DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Status of Submission
Applicant’s submission filed on April 6, 2026 has been entered, including the proposed replacement drawing sheets and the substitute specification.
Claims Subject to Examination
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are subject to examination. Claims 3, 7 and 15 have been canceled.
Claim Construction
During examination, the pending claims are normally interpreted according to the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (hereinafter, the “BRI standard”). That is, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP 2111 et seq.
An exception to the BRI standard occurs when the applicant acts as their own lexicographer. For this exception to apply, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. See MPEP 2111.01, subsection IV.
Another exception or special case occurs when a claim recites a means-plus-function limitation that must be interpreted in accordance with 35 USC 112 ¶ 6, or 35 USC 112(f). See MPEP 2181. According to the guidance provided by Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (en banc), 35 USC 112 ¶ 6 applies when the claim term fails to recite (i) sufficiently definite structure, and/or (ii) sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.
Claim 1 recites the term “driving mechanism” (l. 4), which requires analysis since the generic term “mechanism” is used in conjunction with the function term “driving”. The claim goes on to state that “the driving mechanism comprises a driving means and a reversing means” (l. 6). The claim continues by defining the corresponding structure for the driving means and the corresponding structure for the reversing means (see explanation below). Since the claim recites sufficient structure for performing the claimed “driving” function, the term “driving mechanism” is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Claim 1 recites the term “driving means” (l. 6), which requires analysis since the generic term “means” is used in conjunction with the function term “driving”. The claim goes on to define the corresponding structure in lines 7-13. Since the claim recites sufficient structure for performing the claimed “driving” function, the term “driving means” is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Claim 1 recites the term “reversing means” (l. 6), which requires analysis since the generic term “means” is used in conjunction with the function term “reversing”. The claim goes on to define the corresponding structure in lines 14-44. Since the claim recites sufficient structure for performing the claimed “reversing” function, the term “reversing means” is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Listing of Prior Art
The following is a listing of the prior art cited in this Office action together with the shorthand reference used for each document:
“Cheveralls et al.”
US Publication No. 2022/0193866 A1
“Hongquan”
US Publication No. 2015/0209942 A1
“Jianping”
CN Publication No. 101890688 A (with translation)
“Li et al.”
US Publication No. 2007/0062340 A1
“Wang ‘145”
US Patent No. 9,156,145 B2
“Wang ‘473”
US Publication No. 2015/0000473 A1
“Wang ‘474”
US Publication No. 2015/0000474 A1
“Wang ‘574”
US Reissued Patent No. RE49,574 E
“Wang ‘6205”
US Publication No. 2014/0116205 A1
“Wang ‘696”
US Publication No. 2017/0087696 A1
“Wang ‘7205”
US Publication No. 2016/0167205 A1
“Wannop”
US Patent No. 5,058,463
“Weifeng et al.”
CN Publication No. 102059674 A (with translation)
“Williams, III”
US Patent No. 5,105,688
“Wisbey”
US Patent No. 6,070,499
Bauman Type Continuation or Divisional
The instant application was identified, on filing, as a continuation-in-part (CIP) of Application No. 15/782,432, now US Reissued Patent No. RE49,574 (Wang ‘574), which was an application for reissue of US Patent No. 9,156,145 B2 (Wang ‘145). See the Application Data Sheet (ADS) filed on July 10, 2023 as part of the original application, and the first paragraph of the English translation of the specification filed on September 20, 2023.
The mere fact that an application purports to be a continuation or divisional of a parent (or grandparent) reissue application does not make it a reissue application itself because it is possible to file a 35 USC 111(a) continuing application of a reissue application. See In re Bauman, 683 F.2d 405, 409, 214 USPQ 585, 589 (CCPA 1982) (a patentee may file a regular continuation of a reissue application that obtains the benefit of the reissue application’s filing date). Accordingly, in order for a continuation or divisional of a parent (or grandparent) reissue application to be treated as a reissue application itself, there must be an identification, on filing, that the application is a “continuation reissue application” or a “divisional reissue application”, as opposed to a Bauman type continuing application. Indicia that a continuation or divisional reissue application is being filed are:
A 37 CFR 1.175 reissue oath/declaration, which is not merely a copy of the parent’s reissue oath/declaration.
A specification and/or claims in proper double column reissue format per 37 CFR 1.173.
Amendments in proper format per 37 CFR 1.173.
A 37 CFR 3.73 statement of assignee ownership and consent by assignee
.
A correct transmittal letter (preferably Form PTO/AIA /50) identifying the application as a reissue filing under 35 U.S.C. 251.
An identification of the application as being “a reissue continuation of Application No. [the parent reissue application]”, or “an application for reissue of Patent No. [the original patent sought to be reissued] and a continuation of Application No. [the parent reissue application]”, or equivalent language that identifies the application as both a continuation and a reissue application1. The same applies for a divisional reissue application, with the word “divisional” substituted for “continuation”.
See MPEP 1451.
The instant application was not filed with any of the above-listed indicia of a continuation reissue application. Rather, the ADS filed as part of the original application papers and the later filed English translation of the specification both identify (i) the instant application as a CIP of Application No. 15/782,432, and (ii) Application No. 15/782,432 as an application for reissue of Wang ‘145. Thus, the instant application was not identified, on filing, as both a continuation and a reissue application. Accordingly, the instant application:
Was processed as a 35 USC 111(a) continuing application of a prior reissue application. See the Filing Receipt mailed on February 23, 2024.
Will be examined as a Bauman type continuing application, i.e., a 35 USC 111(a) continuing application of a prior reissue application. Again, see MPEP 1451.
As established by In re Bauman, a Bauman type continuing application:
Receives the benefit of the actual filing date of the parent (or grandparent) reissue application.
Does not receive the benefit of the filing date of the patent sought to be reissued by the parent (or grandparent) reissue application because the copendency requirement of 35 USC 120 is not met.
Therefore, the instant Bauman type continuing application is entitled to the filing date of parent reissue Application No. 15/782,432 for any claimed subject matter for which Application No. 15/782,432 provides sufficient support under 35 USC 112(a).
However, the instant Bauman type continuing application is not entitled to:
The filing date of grandparent Application No. 13/255,187 which issued as Wang ‘145.
The filing date of prior International Application No. PCT/CN2011/079246 since the necessary continuity cannot be traced back through Wang ‘145.
The filing date of prior Chinese Application No. 201110189889.9 since the necessary continuity cannot be traced back through Wang ‘145.
Effective Filing Date
The subject matter sought to be patented by claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 of the instant CIP application is not entitled to the filing date of parent reissue Application No. 15/782,432 because, for the purposes of priority, Application No. 15/782,432 is not found to provide sufficient support under 35 USC 112(a) for the subject matter sought to be patented by claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are directed exclusively to the embodiments shown in Figs. 18-36, which embodiments were newly added in the instant CIP application and were not disclosed in parent reissue Application No. 15/782,432.
At least the following limitations of independent claim 1 read only on the embodiments of Figs. 18-36:
One end of the reversing element fixedly coupled to the main shaft, the reversing element configured to drive the main shaft to rotate therewith.
As a result of the torque input from the handle, one of the capstan gear and the follower gear driving the reversing element and the main shaft to rotate in a predetermined direction.
The reversing means further comprises a reversing pin and a chuck, the reversing element provided therein a bore for receiving the reversing pin, the reversing pin disposed in the bore, the chuck coupled to the reversing pin, the chuck configured to be able to move along an axis of the reversing element, thereby driving the reversing pin to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein when the reversing pin moves to the first position, the first pawl protrudes out of the first pawl compartment and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the follower gear, and the third pawl protrudes out of the second pawl compartment and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the capstan gear; when the reversing pin moves to the second position, the second pawl protrudes out of the first pawl compartment and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the follower gear, and the fourth pawl protrudes out of the second pawl compartment and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the capstan gear.
At least the following limitations of independent claim 17 read only on the embodiments of Figs. 18-36:
A reversing element, which is fixedly coupled at one end to the main shaft and configured to drive the main shaft to rotate.
When the first pawl intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the follower gear and when the third pawl intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear, irrespective of the torque input from the handle in a first direction or in a second direction, the reversing element always drives the main shaft to rotate in the first direction.
When the second pawl intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the follower gear and when the fourth pawl intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear, irrespective of the torque input from the handle in the first direction or in the second direction, the reversing element always drives the main shaft to rotate in the second direction.
The reversing element also provided therein with a reversing pin, the reversing element provided with a chuck disposed thereover, the reversing element provided with a longitudinal slot, through which a coupling member is passed; both ends of the coupling member are coupled to the chuck while an intermediate portion of the coupling member is coupled to the reversing pin, the chuck configured to be able to move along an axis of the reversing element, thereby driving the reversing pin to switch between a first position and a second position.
The reversing pin provided thereon with driving members for driving the pawls to move; by switching positions of the reversing pin, the driving members drying driving the respective pawls to move; wherein when the reversing pin moves to the first position, the first pawl protrudes out of the first pawl compartment and intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the follower gear and the third pawl protrudes out of the second pawl compartment and intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear, enabling the main shaft to rotate, when driven, always in the first direction; when the reversing pin moves to the second position, the second pawl protrudes out of the first pawl compartment and intermeshes with the inner ratchet circumference of the follower gear and the fourth pawl protrudes out of the second pawl compartment and intermeshes the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear, enabling the main shaft to rotate, when driven, always in the second direction.
Accordingly, the effective filing date of claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 is July 10, 2023, i.e., the filing date of the instant CIP application.
Prior Patent/Publication Available as Prior Art
In a Bauman type continuing application, the patent sought to be reissued by the parent reissue application is available as prior art under pre-AIA 35 USC 102(b) or AIA 35 USC 102(a)(1) with respect to the Bauman type continuing application if the parent reissue application was filed more than one year after the grant date of the patent.
In this case, Wang ‘145 qualifies as prior art under AIA 35 USC 102(a)(1) with respect to the instant Bauman type continuing application because (i) parent reissue Application No. 15/782,432 was filed more than one year after the grant date of Wang ‘145, and (ii) Wang ‘145 was published more than one year prior to the effective filing date of the claims of the instant application.
Wang ‘6205, which is the pre-grant publication of the application that later issued as Wang ‘145, also qualifies as prior art under AIA 35 USC 102(a)(1) with respect to the instant Bauman type continuing application because Wang ‘6205 was published more than one year prior to the effective filing date of the claims of the instant application.
Other Patents/Publications Available as Prior Art
Each of Cheveralls et al., Hongquan, Jianping, Li et al., Wang ‘473, Wang ‘474, Wang ‘696, Wang ‘7205, Wannop, Weifeng et al., Williams, III, and Wisbey qualifies as prior art under AIA 35 USC 102(a)(1) with respect to the instant Bauman type continuing application because each of these prior art references was published more than one year prior to the effective filing date of the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 1: Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheveralls et al. in view of Wang ‘7205, Li et al., Hongquan and Wang ‘696.
With respect to claim 1, Cheveralls et al. discloses a screwdriver comprising:
A handle 15. See Figs. 1-3 and 9-10; ¶¶ 0036, 0044.
A main shaft (which Cheveralls et al. calls a bit holder) 47. See Figs. 1-4A, 5 and 9-10; ¶¶ 0036, 0038, 0044.
A driving mechanism (see explanation below), one end of the main shaft 47 fixedly coupled to the driving mechanism (Fig. 4A shows a hexagonal portion at one end of the main shaft 47 for receipt in a hexagonal receptacle in the reversing element 35 of the driving mechanism), and one end of the handle 15 fixedly coupled to the driving mechanism (the driving gear 17 has a spline 18 fixed coupled to one end of the handle 15). See Figs. 2, 4A, 5 and 9-10; ¶¶ 0036, 0038, 0044.
The driving mechanism comprises a driving means (see explanation that follows) and a reversing means (see explanation below), which are coupled to each other, the driving means comprising:
A capstan gear (which Cheveralls et al. calls a driving gear) 17, a follower gear (which Cheveralls et al. calls a driven gear) 31, a transmission seat 27 and two idler gears 29, with the transmission seat 27 provided thereon with two idler gear axles (see Figs. 4A-4B), the idle gears 29 mounted on respective ones of the idler gear axles, and the idler gears 29 cooperating with the capstan gear 17 and the follower gear 31 to serve for power transmission therebetween. See Figs. 4A-4B and 9-10; ¶¶ 0036, 0038, 0044.
The handle 15 used for input of a torque, one end of the capstan gear 17 fixedly coupled to the handle 15 by the spline 18, the handle 15 configured to drive the capstan gear 17 to rotate, the capstan gear 17 driving the follower gear 31 to rotate oppositely via the idler gears 29. See Figs. 1-4B and 9-10; ¶¶ 0012-0013, 0036, 0038, 0040, 0044.
The reversing means comprising:
A reversing element (which Cheveralls et al. calls a main housing) 35, and first and second one-way clutches (see explanation that follows) which are mounted on the reversing element 35, with the capstan gear 17, follower gear 31 and transmission seat 27 sleeved on the reversing element 35, the first one-way clutch (see explanation that follows) in engagement with the capstan gear 17, the second one-way clutch (see explanation that follows) in engagement with the follower gear 31, one end of the reversing element 35 fixedly coupled to the main shaft 47 (via the hexagonal coupling structure shown in Fig. 4A), and the reversing element 35 configured to drive the main shaft 47 to rotate therewith. See Figs. 4A-4B and 7A-8; ¶¶ 0038, 0040, 0042.
As a result of the torque input from the handle 15, one of the capstan gear 17 and the follower gear 31 driving the reversing element 35 and the main shaft 47 to rotate in a predetermined direction, wherein regardless of the torque input from the handle 15 in the same or opposite direction to the predetermined direction, the main shaft 47 continuously rotates in the predetermined direction. See Figs. 1-4B, 7B and 9-10; ¶¶ 0001, 0010, 0012-0013, 0036, 0038, 0044.
The capstan gear 17 is provided on its inner surface with a ratchet circumference (see Figs. 4A-4B), the follower gear 31 is provided on its inner surface with a ratchet circumference (see Figs. 4A-4B and 7B), the reversing element 35 is provided therein with first and second pawl compartments 36, the first one-way clutch comprises first and second pawls 37 that are swingable and provided in the first pawl compartment 36, the ratchet circumference of the follower gear 31 is configured to intermesh with one of the first and second pawls 37 in the first pawl compartment 36, the second one-way clutch comprises third and fourth pawls 37 that are swingable and provided in the second pawl compartment 36, the ratchet circumference of the capstan gear 17 is configured to intermesh with one of the third and fourth pawls 37 in the second pawl compartment 36. See Figs. 4A-4B and 7A-8; ¶¶ 0038-0039, 0042.
A reversing pin (which Cheveralls et al. calls a reversing member) 41 and a chuck (which Cheveralls et al. calls a direction collar) 21, the reversing element 35 provided therein a bore (see Figs. 4A-4B and 7A-8) for receiving the reversing pin 41, the reversing pin 41 disposed in the bore, the chuck 21 coupled to the reversing pin 41, the chuck 21 configured to be able to move along an axis of the reversing element 35, thereby driving the reversing pin 41 to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein when the reversing pin 41 moves to the first position, the first pawl 37 protrudes out of the first pawl compartment 36 and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the follower gear 31, and the third pawl 37 protrudes out of the second pawl compartment 36 and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the capstan gear 17, and when the reversing pin 41 moves to the second position, the second pawl 37 protrudes out of the first pawl compartment 36 and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the follower gear 31, and the fourth pawl 37 protrudes out of the second pawl compartment 36 and intermeshes with the ratchet circumference of the capstan gear 17. See Figs. 4A-4B and 6-8; ¶¶ 0037-0043.
With respect to claim 2, Figs. 4A-4B and 9-10 of Cheveralls et al. illustrate the capstan gear 17, the follower gear 31 and the idler gears 29 as bevel gears.
With respect to claims 4-6, in Cheveralls et al., the first and second pawls 37 respectively constitute first and second pawl members, the third and fourth pawls 37 respectively constitute third and fourth pawl members, the first and third pawl members 37 are sleeved on and configured to swing about a first auxiliary shaft 32 mounted on the reversing element 35, the second and fourth pawl members 37 are sleeved on and configured to swing about a second auxiliary shaft 32 mounted on the reversing element 35, a first elastic element 34 is provided between the first and second pawl members 37, and a second elastic element 34 is provided between the third and fourth pawl members 37. See Figs. 4A-4B and 7A-7B; ¶¶ 0038, 0042.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, in Cheveralls et al., the chuck 21 is sleeved on the reversing element 35, the reversing element 35 is provided with a slot 38 in its side wall corresponding to the chuck 35, the chuck 21 is coupled to the reversing pin 41 by a coupling pin 44 passing through the slot 38, one end of the pin 44 coupled to the reversing pin 41, the other end coupled to the chuck 21, the chuck 21 is configured to drive the reversing pin 41 to move along its axis, the reversing pin 41 is provided, along its lengthwise direction, with first studs (which Cheveralls et al. calls ramps) 42 on one side and second studs 42 on the opposing side, when the reversing pin 41 moves to the first position, the second studs 42 come in contact with the second and fourth pawl members 37, and when the reversing pin 41 moves to the second position, the first studs 42 come in contact with the first and third pawl members 37. See Figs. 4A-8; ¶¶ 0037, 0039-0041, 0043.
With respect to claims 17-20, see the explanation above with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8 and 9.
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Cheveralls et al. discloses a holding ring (which Cheveralls et al. calls a sleeve or grip ring) 19 that is sleeved on the driving means and fixedly coupled to the transmission seat 27. See Figs. 1-5, 7B and 9-10; ¶¶ 0036, 0038-0042, 0044. As shown in Figs. 4A-4B, four holes extend through the holding ring 19. The skilled artisan would appreciate that such holes are capable of receiving fasteners such as screws. However, Cheveralls et al. fails to teach threaded holes in the transmission seat 27, with screws engaging the threaded holes and fixedly connecting the holding ring 19 with the transmission seat 27.
Wang ‘7205 teaches a screwdriver comprising:
A driving means 130 including a driving (capstan) gear 118, a driven (follower) gear 111, a transmission seat 114, and idler gears 128 mounted on respective idler gear axles 133 on the transmission seat 114. See Figs. 2, 4-6; ¶¶ 0074, 0076, 0092.
A holding ring (or grip ring) 113 sleeved on the driving means 130 (including the transmission seat 114). See Figs. 1-3; ¶¶ 0070, 0072, 0076-0077, 0092-0093.
Threaded holes 132 in the transmission seat 114, with screws 112 engaging the threaded holes 132 and fixedly connecting the holding ring 113 with the transmission seat 114. See Figs. 1-6; ¶¶ 0076-0077.
From the teachings of both Cheveralls et al. and Wang ‘7205, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheveralls et al. to include threaded holes in the transmission seat 27, with screws engaging the threaded holes and fixedly connecting the holding ring 19 with the transmission seat 27 (the screws passing through the holes in the holding ring 19 shown in Figs. 4A-4B). Cheveralls et al. discloses that the holding ring needs to be fixedly coupled to the transmission seat for proper operation of the driving means while the user holds the holding ring. Wang ‘7205 teaches how to fixedly couple the holding ring to the transmission seat in a simple, secure and efficient manner using screws received in threaded holes. Selection of this type of coupling is within the level of ordinary skill in the art since applying this type of coupling to Cheveralls et al. yields only a predictable result and achieves the stated goal of Cheveralls et al.
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Cheveralls et al. discloses that the capstan gear 17 is coupled to the handle 15 by the spline 18. See Figs. 2 and 4A-5; ¶ 0036. As shown in Figs. 2 and 4A-5, the capstan gear 17 is provided, on a side thereof facing the handle 15, with a cylindrical member (see Figs. 2 and 4A-5), and a circumferential outer wall of the cylindrical member is provided with the spline 18. The spline 18 is illustrated as a plurality of grooves and a plurality of ribs extending along a length direction of the cylindrical member, the plurality of grooves and the plurality of ribs being uniformly spaced apart along the circumference of the cylindrical member. Cheveralls et al. fails to teach that the grooves and ribs of the spline 18 mate with corresponding ribs and grooves in a bore of the handle 15 when the cylindrical member of the capstan gear 17 is inserted into the bore of the handle.
Li et al. teaches that it was well-known to attach a screwdriver handle 12 to a torque-transmitting member 14 via mating surfaces on a bore 28 of the handle 12 and a circumferential outer wall of a member 30 of the torque-transmitting member 14. See Fig. 1; ¶¶ 0035-0036. While Fig. 1 shows the outer wall of the member 30 as having a polygonal shape (that mates with a matching polygonal shape of the bore of the handle 12), Li et al. teaches that the member 30 may have axial splines (i.e., axial ribs separated by grooves) that mate with corresponding axial grooves (i.e., axial grooves separated by ribs) formed in the bore 28 of the handle 12. See ¶ 0036. This teaching of Li et al., in combination with the Cheveralls et al. disclosure of the spline 18 received in the bore of the handle, establishes that the claimed arrangement of ribs and grooves was known in the art. Based on the combined teachings of Li et al. and Cheveralls et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheveralls et al. by providing the bore of the handle 15 with corresponding ribs and grooves that mate with the grooves and ribs of the spline 18. Such a construction is advantageous because it provides for strong and effective transmission of torque from the handle to the capstan gear of Cheveralls et al.
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Cheveralls et al. discloses that the capstan gear 17, follower gear 31 and transmission seat 27 sleeved on the reversing element 35. Figs. 2 and 5 of Cheveralls et al. show that an end portion of the reversing element 35 protrudes from a side of the capstan gear 17 proximate to the handle 15. Figs. 2 and 4A of Cheveralls et al. show that a groove is provided along a circumference of the end portion of the reversing element 35. The skilled artisan would recognize that such a groove is typically formed to receive a retaining ring (snap ring or ring-shaped elastic element). This is confirmed by both Hongquan and Wang ‘696.
Hongquan teaches a torque-transmitting member 108 having a cylindrical member (see Figs. 1-3 and 5) received in a bore of a handle 102, with the cylindrical member coupled to the handle 102 by a spline 119 (in the same fashion as Cheveralls et al.). See Figs. 1-3 and 5; ¶¶ 0022-0023. The torque-transmitting member 108 is sleeved on a shaft 114, a groove (see Figs. 2-3) is provided along a circumference of an end portion 117 of the shaft 114, and a ring-shaped clip 121 having an opening is received in the groove of the end portion 117 to restrain the torque-transmitting member 108 along the axis of the shaft 114. See Figs. 2-3; ¶ 0023.
Wang ‘696 teaches a torque-transmitting member 36 having a cylindrical member (see Figs. 2-6) received in a bore of a handle 2. See Figs. 2-6; ¶¶ 0050, 0055, 0057. The torque-transmitting member 36 is sleeved on a shaft portion 12, a groove 15 is provided along a circumference of an end portion of the shaft portion 12, and a ring-shaped elastic element 13 having an opening is received in the groove 15 to restrain the torque-transmitting member 36 along the axis of the shaft portion 12. See Figs. 2-6; ¶ 0053.
From the teachings of Hongquan and Wang ‘696, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheveralls et al. by providing a retaining ring (snap ring or ring-shaped elastic element) that is received in the groove provided along the circumference of the end portion of the reversing element 35. Such a construction is advantageous because it provides a simple, convenient, secure and releasable connection of the capstan gear 17 to the reversing element 35 of Cheveralls et al.
With respect to claims 10-14, Cheveralls et al. discloses a second embodiment in which the first and second pawls are formed on opposing sides of a first pawl member 137, the third and fourth pawls are formed on opposing sides of a second pawl member 137, the first and second pawl members 137 are sleeved on and configured to swing about an auxiliary shaft (like the shaft 32 of the first embodiment), a reversing pin 141 is provided with holes receiving balls 142 that come into contact with and drive the pawl members 137 into selective engagement with the inner ratchet circumferences of the driving gear 117 and the driven gear 131, and a chuck 121 rotates the reversing pin 141 between the first and second positions. See Figs. 11-12; ¶¶ 0045-0046.
In the second embodiment of Cheveralls et al., the reversing pin 141 rotates between the first and second positions. Thus, Cheveralls et al. fails to teach such an embodiment (in which the first and second pawls are formed on opposing sides of a first pawl member, and the third and fourth pawls are formed on opposing sides of a second pawl member) having a chuck that moves along an axis of the reversing element to move the reversing pin between the first and second positions.
Wang ‘7205 teaches a screwdriver comprising: first and second pawls are formed on opposing sides of a first pawl member 211, the third and fourth pawls are formed on opposing sides of a second pawl member 212, the first and second pawl members 211, 212 are received in respective compartments formed in a reversing element 115’, the first and second pawl members 211, 212 are sleeved on and configured to swing about an auxiliary shaft 210, a reversing pin 220 is provided with holes receiving balls 221 that come into contact with and drive the pawl members 211, 212 into selective engagement with the inner ratchet circumferences 311, 321 of a driving gear 118 and a driven gear 111, and a chuck 126 is coupled to the reversing pin 220 by a cam mechanism 116’, 126-1 such that the chuck 126 moves along an axis of the reversing element 115’ to rotate the reversing pin 220 between first and second positions. See Figs. 17B, 17D, 18D and 23-27; ¶¶ 0116-0126.
From the teachings of both Cheveralls et al. and Wang ‘7205, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Cheveralls et al. to include an embodiment in which the first and second pawls are formed on opposing sides of a first pawl member, the third and fourth pawls are formed on opposing sides of a second pawl member, and the chuck moves along an axis of the reversing element to move the reversing pin between the first and second positions. Such a modification involving the mere substitution of one well-known mechanism for another well-known mechanism is generally recognized to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, the skilled artisan would recognize that an axially movable chuck is advantageous in comparison to a rotating chuck because an axially movable chuck can be operated using only one of the user’s fingers as opposed to two or more fingers.
GROUND 2: Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheveralls et al. in view of Wang ‘7205, Li et al., Hongquan and Wang ‘696 (GROUND 1) and further in view of Jianping.
See GROUND 1 for a detailed discussion of Cheveralls et al. in view of Wang ‘7205, Li et al., Hongquan and Wang ‘696.
Cheveralls et al. fails to teach that the handle defines a bore having an opening at an end of the handle away from the driving means, with an end cover for closing the bore disposed at the opening, and the bore configured to be used to accommodate spare bits.
Jianping teaches a screwdriver comprising a handle 1 defining a bore 18 having an opening at an end of the handle 1 away from ratchet driving means (see Figs. 2-10), with an end cover 16 for closing the bore 18 disposed at the opening, and the bore 18 configured to be used to accommodate spare bits 25. See Figs. 1-2 and ¶ 0047 of the English translation.
From the teachings of Jianping, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Cheveralls et al. by providing the handle with a bore and end cover for storing spare bits in order to enhance the user’s convenience in accessing and using different bits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
GROUND 3: Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. These claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claims 1 and 17 recite new matter because the original disclosure fails to provide sufficient support for “wherein, upon insertion of the cylindrical member into the cavity, one of the plurality of first ribs is received in one of the plurality of second grooves and one of the plurality of second ribs is received in one of the plurality of first grooves” (claim 1, ll. 56-58; claim 17, ll. 62-64). This newly-claimed subject matter encompasses a construction in which only one of the first ribs is received in a corresponding second groove (while the other first ribs are not received in corresponding second grooves), and only one of the second ribs is received in a corresponding first groove (while the other second ribs are not received in corresponding first grooves). There is no support in the original disclosure for such an embodiment, which is encompassed by the broad claim scope.
Claim 17 recites new matter because the original disclosure fails to provide sufficient support for “the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear intermeshing with the first pawl or the second pawl” (ll. 20-21) in combination with “the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear intermeshing with the third pawl or the fourth pawl” (ll. 23-24). According to the specification, two pawls selectively intermesh with the inner ratchet circumference of the follower gear, and two pawls selectively intermesh with the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear.
Dependent claims are included in the rejection because of their dependencies.
GROUND 4: Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term “the bore” (ll. 49 and 51-52) is indefinite because more than one bore has been previously introduced. It is unclear whether “the bore” refers to the bore introduced at line 35, or the bore introduced at line 48.
In claim 1, the term “the circumference of the cylindrical member” (ll. 55-56) lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 1, the term “the cavity” (ll. 56-57) lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claims 1 and 17, “wherein, upon insertion of the cylindrical member into the cavity, one of the plurality of first ribs is received in one of the plurality of second grooves and one of the plurality of second ribs is received in one of the plurality of first grooves” (claim 1, ll. 56-58; claim 17, ll. 62-64) is indefinite because it fails to conform to the description of the invention in the specification. See the explanation in GROUND 3.
In claim 16, the term “the bore of the handle” (ll. 2-3 and 3) is indefinite because more than one bore of the handle has been previously introduced. It is unclear whether “the bore of the handle” refers to the bore of the handle introduced in claim 1 (l. 48), or the bore of the handle introduced in claim 16 (l. 1).
In claim 16, the term “the opening” (l. 3) is indefinite because more than one opening has been previously introduced. It is unclear whether “the opening” refers to the opening introduced in claim 1 (l. 61), or the opening introduced in claim 16 (l. 2).
In claim 17, the combination of “the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear intermeshing with the first pawl or the second pawl” (ll. 20-21) and “the inner ratchet circumference of the capstan gear intermeshing with the third pawl or the fourth pawl” (ll. 23-24) is indefinite because it fails to conform to the description of the invention in the specification. See the explanation in GROUND 3.
In claim 17, the term “the driving mechanism” (l. 54) lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 17, the term “the circumference of the cylindrical member” (ll. 61-62) lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 17, the term “the cavity” (l. 62) lacks proper antecedent basis.
Dependent claims are included in the rejection because of their dependencies.
Suggested Amendments
In order to address GROUNDS 3 and 4 above, the examiner suggests:
In claim 1, change “a bore” (l. 48) to “a first bore”.
In claim 1, change “the bore” (ll. 49 and 51-52) to “the first bore”.
In claim 1, change “a circumferential outer wall” (ll. 52-53) to “an outer wall”.
In claim 1, change “the circumference of the cylindrical member” (ll. 55-56) to “a circumference of the outer wall of the cylindrical member”.
In claim 1, change “the cavity” (ll. 56-57) to “the first bore”.
In claim 1, change “one of the plurality of first ribs is received in one of the plurality of second grooves and one of the plurality of second ribs is received in one of the plurality of first grooves” (claim 1, ll. 57-58) to “the plurality of first ribs are received in respective ones of the plurality of second grooves and the plurality of second ribs are received in respective ones of the plurality of first grooves”.
In claim 16, change “a bore” (l. 1) to “a second bore”.
In claim 16, change “the bore” (ll. 2 and 3) to “the second bore”.
In claim 16, change the “the opening” (l. 3) to “the opening of the second bore”.
In claim 17, change “the capstan” (l. 20) to “the follower”.
In claim 17, change “the driving mechanism” (l. 54) to “the capstan gear”.
In claim 17, change “a circumferential outer wall” (ll. 58-59) to “an outer wall”.
In claim 17, change “the circumference of the cylindrical member” (ll. 61-62) to “a circumference of the outer wall of the cylindrical member”.
In claim 17, change “the cavity” (l. 62) to “the bore”.
In claim 17, change “one of the plurality of first ribs is received in one of the plurality of second grooves and one of the plurality of second ribs is received in one of the plurality of first grooves” (claim 1, ll. 62-64) to “the plurality of first ribs are received in respective ones of the plurality of second grooves and the plurality of second ribs are received in respective ones of the plurality of first grooves”.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because: in claim 10, “ta first side” (l. 6) should read “a first side”.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art is not presently relied upon in any rejection but is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Weifing et al. teaches a bi-directional screwdriver having a driving mechanism including a capstan gear, two follower gears, and a slave gear set. A reversing button rotates a reversing pin to selectively engage two pawl members (each having two pawls) with inner ratchet circumferences of the follower gears.
Wang ‘6205 and Wang ‘145 discloses the same (unclaimed) embodiments shown in Figs. 1-17E of the instant application.
Wang ‘473, Wang ‘474, Wannop, Williams, III and Wisbey each teach a tool having a reversing member that rotates to selectively engage two pawl members (each having two pawls) with inner ratchet circumferences of the gears.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 6, 2026 have been considered.
Applicant argues that the replacement drawing sheets and the substitute specification overcome the objections to the drawings and the specification. The replacement drawing sheets and the substitute specification have been entered. The objections to the drawings and the specification are withdrawn.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are not germane to the new objections and new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office action.
Response Period
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Remarks
All correspondence relating to this application should be directed:
By Patent Center2: Registered users may submit via the Patent Center at: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov/
By Mail to: Commissioner for Patents
United States Patent & Trademark Office
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
By FAX to: (571) 273-8300
By hand: Customer Service Window
Knox Building
501 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/PETER C ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993
Conferees:
/WILLIAM V GILBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993
/EILEEN D LILLIS/SPRS, Art Unit 3993
1 In contrast, a Bauman type continuing application is identified as “a continuation of reissue Application No. [the parent reissue application], or “a continuation of reissue Application No. [the parent reissue application], which is an application for reissue of Patent No. [the original patent sought to be reissued by the parent reissue application]”. The same applies for a Bauman type divisional application, with the word “divisional” substituted for “continuation”.
2 Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).