DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/27/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the non-patent literature “First Office Action issued in corresponding Chinese Application…” has no English language translation. All other references have been considered. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh (US 20220221557 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Yeh discloses a method for laser detection (Fig. 8), comprising:
emitting a secondary emergent laser in a current detection cycle ([0040] and Fig. 8 step 820, emit pilot laser pulse);
receiving and analyzing an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result (Fig. 8, steps 830 and 840);
determining an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result (Fig. 8, step 850; [0040] determining whether to emit high-power pulse);
emitting the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode (Fig. 8, step 860 and [0040] determining whether to emit high-power pulse based on pilot pulse).
Regarding Claim 2: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 1. Yeh further discloses wherein receiving and analyzing the echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain the detection result comprises: determining whether reflected signals in echo signals are identified (Fig. 8, steps 830 and 840), the echo signals being electrical signals output by a receiver after the echo laser is received, the reflected signals being electrical signals output by the receiver after a reflected laser is received, the laser reflected laser being a returned laser which is the secondary emergent laser reflected by a target object (paragraphs [0028] – [0030]); and
when the reflected signals are not identified, determining the detection result according to a waveform feature of preamble signals of the secondary emergent laser ([0040] if the pilot laser pulse cannot be identified, there is no object in the close range; Fig. 8 step 850);
when the reflected signals are identified, determining the detection result according to a moment of the reflected laser ([0040] and Fig. 8 steps 840 and 850, if pilot pulse is reflected back from object, distance to that object can be determined; [0031] time of flight is used to determine distance).
Regarding Claim 3: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 2. Yeh further discloses wherein determining the detection result according to the waveform feature of the preamble signals of the secondary emergent laser comprises:
obtaining a feature difference value between the waveform feature of the preamble signals and a preset waveform feature, and comparing the feature difference value with a preset threshold ([0027] intensity of returned signals; [0040] if pilot pulse can be detected, its signal is strong enough to be distinguished from noise);
when an absolute value of the feature difference value exceeds the preset threshold, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than a first preset moment ([0040] if object is present and detected, the signal was strong enough to be distinguished from noise; Fig. 4, if an object is present in range D1, the time of flight will be within the time that would correspond to a distance of D1); and
when the absolute value of the feature difference value is less than or equal to the preset threshold, determining that the reflected laser is not received ([0040] if the probe signal is not strong enough to be distinguished from noise, no laser pulse is reflected back).
Regarding Claim 4: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 3. Yeh further discloses wherein determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the first preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a close-range mode (Fig. 8, steps 840 and 850).
Regarding Claim 5: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 3. Yeh further discloses wherein determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is not received, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a far-range mode (Fig. 8, steps 850 and 860; [0040] if no laser pulse is reflected back, a high-power pulse is emitted).
Regarding Claim 6: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 2. Yeh further discloses wherein determining the detection result according to the moment of receiving the reflected laser comprises:
when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is less than a second preset moment, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the second preset moment (Fig. 4 and [0040] if a pulse returns from object 402, which is within first range D1, the time the pulse is received will be earlier than the time corresponding to a distance of D1) and the second preset moment being greater thana first preset moment (Fig. 8, the first preset moment is step 820, when the pulse is emitted. The time that would correspond to a distance of D1, in Fig. 4, is after the first preset moment),
when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is greater than or equal to the second preset moment, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is later than the second preset moment (Fig. 4 and [0030] – [0031], if the object is between D1 and D2, the time the pulse is detected will be after the time that would correspond to a distance of D1. Distance is measured using time of flight).
Regarding Claim 7: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 6. Yeh further discloses wherein determining the operation mode of the primary emergent lase in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises:
when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the second preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a close-range mode (Fig. 8 step 850; Fig. 4, and [0040] if object is within D1, the next pulse emitted will be a low-power pulse).
Regarding Claim 9: Yeh discloses the method according to claim 1. Yeh further discloses wherein a frame cycle of an emergent laser comprises at least two detection cycles ([0040] there is a first pilot pulse, which has low power, and a high-power pulse for far distances), and an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in an initial detection cycle in the frame cycle adopts a close-range mode (Fig. 8, step 810, and [0040] a low power pilot pulse is emitted first, for close ranges).
Regarding Claim 11: Yeh discloses a non transitory computer readable storage medium having executable codes stored thereon ([0036] and Fig. 3, memory 320), wherein when executed by a processor of an electronic device, the executable codes cause the processor to execute a method for laser detection ([0036] and Fig. 3, processor 310), wherein the method comprises:
emitting a secondary emergent laser in a current detection cycle ([0040] and Fig. 8 step 820, emit pilot laser pulse);
receiving and analyzing an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result (Fig. 8, steps 830 and 840);
determining an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result (Fig. 8, step 850; [0040] determining whether to emit high-power pulse);
emitting the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode (Fig. 8, step 860 and [0040] determining whether to emit high-power pulse based on pilot pulse).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 20220221557 A1), in view of Steinberg (US 20180113200 A1). Yeh discloses the method according to claim 6. Yeh does not expressly disclose when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is later than the second preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a far range mode.
Steinberg teaches a lidar system, wherein when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is later than the second preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a far range mode (Fig. 5C and [0369] objects that are farther, receive more light flux than closer objects. Receiving more light flux includes higher power pulses).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the operation mode disclosed by Yeh, such that when an object is detected at a far distance, it is measured with higher power as taught by Steinberg. Yeh does not describe a scenario where an object farther than the first threshold distance is detected. Making this modification is beneficial because distant targets require higher power light pulses in order to maintain a desired signal to noise ratio (Steinberg, [0369]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh (US 20220221557 A1), in view of Yu (US 20230204730 A1). Yeh discloses a device for laser detection (Fig. 2), comprising:
a first emitting module configured to emit a secondary emergent laser at a current moment of a detection cycle (Fig. 8, step 820; Fig. 2);
an analyzing module, configured to receive and analyze an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result (Fig. 2, [0029] – [0031]);
a determining module, configured to determine an operation mode of a primary laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result (Fig. 2, controller 206); and
emitting module configured to emit the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode (Fig. 2, Fig. 8, step 850, deciding whether to emit next pulse with low or high power).
Yeh does not disclose a separate second emitting module, that is configured to emit the primary laser.
Yu teaches a lidar system that has a first emitting module for measuring far objects (Fig. 3A, transmitter 104), and a second emitting module for measuring close objects (Fig. 3A, second transmitter 304; [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitting module disclosed by Yeh, such that there are separate lasers for close and far range measurements, as taught by Yu. This would be beneficial because it would enable the far distance transmitter to emit a tightly focused beam, while the near field transmitter can operate by emitting a flash beam that is more diffuse and divergent, offering more control over the beam shape based on the distance to the object (Yu, [0049] – [0051]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu (US 20220155416 A1): a lidar system which emits low power pulses for near field objects and emits high power pulses for farther objects.
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645