silica layer is introduced into grain boundary of ceramic electrolytes based on lithium–lanthanum–titanate, as evidenced by electron microscopy. The results showed that the total ionic conductivity could be to be enhanced over 1 × 10−4 S/cm at room temperature.”, see Abstract).
Masahiro and Mei are analogous as they are both of the same field of solid-state electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the solid-state electrolyte as taught in Masahiro to have an amorphous grain boundary in order to improve the conductivity of the electrolyte.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752