Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response filed on 07/29/2025; and IDS filed on 07/08/2023.
Claims 43-55 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 54-55 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of “vascular thrombosis” (claim 44); and “trehalose” (claim 49), and “Tn6” (claim 52, Table 1) as the “further comprising” specie in the reply filed on 07/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Note, claims 54-55 are drawn to non-elected species.
Double Patenting
Claim 43-53 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 17/616,166 (reference application).
The co-application recites a method for disrupting or destroying vascular thromboses or plaques, comprising: administering to a subject in need thereof an aqueous emulsion or suspension of claim 1; and applying ultrasound to a targeted region of an organ of the subject having vascular thromboses or plaques thereby destroying or reducing the vascular thromboses or plaques (see claim 36). An aqueous emulsion or suspension of microbubbles and/or nanodroplets having one or more fibrin-binding ligands attached thereto (see claim 1), wherein the fluorinated gas comprises octafluoropropane (see claim 11).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 43-53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,576,220.
The patent recites a non-invasive method for performing surgery in the vasculature of a patient, said method comprising: (a) administering intravascularly to said patient a composition comprising, in an aqueous diluent, vesicles comprising a gas or gaseous precursor and a stabilizing compound; and (b) applying ultrasound to said patient in an amount sufficient to induce activation or rupture of said vesicles (see claim 1), wherein said surgery alleviates a thrombosis in said patient (see claim 6), wherein said fluorinated compound is perfluoropropane (see claim 13).
The patent does not recite that the nanodroplet is nano-size; however, the patent’s specification discloses “nano-droplets of the liquid gaseous precursor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43-46, 50-51, 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(10 as being anticipated by SWENSON et al (US 8,293,214).
SWENSON teaches a method of ultrasound imaging (see claim 22), such as thrombus in the abdominal artery (see col. 104, Example 68), which reads on vascular thrombosis, comprised of: (a) administering a composition comprising gas-filled microvesicles to a patient (see claim 22); and (b) subjecting said patient to ultrasound irradiation (see claim 22), wherein the preferred gas is fluorinated (see col. 22, line 39), such as perfluoropropane (see col. 22, line 57-58). Additional disclosures include: “A class of contrast agents, particularly useful for ultrasound contrast imaging, includes suspensions of gas bubbles of nano- and/or micro-metric size dispersed in an aqueous medium. Of particular interest are those formulations where the gas bubbles are stabilized, for example by using emulsifiers, oils, thickeners or sugars, or by entrapping or encapsulating the gas or a precursor thereof in a variety of systems. These stabilized gas bubbles are generally referred to in the art with various terminologies, such as, for instance, "microvesicles", "microspheres", "microbubbles", "microcapsules" or "microballoons" (see col. 1, line 35-50); sugars, such as trehalose (see col. 19, line 24); PEG-4000 (see col. 97, line 10-15); aqueous suspension (see col. 4, line 13-15); targeting ligands (see abstract), such as fibrin-targeting (see col. 12, line 35-50), preferably comprising about 10 amino acids (see col. 12, line 66-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SWENSON et al (US 8,293,214) in view of OLIVEIRA et al (Peptide-Based Fibrin-Targeting Probes for Thrombus Imaging. Dalton Trans. 2017 October 31; 46(42): 14488–14508).
As discussed above, SWENSON teaches a method of ultrasound imaging (see claim 22), such as thrombus in the abdominal artery (see col. 104, Example 68), which reads on vascular thrombosis, comprised of: (a) administering a composition comprising gas-filled microvesicles to a patient (see claim 22); and (b) subjecting said patient to ultrasound irradiation (see claim 22), wherein the preferred gas is fluorinated (see col. 22, line 39), such as perfluoropropane (see col. 22, line 57-58). Additional disclosures include: “A class of contrast agents, particularly useful for ultrasound contrast imaging, includes suspensions of gas bubbles of nano- and/or micro-metric size dispersed in an aqueous medium. Of particular interest are those formulations where the gas bubbles are stabilized, for example by using emulsifiers, oils, thickeners or sugars, or by entrapping or encapsulating the gas or a precursor thereof in a variety of systems. These stabilized gas bubbles are generally referred to in the art with various terminologies, such as, for instance, "microvesicles", "microspheres", "microbubbles", "microcapsules" or "microballoons" (see col. 1, line 35-50); sugars, such as trehalose (see col. 19, line 24); PEG-4000 (see col. 97, line 10-15); aqueous suspension (see col. 4, line 13-15); targeting ligands (see abstract), such as fibrin-targeting (see col. 12, line 35-50), preferably comprising about 10 amino acids (see col. 12, line 66-67).
SWENSON does not teach using specific fibrin-binding peptides selected from Table 1, such as Tn6.
OLIVEIRA teaches the prior art had known of peptide-based fibrin-targeted probes for molecular imaging of thrombosis (see title and abstract), such as Tn6, Tn7 and Tn10 (see pg. 26 at Figure 3), which has about 11-16 amino acids (see pg. 45 at Table 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using specific fibrin-binding peptides selected from Table 1, which are Tn6, Tn7 and Tn10. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because these peptides would allow specific targeting of thrombosis, and reasonably would have expected success because the primary reference teaches using fibrin binding peptides to target thrombosis.
The references do not specifically teach the nanoparticle size range as claimed by Applicant. The nanodroplet size of a nano-composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the nanodroplet/particle size in order to best achieve the desired results, such as the small size needed to travel through the vasculature system. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of nanodroplet/particle size would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618