The amended claims filed 3/2/26 are acknowledged; claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10-15, and 17-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10-15, and 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baugh (US 7775233) in view of Atencio (US 20210033199).
CLAIM 1: Baugh discloses a valve as shown in part by Fig. 2 below:
The valve comprises a housing (116) having a bore to convey the fluid (see Fig. 2). The bore includes a first inner surface defining a first inner diameter, a second inner surface adjacent to the first inner surface, the second inner surface defining a second inner diameter, a third inner surface adjacent to the second inner surface, the third inner surface defining a third inner diameter, and a central axis extending from an inlet of the housing to an outlet of the housing (see Fig. 2). Wherein the second inner diameter is greater than the first inner diameter and the third inner diameter (see Fig. 2, bulge in housing). Wherein a first sidewall extends from the first inner surface to the second inner surface and a second sidewall extends from the second inner surface to the third inner surface, and wherein the first sidewall, the second inner surface, and the second sidewall partially define a chamber (see Fig. 2). A seal (cap 132) disposed within the bore. An actuator (rod 152 and associated parts) is coupled to the seal, the actuator including an outer surface and a flange (160) extending radially from the outer surface (see Fig. 2). The actuator being disposed within the bore and inline with the inlet of the housing and the outlet of the housing such that the central axis extending from the inlet of the housing to the outlet of the housing is aligned with a central axis of the actuator (see Fig. 2 above). The outer surface of the actuator defines an interior side of the chamber, and wherein the flange is disposed within the chamber (Fig. 2). Wherein the actuator is axially movable within the bore and the flange is movable within the chamber (see Fig. 2, col. 2, line 54 – col. 3, line 5). Movement of the actuator moves the seal between a closed position in which the seal blocks fluid communication from the inlet of the housing to the outlet of the housing and an open position to allow fluid communication between the inlet of the housing and the outlet of the housing (col. 2, line 54 – col. 3, line 5). The chamber is in fluid communication with a first port and a second port (170, 172), the first port configured to direct control fluid into the chamber on a first side of the flange to cause movement of the actuator in a first direction and movement of the seal toward the closed position, the second port configured to direct the control fluid into the chamber on a second side of the flange opposite the first side to cause movement of the actuator in a second direction and movement of the seal toward the open position (col. 2, line 54 – col. 3, line 5).
Baugh fails to disclose a fracturing apparatus comprising: a frac valve to control flow of fracturing fluid through the frac valve.
Atencio discloses a frac valve.
Atencio discloses a frac valve (1000) with an inlet and outlet on either side of the valve (see Fig. 2). The valve is used to control of fracturing fluid through the frac valve (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Baugh to be used in a frac system such as Atencio with a reasonable expectation of success as the substitution of a known valve into a known system in which the valve would function in the same manner of controlling fluid flow.
CLAIM 3: Baugh discloses wherein the seal includes an elastomer seal (col. 3, lines 23-34).
CLAIM 4: The valve does not have an external actuator (see Fig. 2 above).
CLAIM 6: The valve includes a tapered sealing surface along the bore and the seal is closed against the tapered sealing surface to block fracturing fluid flow through the bore when the seal is in the closed position (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 7: The seal includes a tapered outer surface oriented to seal against the tapered sealing surface of the frac valve when the seal is in the closed position (see Fig. 2 above).
CLAIM 10: A seal carrier (body of valve) that carries the seal, wherein the actuator is coupled to the seal carrier to control movement of the seal via the seal carrier (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 11: The seal is carried by the actuator (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 12: The seal is positioned on a side of the actuator that is transverse to the bore of the housing (see Fig. 2).
CLAIM 13: The combination fails to disclose wherein the frac valve includes an additional seal positioned on an additional side of the actuator, and the additional side is also transverse to the bore of the housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve to have an additional seal as a duplication of parts in which the additional seal would allow the valve to function in two different directions.
CLAIM 14: Atencio discloses a fracturing tree having the frac valve (see paragraph 0002 discussing frac equipment).
CLAIM 15: Atencio discloses a wellhead, wherein the housing of the frac valve is installed within a bore of the wellhead (see paragraph 0002 discussing well equipment).
CLAIMS 17, 18, and 20: These methods are inherent to the above structures.
CLAIM 19: The actuator is a hydraulic actuator (Baugh discussion of ports above).
CLAIM 21: Baugh discloses an apparatus. The apparatus comprises a housing having a bore to convey a fluid (see Fig. 2 above). The bore including a first portion defining a first inner diameter and a second portion defining a second inner diameter, wherein the second inner diameter is larger than the first inner diameter, wherein a first sidewall extends between the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the first sidewall and the second portion partially define an actuator chamber (see Fig. 2 above). A retainer (118) disposed within the second portion of the bore, an end of the retainer partially defining the actuator chamber (see Fig. 2). A first seal (132) disposed within the first portion of the bore. An actuator including an outer surface and a flange radially extending from the outer surface and defining an end of the actuator (body of valve). Wherein the actuator is disposed within the first portion and the second portion of the bore such that a second seal on the outer surface of the actuator partially defines the actuator chamber to isolate the actuator chamber from a remainder of the bore and the flange is disposed within the actuator chamber (see Fig. 2). The actuator is movable within the bore and the flange is movable within the actuator chamber by a control fluid in the actuator chamber acting on the flange so as to move the actuator and the first seal between a closed position in which the first seal blocks fluid flow through the bore and an open position that allows fluid flow through the bore (see Fig. 2). The chamber is in fluid communication with a first port and a second port (170, 172), the first port configured to direct control fluid into the chamber on a first side of the flange to cause movement of the actuator in a first direction and movement of the seal toward the closed position, the second port configured to direct the control fluid into the chamber on a second side of the flange opposite the first side to cause movement of the actuator in a second direction and movement of the seal toward the open position (col. 2, line 54 – col. 3, line 5).
Baugh fails to disclose an actuatable wellhead plug configured to be installed in a wellhead bore.
Atencio discloses an actuatable wellhead plug configured to be installed in a wellhead bore (paragraph 0002).
CLAIM 22: Baugh-Atencio fails to disclose wherein the actuatable wellhead plug is landed on a landing shoulder in the wellhead bore; Atencio merely disclosing the connection to wellheads generically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of the valve to be on the shoulder of the wellhead with a reasonable expectation of success as an obvious placement to try of a finite number of acceptable attachment points on a wellhead.
CLAIM 23: The actuatable wellhead plug includes a poppet that carries the seal (Baugh, head of valve acting as poppet).
CLAIM 24: Baugh discloses the seal is carried by a removable seal carrier coupled to the actuator (parts of valve 100); the seal comprises an elastomer seal (col. 3, lines 23-34); the seal is positioned on a side of the actuator that is transverse to the bore of the housing (see Fig. 2); the valve includes an additional seal positioned on an additional side of the actuator (see Fig. 2), and the additional side is also transverse to the bore of the housing (see Fig. 2); the frac valve includes a tapered sealing surface along the bore and the seal carrier is tapered and comprises a tapered outer surface oriented to seal against the tapered sealing surface along the bore when the seal is in the closed position (see Fig. 2). The actuator and the seal carrier are configured to permit fracturing fluid flow through the actuator and the seal carrier when the seal is in the open position (see Fig. 2, discussion of ports). The housing, the actuator, and the seal carrier are formed of metal (Baugh, col. 3, lines 23-34). The valve does not have an external actuator (Fig. 2). The actuator comprises a piston and the flange comprises an annular piston head of the piston (piston 160).
The combination fails to disclose the housing comprises a first spool and a second spool connected via external connection flanges or the frac valve is constructed for pressures up to 15,000 psi
Examiner takes official notice that spools are well known in the art as means to maintain structural integrity in casing connections.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Baugh-Atencio to include the well known spool as a combination of known prior art elements in which the spool would perform the known function of maintaining integrity in the system.
Further, it would be obvious one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the system to be effective in pressures up to 15,000 psi as those are common pressures in wellbore systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 3/2/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The newly supplied art discloses the amended language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676