DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the surface of the porous metal foam, which is opposite to a surface in contact with the solid oxide”. It’s not clear if, or how, the surface “which is opposite” is different than the previously recited surface that contacts the solid oxide. It appears applicant is using the same to refer to two different surfaces. One possible amendment is “a [the] surface of the porous metal foam, which is opposite to the [a] surface in contact with the solid oxide”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraiwa et al. (US 20180205095 A1) in view of Fu et al. US (20180358629 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hiraiwa discloses a solid oxide cell stack comprising (para 29, fig.1 “fuel cell 10”): first and second interconnects (para 29, fig 1, “interconnector 3a and 3b”); a solid oxide cell 1 disposed between the first and second interconnects (para 29-30, fig 1); and a porous metal foam 2a/2b between the first interconnect and the solid oxide cell (para 29 fig. 1 “a porous metal body”).
Hiraiwa fails to disclose porous metal foam which includes a carbon nanostructure on a surface of the porous metal foam.
Fu et al. discloses porous metal foam 110 which includes a carbon nanostructure 120 on a surface of the porous metal foam (para 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the solid oxide cell stack of Hiraiwa such that the porous metal foam includes a carbon nanostructure on a surface of the porous metal foam as disclosed by Fu above as doing such increases the mechanical strength and toughness of the fuel stack (para 23).
Regarding claim 2, Fu discloses carbon nanostructure includes at least one of carbon nanotubes or carbon nanofibers (para 29).
Regarding claim 3, Fu discloses porous metal foam comprises the carbon nanostructure on the surface of the porous metal foam (fig 5, 7, para 28-29). Since the carbon structure is on the surface of the porous metal foam, in the modified cell stack the nanostructure will be in contact with solid oxide.
Regarding claim 4, Fu discloses the number and placement of the carbon nanostructures can be varied as required by the design specifications (para 49-53). The metallic foam has a finite number of surfaces, and choice of the specific surface onto which the carbon nanotube structure is placed is a design within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the carbon nanostructure to be on the surface of the porous metal foam, opposite to the porous metal foam surface in contact with the solid oxide as such has a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Fu discloses the porous metal foam comprises the carbon nanostructure on the surface and an entire interior of the porous metal foam (para 29).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Fu discloses the carbon nanostructure is disposed perpendicular to the surface of the porous metal foam and the carbon nanostructure is disposed in a random direction with respect to the surface of the porous metal foam. (para 52 and 53).
Regarding claim 8, Hiraiwa discloses the porous metal foam includes Ni (para 53).
Regarding claim 10, Hiraiwa discloses the solid oxide cell includes a fuel electrode and an air electrode (para 29, “anode 1a” and “cathode 1c”), and an electrolyte disposed between the fuel electrode and the air electrode, and the fuel electrode is disposed on a surface of the electrolyte closer to the first interconnect, and the air electrode is disposed at the second interconnect side (para 29 and fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Hiraiwa discloses the porous metal foam is referred to as a first porous metal foam, a second porous metal foam disposed between the second interconnect and the solid oxide cell (para 32).
Regarding claim 12, Hiraiwa discloses the second porous metal foam includes a Cu alloy (para 53 and para 62).
Regarding claim 13, Hiraiwa discloses the solid oxide cell stack further comprising: first and second end plates, wherein the first and second interconnects, the solid oxide cell, and the porous metal foam are disposed between the first and second end plates (fig. 5 “a plate member 23A and 23B”).
Regarding claim 14, Hiraiwa discloses the solid oxide cell stack has a structure in which the first interconnect, the porous metal foam, the solid oxide cell, and the second interconnect are sequentially and repeatedly formed two or more times in a direction oriented from the first end plate to the second end plate (para 38).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraiwa et al. (US 20180205095 A1) and Fu et al. US (20180358629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gasda et al. (US 2022/0278341 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hiraiwa discloses the porous metal foam is an elastic body (para 40, “porous metal bodies that can be used include “Aluminum CELMET”).
Hiraiwa does not explicitly disclose the porous metal foam is compressed by the first interconnect and the solid oxide cell.
Gasda discloses the porous metal foam is compressed by the first interconnect and the solid oxide cell (para 35 “compression assembly 306 may apply pressure to the stack”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the solid oxide cell stack of Hiraiwa and Fu such that the porous metal foam is compressed by the first interconnect and the solid oxide cell as disclosed by Gasda above as doing such maintains pressure (para 35).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraiwa et al. (US 20180205095 A1) and Fu et al. US (20180358629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018-0212256).
Regarding claim 15, Hiraiwa and Fu fail to disclose the porous metal foam further includes a protective film disposed on a surface of the carbon nanostructure. Lee discloses a protective film disposed on a surface of a carbon nanostructure (claim 1 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the solid oxide cell stack of Hiraiwa and Fu such that the porous metal foam further includes a protective film disposed on a surface of the carbon nanostructure.as disclosed by Lee above as doing such prevents side reactions in the fuel stack (claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the side reaction prevention layer includes at least one of B or Al (claim 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the remarks, the applicant asserts combination of Hiraiwa and Fu is improper because Fu’s porous metal structure corresponds to Hiraiwa’s electrode rather than Hiraiwa’s porous metal bodies. Applicants arguments are not persuasive because it is based on a proposed modification that is not set forth in the rejection. The rejection does not propose replacing Hiraiwa’s electrode with Fu’s electrode structure, nor does it rely on bodily incorporation of Fu’s entire electrode configuration to Hiraiwa. Rather, Fu is relied upon for its teaching that carbon nanotubes/nanostructures may be provided on a porous metal body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have recognized that Fu’s teaching regarding nanostructure on a porous metal structure could be applied to the porous metal bodies of Hiraiwa. The proposed modification involves applying Fu’s known nanostructure arrangement to Hiraiwa’s existing porous metal bodies, not substituting Fu’s electrode structure for Hiraiwa’s structure. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
On succeeding paragraph, the applicant asserts Fu’s disclosure of carbon nanotubes is associated with catalytic material formed on nanotubes bonded to an electrode side porous metal structure. Applicant further asserts combining Hiraiwa and Fu would result in carbon nanotubes being positioned between the solid electrolyte layer and the electrode, rather than between the porous metal bodies and the electrode or between the cell and the interconnect as required by the claims.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive because catalytic material is not germane to the rejection. Fu is relied upon for teaching carbon nanotubes on porous metal bodies, not for the location of catalytic material relative to the electrolyte. Further, Fu does not limit the carbon nanotubes to an electrolyte facing side of the porous metal structure. Applicant’s assertion that the proposed combination would necessarily position the carbon nanotubes between the solid electrolyte layer and electrode is unsupported. Accordingly, rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746