DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-14, 16 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 1,3-16 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/19/2025; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
The converter controller recites in claim 1 is a dedicated internal controller of the DC -DC converter which is structurally and functionally distinct from the fuel cell controller in Ryu. The converter controller recites in claim 1 is a component of the Dc-Dc converter that directly controls the transformation circuit.
Mis-coupling determination recite in claim 1, “based on whether or not a voltage of the first DC terminal follows the voltage command”. In Ryu the mis-coupling determination is distinct from the interlock signal based connector detection.
Converter controller receives a voltage command and an output current set value from the FCU
Instead, Ryu teaches in paragraph [0053] that the fuel cell controller generates the output voltage….FCU”
Ryu does not teach or suggest driving the transformation circuit to satisfy an output current set value received from an external FCU.
Ishibashi does not tech miscoupling determination, diagnosing external connector status based on voltage command tracking.
Office response:
Please see the correct mapping, for the Converter controller. Please see Ryu para[0016] The above fuel cell controller (12) transmits an output voltage command (Vref) for charging and discharging control of the high-voltage battery (14) to a DC-DC converter (15), more specifically to a converter controller not shown, thereby controlling the operation of the DC-DC converter, which implies the converter controller is a part of DC-Dc Converter. In Ryu, Fuel cell 11 is completely different from Fuel Cell Controller 12 as in the invention, figure 3 shows FCU 210 and fuel cell DD-DC converter (FDC) 123 are different.
See Ryu figure 1
Fuel cell controller 12 is external to the DC-DC converter 15 to control the operation of the Dc-Dc converter (a converter controller which is not shown in Ryu) (see para[0016] and [0047]).
Ryu in para [0055] That is, when the connector of the power conversion module 30 is connected to the connector 22 of the vehicle, an interlock signal is input to the fuel cell controller 12, and the interlock signal detects whether the connector is fastened or not. As a signal for the fuel cell controller 12, the fuel cell controller 12 checks whether the connector is fastened or not from the interlock signal, which is a voltage signal input through the interlock circuit.
See Ryu para[0047] The fuel cell controller (12) transmits an output voltage command (Vref) for charging and discharging the high-voltage battery (14) and controlling the output of the fuel cell (11) to the DC-DC converter (15), more specifically to a converter controller not shown, thereby controlling the operation of the DC-DC converter.
See Ryu para[0050] In addition, a current sensor (21) is installed in the DC-link section (13) to detect the fuel cell output current and input a signal according to the detected value to the fuel cell controller (12). Regarding “satisfy the current set value”, Ryu teaches in para[0001] The present invention relates to a mobile power generation system using a fuel cell vehicle and a method of controlling the same, which maintain and maintain a current output.
See Ryu para[0055] The fuel cell controller (12) checks whether the connector is connected and whether it is defective from the interlock signal, which is a voltage signal input through the interlock circuit, where connector (22) is a an external connection connector (22) (see para[0025]). Regarding “satisfy the current set value”, Ryu teaches in para[0001] The present invention relates to a mobile power generation system using a fuel cell vehicle and a method of controlling the same, which maintain and maintain a current output.
See previous point Ryu explanation regarding “miscoupling determination, diagnosing external connector status based on voltage command tracking”.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-4,7-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 20160072975 A to Ryu et al. (herein after “Ryu”)
In view of US10998824 B2 to Ishibashi (herein after “Ishibashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses
A direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter comprising: (See Ryu DC-DC Converter)
a converter controller, (Ryu converter controller that is not shown mentioned in paras[0016], [0047] ),
wherein based on receiving a voltage command and an output current set value corresponding to the first DC terminal from a fuel cell control unit (FCU) external to the DC-DC converter (See Ryu figure 1) and configured to control a fuel cell, the converter controller is configured to (See Ryu para[0019] the output of the fuel cell 11 is a direct current, so that a power converter, that is, an inverter, converts a DC voltage into an AC voltage. (32) is required, para[0025] the generated power generated by the fuel cell 11 is supplied to the input terminal of the converter 31 of the power conversion module 30 through the connector 22, para[0053] The inverter 32 output of the power conversion module 30 is controlled according to the current command, and the fuel cell controller 12 receives the output voltage command Vref for controlling the converter 15 according to the current command )
determine whether a connector coupled to the first inlet is miscoupled thereto based on whether or not a voltage of the first DC terminal follows the voltage command (See Ryu para[0055] That is, when the connector of the power conversion module 30 is connected to the connector 22 of the vehicle, an interlock signal is inputted to the fuel cell controller 12, and the interlock signal detects the presence / And the fuel cell controller 12 checks whether the connector is tightened or not from the interlock signal, which is a voltage signal inputted through the interlock circuit, interlock works based on the voltage signal through the circuit which uses to detect the miscoupling, as ordinary skilled person can easily put a connector to detect the following voltage command or not); and
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a first inlet corresponding to a first direct current (DC) terminal, a transformation circuit connected to the first DC terminal and a second DC terminal while being located therebetween. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ishibashi teaches a first inlet corresponding to a first direct current (DC) terminal (See Ishibashi abstract, column [1] one of input and output thereof is defined as a first side and the other one is defined as a second side, first-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the first DC terminals);
drive the transformation circuit to satisfy the output current set value (See Ishibashi [column 2] The power conversion unit further includes one or more balancing circuits each connected between two of the DC/DC converters and balancing powers of the two DC/DC converters. In the M number of DC/DC converters, one of input and output thereof is defined as a first side and the other one is defined as a second side, first-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the first DC terminals, and second-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the second DC terminals).
a transformation circuit connected to the first DC terminal and a second DC terminal while being located therebetween (See Ishibashi [Column 2 lines 28-40] Each balancing circuit is connected between two pairs of the first-side terminals of the two DC/DC converters, and receives and passes power between the two pairs of first-side terminals, [column 2] a power conversion unit including M number of DC/DC converters between first DC terminals and second DC terminals each pair of which is composed of both positive and negative terminals, ); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ishibashi’s first direct current (DC) terminal, transmission circuit in order to allow to cope with increase in the amount of electric generation by the electric generators and increase in the power transmission distance, high-voltage DC power transmission is considered in which the collected voltage is efficiently transmitted by direct current with increased voltage (See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 17-23]).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Ryu teaches, wherein the voltage command is transmitted after informing the external controller FCU of an operation state in which power converting starts. (See Ryu para [0031] a power conversion module connected to the connector and including an inverter directly connected to the DC-link terminal and connected to supply the inverter output current to a power system, wherein the output of the inverter is controlled according to a current command during fuel cell operation in a power generation mode).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising: a second inlet corresponding to the second DC terminal. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ishibashi teaches further comprising: a second inlet corresponding to the second DC terminal (see Ishibashi column 2 line 22-25 second DC terminals each pair of which is composed of both positive and negative terminals).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ishibashi’s first direct current (DC) terminal, transmission circuit in order to allow to cope with increase in the amount of electric generation by the electric generators and increase in the power transmission distance, high-voltage DC power transmission is considered in which the collected voltage is efficiently transmitted by direct current with increased voltage (See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 17-23]).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the transformation circuit comprises: an inductor of which a first terminal is connected to a positive (+) terminal of the first DC terminal, and a leg of which a first terminal is connected to a positive (+) terminal of the second DC terminal and a second terminal is connected to a negative (-) terminal of the second DC terminal, wherein the leg comprises two switching elements connected to each other in series, and a second terminal of the inductor is connected to a connection node of the two switching elements. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ishibashi teaches wherein the transformation circuit comprises: an inductor of which a first terminal is connected to a positive (+) terminal of the first DC terminal (see Ishibashi [column 6, lines 29-34] That is, the positive terminal of the first-side terminals 5A of the DC/DC converter 10 a is connected to the positive terminal of the first DC terminals 100A,); and a leg of which a first terminal is connected to a positive (+) terminal of the second DC terminal and a second terminal is connected to a negative (-) terminal of the second DC terminal (See Ishibashi [column 6 lines51-56 ] the negative terminals of the second-side terminals 5B of the DC/DC converters 10 b to 10 g are respectively connected to the positive terminals of the second-side terminals 5B of the DC/DC converters 10 c to 10 h), wherein the leg comprises two switching elements connected to each other in series, and a second terminal of the inductor is connected to a connection node of the two switching elements(see Ishibashi [column 16 lines 65 -column 17 lines 4] As shown in FIG. 10, the DC/AC conversion unit 12 on the primary side includes: a DC capacitor 6 a connected between both poles of the DC terminals 15A; and a first full-bridge circuit formed by two switching legs composed of semiconductor switching elements Q11 a to Q14 a as positive-side and negative-side semiconductor elements connected in series).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ishibashi’s first direct current (DC) terminal, transmission circuit in order to allow to cope with increase in the amount of electric generation by the electric generators and increase in the power transmission distance, high-voltage DC power transmission is considered in which the collected voltage is efficiently transmitted by direct current with increased voltage (See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 17-23]).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu teaches A vehicle comprising: a first power source;
a first fuel cell control unit (FCU) controller configured to control the first power source (See Ryu para[0005]In addition, fuel cell vehicles use a motor as a driving source for driving, and are equipped with an inverter that converts the direct current of the fuel cell, which is the main power source);
wherein when receiving a voltage command and an output current set value (See Ryu para[0053] The inverter 32 output of the power conversion module 30 is controlled according to the current command, and the fuel cell controller 12 receives the output voltage command Vref for controlling the converter 15 according to the current command ) corresponding to the first DC terminal from the first FCU controller, the DC-DC converter is configured to:
determine whether or not a connector coupled to the first inlet is miscoupled thereto based on whether or not a voltage of the first DC terminal follows the voltage command (See Ryu para[0055] That is, when the connector of the power conversion module 30 is connected to the connector 22 of the vehicle, an interlock signal is inputted to the fuel cell controller 12, and the interlock signal detects the presence / And the fuel cell controller 12 checks whether the connector is tightened or not from the interlock signal, which is a voltage signal inputted through the interlock circuit.) and
a converter controller(Ryu converter controller that mentioned not shown in paras[0016], [0047]),
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter comprising a first inlet corresponding to a first direct current (DC) terminal. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ishibashi teaches wherein a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) converter comprising a first inlet corresponding to a first direct current (DC) terminal (See Ishibashi abstract first-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that common current flows between both positive and negative terminals of first DC terminals of the power conversion device)
drive the transformation circuit to satisfy the output current set value (See Ishibashi [column 2] The power conversion unit further includes one or more balancing circuits each connected between two of the DC/DC converters and balancing powers of the two DC/DC converters. In the M number of DC/DC converters, one of input and output thereof is defined as a first side and the other one is defined as a second side, first-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the first DC terminals, and second-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the second DC terminals).
a transformation circuit See Ryu para [0001] The present invention relates to a mobile power generation system using a fuel cell vehicle and a control method thereof, and more particularly, to remove a separate converter in a power conversion module and to use a converter inside a vehicle to uniformly adjust a DC-link voltage at an inverter input terminal. The present invention relates to a mobile power generation system using a fuel cell vehicle and a method of controlling the same, which maintain and maintain a current output).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ishibashi’s first direct current (DC) terminal, transmission circuit in order to allow to cope with increase in the amount of electric generation by the electric generators and increase in the power transmission distance, high-voltage DC power transmission is considered in which the collected voltage is efficiently transmitted by direct current with increased voltage (See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 17-23]).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 10. Ryu teaches The vehicle of The vehicle of wherein the first power source comprises a fuel cell (See Ryu para [0008] Therefore, in addition to the fuel cell as the main power source, fuel cell vehicles are equipped with a separate energy storage device), and wherein the first controller comprises a fuel cell control unit [[(]]FCU[[)]] is configured to control the fuel cell. (See Ryu para[0002] and a fuel cell controller that controls the overall operation of the fuel cell system.).
Regarding claim 15, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 10. Ryu teaches further comprising: a second power source and a second FCU controller configured to control the second power source, wherein the DC-DC converter comprises a second inlet corresponding to a second DC terminal. (See Ryu para[0008]Therefore, in addition to the fuel cell as the main power source, fuel cell vehicles are equipped with a separate energy storage device, such as a high-voltage battery that can be recharged and discharged, as an auxiliary power source. These high-voltage batteries are connected through a power conversion device so that they can store (charge) the power generated by the fuel cell.).
Regarding claim 16, Ryu discloses A vehicle comprising (See Ryu Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle):
one fuel cell among the plurality of fuel cells, wherein when transmitting a voltage command and an output current set value(See Ryu para[0053] The inverter 32 output of the power conversion module 30 is controlled according to the current command, and the fuel cell controller 12 receives the output voltage command Vref for controlling the converter 15 according to the current command ) corresponding to the one DC terminal from a corresponding fuel cell controller among the plurality of fuel cell controllers(See Ryu para[0016] fuel cell controller (12) transmits an output voltage command (Vref) for charging and discharging control of a high-voltage battery (14) to a DC-DC converter (15), more specifically, to a converter controller (not shown), thereby controlling the operation of the DC-DC converter), each of the plurality of DC-DC converters is configured to:
determine whether miscoupling of a connector coupled to an inlet corresponding to the one DC terminal occurs based on whether or not a voltage of the one DC terminal follows the voltage command. (See Ryu para[0055] That is, when the connector of the power conversion module 30 is connected to the connector 22 of the vehicle, an interlock signal is inputted to the fuel cell controller 12, and the interlock signal detects the presence / And the fuel cell controller 12 checks whether the connector is tightened or not from the interlock signal, which is a voltage signal inputted through the interlock circuit.) ; and
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a plurality of DC-DC converters; a plurality of fuel cells each corresponding to one DC terminal of a different one DC-DC converter among the plurality of DC-DC converters, and a plurality of fuel cell controllers each configured to control a different. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ishibashi teaches a plurality of DC-DC converters; a plurality of fuel cells each corresponding to one DC terminal of a different one DC-DC converter among the plurality of DC-DC converters(See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 30-35] The DC step-up conversion unit has a converter section which has a plurality of insulation-type DC-DC converters and in which first terminals of the plurality of insulation-type DC-DC converters are connected in parallel to the input terminals. ); and a plurality of fuel cell controllers each configured to control a different (See Ishibashi claim 11 each DC/DC converter includes a plurality of converter cells,)
drive the transformation circuit to satisfy the output current set value (See Ishibashi [column 2] The power conversion unit further includes one or more balancing circuits each connected between two of the DC/DC converters and balancing powers of the two DC/DC converters. In the M number of DC/DC converters, one of input and output thereof is defined as a first side and the other one is defined as a second side, first-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the first DC terminals, and second-side terminals of the DC/DC converters are connected so that current flows in common between both positive and negative terminals of the second DC terminals).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ishibashi’s first direct current (DC) terminal, transmission circuit in order to allow to cope with increase in the amount of electric generation by the electric generators and increase in the power transmission distance, high-voltage DC power transmission is considered in which the collected voltage is efficiently transmitted by direct current with increased voltage (See Ishibashi [column 1 lines 17-23]).
Claims 3-4, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Ryu in view of US10998824 B2 to Ishibashi (herein after “Ishibashi”) and US 20180358825 A1 to Choi et al. (herein after “Choi”)
Regarding claim 3, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Nevertheless, Choi same field of endeavor teaches wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal follows the voltage command (See Choi abstract a DC-DC converter that converts and outputs a level of an input voltage, controls the output of the DC-DC converter by applying the control value, and diagnoses a connection status between the DC-DC converter and the battery based on a change in error between the detection voltage or the detection current of the battery and the voltage command or the current command of the battery.), the converter controller is further configured to determine that coupling of the connector is normally performed. (See Choi para [0008] connection status between a DC-DC converter and a battery based on a change in error between a voltage or current of a battery and a voltage command or current command of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Choi’s detection of connection status if the connection is connected normally or there is some error in order to allow to accurately diagnose a connection status which is difficult as voltage difference between terminals may change in response to the change in resistance (See Choi para[0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. Nevertheless, Choi same field of endeavor teaches, wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to determine that miscoupling of the connector occurs. (see Choi para [0009] a system for diagnosing a battery connection status, including: a DC-DC converter configured to convert and output a level of an input voltage; a battery configured to be connected to an output terminal of the DC-DC converter; and a controller configured to generate a control value for compensating for an error between a voltage command or a current command of the battery and a detection voltage or a detection current of the battery, control the output of the DC-DC converter by applying the control value, and diagnose a connection status between the DC-DC converter and the battery based on a change in error between the detection voltage or the detection current of the battery and the voltage command or the current command of the battery.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Choi’s detection of connection status if the connection is connected normally or there is some error in order to allow to accurately diagnose a connection status which is difficult as voltage difference between terminals may change in response to the change in resistance (See Choi para[0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 10. Nevertheless, Choi same field of endeavor teaches wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal follows the voltage command (See Choi abstract a DC-DC converter that converts and outputs a level of an input voltage, controls the output of the DC-DC converter by applying the control value, and diagnoses a connection status between the DC-DC converter and the battery based on a change in error between the detection voltage or the detection current of the battery and the voltage command or the current command of the battery.), the converter controller is further configured to determine that coupling of the connector is normally performed. (See Choi para [0008] connection status between a DC-DC converter and a battery based on a change in error between a voltage or current of a battery and a voltage command or current command of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Choi’s detection of connection status if the connection is connected normally or there is some error in order to allow to accurately diagnose a connection status which is difficult as voltage difference between terminals may change in response to the change in resistance (See Choi para[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 10. Nevertheless, Choi same field of endeavor teaches, wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to determine that miscoupling of the connector occurs. (see Choi para [0009] a system for diagnosing a battery connection status, including: a DC-DC converter configured to convert and output a level of an input voltage; a battery configured to be connected to an output terminal of the DC-DC converter; and a controller configured to generate a control value for compensating for an error between a voltage command or a current command of the battery and a detection voltage or a detection current of the battery, control the output of the DC-DC converter by applying the control value, and diagnose a connection status between the DC-DC converter and the battery based on a change in error between the detection voltage or the detection current of the battery and the voltage command or the current command of the battery.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Choi’s detection of connection status if the connection is connected normally or there is some error in order to allow to accurately diagnose a connection status which is difficult as voltage difference between terminals may change in response to the change in resistance (See Choi para[0005]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 20160072975 A to Ryu et al. (herein after “Ryu”)
In view of US10998824 B2 to Ishibashi (herein after “Ishibashi”) and TW201315114A to Szczesynski (herein after “Szczesynski”).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to transmit an error signal. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Szczesynski teaches wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to transmit an error signal. (see Szczesynski at least para [0050] The DC-DC converter controller 28 is coupled to receive a switching error signal 39a at the error node 28c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Szczesynski’s error signal 39a when DC terminal does not follow the voltage command in order to allow to control the output voltage of the DC-DC converter (See Szczesynski para[0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 1. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to perform shutdown operation. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Szczesynski teaches wherein when the voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the converter controller is further configured to perform shutdown operation. (see Szczesynski at least para [0009] When the current flowing through the load is turned off, it is desirable to turn off the DC-DC converter, and when the current flowing through the load is turned on, it is desirable to turn on the DC-DC converter. If the DC-DC converter remains on when the current through the load is shut off, the DC-DC converter will lack feedback control and the output voltage of the DC-DC converter may shift to a different voltage than desired.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Szczesynski’s error signal 39a when DC terminal does not follow the voltage command in order to allow to control the output voltage of the DC-DC converter (See Szczesynski para[0011]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 20160072975 A to Ryu et al. (herein after “Ryu”) in view of US10998824 B2 to Ishibashi (herein after “Ishibashi”), TW201315114A to Szczesynski (herein after “Szczesynski”) and US 9729082 B2 to Ofek (herein after “Ofek”).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu and Ishibashi remain applied as claim 10. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising: an output device configured to transmit visual or audible warning information. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ofek teaches an output device configured to transmit visual or audible warning information (See Ofek [column 27 lines 19-29] Alternatively, the system may decide to maintain the current values of the operating parameters. Alternatively, the system may enter a fault condition wherein the system may shut itself down for a period of time or indefinitely, trigger an alert, transmit an error signal, transmit an error command/message, provide a visual error indicator, disconnect power to the load, disconnect itself from input power, require user intervention, automatically enter a recovery mode, or any combination thereof. The system may alternatively ignore an event.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Ofek’s visual or auditable warning information in order to allow to determine a real-time calculated efficiency (See Ofek abstract).
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein when a voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the DC-DC converter is further configured to transmit an error signal to the output device. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Szczesynski teaches wherein when a voltage of the first DC terminal does not follow the voltage command, the DC-DC converter is further configured to transmit an error signal to the output device
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu’s Power generation system using fuel cell electric vehicle and control method with Szczesynski’s error signal 39a when DC terminal does not follow the voltage command in order to allow to control the output voltage of the DC-DC converter (See Szczesynski para[0011]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666