DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 12/11/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-19, and 21-23 have been examined. This office action is Final.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments on pages 8-12 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakkar (2018/0077142) in view of Fletcher (2018/0077142).
As per claim 1, a method comprising:
receiving a policy indicating multiple enterprise-managed applications that are capable of sharing tokens or cookies for user authentication (Thakkar: see fig. 1, para. 0071, 0082, 0107,
receiving a token policy indicating multiple enterprise applications that are capable of sharing tokens for user authentication);
receiving a token or a cookie indicating that a user is authenticated to access a first application from a first device of the multiple enterprise-managed applications, the token or the cookie being sharable across different devices associated with the user (Thakkar: para. 0076-0078, 0082, receiving a token).
Thakkar does not explicitly disclose providing the token or the cookie to a browser associated with a second application of the multiple enterprise-managed applications such that the second application refrains from causing the user to authenticate for access to the second application from a second device.
However, analogous art of Fletcher discloses providing the token or the cookie to a browser associated with a second application of the multiple enterprise-managed applications such that the second application refrains from causing the user to authenticate for access to the second application from a second device (Fletcher: para. 0143, 0152, refrains from causing the user to authenticate for access to the second application (i.e. SSO)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing the token or the cookie to a browser associated with a second application of the multiple enterprise-managed applications such that the second application refrains from causing the user to authenticate for access to the second application from a second device of Fletcher with the method/system of Fletcher, the motivation is that token exchange using a shared security improves SSO for mobile applications, thus sharing enhances SSO for mobile applications (Fletcher: para. 0007).
As per claim 2, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 1.
Fletcher further discloses wherein the browser is an embedded browser associated with the second application, the embedded browser utilized to authenticate the user for access to the second application (Fletcher: para. 0143, system browser (i.e. embedded browser)).
Same motivation as claim 1 above.
As per claim 4, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the token or the cookie is provided to the browser on the second device (Thakkar: para. 0082).
As per claim 7, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 1. Thakkar further discloses wherein the policy further indicates an enterprise-managed application that is restricted from sharing tokens or cookies for user authentication (Thakkar: para. 0071, sharing token).
As per claim 8, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 7. Thakkar further discloses comprising refraining from sharing the token or the cookie with an embedded browser associated with the enterprise-managed application based at least in part on the policy (Thakkar: para. 0071, sharing token).
As per claim 9, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 7.
Fletcher further discloses receiving a second token or a second cookie indicating that the user is authenticated to access the enterprise-managed application; and based at least in part on the policy, refraining from sharing the second token or the second cookie (Fletcher: para. 0143, 0152, refrains from causing the user to authenticate for access to the second application (i.e. SSO)).
Same motivation as claim 1 above.
As per claim 10, rejected under similar basis as claim 1 above.
As per claims 11 and 19, rejected under similar basis as claim 2 above.
As per claim 13, rejected under similar basis as claim 4 above.
As per claim 16, rejected under similar basis as claim 7 above.
As per claim 17, rejected under similar basis as claims 8-9.
As per claim 18, rejected under similar basis as claim 1 above.
Claims 6 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakkar (2018/0077142) in view of Fletcher (2018/0077142), and further in view of Vlahovic (2021/0352097)
As per claim 6, Thakkar and Fletcher disclose the method of claim 1.
Thakkar and Fletcher do not explicitly disclose storing the token or the cookie in a location at an operating system level of a device utilized by the user to access the first application or the second application.
However, analogous art of Vlahovic storing the token or the cookie in a location at an operating system level of a device utilized by the user to access the first application or the second application (Vlahovic: para. 0081, storing token in operating system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include storing the token or the cookie in a location at an operating system level of a device utilized by the user to access the first application or the second application of Vlahovic with the method/system of Thakkar and Fletcher, the motivation is a security measure that protects sensitive data from unauthorized access (Vlahovic: para. 0081).
As per claim 15, rejected under similar basis as claim 6.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 14, and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
4/17/2026
/J.E.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499