Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and remarks submitted 6/4/2026 have been fully considered. The amendments to claims 1 and 11 have overcome the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), and the amendments to claim 10 has overcome the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, new grounds of rejection are made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 4: the last line recites the limitation “a close-range mode” and can be corrected to --the close-range mode--.
Regarding Claim 5: the last line recites the limitation “a far-range mode” and can be corrected to --the far-range mode--.
Regarding Claim 7: the last line recites the limitation “a close-range mode” and can be corrected to --the close-range mode--.
Regarding Claim 8: the last line recites the limitation “a far-range mode” and can be corrected to --the far-range mode--.
Regarding Claim 9: lines 2-3 recite “an operation mode of a primary emergent laser” and can be corrected to --the operation mode of the primary emergent laser. Line 3 recites the limitation “a close-range mode” and can be corrected to --the close-range mode--.
Regarding Claim 10: line 3 recites “the second emitting module” but there is a lack of antecedent basis, and line 10 recites “a second emitting module”. By means of suggestion, and without limiting applicant’s discretion to amend in a matter consistent with the disclosure, this could be corrected by amending line 3 to recite --a second emitting module--, and amending line 10 to recite --the second emitting module--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 112867938 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Wang discloses a method for laser detection (Figs. 1, 3) comprising:
emitting a secondary emergent laser in a current detection cycle (Fig. 1, step 110 and [0024]. Fig. 3, step 310, [0052] – [0055]);
receiving and analyzing an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result (Fig. 3, step 320; [0054] – [0055]);
determining an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result, wherein the next detection cycle is a detection cycle immediately subsequent to and distinct from the current detection cycle ([0033] – [0034] and [0058] with Fig. 3, step 330, determining adjustment power of the main laser depending on distance); and
emitting the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode ([0039] and [0058] the main laser emits light with adjusted power, depending on the distance of the object);
wherein emission of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle occurs temporally after completion of the receiving and analyzing of the echo laser in the current detection cycle ([0039] the secondary laser is analyzed before the primary laser is emitted with adjusted laser); and
wherein the operation mode is selected from at least a close-range mode and a far range mode, the close-range mode having an emission power lower than an emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0025] the power of the secondary laser is based on the maximum distance in the near field region [0058] – [0062] the near field region is subdivided into different zones. If an object is in the furthest zone, from 3m-5m, the main laser is emitted with the power associated with the maximum distance in the near-field region. If the object is closer, between 0m-1m for example, the main laser is emitted with even lower power), and the far range mode having an emission power higher than the emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0037] the power of the main laser, when long-distance detection is performed, is higher than the power of the secondary laser).
Regarding Claim 11: Wang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having executable codes stored thereon, wherein when executed by a processor of an electronic device, the executable codes cause the processor to execute a method for laser detection ([0073] - [0077] disclosed invention is implemented by means of hardware and a properly programmed computer. The method can be implemented using various programming language and general-purpose systems) wherein the method comprises:
emitting a secondary emergent laser in a current detection cycle (Fig. 1, step 110 and [0024]. Fig. 3, step 310, [0052] – [0055]);
receiving and analyzing an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result (Fig. 3, step 320; [0054] – [0055]);
determining an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result, wherein the next detection cycle is a detection cycle immediately subsequent to and distinct from the current detection cycle ([0033] – [0034] and [0058] with Fig. 3, step 330, determining adjustment power of the main laser depending on distance); and
emitting the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode ([0039] and [0058] the main laser emits light with adjusted power, depending on the distance of the object);
wherein emission of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle occurs temporally after completion of the receiving and analyzing of the echo laser in the current detection cycle ([0039] the secondary laser is analyzed before the primary laser is emitted with adjusted laser); and
wherein the operation mode is selected from at least a close-range mode and a far range mode, the close range mode having an emission power lower than an emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0025] the power of the secondary laser is based on the maximum distance in the near field region [0058] – [0062] the near field region is subdivided into different zones. If an object is in the furthest zone, from 3m-5m, the main laser is emitted with the power associated with the maximum distance in the near-field region. If the object is closer, between 0m-1m for example, the main laser is emitted with even lower power), and the far range mode having an emission power higher than the emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0037] the power of the main laser, when long-distance detection is performed, is higher than the power of the secondary laser).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112867938 A), in view of a further teaching of Wang. Wang discloses the method according to claim 1. Wang further discloses that a frame cycle of an emergent laser comprises at least two detection cycles ([0069] the “detection cycle” disclosed by Wang is mapped to the claimed “frame cycle”. Wang’s “detection cycle” includes emitting a secondary laser and analyzing that corresponding echo laser, and then emitting a primary laser and receiving and analyzing that corresponding echo laser).
Wang does not expressly teach that an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in an initial detection cycle in the frame cycle adopts a close-range mode regardless of a detection result of any previous detection cycle. According to applicant’s specifications in paragraph [0071], a frame cycle is “a cycle to obtain one frame of the complete data” and that “the lidar scans the entire field of view to obtain one frame of complete data.” So, in an initial detection cycle of one frame, a primary laser is emitted to measure distance, using a close-range mode. Then, the next detection cycle would include emitting, receiving, and analyzing a second emergent laser and its corresponding echo laser. This would be used to determine the operating mode of the primary emergent laser in the subsequent detection cycle. This pattern of (1) emitting, receiving, analyzing a secondary laser, and (2) emitting, receiving, and analyzing a primary laser, is repeated for the remainder of the frame. The motivation for this, as outlined by paragraph [0071] in applicant’s specification, is to ensure that the power levels are low enough to be safe for human eyes since there was no secondary laser to initially determine whether there is a person in the field of view, prior to this initial detection cycle in the frame cycle.
However, Wang teaches that it is necessary to have low power laser emissions when there are objects/people in the near-field region to ensure human eye safety, and that it is also necessary to have higher power emissions in order to increase the detection range of the lidar system (Wang, [0021]). Wang further teaches that when it is unknown whether there is an object in the near field area, the first emitted laser will have a lower power first, to ensure eye safety (Wang, [0026]). This lower power pulse can be used to measure distance to an object in the near field (Wang, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology before the effective filing date to modify the lidar system currently disclosed by Wang, such that a frame cycle initially starts with a detection cycle using the main laser in a close-range and eye-safe mode, to measure the distance, as further taught by Wang. Making this modification would mean that the first emergent laser in an initial detection cycle in the frame cycle, would be a primary emergent laser in a close-range mode regardless of a detection result of any previous detection cycle. This would simply be a variation in the arrangement of detection cycles, where eye safety of humans in a close range to the lidar device is ensured, and this arrangement is predictable to one having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F).
Claims 2, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112867938 A), in view of Zhuang (US 20180038945 A1).
Regarding Claim 2: Wang discloses the method according to claim 1. Wang further discloses wherein receiving and analyzing the echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain the detection result comprises:
determining whether reflected signals in echo signals are identified, the reflected signals being signals output by the receiver after a reflected laser is received, the reflected laser being a returned laser which is the secondary emergent laser reflected by a target object ([0037] determine whether an object was detected);
when the reflected signals are not identified, determining the detection result according to a waveform feature ([0033] if the echo corresponding to the secondary laser is not received, that means an echo signal could not be distinguished. [0044] the power of the received signals is measured to identify object);
when the reflected signals are identified, determining the detection result according to a moment of receiving the reflected laser (Fig. 3, step 320 and [0055]).
Wang does not expressly disclose the echo signals being electrical signals output by a receiver after the echo laser is received, or that the reflected signals are electrical signals, or that the echo signals further comprise preamble signals, the preamble signals being electrical signals output by the receiver in response to stray light induced by emission of the secondary emergent laser, or that when the reflected signals are not identified, the detection result is determined according to a waveform feature of the preamble signals of the secondary emergent laser.
However, Zhuang teaches a lidar system that determines whether reflected echo signals are identified, wherein the echo signals further comprise preamble signals, the preamble signals being electrical signals output by the receiver in response to stray light induced by emission of the secondary emergent laser ([0028] and Fig. 1, reference portion 32 of light. This is light that has been internally reflected), and that a detection result is determined according to a waveform feature of the preamble signals of the secondary emergent laser (Fig. 1 and [0027] – [0028] and [0039] the delays through the imaging device circuitry and system are determined using reference portion of the pulse 32. This pulse is detected by a reference array, front end circuitry, and routing channel, and the delay is measured. This can be done regardless of if a reflected signal is identified, especially since these delays are not fixed, but are instead dependent on voltage and/or temperature).
It would have been obvious to a person ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technologies before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lidar device disclosed by Wang, such that it detects preamble signals that result from stray light induced by emission of the laser, as taught by Zhuang. This modification is beneficial because detecting and analyzing preamble signals representative of stray light resulting from the emission of the laser can account for delays introduced through various portions of the imaging device, and thus result in a more accurate distance measurement (Zhuang, [0027]).
This combination does not teach that the echo signals are electrical signals or that the reflected signals are electrical signals.
Zhuang further teaches that the echo signals being electrical signals output by a receiver, and the reflected signals being electrical signals output by the receiver after a reflected laser is received, the reflected laser being a returned laser which is the secondary emergent laser reflected by a target object (Fig. 1, SPAD arrays 14 and 16 and Fig. 2, SPAD array 14. Single Photon Avalanche Detectors receive optical signals and output electrical signals).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the lidar device taught by Wang and Zhuang, such that the receiver includes SPAD arrays, as further taught by Zhuang. SPADs receive optical signals and output electrical signals, so by employing SPADS to detect received light, the signals that are output and analyzed are electrical signals. This would be using the known technique of employing SPAD arrays in lidar receivers, to improve a lidar device, in the same way (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale C).
Regarding Claim 6: Wang, in view of Zhuang, teaches the method according to claim 2. Wang further discloses that determining the detection result according to the moment of receiving the reflected laser comprises:
when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is less than a second preset moment, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the second preset moment, and the second preset moment being greater than a first preset moment (Fig. 3, Step 320, determine distance. [0054] – [0060] the light can be received at a time corresponding to the object being within 1-3m of the lidar device. This time would be sooner than if the object were at 5m, which is the distance corresponding to “near field”, but later than if the object were at 1m, which is in the closest zone of the near-field); wherein the second preset moment corresponds to a quenching moment of preamble signals of the primary emergent laser in the far range mode ([0038] the integration period of the primary laser in the far range mode starts at 5m, which is the end of the near field region); and
when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is greater than or equal to the second preset moment, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is later than the second preset moment ([0029] the time interval between the emission of the secondary laser and the emission of the primary laser is greater than the flight time of the farthest detection distance corresponding the secondary laser emission; [0054] – [0058] and Fig. 3, step 320, determine distance, and step 330, determine adjustment power based on distance. If object is farther than a distance corresponding to second preset moment, then naturally, the reflected light will be detected at a time after the second preset moment).
Regarding Claim 7: Wang, in view of Zhuang, teaches the method according to claim 6. Wang further discloses that determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the second preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a close-range mode ([0057] – [0061]).
Regarding Claim 8: Wang, in view of Zhuang, teaches the method according to claim 6. Wang further discloses that determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is later than the second preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a far-range mode (Fig. 3, step 330 and [0054] – [0057] based on distance, determine power of main laser), wherein the far range mode comprises emitting the primary emergent laser at the emission power higher than the emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0037] the power of the main laser, when long-distance detection is performed, is higher than the power of the secondary laser).
Regarding Claim 10: Wang discloses a device for laser detection (Fig. 4) comprising:
a first emitting module, configured to emit a secondary emergent laser at a current moment of a detection cycle, wherein the first emitting module is distinct from a second emitting module (Fig. 4, modules 410 and 420 and [0064]);
a module configured to receive and analyze an echo laser corresponding to the secondary emergent laser to obtain a detection result ([0036] power is determined based on analysis of first detection echo; if the first echo is analyzed, there must be a module, such as a computer or processor, configured to analyze the echo signal), and configured to determine an operation mode of a primary emergent laser in a next detection cycle according to the detection result ([0036] the power of the main laser is determined based on the analysis results of the first detection echo); and
the second emitting module is configured to emit the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the operation mode ([0066]; ), wherein the second emitting module is configured to emit the primary emergent laser selectively in at least a close range mode having an emission power lower than an emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0025] the power of the secondary laser is based on the maximum distance in the near field region [0058] – [0062] the near field region is subdivided into different zones. If an object is in the furthest zone, from 3m-5m, the main laser is emitted with the power associated with the maximum distance in the near-field region. If the object is closer, between 0m-1m for example, the main laser is emitted with even lower power) or a far range mode having an emission power higher than the emission power of the secondary emergent laser ([0037] the power of the main laser, when long-distance detection is performed, is higher than the power of the secondary laser).
Wang does not disclose a separate analyzing module and determining module, or that the analyzing module is configured to analyze a waveform feature of preamble signals in echo signals output by a receiver in response to stray light induced by emission of the secondary emergent laser.
Wang further teaches that the processor, responsible for analyzing the echo signals and determining the operation mode, can be separate modules ([0076] modules can be divided into sub-modules).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang, by having a separate module for analyzing signals and determining a next operation mode. This would be a predictable variation in hardware design that would be prompted by different design incentives or market forces (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale F).
However, this still does not teach that the analyzing module is configured to analyze a waveform feature of preamble signals in echo signals output by a receiver in response to stray light induced by emission of the secondary emergent laser.
Zhuang teaches a lidar system that analyzes a waveform feature of preamble signals in echo signals output by a receiver in response to stray light induced by the emission of an emergent laser (Fig. 1 and [0027] – [0028] and [0039] the delays through the imaging device circuitry and system are determined using reference portion of the pulse 32).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang and further modified in view of Wang, such that it detects preamble signals that result from stray light induced by emission of the laser, as taught by Zhuang. This modification is beneficial because detecting and analyzing preamble signals representative of stray light resulting from the emission of the laser can account for delays introduced through various portions of the imaging device, and thus result in a more accurate distance measurement (Zhuang, [0027]).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112867938 A), in view of Zhuang (US 20180038945 A1), further in view of Yeh (US 20220221557 A1).
Regarding Claim 3: Wang, in view of Zhuang, teaches the method according to claim 2. Wang further discloses that when a return signal is received and identified, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than a first preset moment ([0034] – [0035] receiving a detection echo corresponding to a target object in the near field area).
However, this current combination does not teach that determining the detection result according to the waveform feature of the preamble signals of the secondary emergent laser comprises: obtaining a feature difference value between the waveform feature of the preamble signals and a preset waveform feature, and comparing the feature difference value with a preset threshold; when an absolute value of the feature difference value exceeds the preset threshold, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than a first preset moment; and when the absolute value of the feature difference value is less than or equal to the preset threshold, determining that the reflected laser is not received.
Yeh teaches a lidar system where determining the detection result according to the waveform feature ([0027] intensity of returned signals) comprises:
obtaining a feature difference value between the waveform feature of the preamble signals and a preset waveform feature, and comparing the feature difference value with a preset threshold ([0027] intensity of returned signals; [0040] if pilot pulse can be detected, its signal is strong enough to be distinguished from noise);
when an absolute value of the feature difference value exceeds the preset threshold, determining that the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than a first preset moment ([0027] and [0040] if object is present and detected, the signal was strong enough to be distinguished from noise; Fig. 4, if an object is present in range D1, the time of flight will be within the time that would correspond to a distance of D1); and
when the absolute value of the feature difference value is less than or equal to the preset threshold, determining that the reflected laser is not received ([0027] and [0040] if the probe signal is not strong enough to be distinguished from noise, no laser pulse is reflected back).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art of lidar technology to further modify the lidar system taught by Wang and Zhuang, by incorporating the teachings of Yeh, where the intensity of return signals is measured, and determining the moment of receiving the reflected laser based on whether the intensity of return signals is strong enough to be distinguished from noise. This modification of determining intensity of return signals includes determining intensity of all return signals. Because the lidar system taught by Wang and Zhuang already teaches the detection of preamble signals, the intensity/waveform of these preamble signals would also be determined in view of this modification. This modification would be motivated by applying the known technique of measuring intensity of returned signals and determining whether a reflected laser has been received or not, to the lidar device taught by Wang and Zhuang, to yield predictable results. (MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D).
Regarding Claim 4: Wang, in view of Zhuang and Yeh, teaches the method according to claim 3. Wang further discloses that determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when the moment of receiving the reflected laser is earlier than the first preset moment, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a close-range mode ([0057] – [0061]).
Regarding Claim 5: Wang, in view of Zhuang and Yeh, teaches the method according to claim 3. Wang further discloses that determining the operation mode of the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle according to the detection result comprises: when it is determined that the reflected laser is not received, determining that the primary emergent laser in the next detection cycle adopts a far-range mode ([0031] and [0037] if no echo corresponding to the second laser beam is detected, the main laser emits high power output for far distance detection).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLE LIN BOEGHOLM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645